Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Oral History Interviews

Total records in this collection: 3669

Print version of all records

Page 4 of 74

|<<   Previous   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  Next   >>|
Narrator Collection # Date Project Content Transcript Tapes
Barbutti, Pete 08/28/1992 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1
Barbutti, Pete 11/21/1990 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Barcus, Edith Giles OH-00162 03/17/1977 Local Oral History Project-Roske Mining, Goldfield History, fire of 1923, Miss Giles Lid Shop, Scotty's Castle, Gans-Nelson fight, water shortage, gold mines, mining for purple glass, Episcopal Church in Goldfield, religion. yes 0
Bardy, Mildred OH-00079 03/11/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Golden Nugget, Hacienda, Tropicana Hotels, Jerry's Nugget restaurant, Churches and religion, Mormon women, Fanny's clothing store, Mint Hotel, Bardy's Bar, fire at El Rancho, Flamingo Hotel, Judaism / Jewish history, Temple Beth Sholom, Totie Fields, Little Chapel of the West, New Frontier, Helldorado, clothing and fashion, Horse Club, Mesquite Club, Junior League, Boulder Dam (Hoover Dam), apartments in Henderson, Nevada Palace, Showboat, Sam's Town Hotels, Boulder Club and Silver Nugget, Florence Richards' Dress Shop. yes 1
Barker, Jacqueline, PhD OH-00099 2/14/2013 AfAm Importance of the church and education. Mother was first black graduate of UNR. Talks about the social and psychology impacts of black life in Las Vegas. yes 0
Barker, PhD, Jacqueline OH-00099 2/14/2013 AfAm Collaborative Education in Las Vegas; Barker's mother was the first black to attend UNR. Barker discusses the church and its influence, socialization process, Westside street scene. yes 0
Barler, Virgil OH-00080 11/19/2003 Blue Diamond OHP Worked in the shop at the mine, dozer, oiler. Talks about general store. yes 2
Barlow, Nathaniel OH-00100 5/14/2013 AfAm Collaborative Quitting school to migrate to LV in the 8th grade, gambling, working on the Strip, unusual look at military service, and regrets about investing in venture with initial Westside shopping center. yes 0
Barlow, Ricki OH-00101 4/10/2013 AfAm Collaborative City councilman for the Westside community - Ward 5. Grew up in LV, Ricki talks about working and playing as a child and teen. School and politics. Barlow shares vision for the Westside yes 0
Barneby, Ethlyn OH-00081 10/16/2002 BOYER EARLY LAS VEGAS OHP Boulder City in the 1940s. yes 1
Barnett, Barbara Ann OH-00082 03/08/1981 Local LV OHP - Roske Nursing, accounting, Mint Casino early 1960 's, Hacienda Hotel, Southern Nevada Memorial Hospital, Sunrise Hospital, changes and growth in Las Vegas, North Las Vegas Hospital, air-conditioning, Atomic testing, health and medical care changes, dust storms, "the Strip", fire at El Rancho Hotel, Downtown Las Vegas, Fremont Street, Casino employees, unwed mother experience. yes 1
Barnett, Jack OH-02292 2/12/1990 Received as part of the Young Electric Sign Company Records (MS-00403). no 1
Barnett, Mark 09/04/2002 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Cork Proctor no 1
Barney, L. (Lendon) Kay OH-00083 03/03/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Teaching in Bunkerville, Mesquite, and Las Vegas. Population growth, politics, property values. Growth of Mormon Church in Las Vegas, Mormonism in Nevada, religion. Photo at family reunion. yes 1
Barnum, Odean OH-00163 April 7, 2007 Blue Diamond Oral History Project This is the history of Blue Diamond Village. Blue Diamond is located 26 miles southwest of Las Vegas. The village, originally known as Cottonwood Springs, changed its name when the Blue Diamond Company took ownership of the Gypsum mine and built corporate housing for the workers in the early '20s. Near the base of the Red Rock canyon, Blue Diamond Village was originally a stop on the Old Spanish Trail for traders from Santa Fe, N.M., to California between 1830 and 1848, according to the history committee's findings. road for the The Blue Diamond School opened in 1929. The company built bunk housing and homes for the workers that it started selling to the public in 1965. yes 1
