Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00032
Fred and Eva Gillhouse Photograph Collection

Extent: 1.1 Linear Feet (1 hanging folder, 1 shared box of negatives, 1 flat file)
Location: Photo Cabinet 2:C, Photo Collection Negatives Box 05, Oversize Photo Cabinet B

Link to Collection Guide
Related Materials:
Fred and Eva Gillhouse Collection, 1951-1966. MS-00148. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Gillhouse, Eva, Pistol Pete, Veteran of the Old West. Boston: Little, Brown, 1952. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


Collection Contents:
The Fred and Eva Gillhouse Photograph Collection contains photographs and postcards from Nevada and California from 1855 to 1968. The photographs primarily depict buildings in Carson City and Virginia City, Nevada, and Sacramento, California. The photographs also depict Eva Olenna Blood Ruff Gillhouse at her typewriter and with Frank "Pistol Pete" Eaton, the subject of her biography Pistol Pete, Veteran of the Old West.


Nevada


Carson City

0001    Old U.S. Mint, now Nevada State Museum (postcard)

0002    Old U.S. Mint, now Nevada State Museum (postcard)



Gold Hill

0003    Panorama of town, 1873 (postcard)

0004    Line drawing of town (NO PRINT)



Virginia City

0005    Wells Fargo stages on C Street, 1866 (postcard)

0006    C Street (postcard)

0007    St. Mary's Church, exterior (postcard)

0008    St. Mary's Church, interior (postcard)

0009    Remains of early day coach (postcard)



General Views

0010    "Nevada, 1856" line drawing (NO PRINT)



California


Sacramento

0011    "Sacramento in 1855" line drawing (NO PRINT)

0012    Map of Sacramento and vicinity (NO PRINT)

0013    Ad for Champagne Saloon (NO PRINT)



Shasta

0014    Line drawing of town (NO PRINT)



0032    GILLHOUSE COLLECTION



People


Gillhouse

0015    Fred Gillhouse

0016    Eva Olenna Blood Ruff Gillhouse

0017    Eva Olenna Blood Ruff Gillhouse at her typewriter

0018    Eva Olenna Blood Ruff Gillhouse at her typewriter

0019    Eva Olenna Blood Ruff Gillhouse with "Pistol Pete"



Miscellaneous People

0020    Hank Monk (commemorative postcard)

0021    Watch given to Hank Monk (commemorative postcard)

0022    Lola Montez (portrait postcard)

0023    Julia Bulette and John Millain (portrait postcard)

0024    "Post Office Block" (unknown location) (NO PRINT)

0025    "The Green Devil Saloon" (unknown location) (NO PRINT)

0026    Painting (unknown subject and location) (NO PRINT)

0027    Frank Rathbun, surveyor for L.A. Water & Power