Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00105
Nevada State Parks Photograph Collection

Location: PC 05:A, PC Negatives Box 08

View select materials online


Collection Contents:
Boulder City Hoover (Boulder ) Dam
0001    Overview of town (part of souvenir envelope)
0002 Hoover (Boulder) Dam (part of souvenir envelope)
0003 Missing photo
0004 Missing photo
0005 Hoover (Boulder) view from the top (part of souvenir envelope)
0006 Hoover (Boulder) upstream view (part of souvenir envelope)
0007 Hoover (Boulder) interior (part of souvenir envelope)
0008 Lake Mead Viewpoint , (part of souvenir envelope)
0009 Hoover (Boulder) Dam, filling after completion
0010 Hoover (Boulder) Dam, filling after completion
0011 Hoover (Boulder) Dam, filling after completion
0012 Hoover (Boulder) Dam, penstocks
0013 Hoover (Boulder) Dam, canyon wall
0014 Hoover (Boulder) Dam, spillway
0015 Hoover (Boulder) Dam, upstream view
0016 Hoover (Boulder) Dam, intake towers
0017 Hoover (Boulder) Dam, men standing in diversion tunnel
0018 Building wall at Lake Mead Viewpoint
0019 Building wall at Lake Mead Viewpoint
0020 Missing photo
0021 Missing photo
0022 Boulder Beach and Marina, c. 1935
0023 Boulder Beach and Marina, c. 1935
0024 Men working on scow at Boulder Beach
0025 Men working on scow at Boulder Beach
0026 Men working on scow at Boulder Beach
0027 Boating on Lake Mead
0028 Near the narrows of Boulder Canyon
0029 Black Canyon, Lake Mead
0030 Black Canyon, Lake Mead
0031 Black Canyon, Lake Mead
0032 Black Canyon, Lake Mead
0033 Black Canyon, Lake Mead
0034 Black Canyon, Lake Mead
0035 Black Canyon, Lake Mead
0036 Lake Mead
0037 Lake Mead
0038 Lake Mead, at sunset
0039 Lake Mead, at sunset
0040 Lake Mead, Fortification Hill
0041 Lake Mead, Fortification Hill
0042 Lake Mead, area, desert view
0105
NEVADA STATE PARKS COLLECTION

Boulder City Hoover (Boulder ) Dam
0043 Lake Mead, area, desert view
0044 Bird nest near Lake Mead

Mt. Charleston
0045 Roadway and mountains

Valley of Fire
0046 Rock formations
0047 Stove and cabin
0048 Stoves at cabins
0049 Park sign by cabins

Filming in Nevada
Logandale
0050 Movie company tents, Logandale, NV"might be Hal Roach Studios encampment
at the Home Ranch " 6/25/26

Westerns” ca.1925-29
0051 Oliver Hardy, as character in western comedy film
0052 Jim Fennelson, as character in western comedy film
0053 Oliver Hardy & Jim Fennelson, as characters in western-comedy film
0054 Oliver Hardy and Milton Steele, fight scene
0055 Joe Perkins, western movie character
0056 Western movie scene"L to R: (1) Guinn “Big Boy” Williams (2) Kathleen
    Collins. And (3) Christian Frank. Movie was probably “Black Cyclone” (1926),
    Directed by Fred Jackman and shot by Hal Roach at the Home Ranch, Logandale,
    Nevada
0057 Crew viewing film rushes; front row left (on aisle); Director Fred Jackman;
Front row right: 1. Kathleen Collins. 2. Guinn “Big Boy” Williams. Film
Was probably “Black Cyclone” (1926) filmed at the Home Ranch, Logandale,
             NV, by Hal Roach Studios
58 Roy Rogers and Dale Evans filming a scene, school children looking on; c. 1940.
59 Movie scene, “Black Cyclone”, Local man; Bryant Whitmore] c. 1925-29
60 Part of movie crew, Woman in center is actress Kathleen Collins. Photo may have been taken during filming of “Black Cyclone” (1926) at Home Ranch, Logandale, NV, by Hal Roach Studios
61 Stage coach hold up scene in Red Anderson Wash, north end of Valley of Fire.
62 Stage coach hold up scene in Red Anderson Wash, north end of Valley of Fire.



