Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Transportation

Total manuscripts: 13

Clark, J. Ross
Coll #: Roller Shelf
Date: 1900 - 1963
Extent: 1.34 linear feet (1 oversize box)
Location: Roller Shelf 1:5:5
Related Materials: 0144
The J. Ross Clark Collection consists of one large scrapbook filled with newsclippings pertaining mainly to J. Ross Clark (brother of railroad magnate and Montana Senator William A. Clark) and the San Pedro, Los Angeles, Salt Lake City Railroad Company. There are also some biographical sketches written by family members.

Ives, Joseph C.
Coll #: MS-00079
Date: 1857-1858
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of 17 letters (photocopies) between Lt. Joseph C. Ives (United States Army Corps of Topographic Engineers) and his wife, Cora Semmes Ives, between Sept. 1857 and June 1858. Ives was in command of a U.S. Army expedition whose mission was to explore the region of the Colorado River and the Grand Canyon, and to establish the limit of navigation of the Colorado River. The correspondence is largely personal in nature, but is a useful supplement to the official report documenting the voyage, "Report Upon the Colorado River of the West -- Explored in 1957-58.

Las Vegas Airfield (Robert B. Griffith)
Coll #: Mss3
Date: 1941
Extent: 1 folder (containing 15 items )
Location: 1:1:1
Collection includes the U.S. War Department's option for purchase of land for "Project: Las Vegas Airfield, Nevada"; notice of acceptance of option, and First National Bank's escrow instruction to Robert B. Griffith. Land was purchased from Robert B. Griffith & Mrs. Rose (Ruth) Griffith; A. Corradetti & Mary E. Corradetti. This was the future Nellis Air Force Base.

Las Vegas City, Engineering and Planning Department
Coll #: 86-69
Date: 1949 - 1975
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage boxes)
Location: 3:3:5
Collection contains various published studies and reports dealing with transportation in the Las Vegas Valley. Documents include environmental action plans, reports, evaluations of parking, highway projects and budgets for projects; includes some publications of codes and standards. Also contains a significant amount of information on Interstate 15. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Leland, Elma
Coll #: MS-00070
Date: 1948 - 1978
Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet (5 Folders (shared box))
Location: 1:1:1
The Elma G. Leland Papers contain items related to the aviation industry in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1948 to 1978. The papers include several aviation publications, articles about Fred W. Kelly, Western Airlines International's first pilot, and newspaper clippings about aviation in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Neonis, Delores
Coll #: T102
Date: 197(?)
Extent: 7 record storage boxes
Location: 2:10:5 - 2:9:2
Collection contains the personal and professional records of Delores Neonis, secretary for the Committee for Effective Mass Transportation. Included in these records are correspondence and reports from the Board of County Commissioners and the District Attorney’s Office regarding the feasibility of mass transportation, specifically the monorail, and possible location sites. Ms. Neonis’ personal records contain copies of plays, miscellaneous photos of people, daytimers, receipt books and personal “chit-chat” correspondence.

Roth, George Knox
Coll #: MS-00238
Date: 1966 - 1970
Extent: 4 record storage boxes (4 linear feet)
Location: MS 2:2:6 - 2:1:1
The collection of George Knox Roth, a research assistant to John Meier, a special assistant to Howard Hughes in Nevada. Collection contains clippings, technical reports and publications, and correspondence relating to: the Atomic Energy Commission, the environmental impact of nuclear testing in Nevada, AirWest and Hughes Airport and other aspects of Howard Hughes' operations in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Ryan, George Kelly
Coll #: 1031-5
Date: 1929 and 1971
Extent: 2 folders
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of the research notes on San Pedro, Los Angeles, and Salt Lake Railroad including a chart and written report on the Salt Lake Railroad recording all name changes, acquisitions, consolidations, splits…etc. with notes on construction. There are also requests submitted to Union Pacific Railroad for historical info (track info, stops, depots…etc., and correspondence from the Arizona Pioneer’s Historical Society re: O.V. Gass – member of AZ Territorial Legislature. Included in this collection is also the biographical information Ryan collected on the Royce Family (early Nevada pioneers), newspaper clippings about Nevada’s fight to control the Colorado River and the Green River – 1929.

