Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Oral History Interviews

Total records in this collection: 3047

Print version of all records

Page 8 of 61

|<<   Previous   4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  Next   >>|
Narrator Collection # Date Project Content Transcript Tapes
Bunker, Berkeley OH-00290 10/13/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Nevada history, Roosevelt, Mt. Charleston, Hoover Dam, Pioche mines. (index card only) no 1
Bunker, Ferren W. OH-00291 07/02/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske Pioneer Heritage, Depression, WWII, Bunkerville and Lovelock, County Agricultural Agent, Youth Fairs, LDS Church, Religion, Patriarch in Las Vegas South Stake, Branch President, Bishop, Stake Missionary, rationing of food and gas during WWII, Atomic testing, Boulder Dam (Hoover Dam), Nellis Air Force Base, McCarran Air Port, Flash Flooding and Forest Fires in mountains. no 1
Bunker, John Merlin OH-00138 04/19/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview yes 0
Bunker, Lucile Whitehead OH-00293 03/10/1977 Local Oral History Project-Roske Mormonism, Religion, personal and family history, LDS Church, Railroad houses, first school in Clark County, family owned: Gas Co., Telephone Co., Copper Mine, Canning Plant, Mercantile Store, Depression of 1929, Deputy County Clerk, Political Life, Politics, building the Dam, Atomic Testing. no 1
Bunker, Owen S. OH-02125 6/12/2010 BELVOHP Owen's uncle operated the farm at the Old Fort raising hogs and cultivating fig trees. Remembers an early business - Quinn Dairy Farms (Mini interview will be bound in volume with Mary Miller, LaRue and Dick Worthen, and Janice Zobrist.) yes 0
Bunker, Robert K. OH-00294 10/11/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske Bunkerville, mining and copper mines, Carole Lombard Plane Crash, Salt Mine, Ran Welfare Farm for Mormons, Religion, 1950 's, Atomic testing, Las Vegas history 1955, Brigham Young, Native American Indians, United States Army. no 1
Bunker, Vernon Earl OH-00295 10/19/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Nevada history, LDS Church in Las Vegas, religion, First State Bank, Moapa Valley, flood of 1910. no 1
Bunker, Wendell OH-00296 Local Oral History Project-Roske Mormonism, religion. (empty folder) no 1
Burer, Suzanne Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Burgwardt, Lestor OH-00297 02/09/1980 Local Oral History Project-Roske Education, Navy 1943 - 1946, teacher in Henderson, Henderson, floods of 1954, Lake Mead, Downtown Las Vegas and early entertainment, Atomic Testing, National Science Institute, Las Vegas Convention Center. no 1
Burke, Carey J. OH-00298 02/23/1980 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history, casino tokens. Collector: Drew Casale no 1
Burke, Carey J. OH-00299 1981/03/12 Local Oral History Project-Roske Living in Las Vegas and Henderson in the late 1940s and 1950s. Collector: Terri Goodsell. no 1
Burkey, Elizabeth & Theresa Brickley OH-00069 01/27/2006 Tap Dancing Tap Dancing throughout country and in Las Vegas yes 2
Burkholder, Lyal W. OH-00140 March 1st (Year - Unknown) Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview; Clark County School District, President Kennedy and Senator Johnson visits, Lombard's plane crash, atomic testing, Basic Magnesium Plant yes 0
Burns, George OH-00302 04/03/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history, Las Vegas in the 1940 's and 1950 's. no 1
Burns, George 06/01/1977 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Burns, George Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 3
Burns, George 10/20/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Burse, Don OH-00141 3/1/2013 African Americans in Las Vegas: A Collaborative Oral History Good interview spoke about Unions & Fellowship of church. no 0
Burt, Leroy OH-02065 07/01/1986 Local Oral History Project-Roske no 1
Burton, Cohen OH-01438 1/26/2010 Jay Sarno Project Gaming; Interviewer: David Schwartz yes 0
Burton, Dave 01/11/1994 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 2
Burton, Joe OH-00305 03/11/1980 Local Oral History Project-Roske Organized Crime in Las Vegas, Las Vegas Mafia, Downtown Las Vegas, changes and growth in Las Vegas. no 1
Busch, Pearl OH-00306 03/19/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Las Vegas history, the first Hotels in Las Vegas, Clubs and organizations, Junior League, Desert Inn Country Club, Rotary, Dental Auxiliary, Atomic Testing, Hoover Dam, Nellis Air Force Base, Levi Stouse, "the Strip", Downtown Las Vegas, Solar Energy. no 1
Busch, William John OH-00142 03/01/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview; atomic testing, growth and development of Las Vegas yes 0
Bush, Q.B. OH-00308 05/15/2007 History of the 1970s Q.B. was one of the first black dealers on the LV Strip. Talks of the Economic Opportunity Board, the LV black experience and shared photo collection. yes 3
