Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00005
North Las Vegas Bicentennial Committee Photographs of Kiel Ranch

Extent: 1.7 Linear Feet (1 hanging folder and 1 flat file)
Location: Photo Cabinet 1:B, Oversize Photo Cabinet A

Link to Collection Guide
View select materials online

Related Materials:
Historic American Buildings Survey of Kiel Ranch Photograph Collection, 1988. PH-00223. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Kiel Ranch Preservation Committee Records, 1884-2005. MS-00650. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Sadie and Hampton George Papers, 1897-1944. MS-00434. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


Collection Contents:
The North Las Vegas Bicentennial Committee Photographs and Drawings of Kiel Ranch document the buildings on Kiel (Kyle) Ranch in 1974. As part of the commemoration of the United States bicentennial, the North Las Vegas City Council elected to restore Kiel Ranch, which was one of the first non-indigenous settlements in the Las Vegas Valley. The materials include black-and-white photographs of Kiel Ranch as it was in 1974 as well as architectural drawings of planned renovations to the main house, the Brown House, the foreman's house, and the ranch hands' house.


NORTH LAS VEGAS

0001    Aerial photo of Kiel Ranch. 1974
0002    White House-Kiel Ranch.
0003    White House-Kiel Ranch.
0004    Adobe Brick structure that was later the trading post
0005    Adobe brick structure that was later the trading post
0006    Cement brick house built for madam and her family
0007    Cement brick house built for madam and her family
0008    Blue House.
0009    Blue House.
0010    Blue House.
0011    Brown House
0012    Brown House
0013    Brown House
0014    Foreman's House
0015    Children's' Playhouse
0016    Children's' Playhouse
0017    Kiel Ranch
0018    Brown House-completed renovation
0019    Foreman's House
0020    Ranch Hands' House
0021    (no ID)