Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00028
Nellis Air Force Base Photograph Collection

Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (3 hanging folders, 1 shared box of negatives)
Location: Photo Cabinet 2:C, Photo Collection Negatives Box 05

Link to Collection Guide
View select materials online

Related Materials:
John R. Bruckman Photographs of Nellis Air Force Base, 1951-1954. PH-00215. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Robert B. Griffith Collection on Las Vegas Airfield, 1941. MS-00028. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Erle A. Taylor Collection on Aviation, 1955-1976. MS-00186. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


Collection Contents:
The Nellis Air Force Base Photograph Collection contains photographs of Nellis Air Force Base and its predecessor, the Las Vegas Army Airfield, as well as photographs of Rockwell Field and McCarran Airport in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1926 to 1980. The materials contain photographs of military aircraft, hangars, buildings on the base, and aerial photographs of Las Vegas and the surrounding area. The materials also include photographs of the entrance of McCarran Airport, U.S. Senator Pat McCarran, and a mail plane arriving at Rockwell Fields in 1926.


NEVADA


NELLIS AIR FORCE BASE

01    Site of Las Vegas Army Airfield

02    LVAAF construction. October 1941

03    Water Tower construction. October, 1941

04    Aftermath of LVAAF School Building fire. October 1941

05    LVAAF barracks. July 1941

06    Construction workers. July 21, 1941

07    B-29 Gunnery Trainer. Late 1944.

08    Strategic photo of Las Vegas area. Nov. 16, 1944.

09    Insignia patch of 3022nd AAFBU. 1942-1944.

10    A F-51 Mustang, North American, propeller aircraft (A4-74895) crashed into the Base Operation's Coffee Shop on March 15, 1950.
     (The aircraft was identified by Bob Leavitt and Robert O'Connell).

11    Aircraft hanger and bombs.

12    Street scene. Probably 3rd and B St. Mid 1950's

13    Old cafeteria . 1950's

14    Air craft hanger 1950's

15    Barracks interior. 1950's

16    Warehouse. 1950's

17    Warehouse interior. Mid-1950's

18    Old hospital? 1950's

19    Communal barracks living facilities.

20    Hanger interior

21    Hanger exterior

22    Barracks T-532 exterior

23    Four F-100's in tactical formation over Nellis AFB

24    First mail plane in Las Vegas. April 17, 1926



McCarran Airport

25    (neg. only) Las Vegas Airport. Two rows of 1920's vintage planes.

26     Entrance to McCarran Airport with Senator McCarran standing beside it. 1941

27     The airstrip fro above.

28     The entrance to McCarran Field



Letter

29    Letter from R.B. Griffith to Major Schlatter. Oct.5, 1941

30    Letter from R.B. Griffith to Major Schlatter. Page 2.

31    Letter from R.B. Griffith to Major Schlatter. Page 3.

32    City commissioners, and the Commander



0028    NELLIS AIR FORCE BASE COLLECTION



Nellis AFB & Aircraft

33    (Neg. only) Aerial view, 1941, Nellis AFB, from Epitome of the History of Nellis                    AFB, call # U634.5N3H56

34     Nellis Air Force Base Library, Las Vegas , Nevada 1977

35     Aircraft at Nellis Air Force Base'

36     Aircraft flying over Nellis Air Force Base area

37     Aircraft flying over Nellis Air Force Base area

38     Aircraft at Nellis Air Force Base

39     Aircraft at Nellis Air Force Base

40     Aircraft flying over Nellis Air Force Base area

41     Aircraft flying over Nellis Air Force Base area

42     Aircraft flying over Nellis Air Force Base area

43     Aircraft flying over Nellis Air Force Base area

44     World War II -Las Vegas Flexible Gunnery School, Martin B-10B, North American T-6, Serial # 34-068, Bldg. 148

45     World War II -Las Vegas Flexible Gunnery School, Boeing B-17E, Serial # 42-30628. LS

46     World War II -Las Vegas Flexible Gunnery School, Consolidated RB-24L, Serial #44-49630, Z35

47     World War II -Las Vegas Flexible Gunnery School, Bell P-39Q, Serial #44-24-2343

48     World War II -Las Vegas Flexible Gunnery School, North American T-6

49     Nellis Early Days-3595th Pilot Training Wing 1948/1958, North American P-51D, Serial # 45-11608, The Fighter School 3525 Aircraft


Gunnery Squadron

50     Nellis Early Days-3595th Pilot Training Wing 1948/1958, Lockheed F-80A, Serial #41-8512, 3525 Aircraft Gunnery Squadron

51     Nellis Early Days-3595th Pilot Training Wing 1948/1958, North American F86F , Serial #52-5111, Commander Fighter Weapons School

52     Nellis Early Days-3595th Pilot Training Wing 1948/1958, Lockheed T-33A, Serial #50-0406, Hornet Squadron

53     Nellis Early Days-3595th Pilot Training Wing 1948/1958, North American F-100A 53-1542, 53-1543,53-1544, 52-1552

54     4520th Combat Crew Training Wing 1958/1969, Republic F-105D, 59-1770, 59-1757,59-1819

55     4520th Combat Crew Training Wing 1958/1969, Kaman HH-43 Suppressing fire

56     Vietnam Era - 57th Fighter Weapons Wing 1969/1972, North American F-100D 56-3099 WB 65th Fighter Weapons Sq., Republic F-105D 61-0069 WC 66th Fighter Weapons SQ., McDonnell F-4E 66-0318 WD 414th Fighter Weapons Sq.,
General Dynamics F-111F 67-0062 WF 422nd Fighter Weapons Sq., Vought A-7d 69-6227 WA Detachment #1.



0028    NELLIS AIR FORCE BASE COLLECTION



Aircraft (cont.)

57    Nellis Today-57th Fighter Weapons Wing 1973/Today, Northrop T-38A,64-13276,76, 64th Fighter Weapons Sq.

58    Nellis Today-57th Fighter Weapons Wing 1973/Today, Bell HH-IN, 69-6662. Detachment #1 MGM Grand Fire

59    Nellis Today-57th Fighter Weapons Wing 1973/Today, Gen. Dynamics F-16A WA 422nd Test & Eval Gen. Dynamics F111 WA 431st Test & Eval Sq, Northrop F-5E 65th Aggressor Sq. McDonnell Douglas F-15A WA Fighter Weapons School, Fairchild Republic A-101 WA Fighter Weapons School, McDonnell Douglas F-4E WA Fighter Weapons School.