Barr, Larry & Juanita; Gibson, Steven OH-00164 03/27/1976 Local LV OHP - Roske Blacks in Las Vegas, work on the dam, living in tents, early entertainters, early development in Las Vegas. yes 1
Barret, Robert H. OH-00165 02/22/1975 Local LV OHP - Roske Prostitution, Education, Lombard's plane crash, Atomic Testing at Yucca Flats, water company. no 1
Barrett, Barbara OH-02495 1995 July 08 History of Nursing in Southern Nevada Oral History Project part of MS-00784 yes 0
Barrick, Marjorie OH-00166 03/13/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske UNLV, Las Vegas history, founding Child Haven, Owning Flamingo and the Fremont, "the hotel people." Also contains a written biography. Use agreement yes 1
Barry, Dave 04/01/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Bartender's Union Local 165 Roundtable Discussion OH-02165 9/28/2014 BELV-Cul Group of 5 bartenders talk about their craft in Las Vegas to include Union membership, first women in the trade, the family of bartenders, training, health benefits, and the future of the career. Panelists included Dale Pryor, Rosemary Christian-Keach, Virginia Velasquez, David Peinado, and Greg Venezia. no 0
Bartlett, David OH-02759 2013 August 23 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project CT247 .B37 2012 David Barlett's grandfather envisioned the park that is named for him, Lorenzi Park. David's family owned Bartlett Brothers Hardware, and an uncle owned Fremont Drug. His grandfather did stonework that is still standing such as the grotto at the St. Joan of Arc Catholic Church. David was born in Las Vegas in 1940 and his family moved to Reno in 1946. David came back to visit his grandparents in Las Vegas. He also lived in Hawaii, and he and his present wife moved back to Las Vegas in 1995. He worked in car and truck dealerships and now is active in several community organizations. yes 0
Bartlett, Selma OH-00068 9/18/2008 Boyer Early Las Vegas OHP Bartlett tells of the banking industry and talks of early Henderson. yes 0
Bartolo, Karen Sarret OH-00102 11/25/2013 Ward 1 Retired school teacher / CCSD yes 0
Baskow, Jacqueline OH-02874 2016 October 24 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Jaki arrived in Las Vegas in 1976 with $300 in her pocket a passion for entertainment and in her early 20s. She wanted to be an actress, but needing money she found it smart to and adapted quickly to movie productions, event planning and being an agent. One of first clients was set up by Frank Sinatra. She never looked back; she was creative and entrepreneurial. This interview also includes stories of antisemitism and pride of being Jewish. no 0
Bass, Ralph 05/30/1974 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Bass, Wilma & Burt OH-02273 2/9/2015 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Relocated from New York to Las Vegas in 1974 to join family in a check cashing business. Burt was also a professional photographer and Wilma worked in jewelry retail. Wilma helped scripted Temple Beth Sholom no 0
Bates, Arlene OH-00129 9/12/2008 Jay Sarno Project Gaming; Interviewer: David Schwartz yes 0
Baucum, Helen M. OH-00168 02/28/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Nevada history, Boulder City history, Las Vegas and Henderson history, casinos in Southern Nevada, Cat Houses and Prostitution, Atomic Testing, Carole Lombard's plane crash, law enforcement, railroad. yes 1
Bauer, Bill OH-02305 2013 January 21 History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada Bill Bauer worked as in EMS for the Nevada Highway Patrol and as an EMT in Stateline, Douglas County, and Austin, Nevada from 1968 to 1980. He left the NHP in 1980 to work as an EMS training coordinator in the northwest region until 1993. He continued to work in ambulances until 2010. no 0
Baumeister, Frank OH-02306 2013 History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada Baumeister joined the Humboldt Volunteer Ambulance Corps in 1966 and received EMT training in 1975. He served in the Ambulance Corps for sixteen years. no 0
Baumert, Charles A. "Chic" OH-00169 10/31/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske Hoover Dam work, Boulder City history, closing companies for operations at Hoover Dam. yes 1
