Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00170
UNLV Special Collections Photograph Collection on Book Illustrations

Location: PC 07:A, PC Negatives Box 11


Collection Contents:
0170
PHOTOS FROM BOOKS COLLECTION

0001 Pyramid lake
0002 Pass in the Sierra Nevada of California
0003 Beaver hat and fur-collared cape
0004 Carson and Godey returning from Indian fight
0005a John C. Fremont, map of exploration expedition in 1842 (neg. only)
0005b Same as above
0006 Kenderdine sketch of Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort. (neg. only)
0007 Book cover from Histoire des Crimes… (neg. only)
0008 Epilogue 1960, p. 72 (neg. only)
0009 Epilogue 1960, p. 73. (neg. only)
0010 Epilogue 1960, p. 74. (neg. only)
0011 Epilogue 1960, p. 75. (neg. only)
0012 American West, who came to Dodge City
0013 The Shoshoneans
0014 The Shoshoneans, headstone
0015 The Shoshoneans, grave site
0016 The Shoshoneans, grave site
0017 The Shoshoneans
0018 American West, Negro cowboy
0019 Rev. John Bain
0020 Steamboats on the Colorado River, steamboat landings map, p. 34 (neg. only)
0021 Steamboats on the Colorado River, stone warehouse at Callville, p. 50
(neg. only)
0022 Brigham Young the Colonizer, the Mormon Corridor, the state of Deseret map,
p. 69
0023 McWilliams Townsite, 1905-1908, map of McWilliams townsite (west Las
Vegas), May 15, 1905, and Clark Townsite, May 15, 1905 (neg. only)
0024 The Lion of the Lord, Brigham Young
0025 History of Nevada, physiography of Nevada, p. 4 (neg. only)
0026 Fremont Pathmaker of the West, Fremont’s five exploring trips, 1842-
p. 211 (neg. only)
0027 Fremont Explorer for a Restless Nation, mapmaker Charles Preuss (neg. only)
0028 Fremont Explorer for a Restless Nation, Jessie Benton Fremont (neg. only)
0029 Fremont Explorer for a Restless Nation, Senator Thomas Hart Benton (neg. only)
0030 Fremont Explorer for a Restless Nation, John Charles Fremont in 1850,
37 years old.
0031 William Wolfskill 1798-1866, William Wolfskill (neg. only)
0032 Nevada, Jedediah Smith (neg. only)
0033 Exploring the Great Basin, Jedediah Smith’s southwestern expedition, 1826-
29, p. 153 (neg. only)
0034 William Wolfskill Frontier Trapper to California Ranchero, the old Spanish
Trail, p. 69 (neg. only)

0170
PHOTOS FROM BOOKS COLLECTION

0035 Land of Living Rock, Dominguez-Escalante expedition in 1776, p. 79
(neg. only)
0036 Las Vegas and Clark County, Nevada 1927? Cantaloupes grown in the fertile
valleys of Clark County. Ullom’s Guernsey dairy herd. (neg. only)
0037 Las Vegas and Clark County, Nevada 1927?- Pacific Fruit Express Co.
Re-Icing Plant. (neg. only)
0038 Vacate
0039 Old and New St. Joseph from an old church drawing, from The Influence of the
Mormon People in the Settlement of Clark County, M.A. Reno, 1934, by
Francis H. Leavitt. (neg. only)
0040 Settlements in Clark County founded by the Mormon people, 1855-1880.
(neg. only(
0041 Original Pahute Co., Arizona. Old Spanish Trail through Clark County, Nev.
(neg. only)
0042 Map of the original state of Desert. (neg only)
0043 Map of five-acre lots at the Old Fort, Las Vegas, NV, from Las Vegas…by
Stanley Paher, p. 20. (neg. only)
0044 Map of the Old Fort, Las Vegas, Nevada, 1855, from Las Vegas…,by Stanley
Paher, p. 21. (neg. only)
0045 Map of Old Fort, Las Vegas, NV drawn from memory by Henry Wieking, from
Nevadan, February 18, 1973, p. 6. (neg. only)
0046 Addition on right to Old Fort, Las Vegas, NV, from Nevadan, February 18,
1973, p. 6. (neg. only)
0047 Maude Frazier, from cover of Maude Frazier- Nevadan, by Elbert B. Edwards,
1970. (neg. only)
0048 Vacate.
0049 Brig. Gen. Martinus Stenseth, from History of Army Air Forces Flexible
Gunnery School, p. 115. (neg. only)
0050 Col. Herbert W. Anderson, from History of Army Air Forces Flexible Gunnery
School, p. 118. (neg. only)
0051 Las Vegas aerial shot, from History of Army Air Forces Flexible Gunnery
School, p. 119a. (neg. only)
0052 A Hotel Thunderbird suite, from Viva Vegas, by Paul Ralli, p. 260. (neg. only)
0053 A typical Hotel Flamingo bedroom from Viva Vegas by Paul Ralli, p. 280
(neg. only)
0054 Dr. William S. Park from Desert Magazine, Sept. 1946, p. 15. (neg. only)
0055 Arizona Club, from Las Vegas Review-Journal and Age, May 23, 1948
(neg. only)
0056 Rawhide, Nev., in 1908, from: Myrick, David: Railroads of Nevada and
Eastern California; V.1, p. 233. (neg. only)
0057 Rawhide, Nev., Sept. 4, 1908, shown engulfed in flames, from: Myrick, David:
Railroads of Nevada and Eastern California; V.1, p. 233. (neg. only)

