Photo Collections Record
Helen M. Shepp Photograph CollectionExtent:
0.1 Linear Feet (1 hanging folder)
Photo Cabinet 8:A
Link to Collection Guide
Helen Shepp, 1953-1962. MS-00244. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Navy Mothers Club Photograph Collection, 1954. PH-00307. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
The Helen M. Shepp Photograph Collection contains photographs of community organizations, entertainers, and significant figures in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1950 to 1964. The collection includes photographs of the American Association of the United Nations, the Navy Mother's Club, and the Women's Democratic Club. The collection also includes photographs of Nevada politicians and entertainers.
0001 Leaders of the local American Association of the United Nations (AAUN)Chapter meet to finalize plans for the forthcoming U.N. week. L-R: Dorothy Dorthy, chairman of AAUN week actives and regional v-p of So. Nev. AAUN; Helen Shepp, local treasurer; Barbara Roberts, chairman of AAUN week Activities in North Las Vegas. The man is George Fleigh, president of the local AAUN club.
0002 New officers of the Norman Ready Chapter of Navy Mothers Club (6-25-56) L-R: (seated) Mrs. Irby Hobbs, Mrs. Elmer Laub, Helen Shepp, Ann Kennedy. (standing) Mrs. Floyd Bishop, Mrs. Jessie Evans, Mrs. C. Van Patten, Evelyn Hartwell, Mrs. Wm. Bernard, Aileen Conger.
0003 Helen M. Shepp, second from left. Others not identified.
0004 Helen M. Shepp, far right. Others not identified.
0005 L-R: Ray Shaffer, Helen M.Shepp.
0006 L-R: (1) Ray Shaffer; (2)? ; (3) ? ; Margaret Fazio
0007 L-R: (1); (2) Helen Shepp (3) Mayor C.D. Baker (4) Billie Wallace. (5) ?
0008 Christmas party. Helen Shepp, far right. Art Olsen next to her.Others unidentified.
0009 Seated, 3rd from right, Mayor C.D. Baker; seated, far right, Howard Cannon. Helen Shepp (dark dress) is standing behind Baker. Others not identified.
0010 April 10, 1954. Navy Mothers Dance. Helen Shepp, right.
0011 Helen Shepp, second from left, seated at table. Others not identified. (n.d.)
0012 Helen Shepp (left) and Billie Wallace (2nd from right). Others not identified. Taken at the Flamingo Hotel, Las Vegas.
0013 Helen Shepp (standing at microphone). Howard Cannon is above her (wearing Plaid jacket). Others not identified. Photo taken in Commissioner' chambers.
0014 Congressman Walter Baring (left) holds flag which has flown over the nation's Capitol. He is presenting it to Billie Wallace (center), Women's Democratic Club Leader & president of the Vegas Valley Business and Professional Women's Club. At right is Phil Cummings who is prominent in Democratic circles. (n.d.)0217
0015 Wilbur Clark, founder & president of the Desert Inn Hotel & Casino, having his Blood drawn. (Others unidentified.) (c. 1950s)
0016 Movie actress Loretta Young. (1964)
0017 Photograph of (L-R) Helen Grayco (Spike Jones' wife) and Loretta Young. (1964) Autographed for Helen Shepp.
0018 Promotional photo of Helen Grayco, autographed for Helen Shepp. (c. 1960s)
0019 Promotional photo of actor Gene Barry, autographed for Helen Shepp. (1960)
0020 Autographed promo photo of singer Nancy Sinatra. "Hi!" Helen Love Nancy Sinatra.
0021 Photo (promo) of Dean Martin, autographed for Helen Shepp.
0022 Promotional photo of Bobby Nelson (left) and Artie Palmer, entertainers. It was Autographed for Helen.
0023 Autographed promo photo of entertainers Lee and Faye Maynard.
0024 Entertainer Frank Sorello. Promotional photo autographed for Helen Shepp.
0025 Cocktail waitresses, Las Vegas, in Christmas costumes. (n.d.)
0026 Las Vegas show. (not identified) (n.d)