Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00143
Pueblo Grande de Nevada ("Lost City") Photograph Collection

Location: RS 1.6.4, PC 05:C, PC Negatives Box 10


Collection Contents:
Nevada

Pueblo Grande    (photographed at Special Collections UNR)

0001 Xerox. Reconstructed pueblo
0002 Xerox. Pot
0003 Xerox, Left to right, Col. T.W. Miller, Governor Scrugham, M.R.H near upland ruin, October 1924. Duplicate in folder MAI D7
0004
to
0007 Xerox. Various view of the Boulder Dam Park Museum.
0008 Xerox. CCC Boys excavating (house 47?)
0009 Xerox. 1920s excavating (house 47?)

Folder 143-2

Nevada

Pueblo Grande    (photographed at Heye Foundation, New York)

0010 Xerox. Room outlines at Lost City, Nevada, 1925
0011 Xerox. Ancient pueblo burials with pottery, 1925
0012 Xerox. Burial at Lost City, Nevada, 1925
0013 Xerox. Mrs. Jessie Evans (Shoshone) Zuni costume, 1925
0014 Xerox Governor Scrugham of Nevada with Mrs. Jessie Evans and children in Zuni costume 1925
0015 Xerox Zunis and staff members in Zuni costume. 1925
0016 Xerox Staff members and Johns H. in Zuni dress, 1925
0017 Xerox No I.D. two men looking at burial
0018 Xerox Zunis dancing at Lost City
0019 Xerox Mrs. Jessie Evans (Shoshone) and children in Zuni costumes, 1925
0020 Xerox Crowd assembling for Lost City pageant. Near Overton, Nevada, 1925
0021 Xerox. Zunis and staff members in Zuni costumes, 1925
0022 Xerox Visitors and staff, 1924. Duplicate photo T No. 23, #59
0023 Xerox Governor Schrugham , Visitors, M.R. Harrington and Willis Evans, 1924. Duplicate photo T No. 23 #56
0024 Xerox Ancient pueblo burial with pottery, 1925
0025 Xerox Restored pueblo house ready for pageant, 1925
0026 Xerox Picnic lunch at Lost City, 1924. Duplicate photo T no. 23, #57
0027 Xerox. Visitors and staff, Lost City, 1924 Duplicate photo T No. 23, #58
0028 Xerox Picnic lunch at Lost City, 1924 Duplicate photo T. No. 23 #10

0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Pueblo Grande    (photographed at Heye Foundation, New York) (cont.)

0029 Xerox Ruins on ledge with Don Low Schellbach, 1924 Duplicate photo T No. 23, #3
0030 Xerox Evans family dressed as Paiutes, Los City, 1925
0031 Xerox Petroglyphs at narrows, Moapa Valley, 1925
0032 Xerox Don Lou Schellback at Lost City, 1924
0033 Xerox. Don Lou Schellback at Lost City, 1924
0034 Xerox Zuni Indian helpers with Don Lou Schellbach, Lost City, 1924
0035 Xerox Staff at Lost City, Zuni Indians, Charley Turbeyfill. M.R. Harrington, Don Low Schellbach, Willis Evans in front.
0036 Xerox Visitors at petroglyphs in Southern Nevada with Governor Scrugham and M.R. Harrington, 1924
0037 Xerox Governor Scrugham at Lost City excavation with M.R. Harrington and son John , 1924 Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #1


Folder 143-3

Nevada

Pueblo Grande

0038 Xerox Dunes covering ruins at Lost City
0039 Xerox Dunes covering ruins at Lost City, 1924 (Different site then 0038)
0040 Xerox House ruins built largely of stone, Gravel Hill, House yet unnumbered as of June 1925, Lost City 1924 Duplicate photo T No. 23, #71
0041 Xerox House ruins build largely of stone on gravel hill, Lost City, Not yet numbered (June, 1925) Duplicate photo T. No. 23 #68
0042 Xerox. Ruins of a house built largely of stone as yet (1-6-25) un- numbered on Gravel Hill, 1924. Duplicate photo T. No. 23 #69
0043 Xerox. Lost City area, N/D, Duplicate photo T. No. #7A
0044 Xerox. Lost City area N/D, Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #7C and #7D
0045 Xerox. Lost City area, N/D, Duplicate photo T. No. 23 #7B
0046 Xerox. Excavations at Lost City (house 2) Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #12
0047 Xerox. House floor as uncovered (house 2) 1924. Duplicate photo T. No. 23 #12
0048 Xerox. View of house 20, looking westward, 1924. Duplicate photo T.No. 23, #74
0049 Xerox. Bedrock mortars, 1924. Duplicate photo T. No. 23 #4
0050 Xerox. Mortar holes in bedrock, 1924. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #5
0051 Xerox. Cave mouth on Virgin River, Nevada (salt mine) Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #23
0052 Xerox. Another view of 0051, 1924
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION


Folder 143-3

Nevada

Pueblo Grande (cont.)

0053 Xerox. Salt cave entrance. Flashlight photo. This cave shows traces of early habitation, and may have been used as a shrine for sun worship. Many stone axes found in this cave. Duplicate photo in T. No. 23, #25
0054 Xerox. Marks left by ancient salt miners, salt cave.
0055 Xerox. Work of salt miners, salt cave, 1924. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #26
0056 Xerox. Excavations in cave, salt cave. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #27
0057 Xerox. Entrance in cave, salt cave. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #30
0058 Xerox. Pottery from Lost City, 1924, Duplicate photo T. No. 23, 37
0059 Xerox. Same as above, another view. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #36
0060 Indians working to restore houses. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #100


Folder 143-3a (Heye Foundation)

