Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Oral History Interviews

Total records in this collection: 2908

Print version of all records

Page 55 of 59

|<<   Previous   51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  Next   >>|
Narrator Collection # Date Project Content Transcript Tapes
Walsh, Matty 08/28/1970 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
War, Kathy OH-01908 02/26/2009 UNLV Oral History Project @ Fifty LD3745 .W37 2007 Kathy War came to Las Vegas with her husband in 1968. She worked in the UNLV Libraries in the Curriculum Materials Library, in the Circulation Department, and in Special Collections where she was in charge of the photograph collections yes 0
Ward, George OH-01909 03/11/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Black Experience no 1
Wardle, Austin OH-01910 10/05/1981 Early Las Vegas-Roske Project no 1
Wardle, Luella OH-01911 08/04/1981 or 08/05/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Personal history Tonopah no 3
Ware, Sherill L. or Sherill C. OH-01912 03/18/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Personal history no 1
Warfel, John OH-01913 03/11/1998 Gay Archive-Dennis McBride no 2
Warner, Bojo OH-01914 09/15/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history no 1
Warner, Howard OH-01915 Local Oral History Project-Roske no 1
Warner, Paul OH-01916 Early Las Vegas-Roske Project no 1
Warren, Claude OH-01917 03/01/2007 UNLV no 2
Warren, Juanita OH-01918 03/02/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Personal history no 1
Warren, PhD, Elizabeth OH-01919 7/7/2010 Boyer ELVOPH Historian; Old Spanish Trail expert, Board of Director for National Trails System. Pioneer Trail project through the LV Westside community depicting entries on the National Register of Historic Places and noting people, places, and events significant to the black community in LV. yes 0
Warren, Rusty Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 2
Warwick, Dionne Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 2
Warwick, Dionne 04/04/1983 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Wasden, Howard OH-01920 Early Las Vegas-Roske Southern Nevada history no 1
Washington, Albert OH-01921 02/25/1979 Early Las Vegas-Roske Southern Nevada history no 1
Washington, David L. OH-01922 03/18/2009 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project CT247 .W37 2007 David Washington was the first Arican-American to serve as Fire Chief for the City of Las Vegas Fire Department. He also served in the Army, and although he is retired from the Fire Department, he is still active in the Las Vegas community Notes Includes additional accomplishements of the Fire Department under Chief Washington and letters to the Chief published in the Las Vegas firenews in December 2001 yes 0
Washington, Grover Jr. Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Mike Weatherford no 1
Washington, Isadore OH-01923 CT247 .W373 2007 no 0
Washington, Lee OH-02213 11/30/2014 AfAm Student Project (Ford-Wheaton, Aleya) Arrived in LV in 1963. Lived in Vegas Heights, memories of Jackson Street in the heyday of business opportunities. Custodian worker on Strip, member of Culinary Union and participated in labor unrest. no 0
Washington, Marcia OH-01924 2/14/2013 AfAm Collaborative F850.N4 W37 2012 Early life in the South and continuity to Las Vegas, early arrival, meeting her husband, community dislikes, the importance of the church, living conditions, entertainment for young couples, community involvement. yes 0
Watkins, John P. Dr OH-01925 03/04/1979 Medical Doctors in Las Vegas Medical history no 1
Watkins, Ralph 02/03/1971 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Watson, Cynthia and Edward OH-01926 3/28/2014 AfAm Collab Las Vegas migration. Many community organizations and unique activism. Edward worked at the Nevada Test Site and Cynthia started a private school. yes 0
Watson, Edward and Cynthia OH-01926 3/28/2014 AfAm Collaborative Project Both shared unusual backgrounds of early childhood, the migration to Las Vegas. Owners of private school. Will cover work in the PTA, home schooling, and organizations - House of Knowledge, Say Yes to Youngsters, Friends of West Las Vegas. Spirit of the culture. no 0
Watson, Nancie B. OH-01927 Educator no 1
Watts, Frank OH-01928 04/01/1981 UNLV Hotel School: UNLV, Hotel College no 1
Watts, James W. OH-01929 03/13/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Gaming no 1
Weasa, Melvin Albert OH-01930 10/01/1971 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history no 1
Weaver, Charles OH-01931 1974 or 10/25/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske no 1
Weaver, Ruth Moore OH-01932 11/25/1986 Local Oral History Project-Roske City of Henderson no 1
Weddington, Sarah Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Weekly, Lawrence OH-01933 4/22/2013 AfAm Collaborative Weekly serves as a Clark County Commissioner with an area that serves the Historic Westside. His major goal is the help develop the area. Aspires to become a university professor. yes 0
Weekly, Lawrence OH-02194 11/19/2014 AfAm Collab - Student Project (Harris-Yolanda, Elsha) Education, Career as a City/County official, being a professor. no 0
Weeks, Gwen OH-01934 Early Las Vegas-Roske no 1
Weeteling, John J. OH-01935 04/07/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske Nevada history no 1
Weide, David L. OH-01936 05/31/2007 BOYER EARLY LAS VEGAS OHP no 0
Weil, Aubrey Bud OH-01937 12/09/2003 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project CT247 .W45 2007 Bud Weil worked as a disc jockey and radio broadcaster at the KENO radio station in Las Vegas. He interviewed stars that came to town on his show. Later he got out of broadcasting and sold Musak, which allowed him to meet many people in Las Vegas. Bud also seved in the Army during World War II yes 3
Weiner, Stanley OH-01938 03/02/1978 Early Las Vegas-Roske Early Las Vegas history. Moved to Las Vegas in 1953 as a young boy and recalls racism, early days of the city; first synagogue; being a busboy and Sears employee. Reflects on living in Las Vegas from 1953 to 1978. no 1
Weiss, Sam 05/26/1974 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Weiss, Walter OH-01939 11/02/2010 Boyer Early Las Vegas Project CT247 .W454 2007 Walter Weiss was a boxer who came to Las Vegas to escape his personal troubles and find work with a local bookmaker. He worked at various positions in casinos including executive positions and also worked as a Wall Street broker. His writings regarding the passing of his Rabbi Ephraim Wolf are included yes 0
Welch, Don OH-01940 03/15/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history 1932's - no 1
Welch, Raquel Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Welles, David OH-01941 02/27/2002 Educator no 2
Wellman, Henry OH-01942 03/14/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Boulder City Alcohol no 1
Wells, Herb OH-01943 February 24, 2005 Blue Diamond Oral History Project This is the history of Blue Diamond Village. Blue Diamond is located 26 miles southwest of Las Vegas. The village, originally known as Cottonwood Springs, changed its name when the Blue Diamond Company took ownership of the Gypsum mine and built corporate housing for the workers in the early '20s. Near the base of the Red Rock canyon, Blue Diamond Village was originally a stop on the Old Spanish Trail for traders from Santa Fe, N.M., to California between 1830 and 1848, according to the history committee's findings. road for the The Blue Diamond School opened in 1929. The company built bunk housing and homes for the workers that it started selling to the public in 1965. yes 5
Wells, Herbert C. OH-01944 03/08/2006 UNLV @ Fifty Oral History Project LD3745.W44 2007 Herbert C. Wells is currently professor emeritus of civil and environmental engineering at UNLV, and is considered the father of engineering at the university yes 0
Wells, Herbet OH-01944 03/08/2006 UNLV yes 3

Page 55 of 59

|<<   Previous   51  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  Next   >>|