0105
NEVADA STATE PARKS COLLECTION

1 Million Years, B.C.” 1936-37
63 Filming location overview, Valley of Fire
64 Filming location overview, Valley of Fire
65 Actor Lon Chaney, Jr. filming scene on rocks
66 Actor Lon Chaney, Jr., close up in costume
67 Mastodon chasing actress and child in scene
68 Actress and child in costume
69 Women carrying “dead animal” in scene
70 Group view of “cave people” in scene
71 “Cave people” on the rocks in scene
72 Prop Men with paper mache “animals” for scene

People
73 Chairman of State Parks Commission-Nye County, at foot of fireplace, Diana’s Punch Bowl
74 Chairman of State Parks Commission-Nye County, at foot of fireplace, Diana’s Punch Bowl
75 In boat, left to right: 1. Carl A. Lehnard, Chief Ranger, Boulder Dam Recreational Area; 2. Dr. C.W. West, Chairman of Nevada State Parks; 3. Guy D. Edwards, Supervisor of Boulder Dam Recreational Area; 4. Robert H. Rose, Naturalist, U.S. Park Service. Lake Mead, 4-20-38
76 Unidentified men, fishing
77 Unidentified men, fishing
78 Unidentified men with pack mule
79 Kiva, excavated by M.K. Harrington (neg. only)
80 Plate 7A, B, C form panorama of southern site of Pueblo Grande de Nevada (neg. only)

Additions to Collection
NOTE: Elizabeth Warren collected glass plates from Willard George’s widow, Florence Schroeder George Anderson, and identified them with her help and with additional research. Documentation on photos 0081-0122 was done June 12, 1998.

81 Paiute Indian family, probably near Indian Springs, between 1893 and 1904. Note windbreak at left and shelter at right built by them.
82 Paiute Indian baskets made by Las Vegas Paiute women who worked at Kiel Ranch.
83 Paiute Indian woman called “Annie” Wearing basket hat. Between 1893 and 1904 on Kiel Ranch.
84 Paiute Indian Between 1893 and 1904, He is sleeping next to a windbreak made of brush and mesquite.


0105
NEVADA STATE PARKS COLLECTION

Additions to Collection
85 Paiute woman in southern Nevada at Paiute encampment (Between 1893 and 1904) Some Indian implements are shown, but she is wearing cast off Anglo clothing. She is lacing away from the camera because she believed that otherwise the camera would “steal her spirit” Note the windbreak made of brush between two mesquites.
86 Baskets made by Paiute Indian women who worked at Kiel Ranch. Shows inside of baskets in photo # 82. Basket at bottom right was a laundry basket.
87 Paiute Indian pictured at Kiel Ranch where he worked. Adobe house in right background. (Between 1893 and 1904)
88 Sadie Kiel George (Mrs. Hampton E. George) washing clothes in the irrigation flume at Kiel Ranch. (Between 1893 and 1904)
89 Sadie Kiel George duck hunting along Las Vegas Creek on the Stewart Ranch. (Between 1893 and 1904)
90 Kiel Ranch between 1893 and 1904. At Left is a shed or stable for horses. At right is possibly a spring house. Man at left is Hampton E. George. Other man might be Conrad Kiel. Lady seated is Sadie Kiel George.
91 Irrigation ditch on Wilson’s Sandstone Ranch.
92 Irrigation ditch on Wilson’s Sandstone Ranch.
93 Creek or irrigation ditch on Wilson’s Sandstone Ranch.
94 Helen J. Stewart with camera at Sandstone Ranch (now Spring Mountain Ranch) Mt. Charleston in background. (Between 1893 and 1904)
95 Group with horse drawn wagon somewhere in southern Nevada, between 1893 and 1904. Boy standing is Willard George. His father Hampton E. George and an unidentified Indian in the wagon.
96 Kiel Sawmill in Kiel Canyon. Edwin Kiel (left) and probably his father Conrad Kiel (Between 1893 and 1894)
97 The Wilson’s Sandstone Ranch, now Spring Mountain Ranch. James B. Wilson Sr., the owner at left. His adopted sons Tweed (Anderson) Wilson, center and James Beck (Anderson) Wilson at right. (c. 1900) Cabin in background with grapevine at left. Buster or Boone, son of Tweed, seated at left.
98 Conrad Kiel(?) by the reservoir at Kiel Ranch. (Between 1893 and 1894)
99 A favorite horse at Kiel Ranch. Sunrise Mountain in background.
100 Kiel Ranch, 1904. L-R: Sadie’s mother, Mrs. Franklin Kiel; Sadie’s brother Frank (behind burrow); Sadie Kiel George riding the burro with her son Willard behind her.
101 Adobe brick structure at Kiel Ranch, between 1893 and 1900. Edwin Kiel (Sadie’s uncle) in front of adobe. On horseback, left to right, Willard George, unidentified Indian, Hampton George (Sadie’s husband and Willard’s father).
102 In Nebraska, 1899 or 1900. Willard George (left) is showing a relative how to shoot a Paiute bow and arrow.
103 In Nebraska, c. 1900. Willard George, at left. Others not identified but probably relatives.
0105
NEVADA STATE PARKS COLLECTION

