Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Oral History Interviews

Total records in this collection: 2904

Print version of all records

Page 56 of 59

|<<   Previous   51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  Next   >>|
Narrator Collection # Date Project Content Transcript Tapes
Welt, Doris with Jerry and Marcy Welt Nov. 30, 2014 Southern Nevada Jewish Community Digital Heritage Project Father was Jerry Fox (aka Stoney) who was pawn shop owner/jeweler who moved to Las Vegas in 1946. Doris lived in Vegas for 17 years beginning in 1971. Mother of attorney Jerry Welt. Her husband Eli was involved in Jewish Federation. Marcy and Jerry Welt have been very active in Jewish community since moving here in 1972 no 0
Wengert, Ree 02/28/1980 Local Oral History Project-Roske no 1
Wengert, Ward 03/01/1976 Early Las Vegas-Roske Nevada history, personal history/newspaper clippings no 2
Wesley, Mary History of the 1970's no 6
West Side Community 07/19/1977 Early Las Vegas-Roske no 2
West, Bonita (Bonnie) May 5, 2008 Blue Diamond Oral History Project This is the history of Blue Diamond Village. Blue Diamond is located 26 miles southwest of Las Vegas. The village, originally known as Cottonwood Springs, changed its name when the Blue Diamond Company took ownership of the Gypsum mine and built corporate housing for the workers in the early '20s. Near the base of the Red Rock canyon, Blue Diamond Village was originally a stop on the Old Spanish Trail for traders from Santa Fe, N.M., to California between 1830 and 1848, according to the history committee's findings. road for the The Blue Diamond School opened in 1929. The company built bunk housing and homes for the workers that it started selling to the public in 1965. no 0
West, Charles Dr. Early Las Vegas-Roske Medical history no 2
West, Dottie Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
West, Jack 06/12/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske no 1
West, John 08/10/2000 BOYER EARLY LAS VEGAS OHP Son of the first black medical doctor in Las Vegas. He speaks of growing up in the Westside community, friends of other racial groups, and his parents' role in the community. yes 4
West, Keith 03/12/1981 or 03/12/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske Lumber Industry no 1
Westside School Groundbreaking 1/17/2015 AfAm Collab The Westside School acquired funds for the renovation of the property that is on the National Register of Historic Places. Groundbreaking ceremony featured Brenda Williams, president of the Westside School Alumni Foundation; Hannah Brown, member of the Centennial Commission who helped to raise the initial funds; Ricki Barlow, Ward 5 City Councilman; Mayor Carolyn Goodman, and others. This is the oldest school building in CCSD, houses KCEP - Power 88.1 radio station, and will be now used for community functions, commercial businesses, and the radio station managed by Craig Knight. no 0
Wexler, Jerry Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Wexler, Jerry 03/02/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Wexler, Jerry & Shirley Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Whalen, Lillian 09/20/1974 Local Oral History Project-Roske Boulder City no 1
Whaley, Carolyn Airforce-1960's no 1
Whaley, Eva 5/13/2013 AfAm Collaborative Community changes - before, during, and after gang activity. Community involvement and church activities. Desire to engage in reverse migration. yes 0
Whaley, Nathaniel 3/6/2013 AfAm Collaborative Explained the racial make-up of the Westside with Latinos, blacks and whites. Whaley spoke of the many black businesses on Jackson, E and D streets. yes 0
Wham, Harry 03/07/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Underwater diving, entertainment no 1
Wharton, Fred 0. 03/10/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske Older Timer Lincoln and Nye County no 1
Whipple, Elsie J. 03/05/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Nevada history no 1
Whitaker, W. Dean The Boyer Las Vegas Early History Project CT247 .W457 2007 no 0
Whitcher, Jean 03/12/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Nevada history Costumes no 1
White, Claytee 12/1/2014 AfAm Student Project (Jessica Avila Pifferrer) First director of the Oral History Research Center at UNLV Libraries. no 0
White, Glynda 3/12/2013 AfAm Collaborative Growing up in an activist family. Early work in the law in Las Vegas. Community networks. yes 0
