Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Oral History Interviews

Total records in this collection: 3519

Print version of all records

Page 5 of 71

|<<   Previous   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  Next   >>|
Narrator Collection # Date Project Content Transcript Tapes
Bellis, Bob OH-00109 06/19/2007 Voices of the historic John S. Park Neighborhood F849.L35 B375 2010 Bob Bellis was raised in Pahrump and moved to Las Vegas around 1984. A few yesrs later he moved to the John S. Park Neighborhood and has headed up the creation of the John S. Park Neighborhood Association starting in 2000 yes 0
Bellson, Lou 09/10/1999 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Bellver, C.G. (Catherine Gullo) OH-02666 1995 November 13 Las Vegas Women Oral History Project F849.L35 B3757 2006 Dr. Catherine Bellver is Distinguished Professor of Spanish at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Her work has appeared in many scholarly journals. She worked over fifteen years to create the Women's Studies Program at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Dr. Bellver also worked with a volunteer group to create and staff the first Women's Center on campus. yes 0
Belmont, Miriam OH-00184 03/08/1975 Local Las Vegas OHP - Roske Hoover Dam, Atomic Testing, church and religion, President Roosevelt, post WWII, Carole Lombard Plane Crash, Fremont Street, Stewart Ranch, Mormon Fort. yes 1
Beltram, Justin OH-02743 2016 July 07 Slot Manager Oral History Project Interviewed by David Schwartz. Mirage, Tresure Island, Bellagio, Marina Bay Sands, Las Vegas Sands Corporate no 0
Benedict, Blaine OH-02520 Nov. 12, 2015 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Blaine is a retired gaming executive for Binions and from a second career as associate director of Red Rock Canyon National Park. Talks about growing up in Las Vegas, son of Al Benedict (MGM executive) and being Jewish in Las Vegas. no 0
Benedict, Carmen P. OH-00185 4/20/2006 Principalship OHP - Carlton The work of a principal in CCSD yes 2
Bennett, Charles A. OH-00186 03/05/1979 Local Oral History Project-Roske Rail Roaders, Gaming clientele, Mr. Macafee, Magnesium Plant in Henderson, USAF Base, El Rancho and Tommy Hull, E.R. Griffith hotel anf Frontier Hotel, The 91 Club, Bugsy Siegel, The Flamingo, Prostitution, Las Vegas Crime and Police Department, Milton Perrel, Club Bingo, Joe Smoot, Walter Melrose, Tooter Sheer, Eddie Clipingers, Howard Hughes, Penn Central Group, Lombard Plane crash, Atomic testing. yes 1
Bennett, Dan OH-00110 10/03/1972 Local LV OHP - Roske Interview on Side "B" of tape with Mrs. Pat Bearce. SEE "Bearce, Pat"; rail road, west side / old town no 1
Bennett, Jean OH-00111 ML394 .B45 2008 no 0
Bennett, Marion OH-02433 2009 July 02 Documenting the African American Experience in Las Vegas CT247.B75 2009; Reverend Marion Bennett provides details of the NAACP's historic involvement in the integration of casinos and other businesses, schools, and housing. He was hired as pastor of Zion Methodist Church in 1960 and served in that capacity for 44 years. Through the years, Reverend Bennett served twice as president of the NAACP and worked with such notables as J. David Hoggard, Lubertha Johnson, and Woodrow Wilson. He recalls the Freedom Fund dinners, the integration of the work force in casinos, and the protests that were held in Las Vegas. Reverend Bennett was deeply involved in the commitment to integrate blacks into all areas of life in Las Vegas. He lists all those who worked so hard back in the sixties, like Jim Anderson, Charles Keller, Eleanor Walker and many others. He cites the process of integration, which included the Consent Decree against Las Vegas casinos, the Fair Housing Act passed when Paul Laxalt was governor, and creation of the Economic Opportunity Board. In his closing comments, Reverend Bennett thanks those who fought for freedom and civil rights before him, and admonishes future generations to stay vigilant. He believes in helping other generations as his generation was helped by the ones that came before. yes 0
Bennett, Marion Reverend OH-00128 01/12/2004 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project CT247 .B45 2007 Marion D. Bennett, Sr. came to Las Vegas in 1960 to be the pastor of the Zion United Methodist Church. He also served in the Nevada State Assembly and fought for civil rights and school desegregation yes 2
Bennett, Toney 05/26/1989 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Bennett, Tony Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 2
Bennett, Tony 01/03/1980 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Bennett, Tony 06/11/1992 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1
Benson, George 04/29/1994 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Mike Weatherford no 1
Benson, Ray 08/12/1992 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1
Bergin, Robert Francis OH-00189 03/05/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Desert Inn Casino History, "the Strip", MGM Grand, Wilbur Clark and Howard Hughes, women in gambling. yes 1
Bergman, Joel OH-02792 8/3/2016 Building Las Vegas Architect; founded Bergman Walls Assoc.; now retired; sons now run firm w/ Scott Walls; came to town with Martin Stern in 1968 to work on International Hotel Casino; also worked on MGM (now Bally's); Joel at center of litigation after the fire, played large part in changing building codes; worked for Steve Wynn on Mirage, Treasure Island; with BWA did Paris. Wrote book (2015) Whatever You Hear About Me Is True; donating copy to Special Collections.// no 0
Berkley, Shelley OH-00112 2006 I Remember When: Recollections from Jewish LV Leaders F850.J5.B47 2006 Berkley served as NV Assembly from 1982 - 84; Bd of Regents 1990 - 1998 and US Representative for NV 1st Congressional District 1999 - 2013. no 0
