Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Oral History Interviews

Total records in this collection: 3047

Print version of all records

Page 10 of 61

|<<   Previous   6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  Next   >>|
Narrator Collection # Date Project Content Transcript Tapes
Chambers, Marilyn 07/02/1980 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Chambers, Michael and Alison OH-00174 10/03/2013 West Charleston Ward 1 Renovated this McNeil home leaving exterior as close to the original as possible. Talked about coffee on the curb, neighborhood block parties, and use of social media to promote community. no 0
Chandler, Allin O. OH-00361 12/09/2002 Principalship Project and BELVOHP Rancho HS Interview part of Dr. Carlton's (UNLV) Oral History of Public School Principalships. Education and career history. Teacher and educational administrator in Las Vegas, 1968-1990. Clark County Association of School Administrators (CCASA). Instructional philosophy: Madeline Hunter�s method of teaching. Dr. Brian Cram (Superintendent of CCSD, 1989-2000). Robert E. Wentz (Superintendent of CCSD, 1982-1989). Developments in education. Philosophy and duties of a school principal. Development of personal writing and public speaking skills. Instructional leadership. Developments in school administration. Parental responsibilities. Daily pressures of a principal. Role of the Executive Director of CCASA. Nevada State legislators and lobbying in Carson City. Mentors. yes 2
Channing, Carol 02/28/1980 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Chapter, Richard "Dick" T. OH-00362 03/06/1979 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history, 1940s and 1950s. Original hotel-casinos. Changes in the form of hotel-casinos. Transport: roads. Climate and humidity. Crime rate and law enforcement. Recreational activities at Lake Mead and the Las Vegas Wash. Floods (1955) and snow. Expansion of school construction. Atomic testing: �circus blasts.� Expansion of McCarran airport. Reflections on operating a small business. Stewart Ranch. no 1
Charles, Ray 11/20/1992 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1
Charo March 1984 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Chase, Linda OH-00176 4/1/2008 Boyer Early Las Vegas OHP Lived in Bonanza Village, talked of NV Test Site and its impact on her writing and research, recreation as a child, and the changing attitude about gaming. yes 0
Chase, Richard D. OH-00364 10/17/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske History of Las Vegas, 1945-1972. Housing shortage during the 1940s. Location of housing. Bill Moore: Sliver Slipper; Last Frontier Village. Birdcage Theater. The Red Rooster: Grace Hayes. Bugsy Siegel. Downtown. Traffic lights. Banks. Sam Larson: owner of Vegas electrical and telephone companies. Decline of electrical and telephone service during the 1950s. Ira Goldring: Pioneer Construction Co. Atomic bomb testing: concrete bunkers. Labor Unions. Carol Lombard. Eisenhower and Nixon visits. Evaporated cooling. Social changes. Knife and Fork Club. Nevada Governors. Environment: dust; smog. Mormonism. no 1
Checker, Chubby Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Cheel, Mrs. Chester OH-00365 02/20/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history. Church activism. Swamp cooler. Changes in Las Vegas: social; economic; environmental. Insight into 'white' approach towards minorities. Mormonism. no 1
Cherry, Don 7/1/2003 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. no 2
Cherry, Don 12/30/1991 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1
Cherry, Hon. Michael OH-00178 2006 I Remember When: Recollections from LV Jewish Leaders F850.J5.C44 2006 Nevada attorney since 1970; elected to State Supreme court in 2006. no 0
Cherry, J.C., M.D. OH-00179 06/17/1972 Local Oral History Project: Roske [Note: Transcript recounts only the second half of the interview] Recollection of an atomic bomb test. Environment: smog; water. Brief career history as a medical physician before arriving in Las Vegas. Goldfield. Scotty�s Castle. Arrived in Las Vegas in 1942. Career history as a medical doctor whilst in Vegas. yes 0
Cherry, J.C., MD OH-00368 03/20/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history from the perspective of medical care. Senator Pat McCarran aiding patients. Water. Charleston Blvd underpass. Influx of specialists beginning in the 1950s. Expansion of valley hospitals beginning in the 1950s. Southern Nevada Memorial and Las Vegas hospitals. Working in the Clark County jail. Reflections on living in Reno, Goldfield, and Tonopah. Walker Scott and Scotty�s Castle. Sunday services during the construction of Scotty�s Castle. Comparison of medical care between Reno and Las Vegas. Local gaming. Bugsy Siegel�s mistress. Critic of �modern� doctors. Reno medical school.[Interview summary on file] no 1