Bavington, Kim OH-00103 7/15/2010 Voices of the Historic John S. Park Neighborhood F849.L35.B358 Kim Bavington moved to Las Vegas with her parents in 1964. She has been an aerobics teacher, an art teacher, and a graphic designer. She and her husband live in a Mid-Century Modern ranch house in the John S. Park Neighborhood yes 0
Bay, Richard M. "Monte" OH-02946 2016 November 14 Public School Principalship Oral History Project Experiences as public school principal in Southern Nevada. yes 0
Bayless, Kenny OH-02195 11/20/2014 AfAm - Student Project (Eric Billington) Teacher for 28 years in CCSD middle schools. Referee in the Boxing Hall of Fame. no 0
Beach, Paul A. OH-00170 02/17/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Las Vegas history, city housing, airport, transportation, tourist recreation, economy, Nellis AFB, "the Strip", Korean War, Atomic testing, education. yes 1
Beagle, Donald OH-00171 1976 Local LV OHP - Roske General Nevada History, Helldorado; Empty folder yes 1
Beals, Alversa OH-00172 10/23/2007 History of the 1970s - UNLV & UNR History of the Welfare Rights Movement - 1970's yes 2
Bearce, Pat OH-00173 09/29/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske Helldorado, Las Vegas history, Stock Car Races at Last Frontier - Index Card only (On same cassette as Dan Bennett) yes 1
Beatles Twist and Shout 10/21/1994 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1
Becker, Ernest A. IV; Becker, Kathleen OH-02981 2017 January 30 Building Las Vegas Oral History Project Both discuss their childhoods in Southern California, where Kathy's father was a landscape architect who among other projects designed the grounds of the El Rancho Hotel in Las Vegas. Ernie's father and grandfather were developers in Southern California; his father began buying land in Las Vegas as early as 1947 and building shopping centers in the early 1950s, often partnering with other home builders. Ernie IV and Kathy moved to Las Vegas in 1963, where they built their business. Ernie IV was president of Southern Nevada Home Builders Association (SNHBA) the same year his father was president of National Association of Home Builders (NAHB). no 0
Becker, Hal de OH-00373 06/23/2003 BOYER EARLY LAS VEGAS OHP yes 2
Becker, Patty OH-02082 4/15/2014 West Charleston - Ward 1 i979 - Deputy AG to the Nevada Gaming Control Board and Commission; Became Chief Deputy AG a few years later and argued the Tony Spilatro case. In 1985, she was appointed by Governor Richard Bryan as a member of the NV Gaming Control Board. yes 0
Beckmann, Robert OH-02441 8/20/2015 BELVOHP Session 1: Artist. Early life in Pennsylvania; painting project in a Chicago AfAm community; travel, influence, and work as a professor in Alabama in the late 1960s and how lowering the school's flag to half staff when MLK dies causes him his job. no 0
Bedrosian, Kenneth OH-00175 4/29/2004 Public School Principalship Oral History Project Education and work in CCSD yes 1
Beech, Emmell J., Dr. (E.J.) OH-01465 2006 November 27 Public School Principalship Oral History Project Interviewed by Salvatore J. Maranto. yes 0
Beeman, Dinny K. OH-00105 Unknown Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview; history of Las Vegas, St. James Catholic Church, Las Vegas High School, first school band yes 0
Behar, Maurice H. OH-02633 March 14, 2016 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project F850.J5 B44 2014 Resident of Las Vegas since 1990. Holocaust survivor story of being protected in France before immigrating at age of 9 to live with relatives in Bronx, New York. yes 0
Beilfuss, Philis OH-02307 2013 January 31 History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada After receiving nursing and paramedic training in Chicago in 1973, Beilfuss moved to Las Vegas, Nevada in 1985 practiced emergency room services as Sunrise Hospital. She taught at Clark County Community College until 1996. She also served with the North Las Vegas Fire Department and the Southern Nevada Health Board, which included formulating EMS responses in Clark County. no 0
Belfer, Hal OH-02581 11/11/1992 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1

Page 4 of 74

|<<   Previous   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  Next   >>|