Nevada

Pueblo Grande

0061 Xerox. Burial 42, Room A, House 27, Enlargement, Schellbach has negative (his gift)
0062 Xerox. Same as above, closer view
0063 Xerox. Burial 34, room N, house 20, Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #76
0064 Xerox. Skeleton with pottery, 1924
0065 Xerox. Burial with pottery
0066 Xerox. Remains of skeleton and pottery, 1924. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #13
0067 Xerox. Pottery grave offerings, 1924. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #35
0068 Xerox. Pottery with burial, 1924. Duplicate    photo T. No. 23, #34
0069 Xerox. Remains of skeleton, Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #15
0070 Xerox. Skeleton at Lost City. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #51
0071 Xerox. A burial in big house.
0072 Xerox. Skeleton at Lost City. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #17
0073 Xerox. Skeleton at Lost City. With dog skeleton. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #54
0074 Xerox. Burial with pottery, 1924-25
0075 Xerox. Skeleton at lost city with corrugated pottery, 1924-25
0076 Xerox. Petroglyphs, Southern Nevada
0077 Xerox. Red Rock Valley Writings. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #40
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-3a (Heye Foundation)

Nevada

Pueblo Grande (cont. )

0079 Xerox. Faint indications of rock writings on face of Atlatal Rock, Valley of Fire. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #9
0080 Xerox. Petroglyphs, 1924-25. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #46
0081 Xerox. Kane Springs Petroglyphs, 1924-25. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #46
0082 Same as above. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #47
0083 Same as 0081, along rail grade. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #42
0084 Same as 0081, Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #45
0085 Same as 0081, Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #44
0086 Same as 0081, Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #43
0087 Same as 0081, Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #49, #53
0088 Xerox View of Lower Kane Springs, Clark County, 1924-25, Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #41
0089 Xerox. Colorado River Nevada. Duplicate photo T. No. 23, #77
0090 Xerox. Mormon mountains, seen from Moapa
0091 Xerox Sketch map and plan of house 2.
0092 Xerox Sketch map and plan of house 47

Folder 143-4 (Heye Foundation)

Nevada

Pueblo Grande

0093 Xerox Zuni Indian helpers with Don Lou Schellbach and Charley Turbeyfill, 1924-25. Similar shots folder 2, 0032, 0033.
0094 Xerox Uncovering rooms in ruins (house 47?)
0095 Xerox Paiutes at Lost City pageant, 1925.
0096 Xerox Paiutes dance at Lost City pageant
0097 Xerox. Paiutes at Lost City pageant.
0098 Xerox. Pueblo dance at Lost City pageant
0099 Xerox. Pueblo’s (Zuni) at Lost City pageant
0100 Xerox. Pueblo’s (Zuni) at pageant





0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-5

Nevada

Pueblo Grande

0101 Xerox. Cave entrance, Southern Nevada
0102 Xerox. Marks left by salt miners, Salt Cave, St. Thomas, Nevada
0103 Xerox. Cave entrance, Southern Nevada
0104 Xerox. Marks left by salt miners, Salt Cave, ST. Thomas, Nevada, 1926
0105 Xerox. Same as above
0106 Xerox. Excavation of a cave deposit, St. Thomas, 1926
0107 Xerox. Entrance to Salt Cave, St. Thomas, Nevada, 1926
0108 Xerox. Cave entrance, Southern Nevada
0109 Xerox. Camp near cave entrance, Southern Nevada
0110 Xerox. Salt Cave #2, ST. Thomas, Nevada, 1926
0111 Xerox. Sharp peaks, Southern Nevada
0112 Xerox. Entrance to a salt cave, ST. Thomas, Nevada, 1926
0113 Xerox Cave entrance, Southern Nevada
0114 Xerox Cave entrance, Southern Nevada
0115 Xerox. Marks left by salt miners, Salt Cave, St. Thomas, Nevada 1926
0116 Xerox Shows cave entrance, Southern Nevada.

Folder 143-6 (Heye Foundation)

0117 Xerox. With Evans, Zunis, MRH
0118 Xerox. Johns H. Rock shelter Camp, Smith Creek Cave, Nevada
0119 Xerox. Gypsum Cave points, Gypsum Cave, Nevada
0120 Xerox Cabins, Valley of Fire, Nevada, about 1935
0121 Xerox. Mormon Mountains and Mormon Mesa Southern Nevada
0122 Xerox Pyramid Lake 3
0123 Xerox. M.R. Harrington
0124 Xerox Restored house, Lost City
0125 Xerox. Scorpion Hill with high Mesa in background, 1929
0126 Xerox. Cow skull near Caliente, Nevada
0127 Xerox. “Inside looking out” view south from Smith Creek Cave, Baker ,Nevada
0128 Xerox. Gypsum Cave Camp
0129 Xerox. M.R. Harrington at Smith Creek, Nevada 1932?
0130 Xerox. M. R. Harrington
0131 Xerox. John Harrington and Willis Evans at Lost City, Nevada
0132 Xerox No ID
0133 Xerox Elephant Nose, Valley of Fire
0134 Xerox. Bear Head, Valley of Fire
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION



Folder 143-6 (Heye Foundation) (cont.)



0135 Xerox. Evans family at Gypsum Cave, 1930; 1931
0136 Xerox. Lost City Museum (interior shot)
0137 Xerox. Pyramid Lake Cave
0138 Xerox Pyramid Lake Cave
0139 Xerox. Skeleton and pottery (postcard)
0140 Xerox. Mining Marks in Salt Cave, Nevada
0141 Xerox. M.R. Harrington with catch of decoys, Lovelock Cave, Nevada
0142 Xerox. Lost City area before excavation
0143 Xerox Old immigrant camp near California Crossing, Moapa Valley, Nevada
0144 Xerox. Skeleton Party uncovered
0145 Xerox. Uncovering Ruins
0146 Xerox. No ID
0147 Xerox. The council in the cave. Dr. Sherer, Dr. Furlong or Dr. Stock. Gypsum Cave
0148 Xerox. Salt Cave (postcard)
0149 Xerox. Jim Scrugham Jr. and Slim, Mesa house camp, 1929
0150 Xerox. Irwin Hayden at Mesa House, Overton, Nevada
0151 Xerox Salt Rock showing mouth of Salt Cave #2, St. Thomas, Nevada
0152 Xerox Dump in front of shelter, Bird Springs, 1930
0153 Xerox. Raising cook tent after fire, Gypsum Cave, Nevada 1930-31
0154 Xerox Skeleton and pot
0155 Xerox Don Louis Schellbach III, at Lost City
0156 Xerox Cabins, Valley of Fire, about 1935
0157 Xerox. Expedition Camp at Baker Creek, Nevada
0158 Xerox. M.R. Harrington, E.L. Harrington and Zuni’s Gypsum Cave, 1930-31
0159 Xerox. Zuni’s and staff in swimming, Moapa Big Spring
0160
to
0168 Xerox. Pyramid Lake caves
0169 Xerox. Restored homes, Lost City (postcard)
0170 Xerox. Willis Evans and baby
0171 Xerox. Ruins in Lost City
0172 Xerox. John Harrington in Smith Creek Cave
0173 Xerox. Mormon Mountains, Nevada
0174 Xerox Rock shelter, Nevada
0175 Xerox. Mesa House, Overton, Nevada, 1929
176 Xerox. Restored houses at Lost City, Nevada
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-7 (Heye Foundation)