Cherry, Michael OH-02160 Sept. 19, 2014 Southern Nevada Jewish Community Heritage Project Nevada Supreme Court Justice Michael Cherry talks about his Jewish heritage, Missouri background and successful legal career in Las Vegas. He is an active member of the Jewish community, former synagogue president, ADL and more. F850 J5 C44 2014 yes 0
Childers, Buddy 11/16/1990 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1
Childs, Jean S. OH-00182 12/2/2013 AfAm Worked 25 years for Head Start at EOB. Explains how EOB works, people involved, ideas of why it downsized. Grew up in Berkley Square. no 0
Chrétien, Jeanne P. OH-00370 02/26/1979 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history, 1939-1979. Nightlife. Buildings. Schools. Change in teenage student attitudes. Career history. Narrator�s husband served as an assistant to Senator James C. Scrugham. Activism in social organizations. Highways. Tule Springs. Helldorado Days festival. Leisure. Attraction of Las Vegas. Block 16 and prostitution. Dating. Atomic testing. Family during WWII. BMI and the growth of Henderson. Weather in Las Vegas: snow and flash floods (Nelson Landing, 1974). Forest fires on Mount Charleston. Religious activism. Student at UNLV. Environmental and climatic changes. Department stores. Raising children in Las Vegas. [Interview summary on file] [Side 2 of tape 1 inaudible]. no 2
Christ, Billy OH-00183 October 9, 2007 ML394 .C57 2008 no 0
Christensen, Carrie (and "Buster" Stevens) OH-00372 02/04/1974 Local Oral History Project-Roske [Note: This entry comprises of two interviews conducted on the same day. Carre Christensen is present in both interviews. Her brother-in-law, Buster Stevens, contributes to the discussion in the first interview]. Both interviews provide observations of Las Vegas from an African American perspective. First Interview: Family history and migration to Las Vegas. Observations of living in Las Vegas before 1933. Segregation in Boulder city during the construction of the Hoover dam. No experience of segregation in Las Vegas until Hoover Dam was built. African America to a restaurant in Las Vegas. Grandfather was a scout for the US Calvery. Black Mormon heritage. Interaction with Native Americans. Life in the West during the early 20th century, focusing on cattle and horses. Religion and personal experiences of �finding� God. Westside and the Community. Union Pacific Railroad. Second Interview: Personal history and observations of life in Las Vegas. Religious beliefs. Influx of migrants during WWII changed the town. Drug activity in Las Vegas. Senior Citizen Action Group. Block 16. Changes in Las Vegas, 1933-74. Growth of the construction of churches, coinciding with WWII migration to the city. Condition of Westside before WWII. Grandmother born during slavery. Jim Crow and segregation. [Note: These interviews offer an insight as to where migrants to Las Vegas came from. There is a great deal of repetition during the first interview. Reading the transcript is recommended. The first interview has been transcribed on white paper and the second on yellow colored paper]. yes 6
Christensen, Doris Mae OH-00187 02/16/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske Family and career history. Economic, environmental and social changes in Las Vegas. WWII and the USO. Mormon Fort (Old Ranch, formerly the Stewart Ranch). yes 0
Christensen, M.J. OH-00374 10/23/1974 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history, 1941-1974. Career history: narrator established a jewelry store in Vegas that continues today (2012). Locations of the jewelry stores and abodes. Involvement within the LDS Church. Political activism: narrator was a state Assemblymen and Senator. Activity with social organizations. Leisure activities. Reflection of atomic testing. Economic change in Las Vegas. Gambling essential to Nevada. Mob influence in Vegas. Drawbacks of economic and population growth. Visit to Vegas of the President of Turkey. no 1
