Photo Collections Record
Ida Brewington Pittman PhotographsExtent:
1.3 Linear Feet (5 hanging folders and 1 flat file)
Photo Cabinet 11:B, Photo Collection Negatives Box 19
Link to Collection Guide
Ida Brewington Pittman Papers, 1906-1977. MS-00243. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Pittman Family Photographs, 1922-1989. PH-00053. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Ann Pittman Brewington Collection, 1984-1987. MS-00286. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Key Pittman Correspondence, 1933-1940. MS-00074. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
The Ida Brewington Pittman Photographs contain photographs of Ida Brewington Pittman and her husband, Nevada Governor Vail Pittman, from 1896 to 1976. The photographs primarily depict Governor Pittman at political events, parades, celebrations, and events. The photographs include Governor Pittman meeting with politicians like President Harry S. Truman, U.S. Senator from Nevada Pat McCarran, Las Vegas, Nevada mayor Ernie Cragin, California Governor Earl Warren, Utah Governor J. Bracken Lee, Oregon Governor Earl Snell, and Wyoming Governor Lester C. Hunt. The photographs also depict the Pittman and Brewington families, the Governor’s Mansion in Carson City, Nevada, the Pittman home in Ely, Nevada, and the Pittmans travelling in other countries.
0001 Dr. George Brewington and his wife Rose. (1953) Parents of Ida ("Liz") Brewington Pittman.
0002 L-R: Frances, Ida ("Liz") , and Ann Brewington. (1896)
0003 "Vail when he was a young gay boy".
0004 Vail Pittman (standing).
0005 Vail Pittman.
0006 Vail Pittman.
0007 Vail Pittman. Signed: "To Frank with love from Vail"
0008 Vail Pittman.
0009 Vail Pittman.
0010 Vail Pittman.
0011 Vail Pittman.
0012 Vail Pittman.
0013 Vail Pittman on horseback.
0014 Ida ("Liz") Brewington Pittman. (OVERSIZE)
0015 Ida Brewington Pittman.
0016 Ida ("Liz") Brewington Pittman.
0017 University of Nevada Commencement, June 7, 1948. L-R; Senator Tasker Oddie, Mrs. Silas Ross, Ida B. Pittman, president Moseley.
0018 Ida B. Pittman (center, standing-dark dress).
0019 "Dorothy, Bill & Epp-at christening Aug. 16-1947"
0020 Ida ("Liz") Pittman (2nd lady from left) and sister Ann Brewington (lady on right side of table wearing glasses and pears, center).
0021 At the Riviera Hotel, Las Vegas, L-R: Mabel Bishop, Frances Brewington, Vail Pittman, Ann Brewington, Liz Pittman, Mabel Bates. (May 1, 1959)
0022 Vail Pittman (2nd from left); Frances Brewington (3rd from right); Ida "Liz" Pittman (far right).
0023 The Pittmans' 40th wedding anniversary (May 22, 1959). L-R: Bob Donlin, Ann Brewington, (?), Frances Brewington, Vail and Liz Pittman.
0024 Group at the Desert Inn, Las Vegas. L-R: Ann Brewington, Liz Pittman, Paula Donlin, Vail Pittman, Frances Brewington, Bob Donlin.