Nevada

Pueblo Grande

0177 Xerox. Joshua Trees on Pawcoon Ranch, North West Arizona near St. Thomas, Nevada
0178 Xerox. Left to right, Faye Perkins, John Perkins and family, ST. Thomas , Nevada..
0179 Xerox. Truckee River at Reservation Dam near Pyramid Lake
0180 Xerox. Fossil beds (elephants, etc) near Corn Creek, Las Vegas
0181 Xerox. Governor’s party at Cathedral Gulch, Panaca, Nevada 1924
0182 Xerox Scene on T&T Ranch, Amargosa Desert, Nevada 1924
0183 Xerox. Colorado River at foot of Gypsum Wash, Clark County , Nevada 1924
0184 Xerox. Left to right, Col. T.W. Milla, Gov. J.G. Scrugham of Nevada and M.R. Harrington, St. Thomas, Nevada 1924
0185 Xerox. M.R. Harrington, Camp outfit, Southern Nevada, 1924

Folder 143-8 (Heye Foundation)

Nevada

Pueblo Grande

0186 Xerox. Reconstruction at Pueblo Grande
0187 Xerox. Beatty, Nevada
0188 Xerox. Unearthed dwellings, Lost City, Nevada Nov. 14, 1926
0189 Xerox. Restored houses at Lost City
0190 Xerox. Petroglyphs, Southern Nevada
0191 Xerox. Two men, No ID
0192 Xerox. Pit dwelling or Kiva, Southern Nevada
0193 Xerox. Pyramid Lake Caves
0194 Xerox. Double burial, Lost City
0195 Xerox. Black Canyon petroglyphs, 29 miles from Las Vegas
0196 Xerox. Working on Lost City
0197 Xerox. Rock shelter, No ID
0198 Xerox. Entrance to Salt Caves
0199 Xerox. Burial Lost City
0200 Xerox. Skeleton, Lost City
0201 Xerox. Slab Doors (?) (house 2)
0202 Xerox. Petroglyphs, Black Canyon, 29 miles from Las Vegas
0203 Xerox. Same as 202
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Pueblo Grande de Nevada (cont.)

0204 Xerox Heye Foundation
0205 Xerox. John Perkins, Gov. J.G. Schrugham at Lost City
0206. Looking over Lost City
0207 Xerox. Skeleton Lost City
0208 Xerox. Skull from burial cave in Pawcoon Ranch, Northwest Arizona
0209 Xerox. No ID
0210 Xerox NO ID (burial)
0211 Xerox. Approaching the hidden forest, Sheep Mountain Range, Nevada
0212 Xerox. Working Staff, mostly Zuni’s
0213 Xerox NO ID (burial)
0214 Xerox. Skulls from burial cave, Pawcoon Ranch, Northwest Arizona
0215 Xerox. Near ST. Thomas, Nevada Schellbach photo, Nov, 1924
0216 Xerox. Turquoise hammer lying on surface. Turquoise mines near Boulder Dam.
0217 Xerox. No Id (Zuni helpers?)
0218 Xerox NO ID (burial)
0219 Xerox Ruins, Southern , Nevada
0220 Xerox. Ruins of Adobe House
0221 Xerox. Pottery from Lost City
0222 Xerox. Governor Schrugham, M.R. Harrington and friends
0223 Xerox. M.R. Harrington and Don Louis Schellbach with skulls
0224 Xerox. Mrs. Jessie Evans (Shoshone) in Zuni costume, 1924 (1925)
0225 Xerox. Moapa Paiute girl, dressed for the Lost City pageant, 1925
0226 Xerox. Mr. Turbeyfill, Mrs. Albert and Mr. Cokefair and an Indian helper at the site of an excavation at the Lost City (Pueblo Grande of Nevada) Near St. Thomas. The Tent is for protection against the hot sun, April, 1925.
0227 Xerox. Mrs. Albert at the Lost City excavations are shown in the foreground, the muddy valley in the middle ground and beyond the flat mesa and mountain ranges.
0228 Xerox. Henry Albert of Reno, Nevada and another dead- in “The Lost City” near St. Thomas, Nevada, now being excavated by Dr. Harrington, April, 1925
0229 Xerox. Mrs. Jessie Evans and children in Zuni costumes.
0230 Xerox. George (Pit River) and Jessie (Shoshone) in Paiute costume, 1925
0231 Xerox. George Evans (Pit River) dressed as Paiute
0232 Xerox, Jessie Evans (Shoshone) in Zuni costume, 1925
0233 Xerox. Burial 8, Burial Hill near Overton, 1925
0234 Xerox. Burial 10, Burial Hill near Overton, 1925





0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-9 (Park Service)

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, Miscellaneous

0235 Foundation pit dwelling on East side of Virgin River, Near Overton, Sept. 1936, Harrington photograph
0236 Indian bed, made of brush, as uncovered in foot print Rock shelter Arrow Canyon, Moapa, April 1935, Harrington photograph
0237 Pueblo cooking pot as uncovered near Overton (w/neg)

