Photo Collections Record
Lake-Eglington Family Photograph CollectionExtent:
1.6 Linear Feet (4 hanging folders, 1 shared box of negatives, and 1 flat file)
Photo Cabinet 1:C, Photo Collection Negatives Box 02, Oversize Photo Cabinet 1:A
Link to Collection Guide
View select materials onlineRelated Materials:
Lake-Eglington Family Papers, 1905-1983. MS-00142. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Earle Frost Eglington. Interview, October 30, 1975. OH-00527. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Olive Lake-Eglington. Interview, October 30, 1975. OH-00528. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Olive Lake-Eglington. Interview, July 01, 1984. OH-00529. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
Mrs. (R. E. & Tom) Lake. Interview, February, 1951. OH-01051. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.
0005 Incised stone
0006 Petroglyph collected by R.E. Lake
Early Las Vegas
0007 Native Americans (oversize)
0008 Big Springs at a distance
0009 Trees at Big Springs
0010 Spring at Big Springs
Old Fort (Old Ranch)
0011 Old Mormon Fort (oversize)
0012 Vegas Creek and the Old Bridge (postcard)
0013 Old Fort, tents at left
0014 Burros, Stewart Ranch (postcard)
0015 Well at Ranch (may be Eglington rather than Las Vegas Ranch)
0016 Group at Las Vegas Ranch
0017 Interior of tent, group picture
0018 Whorl's Hardware
0019 First State Bank
0020 Woodard's Down Town Camp
0021 Barber shop, Hotel Nevada
0022 Schoolchildren at 2nd & Lewis
0023 Las Vegas School, flag pole ceremony, ca 1915-16
0024 CCHS Basketball team
0025 CCHS school picture 1912
0026 CCHS school orchestra ca 1912
0027 CCHS play; take-off on Merchant of Venice
0028 Las Vegas School children ca. 1912
0029 Olive Lake's Fourth Grade, 1918
0030 CCHS Washington's Birthday Anniversary Exercises
0031 Ada Lake's Sunday's school class, Methodist Church
Residences (Domestic Architecture)
0032 Lake tenet house
0033 Lake home on North 3rd Street
0034 Eglington barn home on ranch
0035 Eglington ranch house under construction
0036 " " "1911-1912
0037 " " " spring 1913
0038 " " " (dup. With ms. Notations)
0039 Eglington ranch house (questionable date)
0040 Eglington ranch home with Mrs. Luena Eglington, 1916
0041 " " " (duplicate as postcard)
