Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Oral History Interviews

Total records in this collection: 3538

Print version of all records

Page 1 of 71

1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  Next   >>|
Narrator Collection # Date Project Content Transcript Tapes
"Holiday in Japan" dancers joint interview OH-00954 2011 May 26 Interviewed by Claytee White. Participants are: Sachiko O. Thompson, Minoru Saito, Kazu Hamada, Kyoko Nakamura, Nobuko Suda, and Katsuko Tomoko Billman. no 0
AAlberts, Robert OH-00001 11/16/2006 The UNLV @ Fifty Oral History Project LD3745 .A82 2007 Robert Aalberts was first a corporatate lawyer for Gulf Oil, then he taught at Louisiana State University, and he came to UNLV to teach real estate law in 1991. He became editor-in-chief of the Real estate law journal in 1992. LD3745 .A82 2007 yes 1
Abbey, Joshua N. OH-02708 June 6, 2016 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Came to Las Vegas as a child in 1964; son of artist Rita Deanin Abbey. Founder of Jewish Film Festival (2000- ). Has worked for Jewish Federation, Jewish Family Services. A trained actor who studied with Less Strasberg; graduate of prestigious Producing Program at the American Film Institute. no 0
Abbey, Rita Deanin OH-02192 11/29/2014 Boyer Early Las Vegas Oral History World renowned artist - painter, sculptor, poet, stain glass, carving, art teacher, UNLV Emeritus Professor, art gallery owner, and designed metal works up to two tons. Created the stained glass windows at Temple Beth Sholom. Son, Aaron works in UNLV's Lied Library.CT247 .A23 2012 no 0
Abell, Jacqueline OH-00002 04/03/1976 Local Oral History Project - Roske Early life on ranch near Virginia City, Las Vegas 1946-1950, Ranch life at Cane Springs. yes 1
Adams, Berle 02/17/1974 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Adams, Beula Jane OH-00003 05/11/1977 Local Oral History Project - Roske Las Vegas 1960 - 1970, Nevada history, teaching and education in Las Vegas, prominant citizens in Las Vegas yes 1
Adams, Charles L. Dr. OH-00004 02/28/1979 and 02/28/1980 Atomic Testing, Las Vegas in the 1960 - 1970, UNLV Hotel school, prostitution, Education, UNLV English department through 1960 and 1970. Evolution of UNLV 1979 folder has no use agreement; 1980 contains use agreement. yes 2
Adams, Harold Rexford OH-00005 04/28/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Nevada history - Fire Department 1920 's and 1930 's no 1
Adams, Janet OH-00006 10/13/1972 Local Oral History - Roske United States Atomic Energy Commission, Nevada Test Site yes 1
Adams, Kaweeda G. OH-00007 Education - Carlton Principal in Clark County Sshool District (CCSD) Importance of education, today's moral code among students, value of self-respect, duties of a principal, what effective teaching means, role of a dean, and today's educational trends especially in Special Education. no 1
Adams, Lester OH-00008 03/15/1977 Local Oral History Project-Roske Atomic Bomb Tests, Gambling, Pioche and Nevada history, Bunkerville, Moapa Reservation, Moapa Nevada. yes 1
Adams, Robert W. OH-00009 03/11/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Nevada history. Moved to LV in 1954. Early housing, father worked at Last Frontier, swimming pool at Mormon Fort, married in 1964 - became Mormon. (Great potential, ends abruptly while narrator is still speaking.) - No folder no 1
Adams, Ruth & Sara May, 1974 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Adams, Stanley 09/22/1987 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Adams, Wesley T. OH-00010 03/01/1977 Early Las Vegas-Roske L.D.S. Church, religion, early Southern Nevada history, Celebrations in Caliente, Pioche and Panaca in the 1930's and 1940's, Atomic Tests, Cashman Field, Education in Southern Nevada yes 1
Addrisi Brothers Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Adler, Henry 04/30/1970 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Adotta, Kip Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Adras, Georgia OH-00011 03/02/1977 Local Oral History Project-Roske Eastern Orthodox Church, religion, Howard Hughes, Greek Orthodox Church, prostitutes "Block 16", Boulder Dam (Hoover Dam), Politics and Voting, Education, volunteer Fire Department, yes 1
Agonia, Barbara OH-02669 2007 September 17 Las Vegas Women Oral History Project F849.L35 A46 2008 Barbara Agonia was born in St. Louis, Missouri, in 1934. She graduated from Hanover College in southern Indiana in 1957 with a double major in English and speech/theater. Barbara taught English, speech, and theater in Illinois. In 1969, Barbara moved to Las Vegas where her sister lived and enrolled in a master's degree program in English at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. As she was completing her degree in 1971, she was hired by the Clark County Community College, which is now the College of Southern Nevada. Barbara did public speaking on behalf of the college, taught composition and literature, and eventually became chair of the English department. She became actively involved in rape crisis education and helped establish a Women's Center on the community college campus in 1980. Barbara also became involved in the Soroptimist International organization for business and professional women. She also became involved in the Friends of the Nevada Wilderness. As a representative for Soroptimist International, she traveled to Washington, DC, to lobby and testify in front of the Senate for the establishment of Great Basin National Park. yes 0
Aiken, Thelma C. OH-00013 04/05/1976 Local Oral History Project-Roske Ground Atomic Testing, helped in making the Atomic bomb, gambling, life in Henderson from 1942 - 1944, schools, BMI plant closing, opening of Nellis Air Force Base. yes 1
