Photo Collections Record
Las Vegas Review-Journal Photograph CollectionExtent:
0.1 Linear Feet (2 hanging folders and 1 shared box of negatives)
Photo Cabinet 3:A, Photo Collection Negatives Box 06
Link to Collection Guide
View select materials onlineRelated Materials:
Elizabeth Harrington Collection, 1975-1979. MS-00220. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Florence and John Cahlan Collection, 1945-1982. MS-00200. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Sherwin "Scoop" Garside Papers, 1930-1983. MS-00342. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
The Las Vegas Review-Journal Photograph Collection depicts several events in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1935 to 1983 that were documented by Nevada’s largest newspaper, the Las Vegas Review-Journal. The photographs depict the fire at the Las Vegas School in 1935, the fire at the MGM Grand Hotel and Casino in 1980, an exhibition at the Lost City Museum in 1973, a memorial event honoring the first permanent school in Las Vegas in 1980, and an exhibition at the Nevada State Museum and Historical Society in 1983. The collection also contains photographs of some denizens of Las Vegas, including people at the Hughes Bar in Las Vegas, the last Union Pacific passenger train in Las Vegas, and schoolchildren at the Las Vegas School.
0001 Old Las Vegas School, on fire, c. 1935
0002 MGM Grand Hotel, on fire, November, 1980
0003 MGM Grand Hotel, rescue during fire.
0004 MGM Grand Hotel, rescue during fire.
0005 MGM Grand Hotel, firemen hosing front entrance
0006 MGM Grand Hotel, front entrance after fire.
0007 MGM Grand Hotel, casino floor after fire.
0008 Lost City Museum, front entrance
0009 Museum interior, showing cases in old section
0010 Museum interior, showing basket display cases
0011 Museum interior, showing petroglyph display cases
0012 R.F. "Chick" Perkins, museum curator with display cases, September 30, 1973
0013 Sam Yet of Searchlight, Nevada
0014 Jeff McCall, engineer in cab of last Union Pacific passenger train through Las Vegas, April 30, 1971.
0015 Ruth Stringer, September 16, 1980, at school memorial event
0016 May E. Perrin, September 16, 1980, at school memorial event
0017 Florence Schroeder, September 16, 1980, at school memorial event
0018 Winoma McDonald, September 16, 1980, at school memorial event
0019 Ruth Fyfe, John Cahlan, Claude Perkins, at unveiling of plaque commemorating first permanent school in Las Vegas
0020 School children in front of Las Vegas School , built 1910
0021 Left to right: George Evans, Dr. Mark Harrington, Dr. Harrington's son, Governor J.G. Scrugham, C.O. Turbifill, Louis Shellbach III, Levi Syphus, unidentified-at site of first house.
0022 Final days of downtown Las Vegas J.C. Penney store , Jan. 1982 . Negatives in 0022A-V.
0050 COURTESY OF LAS VEGAS REVIEW-JOURNAL
Nevada State Museum and Historical Society
0023 Cornerstone Ceremonies , color guard.
0024 People listening to speakers at the ceremony.
0025 Close-up view of the spectators and Lodge members listening to the speeches.
0026 Color Guard
0027 Man applying mortar in the Masonic Cornerstone laying ceremony.
0028 Florence Lee Jones Cahlan, Board of Trustees, Nevada State Department of Museums and History.
0029 Speaker at the pulpit.
0030 William V. Wright, Chairman, Nevada State Department of Museums and History speaking.
0031 William V. Wright , applying mortar in Masonic Cornerstone laying ceremony.
0032 Older man, woman, younger man, probably a family, standing in front of the bar. Probably own the bar.
0033 Same trio standing in the inside.