Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

Ella Earl Carruth Photograph Collection

Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet (1 hanging folder, 1 shared box of negatives)
Location: Photo Cabinet 2:C, Photo Collection Negatives Box 04

Link to Collection Guide
Related Materials:
Ella Earl Carruth. Interview, June 23, 1975. OH-00160. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Collection Contents:
The Ella Earl Carruth Photograph Collection contains photographs depicting Mormon settlers in Nevada from 1906 to 1934. The materials include photographs of the Mormon Fort in present-day Las Vegas, Nevada, the town of Bunkerville, Nevada, and Mormon pioneers Edward Bunker, Joseph Ira Earl, and Zilpha Earl.

Early Las Vegas

Old Fort

1    Remodeled ranch house, Old Ranch, Las Vega , Nevada (ca. 1934)

2    Truck in front of remodeled Old Fort building Las Vegas, NV (NEG ONLY)

3    Clark County Fair, Earl exhibit of honey, 1925.


4    Earl home in Bunkerville. L-R: Joseph Ira Earl, Milton S. Earl. 1915-1916

5    1920 High School Bunkerville

6    Old Meeting House and Church in Bunkerville, 1917.


7    Edward Bunker

8    Joseph Ira Earl

9    Sylvester Henry Earl

10    Zilpha Daedura Fuller Earl, first white child in Las Vegas Valley at Old Fort.

11    Las Vegas High School, students and teachers, 1948. L-R, 1st row: Bonnie Zigtema,Ella Carruth- Commercial;    2nd row: LuJean Foremaster, Elsie Shaver, Jennie Gibson, Ada Carpenter-English Dept. ; 3rd row: Elsa Kurtz, Clarabelle Haney-Librarian.

12    2nd Bishopric of Bunkerville, Nevada, 1906. L-R: M. Abbot; E. Bunker, Jr.; J.I. Earl; George Lee.

13 Ellen Celeste Woodward Fuller, spouse of Elijah Knapp Fuller; mother of Zilpha D. Fuller Earl who was the first white child born in the Las Vegas Valley, Aug. 20, 1856 at Las Vegas Mormon Mission.