Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00298
Las Vegas, Nevada Elected Officials Photographs

Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (2 hanging folders)
Location: Photo Cabinet 11:B

Link to Collection Guide

Collection Contents:
The Las Vegas, Nevada Elected Officials Photographs contain portraits of Las Vegas, Nevada elected officials from 1911 to 1995. The photographs primarily depict the mayors and city commissioners of Las Vegas, but they also include several city council members.


0001    Arnie Adamsen (City Councilman 1987-?)

0002    L.L. Arnett (Mayor 1935-39/CityCommissioner 1933-35)

0003    C.D. Baker (Mayor 1951-59/Senator1941-43 and 1947-51)

0004    Walter B. Bates (City Commissioner 1943-47) (Credit: E.W. Cragin Collection, UNLV Library)

0005    Harry Blanding (City Commissioner 1922)

0006    Ken Brass (City Councilman 1993-95)

0007    Bill Briare (Mayor 1975-87)

0008    W. Wayne Bunker (City Councilman 1985-89)

0009    Wendell Bunker (City Commissioner 1949-59)

0010    Peter Buol (Mayor 1911-13)

0011    Matthew Q. Callister (City Councilman 1995-?)

0012    Paul J. Christensen (City Commissioner 1973-85)

0013    C.R. "Pat" Clark (City Commissioner 1941-49)

0014    Alexander Coblentz (City Commissioner 1969-73)

0015    James Corey (City Commissioner 1967-71)

0016    E.W. Cragin (Mayor 1931-35)

0017    James H. Downs, Jr. (City Commissioner 1933-37)

0018    William H. Elwell (City Commissioner 1959-61) (Please credit: Archie Grant Collection, UNLV Library)

0019    David Farnsworth, March, 1940. (City Commissioner 1916-17/1935-37) (Please Credit: Union Pacific Railroad Collection, UNLV Library)

0020    William E. Ferron (Mayor 1920-21)

0021    E.W. Fountain (City Commissioner 1955-67)

0022    George Franklin, Jr. (City Commissioner 1971-75)

0023    Bill German (Mayor 1923-25/ City Commissioner 1927-35)

0024    C.V.T. Gilbert (City Commissioner 1939-41)

0025    Oran K. Gragson (Mayor 1959-75)

0026    Frank Hawkins, Jr. (City Councilman 1991-95)

0027    W.E. Hawkins (Mayor 1913-19)

0028    Scott Higginson (City Councilman 1989-95)

0029    Rex A. Jarrett (City Commissioner 1951-55)

0030    Jan Laverty Jones (Mayor 1991-?)

0031    Myron Leavitt (City Commissioner 1975-79)

0032    Al Levy (City Councilman 1979-87)

0033    Harry Levy (City Commissioner 1961-65)

0034    Harvey Luce (City Commissioner 1939-41)

0035    Ron Lurie (Mayor 1987-91 & Commissioner/Councilman 1943-87)

0036    Michael J. McDonald (City Councilman 1995-?)

0037    Steve Miller (Councilman 1987-91)

0038    Harold "Hal" Morelli (City Commissioner 1971-75)

0039    W.B. Mundy (Commissioner 1925-29/1931-35)

0040    Roy Neagle (City Commissioner 1927-31)

0041    Bob Nolen (City Councilman 1983-93)

0042    William U. Pearson (City Commissioner 1982-83)

0043    William Peccole (City Commissioner 1949-53)

0044    C.B. Pembroke (City Commissioner 1920-21)

0045    H.L. Perry (City Commissioner 1937-41)

0046    Gary Reese (City Councilman 1995-?)

0047    Harris P. Sharp (City Commissioner 1953-61)

0048    William J. "Bill" Stewart (City Commissioner 1911-13)

0049    R.W. Thomas (City Commissioner 1929-33)

0050    Hank Thornley (City Commissioner 1969-73) (Please credit: Single Item Accessions Coll., UNLV Library)

0051    Ed Von Tobel, Sr. (City Commissioner 1911-13) (Please credit: Jacob Von Tobel Coll., UNLV Library)

0052    M.E. Gene Ward (City Commissioner 1935-37/Sheriff)

0053    Roy A. Woofter (City Commissioner 1975-82)

0054    Reed Whipple (City Commissioner 1947-65)

0055    1985 city Council: Mayor Bill Briare (center) and (L-R): Councilmen Wayne Bunker, Al Levy, Bob Nolen, and Ron Lurie.

0056    1987 City Council. L-R: Arnie Adamsen, Wayne bunker, Mayor Ron Lurie, Bob Nolen, Steve Miller.