Christensen, Paul J. OH-00188 02/19/2008 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project CT247 .C47 2007 Personal history of Las Vegas through the eyes of a public servant. Growing up in Las Vegas during the 1940s. Education history and childhood memories. Downtown. Experiences in the US Air Force: flying B-47s loaded with nuclear bombs; training. NV Test Site. Family jewelry business in Las Vegas. Election to the board of the Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce. Election to the Las Vegas City Council and the beginning of a career in politics. �Jam auction.� Tussle with the Clark County Commission over wastewater in the valley: details of the dispute, extended to the state and Environmental Protection Agency. Move to the County Commission and why? The Mob during the 1950s and 60s. The Mormon community in Las Vegas. Howard Hughes. Experiences sitting on the County Commission. Chairman of the Convention Authority. Remarks on Las Vegas� future water supply. Election defeat. Corruption on the County Commission (Erin Kenny). �Distinguished Nevadan� award. County Hospital. Quick Care Centers. Opinion on the growth of Las Vegas. Speedway Children�s Charities. Dina Titus. Experiences with African Americans. Lucy Stewart. Beaver, NV. yes 0
Christian, Ray OH-00376 03/19/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history, 1940s-1978, from an African American perspective. Education of narrator. Schools in Las Vegas. Sunday school. Leisure activities. Utilities. Boy scouts. Cleaning job at El Portal. Race relations and racial conflict in Las Vegas with a focus on schools�a couple of stories from narrator. Westside. Relations between white and black baseball teams. Depression during 1947-1948 depression. Narrator was the first black mail carrier in Las Vegas. Philosophy of a successful marriage. Segregated theatres. According to the narrator, white and black veterans were influential in improving of race relations in Las Vegas. [No file] no 1
Christiansen, Norman R. OH-00377 11/28/1986 Local Oral History Project-Roske Family history. Red Lodge, MT mining disaster in 1943. Philosophy of life. Transition from residing in Montana to living in Las Vegas. Changes in Las Vegas: highways; construction; schools; pollution. Teaching in Las Vegas. Change in the attitudes of students. Comparison between Montana and Las Vegas. Price of entertainment on the Strip. Comparison between the Las Vegas of the late 1950s and the city in the 1980s: teaching. Reminiscences of working at the Nevada Atomic Testing Site. Economic and environmental changes. Strengths of Las Vegas. no 1
Christie, Gordon OH-00378 06/30/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history, 1959-1975. Narrator moved to Las Vegas from Los Angeles in 1959�too many people in southern California. Narrator was a carpenter, specializing in the crafting of high end furniture. Worked on the construction of the several high rise casinos including the original MGM hotel, Desert Inn, Frontier, and the Landmark. In the 1950s Las Vegas became a ghost town during the week, once Californians returned to their state. Meeting with Governor O�Callaghan. Reflections on atomic testing. Influence of Howard Hughes. Standard of living in Las Vegas. Northern Nevada. Narrator�s salary in 1959 compared with 1975. Leisure activities: fishing in the Colorado River; hunting in northern Nevada, for example the area around the town of Midas. El Rancho fire.[Interview summary on file] no 1
Cicero, Cynthia OH-00117 3/28/2014 Boyer Early Las Vegas OHP Work at airport in 1960s and 1970s. LV entertainment. Group interview with Tina Boag, Betty Brown, and Joanne (Jan) Ravetti. Audio and Video no 0
Cicero, Cynthia OH-00117 3/28/2014 West Charleston - A Ward One OHP This interview with four women - Cynthia, Tina Boag, Betty Brown, and Joanne Ravetti - contains stories of Las Vegas from the late 1960s. They discuss jobs, entertainment, dating, and what the MOB meant for locals. yes 0
Cichoski, George D. OH-00380 03/15/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske History of the Cumorah Credit Union�served members of the Church of Latter Day Saints. Background to the Credit Union�s establishment in 1965. Notable charter members: Gerry Schneider (President), Edward Bunker, A. A. Stevenson, and Virgil Slade. Development of the Credit Union from 1966-1981. Financial Institutions Act (1980). Future of credit unions and Cumorah Credit Union itself. [Interview summary on file] no 1
Ciliax, Betty & Gus OH-00381 03/02/1977 Local Oral History Project- Roske An interesting, detailed, and entertaining recollections at Las Vegas during the early 1930s encompassing many topics. Small population and close community. Softball teams. Swimming pool and local prostitutes. Prostitution and Block 16 and �Four Mile.� Local economy�Nellis AFB, Boulder Dam, and railroad. Mr. Tomiasu (?) a Japanese resident. Vineyards in Las Vegas. The Street Shop�a gathering place for the whole community. Flora in Las Vegas. Gambling. Keeping cool! Hellorado festival. Lorenzi Park dance. First radio station. St. Thomas (city, near Overton, evacuated and submerged under water as part of the Lake Mead project). Family relative travelling to Las Vegas in 1909. Tourism. Frank Williams. Clara Bow and Rex Bell. Carol Lombard airplane crash. Flight to LA in 1940. Medical facilities. House purchase in 1942. Japanese internment. El Rancho and shows. Racial segregation. [Helpful interview summary on file] no 1