Bushell, Garvin 05/10/1988 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Butera, Sam 10/16/1992 Arnold Shaw Entertainment, played for President Kennedy's Inauguration, growth of Las Vegas. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1
Butera, Sam OH-00143 03/02/1973 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape � Hand Written Interview yes 0
Butler, Liz OH-01539 9/27/2010 Subject worked in Las Vegas casinos starting in the 1970s; Interviewer: David Schwartz yes 0
Butner, Joseph OH-00146 Local Oral History Project-Roske (missing folder) no 1
Buttons, Red 06/15/1994 Arnold Shaw Interviewer: Entertainment LV no 1
Buttons, Red 06/17/1994 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1
Buxton, Eddie Ernest OH-00311 03/30/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske Law enforcement, personal life history. no 1
Cadwaller, Ralph OH-00147 10/15/2001 yes 0
Cadwaller, Ralph OH-00147 10/15/2001 Principalship School management in Las Vegas yes 2
Caesar, Jimmy 06/23/1994 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1
Cahill, Robbins E. OH-00313 06/02/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Nevada history, recollections of work in state politics, government, taxation, gaming control, Clark County administration, and The Nevada Resort Association. (Received at UNR by Mary Ellen Glass) no 3
Cahill, Robins 01/31/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Cahlan, Florence Lee Jones OH-00148 02/10/1973 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview. General history of Southern Nevada between 1933 and 1973. Migration to Las Vegas. Journalism in Las Vegas, female writer, Las Vegas Review Journal. Activism in local politics. Reminisces of Boulder (Hoover) Dam including the dam�s construction and dedication by President Roosevelt. Brief remarks concerning living in Las Vegas during the Second World War, the atomic testing era, the city�s economic development, and the city�s evolving demographics, notably the influx of �Negroes� during the 1940s. Social and interest groups. yes 0
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00149 02/18/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas Review Journal, Journalism in Las Vegas, Development of gambling and tourism in Las Vegas, Prostitution, Modes of transportation in the 1940s, How WWII affected Southern Nevada. Interviewed by Lester Wisbrod. no 2
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00150 1977/03/30 Local Oral History Project-Roske Early Las Vegas entertainment. Interviewed by Gordon R. Brusso. yes 1
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00151 1978/04/10 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas from 1920-1950, Early Aviation. Interviewed by James W. Weslowski. no 2
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00152 1980/02/27 Local Oral History Project-Roske Journalism in Nevada and Las Vegas, Las Vegas Review Journal, Water, Railroads, Native Americans and Spanish Padres in Southern Nevada, Buliding of Boulder Dam, Nellis Air Force Base. Interviewed by Radmila Radovich. no 1
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00153 circa 1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske Journalism in Nevada and Las Vegas, Las Vegas Review Journal.Interviewed by Perry Kaufman. no 1
Cahlan, John Francis OH-00154 1975/07/02 Local Oral History Project-Roske Nellis A.F.B., Nevada Test Site, Prohibition in Las Vegas, Las Vegas Review Journal, Las Vegas history. Interviewed by Larry J. DuRussel no 1
Calas, Charlie Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 2
Caldwell, Richard OH-00321 03/06/1980 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history 1953-1980. Migration to Las Vegas from Louisiana. Personal history: family, occupation(s), and education. Westside. Development of race relations in Las Vegas. Residential segregation. Discrimination of blacks: �no better than the South.� Inequality of employment opportunities. Development of the �Strip.� Black entertainers. no 1
Caldwell, Richard F. Sr. OH-00322 03/11/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske General history of Las Vegas between 1931 and 1980, particularly in relation to the city�s development. Comparisons between pre- and post-casino Las Vegas. Migration from the South (Louisiana). Labor at and construction of Boulder (Hoover) Dam [interviewee worked on the dam project]. Atomic test site [interviewee worked at the test site between 1952 and 1978]. Women�s contribution to the test site and Boulder Dam. Las Vegas Casinos. Opinion on prostitution in Las Vegas. Hunting in Las Vegas. Wild horses and other wildlife in southern Nevada. Mining. Westside. Black entertainers. no 1
Calhoon, Dinah OH-00323 10/27/1971 Local Oral History Project-Roske Personal history of Las Vegas, 1945-1971. Highlighting: reason for relocating to Las Vegas; K-12 education; UNLV in 1959; recreational activities; Helldorado festival; family life; television in the 1950s; occupations; swamp coolers; changes in Las Vegas; El Rancho; penny stores; growth of UNLV. no 1

Page 8 of 61

|<<   Previous   4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  Next   >>|