Folder 143-10 Park Service

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, Museum Hall

0238 Broken Pot found on Museum Hill, Overton, Nevada with finder R. Kahlke, Feb, 1934. Harrington photograph


Folder 143-11

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 47

0239 Metates in place, CCC Loya in background, 1933, Harrington photograph
0240 Small pot in place, with finder (Hightlinger) 1933, Harrington photograph
0241 Small corrugated pot as found in Plaza with Fay Perkins, 1933 Harrington photograph

Folder 143-12

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 50

0242 Pottery vase in place, January 1935. Harrington photograph
0243 Indian Cooking pot, May 1936
0244 Corrugated cooking pot, February 1936
0245 Cooking pot from Ash Dump, May 1937
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION


Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 50

0246 Corrugated pot, June 1937
0247 Cooking pots, June 1937


Folder 143-13

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 67

0248 Burial 75 with canteen and plain bowls, 1934. Harrington photograph
0249 Burial 76 with finders (Cantry and Robbins) in plaza , 1934. Harrington photograph

Folder 143-14

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ House 69\

0250 Small pot found with burial 78, room 2, with finders (Wilson and Robbins) 1934. Harrington

Folder 143-15

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 72

0251 Bowl with finders (Hampton and O. Perkins) Harrington photograph
0252 Small pot with finders (Parkers and Nelson) Harrington photograph

Folder 143-16

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts- in- situ, House 75

0253 Burial 83. Room 3, Showing large canteen and small broken pots, 1934. Harrington photograph.
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-17

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, house 79

0254 Room 5, showing broken pottery piled above grave, with J. McDonald, Orville Perkins and Glen Lee, the finders. March, 1934. Harrington photograph
0255 Room 5, showing broken pottery piled above grave of burial 88, March, 1934. Harrington photograph.
0256 Burial 88, showing inverted, broken red bowl and fragments of another object, March, 1934. Harrington photograph.
0257 Canteen and painted bowl with burial 86, room 3, March, 1934. Harrington photograph
0258 Painted bowl and canteen from burial 86, room 3, March, 1934, with finders Orville Perkins, and Glen Lee, Harrington photograph.
0259 Pottery, including “doughnut bottle” with burial 87, March 1934 Harrington photograph.
0260 “Doughnut” bottle as first found, burial 87, March 1934. Harrington photograph
0261 “Doughnut bottle” and finder, F. Hughes from burial 87, March, 1934

Folder 143-18

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 80

0262 Large painted bowl as found, with burial 89, March, 1934. Harrington photograph
0263 Cache of manos with finder Boone Wilson, March 1934

Folder 143-19

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 82

0264 A hill top pit dwelling showing bench and ridges dividing bed-spaces, looking southwest shows imprints of willows in wall, March 1934. Harrington photograph




0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, house 83
Nevada

0265 Pottery with burial 92, with finders Sprague and Barnum, March 1934. Harrington photograph.

Folder 143-21

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 89

0266 Large corrugated pot with burial 99, room 19 with finder, December 1934
0267 Broken pottery in Room 20 with finders , November 1934. Harrington photograph

Folder 143-22

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 91

0268 Broken pottery in Room 6, December 1934. Harrington photograph.

Folder 143-23

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 94

0269 Deposit of broken pottery found on east side of House 94, with finders CCC Boyd of CO. 573, February 1935. Harrington photograph
0270 Bowl and broken pottery with burial 130; Skull just visible March 1935. Harrington photograph.

Folder 143-24

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifact-in-situ, House 102

0271 Food Bowl, May 1936

0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-25

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 108

0272 Stone fireplace in room #1, September 1936

Folder 143-26

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts-in-situ, House 117

0273 Hatch cover in room #2, on east bank of Virgin River, September, 1936 (w/neg)

Folder 143-27

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Artifacts in situ, House 117

0274 Junior foreman, Fay Perkins pointing out gravels in wall of pit type dwelling, March 1937
0275 Room #4, showing stone step and charred post at right end of slip.

Folder 143-28

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, DD: 7:31

0276 Site of DD : & :31. Surface indications of rooms, November 6, 1941 (w/neg)

Folder 143-29

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, Site G (7:11)

0277 Storage Pit 4-16-41
0278 Excavation work by CCC enroller, 4-16-41
0279 Storage Pit
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, Site G (7:11) (cont.)

0280 Storage Pit filled with water 4-30-41
0281 Lake rising and covering site
0282 Water pouring over site, Gordon C. Baldwin, 5-7-41 (w/neg)
0283 F.T. Schenk, Bill Meldon, Gordon C. Baldwin, water pouring over site, 5-7-41 (w/neg)

Folder 143-30
Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, gravel bank site

0284 Charred timbers inn large pit dwelling looking about northwest, March 1934. Harrington photograph.
0285 Similar view as 0284
0286 Charred timbers in large pit dwelling, looking about south, March 1934. Harrington photograph
0287 Charred timbers in large pit dwelling, looking about east, March 1934. Harrington photograph.

Folder 143-31

Nevada
Pueblo Grande, Excavations, house 47

0288 CCC boys cutting brush from dune, Harrington photograph
0289 CCC boys uncovering rooms, Harrington photograph
0290 Room 80, showing courses of adobe and finger-marks of builders (with Willis Evans)
0291 Rooms 64 and 67, with excavators (Wilson and Leavitt), 1933 Harrington photograph.
0292 Three layers of occupation in house 47, M.R. Harrington, standing in a room of the oldest layer, points to place where a room of the second occupation has utilized a wall of the first as a foundation. The end of the room of the last occupation on extreme right.
0293 Three levels of occupation. Willis-Evans Indian foreman stands with his hand on the remains of a room of the most recent level; the intermediate level is seen on left, and the oldest in the center.
0293a A detached room showing doorway, Lost City
0293b Ruins of Lost City, now covered by waters of Lake Mead
0293c House 47, 1926
0293d Photo of ruins, 1926
01443
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-32

