Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

J. T. McWilliams Photograph Collection

Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet (1 hanging folder)
Location: Photo Cabinet 2:C

Link to Collection Guide
Related Materials:
Iona McWilliams Collection, 1936-1960. MS-00153. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Collection Contents:
The J. T. McWilliams Photograph Collection contains photographs and postcards from Nevada and Southern California from approximately 1900 to 1970. The materials include postcards depicting Las Vegas, Nevada casinos such as El Rancho Vegas and the Golden Nugget Gambling Hall. The materials also include postcards depicting towns and scenes in Nevada such as Carson City, Rhyolite, Red Rock Canyon, and covered wagons traveling to Las Vegas. Lastly, the materials contain several photographs of the McWilliams family, possibly while they were living in what is now Las Vegas, Nevada.

Early Las Vegas

0001    Artesian well, Las Vegas (postcard)

Later Las Vegas

0002    Fremont Street (snow scene), Jan. 13, 1937 (postcard)

0003    El Rancho Vegas (exterior) (postcard)

0004    Golden Nugget Gambling Hall (postcard)

0005    Tango Game (postcard)

Carson City

0006    State Prison (postcard)

0007    Main Street (postcard)


0008    Bottle House (postcard)

Desert Scenes (including desert flora and fauna)

0009    Red Rock Canyon (postcard)

0010    "Heading for Las Vegas", [covered wagons] (postcard)

0011    Winter on the desert (postcard)

0012    Joshua tree (postcard)


0013    Santa Claus, "House of the Third Little Pig", "Cinderella's Doll House" (postcard)


0014    Calico, Nevada (postcard)

Unidentified location

0015    Residence


0016    [Mrs. J.T. McWilliams?]

0017    Unidentified gentleman and young man (tintype)

0018    Unidentified women on porch

0019    Unidentified adults, July 1, 1920.

0020    Unidentified