Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Oral History Interviews

Total records in this collection: 3649

Print version of all records

Page 50 of 73

|<<   Previous   46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  Next   >>|
Narrator Collection # Date Project Content Transcript Tapes
Oatis, Mark and Rose OH-03190 2017 June 10 Oatis, Mark and Rose Interviewed by Claytee White, Anna Frederick and Remy Chwae. Mark and Rose are artists and sign painters, an art that is taking on new life. This interview begins a project by Anna Frederick and Remy Chwae of interviewing sign painters across the country. Mark and Rose know everyone in the industry and talked about artists who brought various innovative techniques to the craft. They explore the significance of the Letterheads, sign design, knowledge sharing, evolving themes, mentoring young people in the field, and regional styles in various cities of the country. Subjects: Letterheads, sign style, knowledge-sharing, YESCO, Conclave, air brushing no 0
Oats, Jocelyn L. OH-02922 2016 April 29 Folklife Program of the Nevada Arts Council and the Oral History Research Center at UNLV Libraries no 0
Oats, Joycelyn OH-01404 11/30/2012 AfAm Collaborative F850 N4 O27 2012 Oats lived the life of the spiritual community and used it to tell the story of the Las Vegas black church life and its influence. yes 0
Ober, Scott OH-01405 11/11/2009 Public School Principalship Oral History Project Education, Principle, Scott Ober is a retired elementary school principal from Nevada. Ober graduated from the University of Arizona with a bachelor's in education, and then with a master's in education as well from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas in 1988. Ober's career has been spend in the Clark County School District, first as a elementary teacher, then an assistant principle and then in 1993 until 2008 Ober was a principal. yes 0
Ochoa, Arturo F. OH-02964 2006 October 21 Public School Principalship Oral History Project Experiences as public school principal in Southern Nevada. yes 0
Oddo, Paris OH-03208 2017 July 20 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project In 1984, Paris Otto moved to Las Vegas after high school in Michigan. This, her second attempt to live in the desert was a wonderful experience and she decided to stay. She joined the electrician's union and went through the 5-year apprenticeship program. Assignments during and after the apprenticeship include the Aladdin, Planet Hollywood, Mohave Electric, the Bellagio, and the Nevada Test Site where in 1991, she worked on wiring the Bristol Bomb for testing. After the test, Paris and fellow electricians detached the wiring from the framework without protective clothing. Today, she suffers from several illnesses and has been included in the government's program to repay some Test Site workers for various cancers. The payment has been meager. Oddo believes that storing nuclear waste at Yucca Mountain is not a good idea. no 0
Ohman, Frances OH-01410 12/12/2013 Boyer Early LV OHP Moved to Las Vegas in 2004 but visited often over the years. In 1968, she witnessed continued racism by hotel IF they could get away with it. Works as Research Technician and Circulation Department at Lied Library. Father was a POW in WWII - captured at the Battle of the Bulge. no 0
Ohrn, Elda OH-01411 02/25/1977 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history no 0
Olive, Witt C. OH-01412 04/13/1977 Local Oral History Project-Roske Elks Lodge Entertainment no 1
Olive, Witt C. OH-01412 04/13/1977 Ralph Roske Interviews Elks Lodge Entertainment. Interviewer: Gordon Brusso. no 1
Oliver, Emma OH-01414 3/19/1981 Nevada history, Las Vegas history no 0
Oliver, Robert OH-02477 1993-08-03 Friends of Red Rock Oral History Project yes 0
Olson, James OH-02983 2017 February 02 Building Las Vegas Oral History Project Discusses childhood in Las Vegas and North Las Vegas, schooling at St. Joseph and Bishop Gorman, and youth jobs delivering the Review-Journal newspaper and bagging groceries at Safeway. After graduating from UNLV, he obtained his JD at University of Arizona and clerked for Justice Al Gunderson at the Supreme Court of Nevada. In 1974 he joined the firm of Cromer, Barker, and Michaelson as a litigator. In this interview, he discusses his role as the firm's lead counsel representing the MGM Grand Hotel when pieces of siding fell off during construction, and from 1980-88 in the complex insurance litigation following the 1980 fire, and the Las Vegas Hilton in 1994, after its new, freestanding 362-foot-tall marquee built by John Renton Young Lighting & Sign Co. blew down. no 0
Oneil, Ryan Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Orduno, Mary OH-01415 03/17/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske- UNLV Clubs in Vegas no 1
Orlando, Jay April, 2009 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Cork Proctor no 1
Orlando, Tony 12/29/79 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 3
Orlando, Tony 05/14/1993 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1
Orlando, Tony 07/18/1987 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Orrock, Kevin OH-02516 12/4/2015 BELVOHP - Summerlin President of Summerlin. Born in Nevada. Good look at the Summerlin lifestyle, future plans of area, and how development works. no 0
Ortwein, Dennis OH-01416 05/06/2009 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project CT247 .O77 2007 Dennis Ortwein moved to Las Vegas in 1956. He was both an elementary school and a junior high teacher, but he spent most of his career as an elementary school principal. He also worked at a teacher's college in Nigeria, was a church choir director, and still is a singer. He also talks about school integration in Las Vegas and about above-ground nuclear testing at the Nevada Test Site Notes Includes an appendix with an email of his remembrances, a copy of a newspaper article about his retirement as a school principal, and a book he wrote about his life with the title Experiences outside of the box yes 0