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, House 50

0294 Showing area dug over by pot hunters. M. Perkins, points to torn down and    mutilated state reservation sign. January 1935. Harrington photograph
0295 Ash deposit, February, 1936
0296 Ash Deposit
0297 Ash Deposit (w/neg)

Folder 143-33

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, excavations, house 68

0298 Deeply buried wall with doorway, near house 68, with excavators. Hampton and McDonald

Folder 143-34

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavators, house 72

0299 Room 28 running under room 10. Harrington photograph.
0300 Fallen wall between rooms 19 and 10 with finder (McDonald), 1934, Harrington photograph

Folder 143-35

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, House 75

0301 Burial 83, showing large pottery canteen in place, and finders (Fay Perkins, J. Leavitt, Ryan and Hickman) Room 3. Harrington photograph)




0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-35

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, house 75

0301 Burial 83, showing large pottery canteen in place, and finders (Fay Perkins, J. Leavitt, Ryan and Hickman) Room 3. Harrington photograph.

Folder 143-36

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, House 77

0302 Panorama of house 77, December 1937
0303     Panorama of house 77, December 1937
0304     Wall of construction, December, 1932 (w/neg)
0305     Portion of wall, December, 1937 (w/neg)


Folder 143-37

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, house 80

306 Rooms 11, 10, and 9 showing double wall and bin in room 10. Looking south with M.R. Harrington, 1934. Harrington photograph
307 Rooms 9, 10, and 11, showing double wall in room 10,    Looking north with Willis Evans, Indian foreman.


Folder 143-38


        Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, house 82

308 Slab-lined storage pits near house 82 (with Willis Evans) March, 1934. Harrington photograph

0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-39

Nevada

Pueblo Grande excavations house 89

0309 Boys of Company 573 at work. Looking west, November, 1934. Harrington
photograph

Folder 143-40

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, house 91

0310 View of uncovered ruin, 1934. Schellbach photograph
0311    Showing heavy overburden of sand, looking west, December, 1934.
Harrington photograph.
0312    Same as above, looking east, December 1934. Harrington photograph.

Folder 143-41

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, house 101

0313 House 101 partially excavated, March, 1937

Folder 143-42

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, House 102

0314 House 102 below St. Thomas after excavation. This ruin yielded a large number
of excellent specimens. September 1936. Harrington photograph
0315 Foundation pit of the largest room thus found in a Lost City room. This was 27’
x 20’: It contained eight human skeletons. September, 1936. Harrington
            photograph.
0316    Motors in sandstone, May 1936.
0317 Gravel wall or pit type house (102) ¾ miles south of St. Thomas (w/neg)
0318    Same as above. Photograph only.

0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, House 102

0319 Wattle and daub walls, room 4. Portion of the walls, note fragments of bones of
            burial in foreground, May 1936. Photo only.
0320 Same as above (w/neg)
0321    View of the Virgin Valley from house 102, April 1937 (w/neg.)


Folder 143-43

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, house 109

0322    Floor of room #1, house #109, September 1936

Folder 143-44

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, house 111

0323 Room 3, House 111, before excavating, July 1936. St. Thomas, Nevada.
0324 Site of house 111, before excavating, July 1936. St. Thomas Nevada.
0325    Room 3, house 111, before excavating, July 1936. St. Thomas, Nevada
0326     Fire bowl in floor of room 2, house 111, September, 1936, St. Thomas
0327     Excavating room 2, house 111, July 1936, Three miles northeast of St. Thomas
0328     Site of house 111, before excavating, August 1936, St. Thomas, Nevada
0329     Room 2, house 111, September 1936, St. Thomas (w/neg)

Folder 143-45

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, house 113

0330 Room (house) 113, September 1936, ST. Thomas, Nevada (w/neg)
0331    House 113, September 1936, St. Thomas, Nevada
0332    Room 1, House 113, September, 1936, St. Thomas, Nevada




0143
PUEBLO GRAND DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-46

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, house 117

0333 Start of excavation room 4, house 117, March, 1937. St. Thomas, Nevada
0334    Charred wood uncovered in pit house #117, April 1937. St. Thomas, Nevada
            W/NEG
0335    Charred wood uncovered in pit house 117, April 1937, St. Thomas (w/neg)

Folder 143-47

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, Miscellaneous

0336 Enrollees doing archeological excavating on a refuse mound in the “Lost City” area
            that will be inundated 1934. Nevada State Park, Overton, Schellbach photograph.
0337 Enrollees on Archeological excavation (ECW) 1935, Overton, Nevada Schellbach
         photograph
0338    Archeological excavations by CCC Boulder Dam State Park, 1934, Overton
            Nevada. Schellbach photograph.
0339 Archeological excavations by CCC
0339a CCC boy at Lost City with pottery bowl 3/35
0339b Uncovering house of Pueblo Indian 12/34 (neg. only)
0339c Crew digging for artifacts near Overton, Nevada 2/36 (neg. only)
0339d CCC boys excavating at Lost City 12/34 (neg.only)



Folder 143-48

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, Paiute Cave #2

0340 Paiute Cave#2 , looking north at cave ash dump in foreground, 2 ½ miles east
         of St. Thomas, July 1936 (w/neg)




0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-49

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations, Paiute Rockshelter#2, Rock shelter #2

0341    Paiute Rock shelter #2 and Rock shelter #2 , 1 ½ miles northeast of St. Thomas
                along east side of Virgin River (w/neg)
     0342 Rock shelter #2 , 1 ½ miles northeast of St. Thomas along the east side of
                Virgin River

Folder 143-50

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations- Rock shelters 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10

