Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

Horden-Graglia Family Photographs

Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (2 hanging folders and 1 shared box of negatives)
Location: Photo Cabinet 4:A, Photo Collection Negatives Box 07

Link to Collection Guide
View select materials online

Related Materials:
Horden, Elinor. Interview, February 13, 1980. OH-00886. Oral History Research Center, Special Collections, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Collection Contents:
The Horden-Graglia Family Photographs depict the Horden-Graglia Family in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1910 to 1941. The photographs primarily depict Joseph and Frances Graglia and their children John and Anne. The photographs also depict historical buildings, including the Hotel National, the Pair o’ Dice Nite Club, the Union Hotel, and the Las Vegas School. The photographs also include Elinor Horden, who performed as a showgirl in Las Vegas in the 1950s.

Union Hotel and Shamrock Hotel

0001    Union Hotel and Shamrock Hotel, corner of Main and Bridger

0002    Union Hotel, Joe Graglia, bartender


0003    Las Vegas Grammar School before 1913

0004    Las Vegas Grammar School before 1913

0005    Las Vegas School (more than one class)

0006    Las Vegas Grammar School Band (negative only)

0007    Las Vegas Grammar School teachers (neg. only)

0008    LVJH Basketball team and Coach Butler

Hotel National

0009    Hotel National

0010    Interior view, Hotel National lobby

0011    Hotel National

0012    Hotel National

0013    Hotel National

0014    Hotel National

0015    Veterans Day Parade

Pair O' Dice Nite Club

0016    Pair O' Dice Nite Club owned by Joe Graglia and Frank Detra

0017    Pair O' Dice Nite Club owned by Joe Graglia and Frank Detra

0018    Student body 1919-1920


0019    Chuck Fescher, Harold Case and John Graglia in Helldorado outfits

0020    200 Horsepower truck (used in Helldorado parade)

0021    Desert Love Buggy (used in Helldorado Parade)

0022    Kiwanis Follies, High School Auditorium (April 30-May 1, 1928)

0023    Las Vegas, Nev. 1941



Lake Mead

0024    Lake Mead boat landing 1935

Rhyolite, Nevada

0025    Man (white shirt), D. Pecetto. Taken in Rhyolite.

Out-of State

0026    Gambling Club. 4th from left standing is John Wesley Horden.

Graglia Family Genealogical photographs

0027    Annie Graglia-died 1913

0028    John Graglia and Annie Graglia

0029    Graglia family, standing l to r John Graglia, Joe Graglia, sitting l to r Mrs. Graglia, Anne Graglia

0030    Graglia 2/23/33


Colorado River group

0031    Group picture of all who make trip up Colorado River Nov. 11, 1935

0032    Unloading lunch-86 miles up Colorado River 11/11/35

0033    Taken on Boulder Dam Trip Nov. 1935

0034    Group at Miller's Ranch, Las Vegas

0035    Elinor (Nora) Horden

0036    Las Vegas dance group, including Elinor (Nora) Horden

0037    Same as above

0038    Same as above

0039    Las Vegas Theatre production , including Elinor (Nora) Horden

0040    Eldorado Empire Mining Co. cabin