Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00220
Scott, Ruthe Photographs of Las Vegas, Nevada Hotels and Casinos

Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet (1 shared box of negatives)
Location: Photograph Collection Negatives box 15

Link to Collection Guide
Related Materials:
Dunes Hotel, 1955-1992. MS-00328. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Sands Hotel Photograph Collection. PH-00287. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Thunderbird Hotel Entertainment Department, 1964-1973. MS-00180. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Thunderbird Hotel and Casino Photograph Collection, 1960s-1970s. PH-00205. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


Collection Contents:
The Ruthe Scott Photographs of Las Vegas, Nevada Hotels and Casinos contain color and black-and-white negatives and transparencies of Las Vegas hotels and casinos from 1960 to 1986. The collection includes the Sahara Hotel, Castaways Hotel and Casino, the Desert Inn Hotel, the Dunes Hotel, the Riviera Hotel, the Sands Hotel, the Silver Slipper Gambling Hall, Tally Ho Grounds, the Thunderbird Hotel, and the Hotel Flamingo. The collection also includes people gambling in Las Vegas casinos and two transparencies of Nevada politician Phil Tobin, who sponsored the bill to legalize gambling in 1931.