Additions to Collection (cont.)
104 Sadie Kiel George’s brother Frank on burro; woman is probably Sadie’s mother. In the background is the main cabin at the Kiel Ranch built by Conrad Kiel after 1875.
105 Winter of 1904(?) on the Kiel Ranch. L-R: kneeling: Hampton George, unidentified Indian, Sadie’s mother, unidentified Indian. L-R standing: Sadie’s father and brother. They are showing off apples from the Fall crop.
106 At right is Willard George standing in irrigated fields on the Kiel Ranch with an unidentified person. Note Mesquite corral at left of picture.
107 Hampton George (Sadie’s husband) court appointed executor of the Kiel’s will, on a chair on the Kiel Ranch. (.c1902)
108 Tiza Stewart riding Willard George’s burro on the Stewart Ranch
109 Mail carrier at Kiel Ranch in his horse-drawn cart. (Between 1893 and 1904) Willard George kneeling at right.
110 Willard George (rt) and his cousin standing on a California beach (1904-05) they are wearing rented swimsuits.
111 Kiel Ranch"Willard George in cart drawn by a burro. ( Between 1893 and 1904)
112 Willard George and Tiza Stewart on a burro at the Stewart Ranch. ( Between 1893 and 1904)
113 Franklin Kiel (Sadie’s father) in the fields at Kiel Ranch, demonstrating cooking in a Dutch oven. ( Between 1893 and 1904)
114 Unidentified Indian on Kiel Ranch, demonstrating cooking in a Dutch oven. ( Between 1893 and 1904)
115 Hampton George (right) and son Willard setting up camp on the road somewhere in southern Nevada. ( Between 1893 and 1904)
116 Unidentified prospector with pack mules on Kiel Ranch. ( Between 1893 and 1904)
117 Willard George riding his burro at Kiel Ranch (Between 1893 and 1904)
118 Unidentified Indian on Kiel Ranch near the water tower. ( Between 1893 and 1904)
119 Willard George standing next to a huge yucca plant near Indian Springs. (c. 1904)
120 Willard George seated on a horse on Kiel Ranch (Between 1893 and 1904)
121 Group of men in encampment on the way to Death Valley, toward Amargosa. Seated on the ground is Willard George; far right next to him is Hampton George. The group accompanied Mr. Norton (also pictured but not specifically identified). Norton was doing assessment work on his nitrate claim. ( Between 1893 and 1904)
122 Edwin Kiel on Kiel Ranch. Note haystack and mesquite corral in background ( Between 1893 and 1904
Lost City Photo Album
Pg. 59.1    Governor Scrugham and Archaeologist M.R. Harrington with Union Pacific Railroad officials at Harrington’s camp, Lost City
Pg. 80    S.E. view from God’s Pocket of Colorado River
Pg. 88    Panorama view of the Pueblo Grande de Nevada site, from the top of Mormon mesa.
Pg. 1    Kieva, excavated by M.R. Harrington of the Museum of the American Indian New York. Governor Scrugham and party at the uncovering of the first find and excavation of the Lost City of Nevada."NOV. 22, 1924. Members in the group reading left to right: Geo. Evans, excavator, full blooded Pitt River Indian; Explorer and Archaeologist M.R. Harrington and son Bonny; Governor Scrugham of Nevada; Mr. Wright, news correspondent ; Dr. C.W. West of Reno; Senator Levi Syphus of Clark Co. Nevada; Sergeant State Police MacSherry. Pueblo Kieva or Medicine Man’s Lodge one of many in the Lost City

Pg. 2    Geo. Evans, Pitt River Indian, excavating the first kiva under the direction of Archaeologist Harrington Lost City of Nevada or Pueblo Grande de Nevada.
Pg. 11    Implements found in House no.2 of Lost City. Shows one of the rooms of Photos 3 & 12.
Pg. 12    View of House No. 2 upon its final uncovering, contained 8 rooms.
Pg. 60    View of House No. 5 after complete excavation, showing cement capping put on to preserve the adobe from erosion.
Pg. 68    View showing surface indications of house ruins on gravel hill before excavation.
Pg. 87    Join and make panorama of the Pueblo Grande de Nevada site from South to Northwest, from the top of the Mormon Mesa.