Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Oral History Interviews

Total records in this collection: 3517

Print version of all records

Page 12 of 71

|<<   Previous   8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  Next   >>|
Narrator Collection # Date Project Content Transcript Tapes
Clark, Phyllis Webb OH-00387 10/23/1972 and 04/07/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske Changes in Las Vegas. no 1
Clark, Roy 09/10/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Clark, Roy 01/13/1989 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Clark, Virginia OH-00197 06/20/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview yes 0
Clarke, Angela Dr. OH-00205 10/03/2008 Heart to Heart:: A History of Las Vegas Health Care Oral History Project R154.C344.A3 2009 Dr. Angela Clarke is a board-certified family practitioner who moved to Las Vegas in 1976; became head of the County Medical Association. yes 0
Clary, Ernest Henry OH-00390 02/10/1979 Local Oral History Project-Roske Atomic Testing, President Johnson and Carole Lombard crash, economics and environment of Las Vegas, History of Illnesses, Surveying acreage, minerals in Nevada, Jim Henry (prospector), Mark twain, Comstock Lode, Geothermal in Southern Nevada, Old Ranch (Stewart Ranch), Geological Tests, Henderson Housing, "Strip" Hotels. no 1
Clary, Pat and Diane OH-00207 5/20/2009 Boyer Early Las Vegas OHP Spoke of early city and state leaders and figures who owned early Strip hotel casinos. yes 0
Claxton, eunice OH-01119 6/4/2015 AfAm Lived in LV and Reno, attended Westside School, worked as shield in El Morocco, and memories of Jackson Street life. Donated small collection containing photographs; memorial programs containing some history of COGIC; and two bulletins of regional COGIC convocations, one at Nucleus Plaza; and the Gully Family History. no 0
Clayton, Clifford R. OH-02208 11/11/2014 AfAm Student Project (Mechia Sydnor) Arrived in LV at 20 years of age, stationed at Nellis AFB. Later worked for Sears, EG&G. no 0
Clegg, Bill OH-02320 2012 December 03 History of Emergency Medical Services in Nevada Clegg moved to Fernely, Nevada in 1971 and worked for the volunteer fire department. no 0
Cleman (Conner), Rosemary C. OH-00392 03/08/1981 Educator Teacher at Nellis, physical changes in Las Vegas, Blacks in Las Vegas, Employment of Blacks on "the Strip", Mormon influence, semi - Integration, entering the Coffee Bean business in Las Vegas, Parole counseling - contact with Judges - early days of the girls school in Caliente, teaching emotionally disturbed and handicapped children, work with the YMCA, Nevada as the Las Frontier, drug programs, Dr. Ravenholt influence, George Franklin 's help, Boulder Dam project (Hoover Dam), Boulder City resistance to growth, Elko, Mining industry, Tonopah - Mining - MX missile, Political Leaders (Grant Sawyer, Paul Laxalt, Mike O'Callaghan). no 1
Clement, Jonce T. OH-00209 03/07/1975 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview yes 0
Clemmens, Martin A. OH-00211 June 19 (Year - Unknown) Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview yes 0
Clinesmith, Kathie OH-00395 10/30/2010 Blue Diamond Oral History Project This is the history of Blue Diamond Village. Blue Diamond is located 26 miles southwest of Las Vegas. The village, originally known as Cottonwood Springs, changed its name when the Blue Diamond Company took ownership of the Gypsum mine and built corporate housing for the workers in the early '20s. Near the base of the Red Rock canyon, Blue Diamond Village was originally a stop on the Old Spanish Trail for traders from Santa Fe, N.M., to California between 1830 and 1848, according to the history committee's findings. road for the The Blue Diamond School opened in 1929. The company built bunk housing and homes for the workers that it started selling to the public in 1965. yes 1
Cloe, Don 12/05/2002 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Cork Proctor no 2
Clooney, Rosemary Arnold Shaw no 1
Close, Hilda OH-00215 11/26/1973 Local Oral History Project-Roske No Tape - Hand Written Interview yes 0
Cloud, Barbara OH-00397 05/30/2006 UNLV LD3745 .C46 2007 yes 2
Coates, Della OH-00398 03/18/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Public Services, Phone Company and its growth from 1952, Atomic testing, Nellis Air Force Base, Education, School System, people of Las Vegas, Military, difference in wages and wage changes. no 1