Ciliax, Carl OH-00382 03/08/1980 Local Oral History Project-Roske Nevada history, hunting, water, Spring Range Mountains, Goodsprings, Test Site Contamination (Atomic Testing), trail mapping - surveys, Lake Shore Road, Pollution, Conservation. no 1
Clancy, Alan OH-02261 2/12/2015 BELVOHP Danced in the Folies Bergere at the Tropicana for 3 years. Started with Vassili Sulich in Nevada Dance Theater. Opened store, Vintage Madness. no 0
Clark (Bearden), Betty Joyce OH-00383 02/16/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history, General Family history, Charleston Blvd., "the Strip", Las Vegas High School, Rancho High School, 1953 - 1954 Rancho High School, Jim Bilbray, Roy Parrish, Hyde Park, Twin Lakes, 1947 - 1953 life in Las Vegas, early Southern Nevada Memorial Hospital, Rose De Lima Hospital and Woman �s Hospital in 1959, El Rancho, Helldorado, growth from 1950 's and 1960 's, Railroad, Mormon Fort (Stewart Ranch), Mormon Church (religion), old McCarran field (Nellis Air Force Base) between 1940 's and 1950 's, Blacks in Las Vegas, Las Vegas Police Department, Clark County Law Enforcement, Crime in Las Vegas. no 1
Clark, Dick Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 2
Clark, Dominic OH-00384 Local Oral History Project-Roske no 1
Clark, Georgie OH-00385 03/02/1980 Glenn Canyon Dam "River Runner" Glenn Canyon Dam "River Runner", Colorado River and Lake Mead, changing water levels 1944 - 1980, Swimming in the Colorado River, Las Vegas in the late 1940 's, Phantom Ranch, Native American Indians in the Area, Rules and regulations of the River, Current Issues and Future of the River, Outlawing Motors on the river - Congressional Bill. no 2
Clark, Helen M. OH-00386 03/05/1979 Gambling, Boulder Dam Prohibition Gambling, Boulder Dam (Hoover Dam, Prohibition, Education, Women�s Occupations, Depression Years, early WWII, early casinos, Nellis Air Force Base, Red Light District (prostitution), Helldorado, Atomic Testing, development of hotels, growth of Real Estate. no 1
Clark, Phyllis Webb OH-00387 10/23/1972 and 04/07/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske Changes in Las Vegas. no 1
Clark, Roy 09/10/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Clark, Roy 01/13/1989 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Clark, Virginia OH-00197 06/20/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview yes 0
Clarke, Angela Dr. OH-00205 10/03/2008 Heart to Heart:: A History of Las Vegas Health Care Oral History Project R154.C344.A3 2009 Dr. Angela Clarke is a board-certified family practitioner who moved to Las Vegas in 1976; became head of the County Medical Association. yes 0
Clary, Ernest Henry OH-00390 02/10/1979 Local Oral History Project-Roske Atomic Testing, President Johnson and Carole Lombard crash, economics and environment of Las Vegas, History of Illnesses, Surveying acreage, minerals in Nevada, Jim Henry (prospector), Mark twain, Comstock Lode, Geothermal in Southern Nevada, Old Ranch (Stewart Ranch), Geological Tests, Henderson Housing, "Strip" Hotels. no 1
Clary, Pat and Diane OH-00207 5/20/2009 Boyer Early Las Vegas OHP Spoke of early city and state leaders and figures who owned early Strip hotel casinos. yes 0
Clayton, Clifford R. OH-02208 11/11/2014 AfAm Student Project (Mechia Sydnor) Arrived in LV at 20 years of age, stationed at Nellis AFB. Later worked for Sears, EG&G. no 0
Cleman (Conner), Rosemary C. OH-00392 03/08/1981 Educator Teacher at Nellis, physical changes in Las Vegas, Blacks in Las Vegas, Employment of Blacks on "the Strip", Mormon influence, semi - Integration, entering the Coffee Bean business in Las Vegas, Parole counseling - contact with Judges - early days of the girls school in Caliente, teaching emotionally disturbed and handicapped children, work with the YMCA, Nevada as the Las Frontier, drug programs, Dr. Ravenholt influence, George Franklin 's help, Boulder Dam project (Hoover Dam), Boulder City resistance to growth, Elko, Mining industry, Tonopah - Mining - MX missile, Political Leaders (Grant Sawyer, Paul Laxalt, Mike O'Callaghan). no 1
Clement, Jonce T. OH-00209 03/07/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview yes 0
Clemmens, Martin A. OH-00211 June 19 (Year - Unknown) Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview yes 0

Page 10 of 61

|<<   Previous   6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  Next   >>|