Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00034
Ed W. Clark Photograph Collection

Extent: 1.1 Linear Feet (1 hanging folder and 1 flat file)
Location: Photo Cabinet 2:C, Oversize Photo Cabinet B

Link to Collection Guide
View select materials online

Related Materials:
Ed W. Clark Collection, 1930-1945. MS-00086. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

H. E. "Hap" Hazard Photograph Collection, 1930-1959. PH-00031. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


Collection Contents:
The Ed W. Clark Photograph Collection contains photographs that depict politicians and businesspeople in Southern Nevada from 1900 to 1975. The photographs depict several Democratic Party members, including U.S. Senators Pat McCarran and Berkeley Bunker, Nevada Assemblyman Harry Edward "Hap" Hazard, and Nevada Governor Edward P. Carville. The photographs also depict political events, including the planting of a tree in the courthouse park of Las Vegas, Nevada, and a parade on Fremont Street in Las Vegas.


Democratic Party functions

01    Gov. Carville addressing function, including Pearl Brown, Hazard (appears to same occasion as Hazard Collection 31-01)

02    Berkeley Bunker addressing same function, including Dr. J.D. Smith.

03    Dr. J.D. Smith addressing same function.

04    Patrick McCarran addressing function Oct. 31, 1944

05    Democratic parade, Fremont Street by Pioneer Club, Oct. 31, 1944.


People

06    Ed Clark as young man

07    Ed Clark as older man.

08    Unidentified group of men (background suggests bank)

09    Same as above.


Additions to Collection

0010    unidentified woman

0011    Planting the first tree in the courthouse park, Las Vegas, March, 1911, persons shown are: Holding the tree, Judge E.J.L. Taber; with the shovel, Ed W Clark. Others, left to right: Pete Buol; two men , woman and child, unidentified; James G. Givens, Frank Stewart, Charlie Ronnow, John S. Park, O.J. Van Pelt (partly hidden), unidentified, Harley A. Harmon, Judge Henry M. Lillis.

0012    This photo was taken by C.P. Squires on the occasion of planting the first tree in the Court House Park, Las Vegas, Nevada. Date, March, 1911, as near as can be fixed. The building shown at left is the first Clark County Court House (now used for Las Vegas City Library) which had been constructed by popular subscription by Las Vegas Business men as promised by them during the county division campaign in 1908-1909. This building provided sufficient quarters for the county offices for five years, following which, the present court house was built. Persons shown, so far as their identity can be remembered are: Holding the tree- Ed W. Clark; using the shovel- Judge E.J.L Taber. Others, left to right: Charlie Ronnow, Judge W.R. Thomas, unidentified, unidentified, Bob Dillon, Frank A. Stevens, Harley A. Harmon, and Dr. Roy W. Martin.

0013    This photograph was taken by C.P. Squires on the occasion of planting the first tree in the Court house park, Las Vegas, Nevada. Date, March 1911, as near as can be fixed. Buildings dimly shown at left are Christ Episcopal Church and Rectory. Persons shown, so far as their identity can be remembered are: holding the tree-Judge E.J.L. Taber; with the shovel-Ed W. Clark. Others , left to right, Pete Buol; (two men, woman and child in background unidentified), James G. Givens, Frank Stewart, Charlie Ronnow, John S. Park, O.J. Van Pelt (partly hidden); unidentified, Harley A. Harmon, Judge Henry M. Lillis.