0042 Dora Lee's house
0043 W.R. Thomas residence (postcard)
0044 Backyard of residence (Lake) on N 3rd St, snow scene
0045 Grace Worrell's home
0046 Flowing well
0047 Leaubenheimer well, 15 inches.
0048 Eglington well
0049 Well at Eglington Ranch
0050 Close-up of Eglington well
0051 Eglington well, spouting 25ft in air (postcard)
0052 Crystal Beauty well (postcard)
0053 Eglington Artesian well, ca 1912-13
0054 Frederick and Earle Eglington at well
0055 Artesian well on Eglington Ranch near Las Vegas, Nevada. (postcard)
0056 Horse and wagon
0057 Earle in Overland 90 (auto)
0058 Earle and his first car
Later Las Vegas
0059 Old Fort, ca 1949
0060 Manual training building, Las Vegas High School (postcard)
0061 Ground breaking
0062 Cast for church play
0063 Lorenzi Park (postcard)
0064 Mint Hotel (postcard)
0065 Sahara Hotel (postcard)
0066 Russell Home
0067 Arden Plaster Mill at Arden. Arden Plaster RR and ore cars in background)
Boulder Dam, Colorado River
0068 Boulder Junction celebration of construction of branch to the dam.
0069 Boats on river
0070 Col. River Board, Bureau of Recl.
0071 Signing of Six Companies contract (dup?)
0072 Boulder Dam construction (postcard)
0073 "At Boulder Dam" (water pouring from outlet works)
0074 Col. R. looking upstream, Boulder dam site (postcard)
0075 Boulder Dam (downstream) (postcard)
0076 Boulder Dam (downstream) (postcard)
0077 Arizona Spillway and Highway Bridge, Boulder Dam (postcard)
0078 Boating on Boulder Dam Lake (postcard)
0079 Restored Homes (postcard)
0080 Layers of Ashes in Plaza (postcard)
0081 Skeleton and Pottery
0082 Ruins of Adobe Houses (postcard)
0083 Cabins in snow
0084 Wedding photo, Olive Lake and Earle Frost Eglington
0085 WW I soldiers from Clark County (postcard)
0086 Group of young women including Grace Worrell, Wanda Ball, Julia Russell, Olive Lake
0087 Pastel portraits by Gladys (Boggs) Marshall
0088 Helen Sanders
0089 Jack Tuck
0090 Group of Las Vegas women including Frances Farnsworth and Helen J. Stewart.
0091 Boone Wilson family
0092 Marie Wilson, Olive Eglington
0093 Teacher Elsie Bartlett, Alice Lake and Walter Manuel with LV School pennant
0094 Death Valley (Dinah?) machine later bought to El Dorado Canyon.
0095 Long Beach picnic of Las Vegans, 1928 (oversize)
SEE ALSO MANUSCRIPT COLLECTION
Additions to Lake-Eglington Collection
0096 James Beck Wilson, George "Tweed" Anderson Wilson (dup. #0011 0008)
0097 Tents on Las Vegas Creek, Old Ranch, ca. 1905
0098 Lake family, Ontario, 1900
0099 Fremont Street, 1921
0100 Pack animals, Las Vegas Ranch
0101 Similar view
0102 Wheel of Fortune, Spud Lake is dealer (postcard)
0103 Clark County High School Class Day program. May 8, 1919. (neg)
0104 Indian Ben's home. Later used for Blue Diamond School-now the Oliver Ranch. (neg)
0105 Squaw camp on creek where Indians used to drink and howl. (neg)
0106 Old Eglington Ranch 9/41. After Eglington home was gone. (neg.)
0107 1907 possibly "Ladies Aid" group (neg.)
0108 Fourth St. Ferrons on the corner 1/10/30. (neg)
0109 Woodward's Downtown Camp and Garage , 1926.
0110 Woodward's Downtown Camp and Garage , Small cottages to the right rear.
0111 Fremont looking west from January 10, 1930
0112 Jan. 10, 1939. Where Earle worked.
0113 Woodward's Downtown Camp & Garage.
0114 High School Freshman class held in Methodist Church, 1912-13. Left to right: Olive lake , Teacher Miss Jones, May Depew. Front row: L-R: Nita Tooley, Herbert Squires, Rose Coughlin, Harold Clayson, and Jessie Bishop. (dup. Of photo from album #I:18)
0115 "About 1916-Paradise Valley School. Near Wittwer Ranch south of Vegas. My first school. Boarded at Mc Griff Ranch. Margaret, Irma Potter, Wittwer Twins, Buster [Wilson], dog, George." Handwritten insc. By Olive Lake Eglington.
Additions to Collection from Album***
***Negatives only unless indicated otherwise.
I:4.3 "Our second home in Las Vegas at 'bend of the creek' near First & Bonanza. May 1905."
I:6.1 "Back row-1. James Squires 2. Mrs. Palmer 3. Tom Lake 4. Frank Ferris 5. Ernest Lake 6. Jessie Bishop. Second row: 7. Wanda Ball 8. Olive Lake 9. Julia Westlake 10. Edith Aplin 11. Joe McQuade-1906"
I:6.3 "Third Street looking north toward Fremont. Our house was first beyond the large house in the distance. 1907-08"
I:6.4 "1. Tweed Wilson 2. Mrs. Ball 3. Joe McQuade 4. Spud 5. Jim Wilson 6. Olive 7. Wanda 8. Lois Ball 9. Ada. 1908"
I:15.3 "Julia Russel, Grace Worrel, Olive, Wanda, our S.S. Teacher."
I:16.2 "Cottonwood Ranch."
I:18 See #0114 above for identification.
I:19.1 "Olive-near Stewart Ranch."
I:20.1 "Olive-near Stewart Ranch."
I:24.1 "Wanda, Gladys, Steven, Martha."
I:25.1 "Maude Swartwood, a cousin of Earl Rockwell. Visiting from New York.