0025 Thunderbird Hotel (5-23-62) L-R: Henry Powell Hopkins, Liz and Vail Pittman.
0026 Group at Flamingo Hotel, Las Vegas. L-R: Vail Pittman, Mary Sherman, Liz Pittman, Charles Sherman.
0027 L-R: Frances Brewington, Bob and Paula Donlin, Liz Pittman, Ann Brewington.
0028 L-R; Vail and Liz Pittman, William Pittman (Vail's brother). (1950)
0029 Vail Pittman. (1939)
0030 Vail Pittman (right), August, 1939.
0031 Vail Pittman (right). (1939)
0032 Ida ("Liz") and Vail Pittman.
0033 L-R: Ann Brewington, Vail Pittman, and Frances Brewington at the Pittman home in Las Vegas-1817 Walnut Avenue.
0034 Ida and Vail Pittman at a conference in Sacramento. (1948)
0035 Ann Brewington and Vail Pittman.
0036 Liz and Vail Pittman.
0037 Liz and Vail Pittman in Canada. (1962)
0038 Bird hunting trip. Vail Pittman (left) and James Cashman, Sr. (center)
0039 Vail Pittman (center).
0040 Liz and Vail Pittman (left) with unidentified wedding couple.
Parades, Rodeos, Celebrations
0041 Vail Pittman on horseback.
0042 Vail Pittman riding "Trigger" in the Helldorado Parade, Las Vegas, NV. (1946) (OVERSIZE)
0043 Vail Pittman riding "Trigger" in the Las Vegas Helldorado Parade, May 23, 1946.
0044 Vail Pittman, Las Vegas Helldorado Parade, 1949. (on horseback)
0045 Helldorado Celebration. L-R; Jim Cashman, Sr., Mrs. Ernie Cragin, Lieut. Governor Vail Pittman, Mayor Ernie Cragin, Governor E.P. Carville. (1945)
0046 Vail Pittman riding in the Fourth of July parade in Reno, Nevada. (1947)
0047 Tonopah Rodeo, Sept. 20, 1947. Vail Pittman, left, won prize for best dressed "cowboy".
0048 Governor Vail Pittman receives gift of western attire from James Cashman, Sr. L-R: Al Cahlan, Ernie Cragin, Pittman, Cashman, Cliff Jones, Harry "Hap" Hazard. (May 1947)
0049 Tonopah Rodeo, Sept. 20, 1947. Vail Pittman, third from right.
0050 Gov. Vail Pittman and former world's heavyweight champion, Jack Dempsey, at Tonopah's birthday celebration. (May 1950)
0051 Gov. Vail Pittman and Lieut. Governor Cliff Jones (rt.). Tonopah birthday celebration. (May 1950)
0051a Tonopah birthday celebration, May 1950. Gov. Vail Pittman (3rd from left); Jack Dempsey (3rd from right); Leonard Sachs, Dempsey's manager (far right).
0052 Rotary Club meeting, Ely, Nevada. Vail Pittman is seated third from left at table at far left of photo. (photo by Chas. D. Gallagher, Ely, Nevada)
0053 Nevada car ("Pitman") and Nevada float in inaugural parade, Washington, D.C. (Jan. 20, 1949) Governor Pittman is riding in car.
0054 Nevada float in Inaugural Parade, Washington, D.C. (Jan. 20, 1949) (Morrison Photographs)
0055 Nevada car in inaugural parade, Washington, D.C., 1949. (Notice spelling of "Pittman" on car's sign-is spelled "Pitman".) (Photo by Nevada State Highway dept.)
0056 Governor Vail Pittman receiving gift of western outfit from Jim Cashman, Sr. L-R: Al Cahlan, Ernie Cragin, Pittman, Cashman, Cliff Jones, Harry 'Hap" Hazard. (May 1947)
0057 Governor Pittman's inauguration. March 1947. L-R: Mr. And Mrs. Alan Bible, Lieut. Governor Cliff Jones, Liz and Vail Pittman.
0058 Governor Vail Pittman taking the oath of office.
0059 Governor Vail Pittman's inauguration, March 1947. L-R; Rev. and Mrs. Harvey (backs to camera); Lt. Gov. Cliff Jones; Liz and Vail Pittman.
0060 The Bates Family at Governor Vail Pittman's inaugural ball, May 8, 1947.L-R: Dr. George Bates; his wife Betty; Osmond Bates; his daughter Catherine; Mabel (Osmond's wife); Catherine's husband; Donald Bates; his wife Jerry. (See back of photo for additional info.)
0061 Gov. Vail Pittman (left) giving a speech in which he accepts the Rona portrait bust, at his inaugural ball, March 8, 1947. At right is Gene La Tourrette, Young Democrats' president.
0062 Governor Vail Pittman poses next to bust of himself. (Photo by John J. Nulty) (OVERSIZE)
0063 Governor Vail Pittman (left).
0064 Vail Pittman, Governor of Nevada.
0065 Governor Vail Pittman in his office-March 29, 1949.
0066 Governor Vail Pittman.
0067 Gov. Vail Pittman signing bills passed by the 1949 state legislature. (Nev. State Highway Dept. Photo)
0068 Truman rally, Sept. 22, 1948, Reno, Nevada. President Harry S. Truman (at podium) was campaigning for reelection.
0069 President Harry S. Truman (center) with Nevada Governor Vail Pittman (left) and Nev. Senator Patrick McCarran (right).
0070 Taken the day of President Harry Truman's speech in front of the State Building in Reno. (Oct. 1948) L-R in open car: Truman, Nev. Gov. Vail Pittman, Nev. Sen. Pat McCarran. (Photo by Henry Heisler)
0071 Center, walking towards camera, L-R: Nev. Gov. Vail Pittman, Pres. Harry S. Truman, Nev. Senator McCarran. (Sept. 22, 1948) [Reno, Nevada, probably]
0072 Vail Pittman in "Black Maria' at Hawthorne, Nevada. (c. 1947)
0073 Governor Vail Pittman (wearing white hat), Hawthorne, Nevada, Oct. 25, 1947.
0074 Navy Day at Hawthorne, Nevada, Oct. 25, 1947. Ida Pittman (2nd from left) and Governor Vail Pittman, (3rd from left).