0343 Rockshelter #2 before excavating location 2 ½ miles east of St. Thomas,
             Nevada. June 1936 (w/neg)
0344 Rock shelter #2 where woven bag and many other articles were found.
            September 1936, near Overton, Nevada. Harrington photograph.
0345 Rock shelter #3, September 1936, St. Thomas, Nevada (w/neg)
0346    “Rock shelters 5, 7, 8, 9 Virgin River Stream bed in foreground. September
            1937, St. Thomas , Nevada (w/neg)
0347 “Rock shelters 5, 7, 8, 9 Virgin River Stream bed in foreground. (Enlarged
            copy of 0346) September 1937, St. Thomas , Nevada (w/neg)
0348 Rock shelter 5, September 1937, St. Thomas, Nevada (w/neg)
0349 Rock shelter 7, September 1937, St. Thomas, Nevada (w/neg)
0350    Rock shelter 8, September 1937, St. Thomas, Nevada (w/neg)
0351    Rock shelter 9, September 1937, St. Thomas, Nevada (w/neg)
0352    Rock shelter 9, Northeast of St. Thomas, Nevada (w/neg)
0353    Rock shelter 10, ¼ mile east of Spartan Sand Mill along road to St. Thomas,
            Nevada (w/neg)

Folder 143-51

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations- Salt Mines

0354    Salt Deposit- Old Indian Salt Mine, South of St. Thomas, Nevada (w/neg)
0355 Interior of Old Indian Salt Mine, southeast of St. Thomas, Nevada (w/neg)

0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-52

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations- Sullivan Turquoise Mines

0356 View of the ancient Indian Turquoise Mine, along the Boulder Dam, Boulder City,
            Highway. November 1937 (w/neg.)
0357 Archeology crew excavating at site of ancient Indian Turquoise Mine. May 1936
            (w/neg.)

Folder 143-53

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations- Wheeler Cave

0358 Deposits in Wheeler Cave #2, Etna, Caliente, Nevada. Section 2, North End, May
            1935. Harrington photograph.

Folder 143-54

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Excavations- Willow Beach

0359 View of excavations in stratified ancient camp site near Willow (Pebble) Beach
         on the Colorado River near Boulder Dam. September 1936. Harrington photo
0360     Stratification of deposits in ancient camp site near Willow (Pebble) Beach.
             The enrollee is pointing to the bottom of a layer containing no relics, the
            strata above and below yielding traces of ancient Indians , near Boulder Dam,
             September 1936. Harrington photograph.

Folder 143-55
Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Petroglyphs, Hackberry Springs

0361 Group of pictographs near Huckberry Springs, Mormon Peaks, Moapa,
            Nevada. Old Pueblo paintings in red and white on left. Paiute paintings on
            right in black.
0362 Close up of Paiute pictographs in black near Hackberry Spring, Mormon Peaks,
        Moapa, Nevada. May 1935, Harrington photograph.
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-56

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Petroglyphs- Warshield and Footprint, Rockshelter

0363 View of Warshield Rockshelter, near head of Arrow Canyon, Moapa,
             Nevada. March 1935. Harrington photograph.
0364 Ruins of stone built rooms in War Shield Rockshelter, near head of Arrow Canyon,
            Moapa, Nevada. February 1935. Harrington photograph.
0365 Room 2 in Warshield Rockshelter near head of Arrow Canyon, Moapa, Nevada.
            Mr. Willis Evans standing, March 1935. Harrington photograph.
0366 Room 1 in Warshield Rockshelter near head of Arrow Canyon, Moapa, Nevada
         with Willis Evans.
0367 Slab with rock writings (petroglyphs) in front of Warshield Rockshelter near head
         of Arrow Canyon, Moapa , Nevada. Fay Perkins (left) and Willis Evans, February
         1935. Harrington photograph
0368 Petroglyphs (rock carving) representing a War shield in War shield rock shelter,
            near head of Arrow Canyon, Moapa, Nevada. February 1935. Harrington photo
0369 Petroglyphs of Warshield. Same as above.
0370 Petroglyphs of a man holding a warshield. April 1935, Harrington photograph
0371 Petroglyphs representing a warshield footprint Rockshelter, Arrow Canyon,
            Moapa, Nevada. April 1935.


Folder 143-57

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Burials, house 50

0372 Room 9, 9A (below) with burials 114, 115 and finders. House 50: Lost City,
            Overton, Nevada. February 1935. Harrington photograph.
0373 Burials 114, 115 (below) rooms 9, 9A, house 50. Showing superimposed floors and
            burials, Lost City, Overton, Nevada. February 1935, Harrington photograph.
0374 Burial House 50, Lost City, Nevada
0375    Burial House 50, Lost City, Nevada
0376    Skull from house 50, Lost City, Nevada
0377    Burial containing Indian and dog skeletons, House 50, Lost City, Nevada
0378    Burial house 50, Lost City, Nevada
0379    Burial House 50, Lost City, Nevada
0380     Dog Burial, house 50, Lost City, Nevada. May 1937

0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Pueblo Grande, Burials, house 50 (CONT.)_

0381 Burial 103 (infant) house 50, Lost City, Overton, Nevada. January 1935 Harrington
         photograph.
0382 Burials 105, 107 (beneath) house 50, Lost City, Nevada. With finder January 1935,
            Harrington photograph.
0383 Burial 142, in ash dump, house 50, Lost City, Nevada February 1936
0384    Burial 276, House 50, Lost City, May 1937
0385    Burial 276, House 50, Lost City, May 1937
0386    Burials 277, 278, 279 at southeast side of house 50
0387     Burials 279 and 277, house 50, Lost City, Nevada, May 1937

Folder 143-58

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Burials, house 67

0388    Burial 77, with pottery bowl and canteen, room 6, house 67, Lost City. Harrington
            photograph.

Folder 143-59

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Burials, house 74

0389 Burial 82 with ollas, arrowhead, etc. room 6, house 74, Lost City. Harrington
         photograph.

Folder 143-60

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Burials, house 77

0390 Burial 84 in house 77, showing broken pottery laid over skeleton, Lost City,
            1934





0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION


Folder 143-61

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Burials, house 82

0391 Skeleton, burial 91, house 82, Lost City, March 1934


Folder 143-62

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Burials, house 84

0392 Infant skeleton, burial 93, house 84. In hillside ash dump, Lost City, March
            1934. Harrington photograph.