White, Robert March 28, 2007 Blue Diamond Oral History Project This is the history of Blue Diamond Village. Blue Diamond is located 26 miles southwest of Las Vegas. The village, originally known as Cottonwood Springs, changed its name when the Blue Diamond Company took ownership of the Gypsum mine and built corporate housing for the workers in the early '20s. Near the base of the Red Rock canyon, Blue Diamond Village was originally a stop on the Old Spanish Trail for traders from Santa Fe, N.M., to California between 1830 and 1848, according to the history committee's findings. road for the The Blue Diamond School opened in 1929. The company built bunk housing and homes for the workers that it started selling to the public in 1965. yes 0
Whitley, Verlean 11/26/2014 AfAm - Student Project Arrived in LV in 1958 at 17 years of age, NAACP member, property owner, stories about Jackson St,; met husband at the Louisiana Club. no 0
Whitmore, Mark 03/03/1979 or 03/03/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske Family history, Father, City Official no 1
Whitmore, Roxton Early Las Vegas-Roske no 1
Whitney, Alma 3/24/1997 Las Vegas women in gaming and entertainment F849.L35 W55 1997 "This interview provides information on the African American migration to Las Vegas during the 1940s, post-war race relations in Las Vegas, the daily work of hotel maids, and the culinary union." yes 0
Whitney, James 1/24/2014 BELVOHP Las Vegas liquor business, changes over time; the restaurant industry; MOB stories. yes 0
Wickliffe, Lawrence 11/29/2014 AfAm Student Project (Kim Odusanya) Battalion Fire Chief; first AfAm paramedic. Remembers Woodrow Wilson and received loan from credit union that he helped to start. no 0
Wieking, Henry 08/30/1975 and 08/20/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske Old Fort as Concert Lab no 4
Wiener, Louis 02/09/1990 and 02/23/1990 Local Oral History Project-Roske Mr. Wiener is a prominent Las Vegas attorney. Includes discussion of some of his colorful trial experiences. Is the namesake for the Wiener Rogers Law Library. yes 8
Wiener, Valerie 01/20/2015 Southern Nevada Jewish Community Digital Heritage Project 16-year Nevada State legislator; daughter of Louis Wiener Jr; philanthropist and advocate of many causes. Talks about being from a Jewish-Christian mix marriage; growing up in Las Vegas. no 0
Wilber, Mert 03/05/1977 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history no 1
Wilbur, Bob 01/19/1988 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Lamont Patterson no 1
Wilcock, Joseph 4/17/2014 BELVOHP Comprehensive look of gaming in Nevada - opening a new hotel, how games operate, management of gaming areas, relationships among gaming team members, Tahoe and Reno gaming establishments, Steve Wynn's approach to the industry, current downtown gaming, and MOB stories. yes 0
Wilcox, Jesma & Carlye 02/16/1976 Boulder Dam/Ranch Living Old Ranch history no 1
Wilcox, Larry 08/18/1982 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Wilcox, Larry Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Wilcox, Leora M. 01/04/1981 or 01/14/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history no 1
Wilde, Barbera Early Las Vegas-Roske no 1
Wilder, Alec Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: James Maher no 1
Wilder, Alec 04/14/1970 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 2
Wilhelm, John 8/12/2014 BELV - Cul226 Labor organizer, Yale graduate, came to Las Vegas for 1989 Strike. Elected president of Hospitality Industry of UNITE HERE June 30, 2009. During administration he furthered the union's reputation as an organizing union, achieved new growth after more than 25 years of membership decline, and substantially diversified its national leadership. no 0
Wilkes, Roscoe March 19, 2009 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project CT247 .W53 2012 no 0
Wilkimon, Bonnie May 5, 2008 Blue Diamond Oral History Project This is the history of Blue Diamond Village. Blue Diamond is located 26 miles southwest of Las Vegas. The village, originally known as Cottonwood Springs, changed its name when the Blue Diamond Company took ownership of the Gypsum mine and built corporate housing for the workers in the early '20s. Near the base of the Red Rock canyon, Blue Diamond Village was originally a stop on the Old Spanish Trail for traders from Santa Fe, N.M., to California between 1830 and 1848, according to the history committee's findings. road for the The Blue Diamond School opened in 1929. The company built bunk housing and homes for the workers that it started selling to the public in 1965. no 0
Willard, Bill 06/04/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske Entertainment no 1

Page 56 of 59

|<<   Previous   51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  Next   >>|