Cobeaga, Mitchell A. OH-00399 03/14/1976 Retirement in Nevada Early life in Nevada, development and growth of Nevada State Bank in Las Vegas, Nevada ranch life, schools in the 1920 's and 1930 's, University of Reno (UNR) in the 1930 's. no 1
Coblentz, Thelma OH-00400 02/17/1980 Early Las Vegas-Roske, Jewish, Indians, Basque, WWII Lovelock 1936, Lavant Lovelock, Ruth Ruddell, Alfalfa Crops, Basques for sheep herding, prostitute shakes owned by Ruth Ruddell, Medical Care to the Indians(Native Americans), Native American Indian childbirth, Sheriff Chapman, Dr. Ballinger (dentist), Mr. Gardner (Newspaper publisher), Jewish community and Nellis during WWII, Ladies Hebrew Society, El Cortez, CCC Organizations, Last Frontier, Twin Lakes Pool, Depression, John S. Park School, Training area for flyers during WWII, Basic Magnesium in Henderson, changes Downtown, Huntridge Home prices, Charleston home build by George Franklin 's father, Downtown Sears store, development of Maryland Parkway, Cloudbursts, Dust Storms, early entertainers on "the Strip", opening of the Flamingo Hotel, Elvis performance, Liberace 's first performance, early physicians, Doctor Woodbury, Frank Sinatra, Joey Bishop, El Rancho Hotel. no 1
Cochrell, Jinx OH-00401 03/20/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Old Cowboy statue, first hotel, Navy, Airplanes, Airport, Airlines, Reservationist, Howard Hughes, entertainment, Mt. Charleston, weather, Underworld Figure, Equipment at airport, Boulder Dam (Hoover Dam), Secretary at UNLV, ranches, Chuck wagon, Mob. yes 1
Coe, David Allan 09/23/1988 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Coffin, Bob (James Robert Coffin IV) OH-00220 01/29/2010 Voices of the historic John S. Park Neighborhood F849.L35 C66 2010 Bob Coffin arrived in Las Vegas in 1951. His family moved to the John S. Park Nieghborhood in 1960. He and his wife Mary Hausch, who also has been interviewd as part of this porject, bought the Gubler home in that neighborhood in 1987. He worked as a janitor at the Nevada Test Site as as a journalist for Las Vegas Review Journal. Bob was elected to the Nevada State Assembly in 1982 and to the State Senate in 1986. He has a special interst in neighborhood preservation yes 0
Cohen, Burton OH-02592 05/31/1995 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1
Cohen, Burton OH-00230 01/09/2009 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project CT247 .C63 2007 Burton Cohen served in management of some of Las Vegas's most famous casinos starting with his involvement in the transformation of the Frontier Hotel in the mid-1960s yes 0
Cohen, Burton OH-00221 2005 I Remember When: Recollections from LV Jewish Leaders F850.J5.C63 2005 Cohen served as a casino executive for several Strip locations; great knowledge of early casino operations and community involvement of those owners. no 0
Cohen, Burton OH-01438 1/26/2010 Jay Sarno Project Gaming; Interviewer: David Schwartz yes 0
Cohen, Gil OH-02148 8/5/2014 BELVOHP Grew up at LV Country Club. Worked at the Stardust learning the casino business after college at UNR. Currently at Monte Carlo. F850.J5.C666 2014 yes 0
Cohen, Malcolm (Rabbi) OH-02521 Dec. 15, 2015 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Malcolm Cohen moved to Las Vegas from London, England in 2009 to become the clergy for Temple Sinai. He talks about local Jewish community and the growth of Temple Sinai, which is a merger of sorts between two smaller congregations: Adat Ariel and Temple Beth Am. F850.J5.C635 2014 yes 0
Cohen, Myron OH-02591 11/25/1975 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Cohen, Oscar 05/21/1974 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Cole, Natalie 08/12/1983 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Cole, Tom OH-02251 1/22/2015 BELVOHP Moved to Las Vegas in 1955. Caretaker of Kiel Ranch for a year in the early 1960s. Limo driver, dealer, and family man who believes in close kinship ties. He tells a story that demonstrates the power of love. no 0
Cole, Woody 11/22/1975 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Coleman, Rachel OH-00234 07/24/1996 Women in Gaming and Entertainment CT247 .C636 2007 Worked in the back-of-the-house for various gaming venues, moved up the ranks of the Culinary Union Local 226; management position at Union Plaza as the head of housekeeping. yes 2
