Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

Dorothy Ray Photograph Collection

Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet (1 hanging folder, 1 shared box of negatives )
Location: PC 06:A, PC Negatives Box 10

Link to Collection Guide
View select materials online

Related Materials:
Union Pacific Railroad Photographs, 1904-1973. PH-00043. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

John E. Welsh Photograph Collection, approximately 1950-1954. PH-00285. Special Collections,
University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Collection Contents:
The Dorothy Ray Photograph Collection on Southern Nevada, approximately 1900-1946, depicts infrastructure in Caliente, Nevada in the early to mid-twentieth century. The collection also contains images of a flash flood that occurred in 1905 in Carp, Nevada and Stine, Nevada that washed away roads and railroad tracks. This collection provides historical documentation about early to mid-century Caliente, Nevada.

Big Springs, Nev.

0001    Big Springs, Nev. A train watering station up the canyon out of Caliente toward Panaca.

Caliente, Nev.

0002    Main Street, Caliente , Nev.,
0003    Frame house, probably in Caliente, Nev. Early 1900s.
0004    Union Pacific Club House [Postcard, dated June 11, 1931]
0005    Clover Street, Caliente, in the late 30s or early 40s.
0006    Roundhouse, Caliente, Nev.
0007    Building adjacent to roundhouse, Caliente.
0008    "One of the last steam trains going toward Caliente roundhouse in about 1946. The roundhouse alone used to employ about 150 men. It was torn down not long after this photo."
0009    Turntable.    Caliente, Nev. Railroad yard.
0010    "U.P. Station with old club house."

Carp, Nev.

    1. Carp, Nev., 1905." [Flashflood]

Stine, Nev.

    *"Stine, Nev., 1905." [Flashflood]
    * "Stine, Nev., 1905 Dad's B&B outfit in background."
    * "Stine, Nev., 1905."