0170
PHOTOS FROM BOOKS COLLECTION
0058 Portion (lower left) of map- “Map of Oregon and Upper California from the
surveys of John Charles Fremont…1848) (neg. only)
0059 Francis Marion (“Borax”) Smith, 75 years old. Taken from Borax Pioneer, by
George H. Hildebrand, p. 248. (neg. only)
0060 William Lewis Manly, taken from: Death Valley ‘49ers, by Frank F. Latta,
p. 34. (neg. only)
0061 Frank Morgan Jenifer and Christian Brevoort Zabriskie. Taken from: 50 Years
in Death Valley, by Harry P. Gower. (neg. only)
0062 20 Mule Team with “Wash” Cahill (left) and Harry P. Gower (right). Taken
from: 50 Years in death Valley, by Harry P. Gower. (neg. only)
0063 Frank (Shorty) Harris, taken from: 50 Years in Death Valley, by Harry P.
Gower. (neg. only)
0064 Death Valley Junction Mill in operation- 1927. Taken from: 50 Years in Death
Valley, by Harry P. Gower. (neg. only)
0065 Peter Skene Ogden shortly before his death. (Courtesy Oregon Hist. Society).
Taken from: Peter Skene Ogden and the Hudson’s Bay Company. (neg. only)
0066 “Meeting of Patty and her father.” (James F. Reed and Patty Reed) Taken
from: Far Western Frontier by J. Quinn Thornton, Vol. II, p. 196.
(neg. only)
0067 “Virginia E. Reed, 1880.” Taken from: Across the Plains in the Donner Party
by Virginia Reed Murphy, p. 5. (neg. only)
0068 James Frazier Reed and Margaret Reed. Taken from: Across the Plains in the
Donner Party by Virginia Reed Murphy, p. 10. (neg. only)
0069 Dedication of the Pioneer Monument, June 6, 1918. L-R: (between the flags)
Gov. Emmet D. Boyle (Nev.), Mrs. Martha (Patty) Reed Lewis, Mrs. Eliza
Donner Houghton, Mrs. Frances Donner Wilder, and Gov. W.D. Stephens
(California). Taken from: Donner Pass the Those Who Crossed It by
George R. Stewart, p. 31. (neg. only)
0070 Players Club, Las Vegas, NV. (1945) from Nevada Life, Sept. 1945, p. 5.
0071 Club Bon Aire, Las Vegas, NV. (1946) from Nevada Life, Jan. 1946, p.12.
0072 Missing photo.
0073 Rioville, Nevada (also known as Bonelli’s Landing). It now lies at the bottom
of Lake Mead, formed behind Hoover Dam. Rioville was founded by Daniel
Bonelli, a Mormon pioneer sent by Brigham Young, about 1865 at the mouth
Of the Virgin River.
0074 (neg. only) R. Guild Gray, from Nevada Men and Women of Achievement,
p. 65.
0075 Front page of The Rebel Yell, UNLV student newspaper, Apr. 20, 1955.
(neg. only)
0076 Front page of Nevada Southern University student newspaper Rebel Yell,
Jan. 12, 1967. (neg. only)
0077 Front page of Nevada Southern University student newspaper Rebel Yell,
Feb. 9, 1967. (neg. only)


0170
PHOTOS FROM BOOKS COLLECTION

0078 Front page of Nev. So. University student newspaper Rebel Yell,
Feb. 21, 1967. (neg. only)
0079 UNLV students protesting budget cut at Las Vegas campus- from Rebel Yell,
April 10, 1963. (neg. only)
0080 UNLV students in pajamas parade down Casino Center; from Rebel Yell,
Dec. 12, 1962. (neg. only)
0081 Photo of cover of First State Corn Show (program and premium list).
(Call # SB191 C5 1923) (neg. only)
0082 Portrait of Col. John C. Fremont from The Exploring Expedition to the Rocky
Mountains, Oregon and California, By Brevet Col. J.C. Fremont. (neg only)
0083 Illustration of a man cooking over a campfire, from Gold Rush Diary…
1849, by Elisha Douglass Perkins. (neg. only)