Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00203
Louise Meehan Photograph Collection on the Boulder Club

Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet (1 hanging folder)
Location: Photo Cabinet 7:D

Link to Collection Guide
View select materials online

Related Materials:
Louise Meehan Collection, 1953-1984. MS-00309. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Guidry, Laura Gentry. Interview, 1973 October 12. OH-00749. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Bardy, Mildred. Interview, 1981 March 11. OH-00079. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Cuti, Frank. Interview, 1979 February 25. OH-00467. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Goldstein, Marguerite. Interview, 1979 February 25. OH-00693. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Ralph Roske Photograph Collection, 1917-1989. PH-00253. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Murphy-Farmer Photograph Collection, 1934-1955. PH-00174. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

George Logan Photograph Collection. PH-00019. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

L. F. Manis Photograph Collection. PH-00100. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Sherwin “Scoop” Garside Photograph Collection, 1930-1983. PH-00067. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Gladys Frazier Photograph Collection, 1920-1940. PH-00039. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Glenn Davis Photograph Collection. PH-00020. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


Collection Contents:
The Louise Meehan Photograph Collection on the Boulder Club contains three black-and-white photographs of the Boulder Club in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1953. The photographs capture part of the interior of the club and showcase its slot machines, bar, and card room.


0001    "About August, 1953. Inside the old Boulder Club on Fremont St.-now part of the Horseshoe taken from the bar area looking east. In front Louise (Goble) Meehan, change girl"

0002    "About August, 1953. The long bar on the west side of the old Boulder Club on Fremont St.-now a part of the Horseshoe." Behind the bar, left to right: Ben Turner, bar manager; unidentified bartender; bartender, Chet Blue.

0003    "The card room at the back of the old Boulder Club where Larry Hazelwood played bridge, Jimmy Young played poker, etc. Permission to take this photo given by Jimmy Young, part owner along with Ken Houssels, Sr., Larry Hazelwood, Connie Hurley, and Mrs. Witcher." "At the table left a shill from Horseshoe Club." Seated at right is Blackie, a Boulder Club employee (shill). Standing opposite Blackie is Ben Turner, Boulder Club bar manager. Standing next to Ben are two regulars of the Boulder Club. "About August, 1953."