Berkley, Shelley OH-02275 Feb 12, 2015 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Former US Congressperson from NV talks about growing up Jewish in Las Vegas; involvement in youth programs and Temple Beth Sholom and more. yes 0
Berkovits, Myra OH-02152 August 21, 2014 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Oral history interview regarding Myra's background, ownership of Las Vegas Menu Service, work with Holocaust Resource Center as interviewer and education specialist. F850.J5.B473 2014 yes 1
Berle, Milton Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 2
Berle, Milton 12/29/1979 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Bernstein, Jay 04/04/1983 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Berry, Jack Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Berry, Lydia OH-00191 02/22/1979 Local Oral History Project-Roske U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of Labor, Nellis Air Force Base, Desert National Wildlife Range, Corn Creek Field, Atomic Testing, Growth and changes in Las Vegas, flooding. yes 2
Beville, John M. OH-00192 03/11/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Banks and Banking Industry, Boulder Canyon Project, growth of Las Vegas. Effects of Gambling and Gaming on the Banking industry. yes 1
Bhatnagar, Satish OH-02450 8/20/2015 BELVOPH 41 years at UNLV; migration from India, importance of Mathematics, Indian community in Las Vegas, The History of Math. no 0
Bianchi, Chris OH-02721 2015 April 14 Table Games Management Oral History Project Barbary Coast; South Point; pit boss at 25 after 3 years as dealer/floor; UNLV grad yes 0
Bigelow, Jane A. Lt. Col. OH-00193 11/05/1985 Local Oral History Project-Roske Historical perspectives in Nursing, Nellis Air Force Base, Personal history and biography. Bigelow folder contains personal biography. yes 1
Bihari, Joe 07/25/1973 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Bilbray, James H. OH-00194 09/06/2006 UNLV Oral History Project @ Fifty LD3745 .B54 2007 Jim Bilbray attended UNLV right after it was founded. He helped found the alumni association, was a member of the Board of Regents, and is a lawyer. Second interview with the John S. Park OHP - growing up in a middle class neighborhood - 1 CD Transcribed and bound and 3rd interview with Jeff Vann Ee for the environmental project - transcribed; not edited. yes 1
Bingham, Marsha Lamb OH-00195 03/02/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Nevada history, School in Alamo, Warm Springs, Nevada Legislature, Fremont, Gambling, UNLV, Las Vegas 1950 's and 1960's growth, The Beatles, Rock and Roll, President Kennedy visiting Las Vegas, Landmark Hotel, Howard Hughes, The Tropicana, The Hilton, Atomic Testing, Helldorado, McCarran Airport, Floyd Lamb. yes 1
Binion, Benny OH-00017 circa 1975-1977 Gaming and Gambling, The Westerner, El Dorado, The "Horseshoe", Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce, 1950 's, Boom Town, "The Strip", Downtown, "Livewire Fund", Tax Commission, The Flamingo, Convention Center. yes 1
Binion, Benny OH-00016 02/08/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Binion, Benny OH-02489 circa 1975-1977 Kaufman no 2
Binion, Jack OH-00190 10/17/2008 Gaming in Las Vegas and Atlantic City; Interviewer: David Schwartz yes 0
Bird, Kim and Martin, Pamela OH-02229 02/08/2013 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project Rancho High School Class of 1962 no 0
Bishop, Joey 06/02/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Bishop, Larry 02/14/1997 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1
Black, Clint 11/20/1993 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Mike Weatherford no 1
Black, Irene Sprague OH-00196 03/16/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Nevada history, Early Las Vegas Schools, Downtown, Red Light district (prostitution), Hover Dam, Old Fort and Mormon Church, Religion, Pony Express, Bunkerville, Mesquite, Native American Indian Reservation. yes 1
Black, Margaret J. OH-00113 04/16/1985 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview; Clark County School District 1965-1982, creation of Sunset High first night school, changes in students, education theories, introduction of the computer in educational setting, murder of fellow teacher Mr, Piggott in 1982 yes 0
Blackhurst, Jan Jones OH-02166 9/19/2014 BELVOHP Mayor of Las Vegas, tenure in gaming industry yes 0
Blaine, G.C. "Buck" OH-00198 02/11/1975, 03/10/1975 Social and economic growth of Southern Nevada, Hoover Dam, Boulder City, Lake Mead, Stewart Ranch, Mormon Fort, Religion, El Rancho, The Meadows, Floods and Epidemics in Southern Nevada, Organized Crime in Las Vegas, Law Enforcement, Mining in Henderson and Blue Diamond, Moapa Valley and Overton, Saint Thomas, Railroad, Gypsum Cave, Tule Springs, El Dorado Canyon, "the Strip", Henderson, Growth of Las Vegas during Dam Construction, Rodeos, Howard Cannon, Helldorado, Atomic Testing, Nells Air Force Base, Golden Nugget, Churches in Las Vegas. yes 2
Blair, Hobart D. OH-00200 1975/04/20 Growth of Boulder City from 1931 to 1975.Collector: Jay Brewer yes 1
Blair, Hobert D. OH-00199 1975/03/10 Early Las Vegas and Boulder City. Collector: Arnold Wilks yes 1
Blake, Donn I OH-00201 04/17/1980 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas and Nevada history, UNR (University of Nevada, Reno), Sandy Valley - Copper mining business, Dead Valley - Lead Mining, Virginia City documents from Comstock Loda 1860 's, historic preservation project for Nevada 1974, Diamond Jubilee project, Early Las Vegas Airports and Western - Air Express, 1931 start of gambling, 1946 tourism, 1905 Railroad , growth 1950 - 1960, Native American Indians of Southern Nevada and Cultural Center in Las Vegas. yes 1

Page 5 of 71

|<<   Previous   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  Next   >>|