0075 L-R: Gov. Earl Snell (Oregon), Lt. Gov. Donald Whitehead (Idaho), Gov. Lester D. Hunt (Wyo.), Gov. Vail Pittman (Nev.), on board the USS Iowa during the Governors' Cruise. (Official photo of U.S. Navy)
0076 Gov. Vail Pittman (right) and Ernie Cragin (left).
0077 Former Nevada Governor Vail Pittman receiving Distingu8shed Nevadan Award, June 6, 1960.
0078 Ida Pittman (left) and Vail Pittman (right).
0079 Governor Vail Pittman (center) personally conducting tour of Hoover Dam for Mr. And Mrs. K.E. Jung, 3-millionth visitor to the project. (1-28-58)
0080 Nevada Governor Vail Pittman (directly behind man holding frog; between woman and man wearing bow tie). They are watching Gov. Hall and his frog at the Jumping Frog of Calaveras County Contest.
0081 Governors from various states on board the USS Iowa. (c. late 1940s) Nevada Governor Vail Pittman is front row, fifth from left. See reverse for other i.d.s. (Official U.S. Navy photograph)
0082 Governor Vail Pittman and Captain J.S. Crenshaw tolling replica Liberty Bell concluding dedication ceremonies.
0083 Governor Vail Pittman (left) with U.S. Postal Service employees.
0084 Governor Vail Pittman being served in the enlisted mess hall aboard the USS Shangri-La enroute to Honolulu from San Diego. (8 September-14 September 1946). Pittman and other officers were guests of the Secretary of the Navy. (Official U.S. Navy photograph)
0085 1950 Red Cross Fund Conference, Las Vegas Air Force Base. L-R: Lawrence O. Hall, Field Director; Col. Joe L. Mason, Commanding Officer, LV Air Force Base; Governor Vail Pittman; Rev. Walter Bishop, Chairman, Clark County Chapter, Las Vegas, Nev.
0086 Ida and Vail Pittman (2nd and 3rd from left, behind table). (c. late 1940s)
0087 Gov. Vail Pittman giving address, Freedom Train program. (Photo by
William C. Chadwell Co., Reno, Nev.)
0088 Politicians from western states: L-R: Gov. Earl Warren, Calif.; Gov. Ernest Gruening, Terr. Of Alaska; Lt. Gov. Knight; (?); Ford; Gov. Vail Pittman, Nev.; Robins.
0089 Gov. Vail Pittman cutting the cake, Ranch Inn banquet, 12-21-46. His wife Ida is at his side.
0090 Lehman Caves, 8-14-49. L-R: Gov. Lee, Gov. Vail Pittman, Mrs. Lee, Ida Pittman.
0091 Easter party for the children from the orphans' home on the grounds of Nevada's governor's mansion. (April 20, 1946)
0092 Ida ("Liz") Pittman with children on lawn of governor's mansion, Carson City, Nev. (1946)
0093 Governor's Mansion, Carson City, Nevada, Christmas 1948.
0094 Christmas at the Governor's mansion, Carson City, Nevada, 1949.
0095 Executive Mansion, Carson City, Nevada, Christmas 1946.
0096 Executive Mansion, Carson City, Nevada, Christmas 1947.
0097 Governor's mansion, Carson City, Nevada. (June 1946)
0098 Ida and Vail Pittman at their Ely, Nevada home.
0099 The Vail Pittman home in Ely, Nevada.
0100 Ida ("Liz") and Vail Pittman on board the R.M.S. "Queen Mary".
0101 Ida and Vail aboard R.M.S. "Queen Elizabeth".
0102 Vail and Ida Pittman on board R.M.S. "Queen Mary".
0103 Liz and Vail Pittman (front row #2 and #3), on a sightseeing boat in Stockholm, Sweden. (1957)
0104 Ida and Vail Pittman (seated, center) in a boat, probably in Venice, Italy.
0105 Ida and Vail Pittman (right) in sampan on way to floating restaurant in Hong Kong.
0106 Twelve photos of Ida and Vail Pittman's travels to foreign countries. (Country identified on each photo.)
0107 Vail Pittman Mausoleum, Mountain View Cemetery, Reno, Nevada.
0108 Vail Pittman Mausoleum, Mountain View Cemetery, Reno, Nevada.
0109 Unidentified woman standing by car with dog. (John W. Walker Electric Studio, Ely, Nevada.)
0110 Group of hunters. Vail Pittman, 3rd from left (?).
0111 Unidentified group of people.
0112 "Mrs. Lee's luncheon Nov. 7-1949-Western Conference." Ida Pittman, second from right.
0113 Group of women standing by a [pond]. Ida Pittman is second from right. (Ross Photo Service, Sparks, Nev.)
0114 Probably the Pittman's pet dog.
0115 John Wright and Ann Brewington on the UNLV campus, November 1976.
0116 Ann Brewington and George Hardbeck. (Nov. 1976)