Folder 143-63

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Burials, house 89

0393 Burial 98, room 4, house 89, Lost City, November 1934, Harrington photograph

Folder 143-64

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Burials , House 94

0394 Burial 104, room 1, house 94, Lost City, January 1935. Harrington photograph.
0395 Burial 104, room 1, house 94, Lost City, January 1935. Harrington photograph.
0396    Burial 117, house 94, Lost City, showing broken pottery laid over skeleton,
            February 1935. Harrington photograph.
0397 Burial 118 in house 94, Lost City, an unusually well preserved early pueblo
         skeleton, February 1935. Harrington photograph.
0398 Burial 118 in house 94, Lost City with finder. A CCC boy of company 573.
         February 1935. Harrington photograph.

0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Pueblo Grande, Burials , House 94 (cont.)

0399 Burial 120, a child’s skeleton with a decorated food bowl, two small pots and a
         small olla, all broken and scattered over the grave. House 94, Lost City, March
         1935. Harrington photograph.
0400 Burial 121, showing stone pipe, house 94, Lost City, March 1935, Harrington
         photograph.
0401 Burial 122, an adult with a broken black on white food bowl, afterward restored.
            March 1935, Harrington photograph.

Folder 143-65

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Burials, House 98

0402 Burial 124, in room 2, house 98, and adult without mortuary offerings. March
         1935. Harrington photograph.

Folder 143-66

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Burials, House 101

0403 Burial, House 101
0404    Burial 250, St. Thomas, Nevada, September 1936
0405 Burial 263, St. Thomas, Nevada, March 1937
0406 Burial 263, St. Thomas, Nevada, March 1937, another view

Folder 143-67

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Burials, House 102 Nev. DD:11:111

0407 Burial at house 102, May 1936, St. Thomas
0408 Pueblo burial #143 with artifacts in place
0409 Buria1 #143, March 1936, St. Thomas
0410 Burial 143. March 1936
0411 Burial 143 in ash dump, March 1936, St. Thomas, closer view
0412 Burial 148, St. Thomas
0413 Burial 154, room 5, March 1936
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Pueblo Grande, Burials, House 102 Nev. DD:11:111 (cont.)

0414 Burial 155, room 4, April 1936, St. Thomas
0415 Burial 158, room 6, April 1936, St. Thomas
0416 Burial 165, April 1936, St. Thomas
0417 Burial 165, room 4, September 1936 (?) St. Thomas. Almost same view as 416.
0418    Burial 166, April 1936, St. Thomas
0419 Burial 166, same as above, lighter exposure
0420 Burial 170, room 7A, May 1936 (?) St. Thomas. Almost same view as 0416
0421 Burial 171, room 4, St. Thomas
0422 Burial 173, May 1936, St. Thomas
0423 Burial 174, in ash dump, June 1936, St. Thomas
0424 Burial 174, same as above, different view.
0425 Burial 179, St. Thomas
0426 Burial 194, May 1936, St. Thomas
0427 Burial 205, September 1936, St. Thomas.
0428 Burial 206, St. Thomas
0429 Burial 222, St. Thomas
0430 Burial 227, St. Thomas
0431 Burial 228, St. Thomas
0432 Burial 236, June 1936, St. Thomas
0433 Burial 236, March 1936, St. Thomas, (one is mislabeled)
0434 Burial 264, March 1937, St. Thomas
0435 Burial 267, March 1937, St. Thomas
0436 Burial 268, March 1937, St. Thomas
0437 Burial 417, September 1936, St. Thomas

Folder 143-68

Nevada
Pueblo Grande- Burials, house 104

0438 Burial 271, March 1937, St. Thomas
0439 Burial 272, March 1937, St. Thomas

Folder 143-69

Nevada
Pueblo Grande- Burials, house 111

0440 Burial 255, room 2, June 1936, St. Thomas
0441 Burial 256, room 8, September 1936, St. Thomas
0442 Burial 256, same as above, another view
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-70

Nevada

Pueblo Grande- Burials, house 115

0443 Burial 258, September 1936, east of St. Thomas

Folder 143-71
Nevada

Pueblo Grande---Burials, Misc

0444    Indian pottery in place in burial, near Overton
0445 Skeleton found while building reproductions of pueblo Indian dwellings, near
         Boulder Dam State Park Museum, Overton, June 1935
0446    Mummy of an infant of early pueblo age found in a dry rock-shelter near
         Overton, September 1936. Harrington photograph.
0446a Skeleton, 1926
0446b Skeleton and pottery

Folder 143-72
Nevada
Pueblo Grande, CCC Boys

0447 CCC Co. 974 at camp sp-1, 1934, Overton. Harrington photograph
0448 Lost City Detail, CCC Co. 934 with truck at Archeological Headquarters, 1934
        . Harrington photograph (w/neg.)
0449 Lost City Detail, CCC Co. 974 lined up at Archeological Headquarters, 1934.
         Harrington photograph.
0450 Lost City Detail, CCC Co. 974 lined up at Archeological Headquarters, 1934.
            Harrington photograph.
0451 Construction of early pueblo house near Boulder Dam State Park June 1935,
            Overton (w/neg.)
0452 Early pueblo Indian wattle and daub construction, June 1935, Overton Museum
         (w/neg.)
0453 Large painted bowl from burial 89, house 80, with finders; Cantry, Hanback,
            and Barnum, March 1934. Overton, Harrington photograph

0454 Pottery vessels after restoration from burial 84, room 3, house 77, with finders;
         McDonald, Lee, Barnum and Perkins, March 1934, Overton, Harrington photo
0455 Same as above, similar view
0456 Fay Perkins examining specimen, Lost City (w/neg)
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION


Folder 143-73

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Lost City Area Survey, 1980

0457 Contact sheet, house 57, Chuck Walla cave


Folder 143-74
Nevada
Pueblo Grande, Museum Pieces

0461 Hatch covers, Metates, and manos, Boulder Dam State Park Museum, Overton,
            September 1936 (w/neg.)
0462 Stone Mortar and crude implements from very ancient pit-dwelling near the
         Virginia River, Overton, Nevada, September 1936, Harrington photograph.
0463 Dart- points and knife blades from ancient pit-dwellings near the Virgin River,
         Overton, Nevada, September 1936, Harrington photograph.
0464 Stone implements found at stratified camp site. Upper row, recent fourth rows,
            very old possibly basketmaker, September 1936. Willow beach, near Boulder
             Dam. Harrington photograph.
0465 Arrow points from Lost City, September 1936. (w/neg.)
0466 Implements of stone and bone, Boulder State Park Museum , September 1936
            (w/neg)
0467 Collection of food bowls, Boulder State Park Museum, Overton September
            1936. (w/neg)
0468 Characteristic pottery from house 102. These represent an early period of the
            Lost City’s history and differ from most Lost City ware. September 1936,
            Harrington photograph.
0469    Objects found with a pueblo burial at Pueblo (willow) Beach on the Colorado
             River, September 1936. Enlarged from photograph by E.F. Schenk.
0470    Cooking pots and water olla, September 1936, Lost City (w/neg.)
0471 Pueblo #2, cooking pots. Boulder Dam State Park and Museum, Overton,
            September 1938. (w/neg).
0472 Collection of cooking pots and one water olla. Boulder Dam State Park
            Museum, September 1936. (w/neg)
0473 Right to left, a spoon made of mountain sheep horn, a flint knife with handle
         made of pitch, a mescal knife (recent) with iron blade and wooden handle,
            from dry rockshelter, near Overton, Nevada, September 1936, Harrington
            photograph.

0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Pueblo Grande, Museum Pieces (cont.)

0474 Hooks of iron and wood used by Paiute Indians to drag small animals from
         holes, digging stick and corn cob impaled on a stick, from dry rockshelter,
         September 1936, Near Overton. Harrington photograph.
0475 Mescal knife No. BP 6057
0476 Ancient woven bag of Basket maker age found in a dry rockshelter near
         Overton, Nevada, September 1936. Harrington photograph
0477 Fire-sticks, sandals and wooden fire shovel from a dry cave near Pierce’s Ferry,
         Arizona. September 1936, near Overton. Harrington photograph.
0478 Indian artifacts from Lost City, September 1936 (w/neg)
0479 Soapstone beads and abalone shells from burial #267, house 102. March 1937,
         St. Thomas, Nevada
0480 Salt crystal from Indian salt mines near Overton, Nevada. July 23, 1940
            (w/neg.)
0481 Side view of the skulls. The deformity of the right skull shows plainly.
            September 1936, Harrington photograph.

Folder 143-76

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Pueblo at Lost City Museum

0482 Reconstruction house ruin at Overton Museum. November 1936 (w/neg)
0483 Indian house reconstructed on museum grounds. Overton, November 1936
         (w/neg.)

Folder 143-77

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Restored Pueblo

0484 View of first restored Indian house at Lost City. January 1939 (1938) (w/neg.)
0485 Restored Indian pueblo house. January 1937. (w/neg)
0486 Mortars in rock on hill behind restored house. April 1939 (1938) (w/neg)
0487 The restored Indian house at Lost City showing the lake only a few feet from it.
            (w/neg.)
0488    Lake Mead rising on Lost City. This is portion of first house restored. (w/neg.)
0489 Lake Mead beginning to cover the Lost City in Moapa Valley (restored Indian
            houses) June 1938 (w/neg)

0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Folder 143-78

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, St. Thomas

0490 St. Thomas soon to be covered by advancing waters of Lake Mead (w/neg.)
0491 View of St. Thomas, Nevada showing portion not yet cleared of trees March
         1935, Harrington photograph.
0492 St. Thomas, showing portion from which trees have been cleared, March 1935,
            Harrington photograph.
0493    A view of shooting waters of Lake Mead (w/neg)
0494 Evacuating St. Thomas. Which was covered by water of Lake Mead,
            June 1938. (w/neg.)
0495 Tearing down a house in St. Thomas, Nevada (w/neg)
0496 Taking up track; advancing waters of Lake Mead in background (w/neg.)
0497 A street in St. Thomas, Nevada covered with water (w/neg)
0498    A view showing advancing waters of Lake Mead (w/neg.)
0499 St. Thomas on Muddy River, upper arm of Lake Mead shows appearance of old
            main street after the Lake had gone down. April 18, 1951 (w.neg)


Folder 143-79

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Pageant

0500 Photo of the ruins of Lost City, 1926
0501 Photo-pageant given by Schrugham in Southern Nevada showing a
            reconstruction of part of the Lost City.

Folder 143-80

Nevada

Pueblo Grande, Vegetation

0502 Old Mescal-roasting pit near Hackberry Spring, Mormon Peaks, Moapa,
         Nevada, May 1935. Harrington photograph.
0503 Pine-nut in pinon tree, great source of food for the Indians, growing near
            Hackberry Spring, Mormon Peaks, Moapa, Nevada. May 1935, Harrington
            photograph.
0143
PUEBLO GRANDE DE NEVADA COLLECTION

Pueblo Grande, Vegetation (cont.)

0504 Yucca or Spanish Bayonet, fruit beginning to set. Source of food to the Indians
            while leaves yielded fiber for cardage etc.
0505 Mescal plant growing, much used as food by the Indians. Near Hackberry
         Spring, Mormon Peaks, Moapa, Nevada. May 1935. Harrington photograph.
0506 Juniper tree, the wood of which was used by the Indians for bows; the bark for
            cordage, bedding and linings for storage pits. Near Hackberry Spring, Mormon
            Peaks, Moapa, Nevada. May 1935. Harrington photograph.
0507    View of ancient turquoise mine near Boulder Dam (Sullivan Mine) showing
            area dug over and Lake Mead in the distance . September 1936, Harrington
            photograph.

Folder 143-81

Additions

0508 Mark Harrington in front of Temporary Museum at Lost City- 1920’s -1930s.
0509 Equipment used in reconnaissance of Virgin Valley. M.R. Harrington
         (mounted) and Fay Perkins Feb. 1935.