Aikin, Don OH-00012 April 9, 2007 Rotary Project - Pat Carlton CD - Among first staff of Gaming Control Board- July 1, 1955, auditor. Audited all casinos, GM of Circus Circus ans Aladdin. yes 1
Air Supply 08/18./1987 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Aizley, Paul & Sari OH-02519 Nov. 13, 2015 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Paul and Sari have a long history of civic contributions to Las Vegas and being active in the Jewish community. Sari held various marketing positions in print journalism; started Class! newspaper which ran for 16 years. Paul is a retired UNLV math professor, director of Summer Ed from 1974-2008 and founder of Lifelong Learning (OLLIE)at UNLV. F850.J5 A35 2014 yes 0
Aizley, Paul and Aizley, Sari OH-02891 2016 November 04 Building Las Vegas Oral History Project Both narrators talk about their early lives and recall how they came to Las Vegas in 1967/1968. They discuss the formation and growth of the ACLU in Southern Nevada. Sari talks about working for the Review-Journal as promotions editor and editing CLASS! magazine for Clark County School students. Paul discusses teaching in the math department at UNLV and serving as Dean for extended education. no 0
Akselrad, Rabbi Sanford OH-02174 Oct. 29 2014 Southern Nevada Jewish Heritage Project Rabbi of one of the oldest synagogues in Las Vegas, Temple Ner Tamid. Became spiritual leader of congregation in 1988. Talks about milestones. F850.J5.A37 2014 yes 0
Aladdin Press Conference 08/17/1976 Arnold Shaw Entertainment:Smothers Brothers no 1
Albertson, Tim OH-00085 06/20/2007 Voices of the historic John S. Park Neighborhood F849.L35 A47 2010 Tim Albertson moved into the John S. Park Neighborhood in 2005,his mother located her CPA business in the John S. Park area, they shopped and went to doctor appointments there, and he painted houses in that neighborhood when he was in middle school. F849.L35 A47 2010 yes 0
Albright, George OH-00014 February 16, 1980 Local Las Vegas Oral History - Roske Need for convention center, how financed, position os executive director, effect on eceonomy. yes 1
Albright, George "Bud" OH-00015 1975 Perry Kaufman Las Vegas Convention Center, Clark County Recreation Board, Executive Director for Convention Center. No paperwork no 2
Alden, Howard 02/16/1991 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1
Alexander, Priscilla (Pris) OH-00018 1974 Local Oral History Project-Roske Gambling California and Nevada, gambling ship S.S. Caliente yes 1
Alexander, Van 05/22/1988 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Arnold Shaw no 1
Alfaro, Robert OH-00019 04/21/2006 Principalship OHP Educator, UNLV Educational Leadeership Oral History Project yes 2
Alger, Earl and Gloria OH-00086 10/29/2009 Boyer Early Las Vegas OHP CT247.A44 2007 - Earl and Gloria Alger were born in LV in the early 1930s, met at the Mormon Chruch, and lived in LV their entire lives. Gloria's grandmother was one of the original pioneers from Salt Lake City. This interview covered the pioneer days, and history of the LV ranch. Pictures. Gloria's great-grandfather Torrel Lewis was one of the original pioneers from Salt Lake City, so they talk of pioneer days in Las Vegas as well as the history of Las Vegas they have known Notes Includes index and appendix of copies of historic photos with captions and an article with a map about the Las Vegas Ranch yes 0
Alires, Lucy OH-00020 03/06/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske Discrimination in Las Vegas, Business in Las Vegas, life in Henderson, Spanish Organizations in Las vegas, Hoover Dam, downtown LV, Railroad, "the strip" yes 1
Allaire, Judith Ann OH-00022 03/10/1980 Local Las Vegas History - Roske Education, Politics in Nevada, Dissatisfaction with public schools in the 1950 's and 1980 's. yes 1
Allan, Edith OH-00023 02/26/1977 Nevada History Moapa, St. Thomas, Bunkerville, Railroad, Agriculture, dairy farming, first Helldorado, and personal history from 1919 - 1934. yes 1
Allen & Rossi 01/29/1993 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1
Allen, Bernie 08/12/1994 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard no 1
Allen, George Mr. & Mrs. OH-00024 09/27/1972 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Nevada and Las Vegas History - Chief of Police, atomic testing damage yes 1
Allen, Janice OH-00087 April 8, 2009 Boyer Early Las Vegas OHP - Junior League Work of the Las Vegas Junior League, her presidency. Junior League has folder. yes 0
Allen, Marion OH-00026 04/14/1986 Boulder Dam Oral History Project - Dennis McBride Detailed account of dam construction with many names and 1935 strike. No folder no 1
Allen, Peter 10/22/1983 Arnold Shaw Entertainment no 1
Allen, Rex, Jr 03/27/1997 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Bill Willard/Loreta Kay no 1
Allen, Robert III OH-00029 03/20/1978 Local Las Vegas History - Roske "The Strip", Lake Mead & Dam, Mountain, Red Rock Canyon, changes in The Stardust and other casinos/hotels, General Las Vegas and Nevada history, clothing history. yes 1
Allen, Robert Jr. "Sarge" OH-00021 03/20/1978 Local Oral History Project-Roske General Las Vegas culture, Ghost Towns and Silver Mining, progress of Governer Mike O'Callahan, Occupational history in Las Vegas. yes 2
Allen, Russell H. OH-00027 03/10/1981 Local Oral History Project-Roske College Education, School Principal in Alamo, Nevada. Atomic Testing. Roy Martin School, racial statistics, modern mathmatics, special education, Clark County Classroom Teacher's Assn., life in Las Vegas. yes 1
Allen, Steve 11/04/1994 Arnold Shaw Entertainment. Interviewer: Joe Delaney no 1

Page 1 of 71

1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  Next   >>|