Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Oral History Interviews

Total records in this collection: 3538

Print version of all records

Page 13 of 71

|<<   Previous   9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  Next   >>|
Narrator Collection # Date Project Content Transcript Tapes
Colton, George Gordon OH-00246 10/09/1973 *NO TAPE* TRANSCRIPT ONLY Searchlight Nevada, Original Gold Strike in Searchlight. Development of the Duplex Mine. History of Searchlight Nevada. yes 0
Colton, Gordon OH-00246 10/03/1973 *NO TAPE* TRANSCRIPT ONLY The history of Searchlight Nevada yes 0
Colton, Rodney A. OH-00249 October 1973 *NO TAPE* TRANSCRIPT ONLY General History of Southern Nevada and Las Vegas 1918 - 1973 yes 0
Community Conversations OH-02650 3/30/2016 AfAm Collab Panel composed of students and community narrators who discussed working with each other, the value of the interchange, the value of oral history, and they related stories of the experience. no 0
Conedy, Cliff OH-02729 2015 June 02 Table Games Management Oral History Project Circus Circus; Fremont; Little Caesars; Fremont; Mint; El Rancho; Imperial Palace; MGM Grand (new); Flamingo; Caesars Palace yes 0
Congregation Ner Tamid roundtable OH-02903 2016 September 21 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Rabbi Sanford Akselrad, Gerald Gordon, Bob Unger, David Wasserman, Renee Diamond and Gilbert Shaw discuss the founding of Congregation Ner Tamid in 1974. It became the first Reform synagogue in Las Vegas. The conversation includes discussion about the first meeting, the move into the current location, and the hiring of Rabbi Akselrad. no 0
Connell, Daniel OH-02085 11/18/2013 West Charleston - Ward 1 F849.L35 C664 2014 Westleigh neighbor of West Charleston. Built in 1952 as the only 2 bedroom home. Owned a restaurant, sold interest, then worked for Papa Gar. then worked 28 years for Metro. Treatment of casino cheats, the LV dress code, early casino owners, and the influence of Howard Hughes. yes 0
Conner, Gerald L. OH-00411 02/22/1977 Red Rock School/Nellis Air force Nevada growing from the 1950 's, Nellis Air Force, Lake Mead, changes in UNLV since the 1950 's, churches and religion in Nevada, social clubs in Nevada, problems in the school districts, progress of hotels and gambling in Nevada, Horse Racing in Las Vegas, El Rancho hotel fire, the first earth quake in Nevada, early Atomic testing and how it affected Las Vegas, active in politics and elections, the Rodeo in Nevada, changes in Nevada. no 1
Conover, Barbara OH-00412 11/28/2003/2006 Blue Diamond yes 4
Conover, Barbara OH-00413 November 28, 2003 Blue Diamond Oral History Project This is the history of Blue Diamond Village. Blue Diamond is located 26 miles southwest of Las Vegas. The village, originally known as Cottonwood Springs, changed its name when the Blue Diamond Company took ownership of the Gypsum mine and built corporate housing for the workers in the early '20s. Near the base of the Red Rock canyon, Blue Diamond Village was originally a stop on the Old Spanish Trail for traders from Santa Fe, N.M., to California between 1830 and 1848, according to the history committee's findings. road for the The Blue Diamond School opened in 1929. The company built bunk housing and homes for the workers that it started selling to the public in 1965. yes 4
Conover, Willis 08/06/1977 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 2
Constancio, Teresita OH-00262 9/4/2012 Boyer Early LV OPH - Library Tessie came to work in public services at UNLV Library as a young woman from the Phillipines and worked in the libraries for 25 years under a long list of library directors. yes 0
Constancio, Teresita OH-00262 7/4/2012 BELVOHP Early life in the Philippines, coming to Las Vegas, hiring process at UNLV Libraries, early members of library staff, and changes over time yes 0
Conti, Charlotte OH-00415 03/20/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas in 1955, Atomic Testing, Old Ranch (Stewart Ranch), Downtown and Showboat area, Lake Tahoe, Helldorado, Mormon Church and Las Vegas history - Mormons Religion. no 1
Contino, Dick 03/19/1993 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1
Contino, Dick 11/05/2002 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Cork Proctor no 1
Convey, Bert Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 2
Conway, Debbie OH-00263 03/13/13 AfAm Collaborative - LV Black Experience F850.N4 C65 2012 yes 0
Cook, Phillip L. OH-00418 03/03/1977 Family history, Las Vegas in the early 1940 's, hotels and gambling, the "Red Light Districts", prostitution, recreation in Las Vegas, television and radio in Las Vegas, early prices in Las Vegas, state and local politics, Ranch Life, the Old Ranch (Stewart Ranch), Education UNLV - Discrimination and culture, Convention Center and the Tourist Trade, energy crisis, local and state government and the Mafia, drugs and drinking in Las Vegas. no 1
Cooke, Augusta Jane Carter OH-00266 Unknown Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview yes 0
Cooke, Mary B. OH-00420 03/18/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Radar - Site job, Nellis Air Force Base, growth and development of Las Vegas, change in people of Las Vegas, family background, housing, hospitals and health centers. 1978 "current" issues: Equal Rights Amendment, Prostitution, Homosexually. Job market and welfare, prejudices, youth of Las Vegas. no 1