Coleman, Samuel & Sherrill OH-02590 2/16/2016 AfAm Samuel worked as a Pullman Porter. Born in Mississippi, migrated to Chicago, and became a man through the mentoring of other porters. Retired to Las Vegas where he and Sherrill live as active seniors in a complex in Summerlin. yes 0
Coleman, Willie Del OH-02255 11/25/2014 AfAm - Student Cook at the Landmark Hotel for 14 years; Culinary Union, became a drug lord and served 7 years in prison, returned to the community and educated his son sending him to UNR. no 0
Collins, Ed OH-00406 03/15/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske Personal background living in Las Vegas, how females came to be in Casinos, the first female jobs in Casinos, how the Culinary Union Came to help the workers in the Hotels, how showrooms became an important part in the casino business, helping Nick Kelly, dealer, gaming and gambling, hotel operations and incidents. no 1
Collins, Gene OH-00144 08/31/2000 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History Project CT247 .C64 2007 Gene Collins worked as an operator's engineer at the Nevada Test Site and later trained as an engineer. He worked with youth groups in Las Vegas, was a state assemblyman, and was instrumental in getting the Martin Luther King holiday bill passed. He was president of the Las Vegas chapter of the NAACP yes 3
Collins, Gene OH-02697 2009 July 16 Boyer Early Las Vegas Mr. Gene Collins came to Las Vegas to stay around 1966. He discusses the job market here and delineates his work experience and career as culinary employee, operation engineer, and finally as electrician at the Nevada Test Site. Gene first joined the NAACP at the age of 21 and credits his grandfather's example as motivation. Coaching Little League sports and interacting with those young people convinced him that he could make a difference by speaking up for them. He became a Nevada State Assemblyman to help bring diversification, jobs, and businesses to the black community. Mr. Collins was voted in as president of the NAACP in Las Vegas from 1998 to 2001. He details the accomplishments of the NAACP during those years and discusses the means by which they were met, including marches and protests. He mentions the Most Improved commendation from the national association, meeting with Winnie Mandela, and kudos from Terry Lenny for the NAACP's part in being able to introduce gaming into Macau. Mr. Collins' closing comments include thanks to past generations, his wish for future generations, and mention of Assembly Bill 99. He also refers to President Obama's address to the NAACP National Convention in 2009. yes 0
Collins, Will OH-00407 05/04/1998 Dennis McBride Oral Interview yes 8
Collins, Will OH-02542 2005 June 8 Las Vegas Gay Archives Oral History Project Interviewed by Dennis McBride no 1
Colton, Annie Victoria OH-00245 02/28/1973 *NO TAPE* TRANSCRIPT ONLY General Nevada History 1905 - 1973 yes 0
Colton, George Gordon OH-00246 10/09/1973 *NO TAPE* TRANSCRIPT ONLY Searchlight Nevada, Original Gold Strike in Searchlight. Development of the Duplex Mine. History of Searchlight Nevada. yes 0
Colton, Gordon OH-00246 10/03/1973 *NO TAPE* TRANSCRIPT ONLY The history of Searchlight Nevada yes 0
Colton, Rodney A. OH-00249 October 1973 *NO TAPE* TRANSCRIPT ONLY General History of Southern Nevada and Las Vegas 1918 - 1973 yes 0
Community Conversations OH-02650 3/30/2016 AfAm Collab Panel composed of students and community narrators who discussed working with each other, the value of the interchange, the value of oral history, and they related stories of the experience. no 0
Conedy, Cliff OH-02729 2015 June 02 Table Games Management Oral History Project Circus Circus; Fremont; Little Caesars; Fremont; Mint; El Rancho; Imperial Palace; MGM Grand (new); Flamingo; Caesars Palace yes 0
Connell, Daniel OH-02085 11/18/2013 West Charleston - Ward 1 F849.L35 C664 2014 Westleigh neighbor of West Charleston. Built in 1952 as the only 2 bedroom home. Owned a restaurant, sold interest, then worked for Papa Gar. then worked 28 years for Metro. Treatment of casino cheats, the LV dress code, early casino owners, and the influence of Howard Hughes. yes 0

Page 12 of 71

|<<   Previous   8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  Next   >>|