Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00033
Nevada State Historical Society

Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 hanging folder, 1 shared box of negatives)
Location: Photo Cabinet 2:C, Photo Collection Negatives Box 05

Link to Collection Guide
View select materials online

Related Materials:
Southern Nevada Historical Society, 1948-1983. MS-00205. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Nevada State Museum, 1970-1990. MS-00280. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Las Vegas Black Historical Society Records, 2005-2009. MS-00101. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Civic Historical Research Project, Lincoln County, Nevada, 1829-1986. MS-00263. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Nevada Women’s History Project (NWHP) Collection, 1995-1998. MS-00406. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Southern Nevada Historical Society Photograph Collection, 1941-1942. PH-00230. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Central Nevada Historical Society Photograph Collection, 1902-1981. PH-00082. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


Collection Contents:
The Nevada Historical Society Photograph Collection contains photographs of Nevada from 1873 to 1951. The photographs primarily depict the towns of Pioche, Candelaria, and Tonopah in the early-twentieth century. The photographs also depict Nevada Governor Emmett D. Boyle and U.S. Senators William M. Stewart and Key Pittman. The collection contains two images related to the Women's Suffrage movement, including Governor Boyle signing a resolution in favor of the Nineteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution and Anne Martin's campaign for the U.S. Senate in 1918. Lastly, the photographs also depict mining operations in Bullionville and Candelaria.