Coombs, Joel OH-00267 2/22/2014 AfAm Reared in Las Vegas with white father and black mother; schoolmates thought he had a maid. Riots at Valley High School, known as school where the rich kids attended; though affluent neighborhood, drugs damaged the neighborhood and were easily available at Valley HS and at Bishop Gorman. no 0
Cooper, Alice Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Cooper, Eldon G. OH-00422 03/03/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Las Vegas and Nevada history. no 1
Cooper, Pat 11/01/1991 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1
Cooper, Pat Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 4
Cooper, Pat 03/19/1981 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Cooper, Pat 07/02/1994 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1
Cooper, Pat` Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Cooper, Wilma (Pease) OH-00423 02/27/1977 Life in Boulder City and Henderson since 1936 to 1977 no 1
Cope, Cecil OH-00425 11/06/2003 BOYER EARLY LAS VEGAS OHP no 2
Cope, Cecil OH-00424 March 30, 2007 Dlue Diamond Oral History Project This is the history of Blue Diamond Village. Blue Diamond is located 26 miles southwest of Las Vegas. The village, originally known as Cottonwood Springs, changed its name when the Blue Diamond Company took ownership of the Gypsum mine and built corporate housing for the workers in the early '20s. Near the base of the Red Rock canyon, Blue Diamond Village was originally a stop on the Old Spanish Trail for traders from Santa Fe, N.M., to California between 1830 and 1848, according to the history committee's findings. road for the The Blue Diamond School opened in 1929. The company built bunk housing and homes for the workers that it started selling to the public in 1965. yes 2
Cope, Frank OH-00426 03/15/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Las Vegas history, Blue Diamond Water Company, Boulder Dam being built (Hoover Dam), the Meadows Water Hole, hunting, fishing, gold, motorcycle racing, Elks Lodge, Gypsum Mines, teaching classes for the water company, the Old Ranch (Stewart Ranch). no 1
Corash, Jan OH-02226 7/13/2007 Jay Sarno Project Gaming; Interviewer: David Schwartz yes 0
Corash, Larry OH-02227 7/12/2007 Jay Sarno Project Gaming; Interviewer: David Schwartz yes 0
Corbisiero, Judy OH-02543 2003-09-05, 2004-05-21, 2004-07-02, 2004-12-10 Las Vegas Gay Archives Oral History Project Interviewed by Dennis McBride no 7
Corderman, Margie Joanne OH-00427 03/11/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Living in Boulder City, changes and growth in Boulder City, social life - recreation, Frank Crowe Statue - Historical Museum, pollution - Henderson, heating and cooling systems, Elton Garrett, MX Missile, Sagebrush rebellion, women in untraditional roles, controlled growth ordinance. no 1
Corimby, Bertine & Corimbi, Vita OH-00270 4/22/2009 Boyer Las Vegas Oral History The era of live music on the Las Vegas Strip. yes 0
Cornell, Jack W. OH-00429 02/18/1979 Boulder City Historical happenings in Boulder City and Southern Nevada, structural change in schools, military, Depression, Civilian Conservation Corps, working in Tonopah, politics, Hoover Dam, gambling, recreation, Atomic Testing, changes. no 1
Cortney, Francis OH-00430 2/16/2001 The Public School Principalship CCSD Principalship yes 0
Cosby, Bill 11/01/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Cosby, Bill 01/06/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Cosgrove, Sondra OH-02261 2/11/2015 BELVOHP President of League of Women Voters, professor at CSN, former chair of Faculty Senate where she lobbied for college at State Legislature, LV Historic Preservation Commissioner, ACLU affiliation, many other community and state commitments. no 0
Cotton, D.D. OH-00278 03/21/1997 Women in Gaming & Entertainment F850.N4 C68 1998 Dancer who became one of the first two black cocktail waitresses at Caesars Palace in 1966 and later worked at The Tropicana as a floor manager in the pit. yes 3
Cougar, Douglas R. OH-00431 Local Oral History Project-Roske no 2
Coulston, Rick OH-02897 2016 November 10 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project Rick grew up in Las Vegas, playing in the desert, riding horses, and cruising Fremont Street. Changed his dreams of becoming a radiologist because parking cars as a valet at hotel casinos throughout the city was quite lucrative. Stories of the Culinary and Teamster unions, the MGM fire from a person who worked cleaning up the property afterwards, and the experience of working with women as they entered the valet industry. no 0
Countess, Jerome (Jerry) OH-02177 Oct. 28, 2014 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Came to Las Vegas in 1976 to take a job with what became the Jewish Federation. Started the local Jewish Reporter. yes 0
Counts, Betty OH-00432 10/29/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske Early days activities for children in Las Vegas, Atomic testing, politics, small stores and companies in Las Vegas. no 1
Cowan, Susie OH-00433 01/13/2006 Living to Dance-Tapping in Las Vegas CT247 .C68 2012 Tap Dancing no 2
Cox, Lew OH-00288 02/26/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview yes 0

Page 13 of 71

|<<   Previous   9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  Next   >>|