Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

James B. Wilson Photograph Collection

Extent: 1.3 Linear Feet (1 hanging folder, 1 shared negative box)
Location: PC 01:C, PC Negatives Box 02

Link to Collection Guide
View select materials online

Collection Contents:
The James B. Wilson Jr. Photographs depict the lives of James B. Wilson Sr., James B. Wilson Jr., and George Twison "Tweed" Wilson and their business, the Sandstone Ranch in Southern Nevada. Then collection consists of twenty-four images dated from 1868 to 1972.
The images consist of ranching activities, land where the ranch was located, and members of the Wilson family. Many of the photographic prints have corresponding negatives. Negatives have been housed separately and can be found in box 02.

Wilson (Sandstone) Ranch aka Spring Mountain Ranch

01    Vista near ranch

02    Vista "Old Spanish Trail"

03    Vista looking down on Wilson Ranch from Red Rock Canyon

04    Sandstone Ranch, View of Wilson Ranch

05    Shop (Blacksmith)

06    Stone cabin built ca 1870 on ranch

07    Old Ranch House


08    James and Tweed Wilson , ca. 1900 (dup. #0010 0096)

09    Jim Wilson, branding, Hick Tower on horse, dog Keno

10    Tweed Wilson with J.B. Wilson

11    Jim Wilson, unid. Child, Keno

12    Jim Wilson branding calves, ca. 1930

13    Jim Wilson, and friend

14    Jim Wilson, taken about 1935

15    Jim Wilson, and friend

16    Tweed Wilson on horseback

17    Tweed Wilson on horseback

18    Jim Wilson, child , dog

19    Tweed Wilson, ca 1952-53

20    Vic Matteucci and Tweed Wilson

21    Tweed Wilson about 1953

22    "Indian Johnny" Smith

23    Buster Wilson

24    Willard George

*Identification is considered controversial