Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

PH-00040
Alice Lake-Rockwell and Earl Rockwell Photographs

Extent: 1.2 Linear Feet (1 hanging folder and 1 flat file)
Location: Photo Cabinet 2:C, Oversize Photo Cabinet B

Link to Collection Guide
View select materials online

Related Materials:
Earl Rockwell Papers, 1852-1978. MS-00145. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Robert E. “Spud” Lake Photographs, 1905-1947. PH-00041. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Lake-Eglington Family Photograph Collection, 1900-1976. PH-00010. Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Lake, Robert E. Interview, September 27, 1975. OH-01052. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


Collection Contents:
The Alice Lake-Rockwell and Earl Rockwell Photographs depict the Las Vegas, Nevada area from approximately 1880 to 1962. The photographs primarily depict the Lake-Rockwell Family in Las Vegas, including Earl Rockwell with a local baseball team, the Las Vegas Volunteer Fire Department, and the Las Vegas Police. Other photographs include the Hoover (Boulder) Dam construction site and views of the completed dam. The photographs also portray family members from the Rockwell Family.


Early Las Vegas

01    Camping on the creek below Bonanza [Las Vegas Creek], men include Johnnie Horden

02    Same as above, men include Bill Bishop

03    Same as above, stopping for a beer

04    Same as above, relaxing

05    Same as above, probably gambling

06    View of downtown, towards 2nd and Fremont, depot in distance, ca. 1906



Colorado River, Hoover Dam

07    Dam-related construction scene above river

08    Hoover Dam

09    Hoover Dam completed, aerial view, upstream

10    Hoover Dam completed, downstream



Additions to Collection



Early Las Vegas

11    View of Las Vegas from depot, ca. 1910 (postcard) (Wilson Drug Co.)

12    Volunteer fire department, Oakes Foto

13    Volunteer fire department, Oakes Foto?

14    Rockwell residence, 118 N. 3rd Street , 1912



Nevada



Blue Diamond

15    Pete Mescher at Cottonwood

16    View from distance

17    Old Fort Callville about 1910



People

18    Mabel Grant Plumb, May 1905 (first school teacher, LV)

19    Earl Rockwell, Helldorado garb ?

20    Earl Rockwell with 10-1/4 lb fish

21    Baseball team, ca. 1907-8 (dup.in Alter Coll.)



0040    ALICE LAKE-EARL ROCKWELL COLLECTION



Rockwell Family Genealogical

22    Unknown couple (daguerreotype)

23    William H. Rockwell

24    Lottie A. Rockwell, full portrait

25    Lottie A. Rockwell, bust portrait

26    School scene in New York, including Earl Rockwell



Additions to Collection

27    Las Vegas Police; Left to right seated : 1. Archie Mellott, 2. Dick Leavitt, 3. Eddie Sorvinski, 4. R.E.R., 5. Jimmie Downs, 6. Tiny Putman, 7. L.H.R., 8. Lynn Botts, 9. Bill Trelease (back of Case), 13. Tommy Pickett (in seat, black hat), 14. Bill Hall(in seat,light hat)

28    Tatt E. Smith, Las Vegas police force on steps of station

29    Jimmie Downs and R.E.R. , on fire truck, 1962