Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00071
Bureau of Reclamation Photograph Collection on the Hoover Dam and Boulder City, Nevada

Extent: 0.6 Linear Feet (10 hanging folders and 1 shared box of negatives)
Location: PC 03:C, PC Negatives Box 07, PC Slides Binder 03

Link to Collection Guide
View select materials online

Related Materials:
The following resources may provide additional information related to the materials in this collection:

Elbert Edwards Photograph Collection, 1852-1991. PH-00214. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Jamey Stillings Photographs of the Mike O’Callaghan-Pat Tillman Memorial Bridge and the Hoover Dam, 2009-2012. PH-00380. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las
Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Virginia "Teddy" Fenton Photograph Collection on the Hoover Dam and Boulder City, Nevada, 1920-1985. PH-00022. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Burrell Lawton Photograph Collection on the Hoover Dam, 1931-1934. PH-00120. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

John Chatfield Page Collection, 1930-1947. MS-00023. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

A. J. Shaver Collection, 1925-1964. MS-00155. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Lockette, Emery and Agnes. Interview, March 11, 2005. OH-01132. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Morrison, Lillian. Interview, February 5, 1996. OH-01335. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


Collection Contents:
The Bureau of Reclamation Photographs of the Hoover Dam and Boulder City, Nevada depict the construction of the Hoover (Boulder) Dam and the development of Boulder City, Nevada from 1869 to 1974, with a bulk of the materials dating from 1929 to 1940. The photographs primarily depict the construction operations in Black Canyon, including digging tunnels, pouring concrete, building the power plant, and inspections by Bureau of Reclamation engineers. The photographs also depict Boulder City, including schools, workers, and dormitories. The collection also includes photographs of St. Thomas, Nevada, Lake Mead, Nelson’s Landing, Nevada, and an archaeological excavation near Lake Mohave, Nevada.