I:27.1 "At Ladd's Resort east of Las Vegas"
I:32.1 "Chopping Wood."
I:32.2 "At Big Springs in Vegas."
I:33.3 "Charleston 1912. Olive Herbert, & Dad at his mine, 2 miles on up the Canyon."
I:34.4 "Log cabin 'Charleston'." (Another photo, #3, features Mr. Worrell. This Cabin was probably his.)
I:36.1 "Charleston. Olive."
I:37.3 Men sitting on rail.
I:39.1 (Print) "Sunday School picnic at the Stewart Ranch."
I.:41. Basketball Team CCHS
I:41.2 (Print) Team playing on the field.
I:41.3 Players in black garb.
I:42.1 (Print) Girls basketball team, CCHS "H.S. Princ., Mr. Overman. Wife & daughter."
I:45.4 "Helen Bunker, Gladys Boggs, Zatta McDonald, Olive Lake, Norma Brockman, Maria."
I:46.1 "Las Vegas & Tonopah R.R."
I:47.1 Standing group
I:50.2 "Blacksmith shop at Wilson's Ranch ."
I:51.2 Wagon "at Wilson's Ranch."
I:51.3 "Watering trough 'at Wilson's Ranch'".
I:52.2 "At Wilson's Ranch"
I:52.3 "At Wilson's Ranch"
I.53.1 "Wanda, Olive 'at Wilson's Ranch".
I:53.2 At Wilson's Ranch. At Wilson's Reservoir.
I:55.1 "Buster & Boone Wilson. Tweed's boys by Annie. Indian Ben's daughter at Wilson Ranch. "Jack Naylor, Ranch and 'at Wilson's ranch."
I:56.1 "Mary Syphus, Florence Bishop, Martha Kramer, Helen Bunker, Wanda Ball, Olive Lake. In front yard at dorm where most of them lived while going to H.S. in Vegas 1912-1913."
I:57.1 "Top row- Helen Bunker, Mary Syphus, Florence Bishop, Zella Peterson, Wanda Ball."
I:58.1 "1912-1913. Helen Bunker, Martha Kramer, Zella Peterson, Miss Senn (housemother & teacher), Mary Syphus, Florence Bishop."
I:58.2 "Olive Lake. Graduation, 1913."
I:59.1 "Martha Kramer, Helen Bunker."
I:61.2 "John." (John Summerville, Olive's first sweetheart, 1913.)
I:64.1 "Roy Mosback & Henry Lotts at "Lucky Strike" mine, Charleston."
I:65.1 "Ada's H.S. Class."
I:66.3 "Charlie Brown & Spud Lake, about 1917."
I:73.1 (Print) "Las Vegas in 1913." (RR yards)
I:73.2 (Print) "Las Vegas in 1913." (RR yards)
I:74.1 (Print) "Las Vegas in 1913." (RR yards)
I:74.2 (Print) "Las Vegas in 1913." (RR yards)
I:76.2 "Emily Lake."
I:82.2 "Our home- 128 N. 3rd ST." (Print) "At Charleston, Ball's Cabin."
I:89.1 (Print) "At McGriff Ranch. South of Vegas where I lived while teaching at Paradise Valley. Mr. & Mrs. McGriff & his mother."
I:89.2 (Print) "My first school in Paradise"
I:90.1 "Olive at McGriff's well."
I:90.2 "Green house. Warm water from well at McGriff's Ranch."
I:92.1 "Back row-Margaret Howell, Irma Potter. Front row- Witter twins, Arda & Verda Potter, Dale Howell. Fall, 1916."
I:93.1 "At Potosi Mine, 1917."
I:93.2 "At Potosi Mine, 1917."
I:98.1 "Olive, Clyde & Della McGriff."
I:126.2 "Teachers in Las Vegas Schools. R to L, Olive (half), Rose Ullom, Cora Maeble, Dora Lee, Maude Williams."
I:128.1 "Kirkpatric Bros.-Ralph in center."
I:136.3 "Olivia Jewel."
I:150.2 "Jim, Ada, Tweed." (In front of blacksmith's shop at Wilson's Ranch)
I:160.3 (Mrs. Lake & 4 daughters)
I:164.1 Women posing
I:164.2 Women posing