Osmond, Donnie Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Osmonds Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Ostensen, Gary OH-01417 03/19/1981 Local Bellman Las Vegas history, Bellman no 1
Otis, Johnny 02/16/1974 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Otteson, Dean OH-01418 11/4/2008 Public School Principalship Oral History Project Dean Otteson retired in the 1980s as a middle school principal from Kenai, Alaska. Otteson earned a bachelors degree in education from the Western Washington State University in 1964, then in 1971 he earned a master's degree in curriculum and instruction - vocational education from the University of Washington. yes 0
Ousley, Kenneth OH-01419 October 2, 2009 Blue Diamond Oral History Project This is the history of Blue Diamond Village. Blue Diamond is located 26 miles southwest of Las Vegas. The village, originally known as Cottonwood Springs, changed its name when the Blue Diamond Company took ownership of the Gypsum mine and built corporate housing for the workers in the early '20s. Near the base of the Red Rock canyon, Blue Diamond Village was originally a stop on the Old Spanish Trail for traders from Santa Fe, N.M., to California between 1830 and 1848, according to the history committee's findings. road for the The Blue Diamond School opened in 1929. The company built bunk housing and homes for the workers that it started selling to the public in 1965. yes 2
Ousley, Laramond L. OH-01420 04/29/1986 Local Oral History Project-Roske- Electrical no 1
Overleese,Dorothea OH-01421 02/13/2005 Blue Diamond Oral History Project This is the history of Blue Diamond Village. Blue Diamond is located 26 miles southwest of Las Vegas. The village, originally known as Cottonwood Springs, changed its name when the Blue Diamond Company took ownership of the Gypsum mine and built corporate housing for the workers in the early '20s. Near the base of the Red Rock canyon, Blue Diamond Village was originally a stop on the Old Spanish Trail for traders from Santa Fe, N.M., to California between 1830 and 1848, according to the history committee's findings. road for the The Blue Diamond School opened in 1929. The company built bunk housing and homes for the workers that it started selling to the public in 1965. yes 1
Owens, Buck Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Packard, Burton OH-02380 2013 March 14 History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada Packard became a firefighter trainee in 1980 in Hawthorne, Nevada. He joined the Mineral County Fire Department in 1987 and left the department in 1993. no 0
Padgett, Marie OH-01422 04/30/1986 Local Oral History Project-Roske- Sunrise Hospital and Fur Salon no 1
Page, Arnold OH-02379 2012 December 21 History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada Page joined the volunteer fire department in Yerington, Nevada in 1965 and received advanced first aid training. no 0
Page, John OH-02130 4/16/2014 Ward 1 F849.L35 P33 2014 - 27-year teaching career at West Charleston school, community support of school, name of school changed to Wasden. Talks about rearing children in Las Vegas. John J. Page lived in the Ozark hill country of Oklahoma. He was drafted into the Air Force after two years of college and served as a tail gunner. After his discharge, he and his wife finished their college degrees and moved to Las Vegas in 1959. John taught at West Charleston Elementary School, which was later renamed Howard Wasden Elementary School, and at Helen Marie Smith Elementary School. They rented a small house on the corner of Bonanza Road and First Street, bought their first house one block north of Tom Williams Elementary School where his wife Reitha taught, and bought their current home in 1973 on El Cortez Avenue in the Westleigh tract. In retirement John likes to collect and restore clocks yes 0
Page, Patti Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Page, Patti 03/27/1988 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1
Page, Patty Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Page, Theresa OH-01423 03/11/1980 Local Oral History Project-Roske- Las Vegas history no 1
Paher, Stanley OH-01424 03/04/1979 Local Oral History Project-Roske Big hotels no 1
Pahor, Emil OH-01425 03/14/1979 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas Air Conditioning no 1
Paiz, Alice OH-01426 03/20/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Prohibition no 1
Palacios, Craig OH-02842 2016 September 27 Building Las Vegas Oral History Project Discusses childhood in Paradise Palms neighborhood of Las Vegas, where he lived near extended family. Talks about skateboarding to and around the Boulevard Mall and the record store across Maryland Parkway. Recounts career in construction before returning to school to earn his degree(s) in architecture at UNLV, work as an architect, forming Bunnyfish with classmate Tina Wichmann, and their work on the project to revitalize the Maryland Parkway corridor. no 0
Paluzzi, Robert OH-01427 09/05/2006 UNLV yes 2
Pappas, John OH-01428 10/04/1974 Local Oral History Project-Roske Life and work in Las Vegas. Interviewer: James Greene. no 1
Pappas, John OH-01429 03/03/1980 Ralph Roske Interviews Las Vegas history, Railroad, Gambling. Interviewer: Adrienne O'Neal. no 1
Parcell, Ned OH-01430 03/24/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history no 1
Parish, Mitchell 08/24/1987 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Park, Bill OH-02381 2013 March 23 History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada Park joined the Smith Valley Fire Department in 1966. Park became an EMT in 1972. no 0
Parker, Robert OH-01431 11/09/1986 Gay Archives-Dennis McBride yes 2
Parker, Steven Dr. OH-01432 12/19/2006 The UNLV @ Fifty Oral History Project LD3745.P37 2007 Dr. Steven Parker was hired to teach political science at UNLV in 1975. He became department chair in 1980 and is director of the University Forum Lecture Series yes 1

Page 50 of 73

|<<   Previous   46  47  48  49  50  51  52  53  54  Next   >>|