Smith, Willis B.
Coll #: MS-00123
Date: 1958
Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet (2 folders), (shared box)
Location: 1:1:2
The Willis B. Smith Collection (1958) on Western Airlines consists of two news releases from Western Airlines about the company's history and two letters to Willis B. Smith. The collection describes the founding of Western Airlines and its early flights from Salt Lake City, Utah to Los Angeles, California.
Link to Collection Guide

Steamboats on the Colorado River
Coll #: MS-00201
Date: 1852-1976, bulk 1974-1976
Extent: 1.17 linear feet (2 boxes)
Location: 2:6:6 - 2:5:1
The KLVX Steamboats on the Colorado Records consist of documents related to the production of Las Vegas' Channel 10's KLVX) Steamboats on the Colorado documentary between 1974 and 1976. The collection is comprised of correspondence, promotional materials, scripts, a treatment, a grant application, maps of the Colorado River from 1852 and other materials used as research for the documentary.
Link to Collection Guide

Taylor, Erle A. Collection on Aviation
Coll #: MS-00186
Date: 1955-1976
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 2:8:4
The Erle A. Taylor Collection on Aviation (1955-1976) is comprised of materials collected by Erle A. Taylor, former director of aviation for Clark County, Nevada, relating to airports and aviation in the 1960s and 1970s. It includes many slides of McCarran Airport and airshows held at Nellis Air Force Base in Las Vegas, Nevada. Other materials include publications on airports and aircraft, information on the dedication of the Riverside, California airport, and promotional materials for the United States Air Force Thunderbirds.
Link to Collection Guide

Turner, Bruce Collection on Transportation and Water in Southern Nevada
Coll #: MS-00648
Date: 1986-2013
Extent: 17.3 Linear Feet (17 boxes and 1 flat file)
Location: B 1:9:1 - B 1:9:7, SC Main Stacks Map Case 11:C
The Bruce Turner Collection on Transportation and Water in Southern Nevada contains reports, publications, legal files, project proposals, journal articles, financial reports, photographs, and maps concerning transportation policy and water usage in Southern Nevada from 1986 to 2013. The collection contains documents from organizations such as the Regional Transportation Commissions of Clark County and Southern Nevada, the Clark County Department of Air Quality and Environmental Management, Clark County Comprehensive Planning, the Urban Land Institute, the City of Las Vegas Neighborhood Services Department, the Southern Nevada Water Authority, and the Las Vegas Valley Water District.
Link to Collection Guide

Union Pacific Railroad
Coll #: 97-19
Date: 1902-1969
Extent: 173.5 linear feet (149 boxes, 38 oversize folders, 61 bound volumes)
Location: MS 6:5:1 - 7:5:5 Roller Shelf 2.2.2 and 2.2.3
The Union Pacific Collection comprises the original corporate records of the Union Pacific Railroad's operations in Las Vegas but also including southern Nevada, Utah, southern California and Los Angeles. The collection dates from 1902 when Montana Senator William Clark began construction of his San Pedro, Los Angeles, & Salt Lake railroad linking the Union Pacific's mainline in Utah with Los Angeles and southern California to approx. 1967. The collection documents the purchase of the land (the original Stewart ranch) and the construction of the original depot and town which became modern Las Vegas. The collection also contains the records of the Las Vegas Land & Water Company, a subsidiary of the railroad, formed in 1905, to handle all the railroad's land transactions. Besides office files, containing correspondence, reports, leases, various legal, governmental and financial documents, etc., the collection contains large and small format maps, architectural and engineering drawings; published technical reports; railroad operational manuals; bound legal briefs; ledgers; payroll and receipt books. The collection document's the railroads and includes the records of the Land and Tax, Law, Engineering & Industrial Development departments, as well as the personal files of Walter Bracken, the Union Pacific's special representative in Nevada and vice president of the Las Vegas Land and Water Company. The collection contains more than 300,000 pages of correspondence, documents, maps and blue prints organized into more than 4100 files spanning approx.175 linear feet. There are in addition over 5200 maps, blue prints, drawings and tracings. The Union Pacific Collection is the largest and most comprehensive historical collection documenting the early history of Las Vegas, and one of the most significant collections relating to the Union Pacific, and railroads in general, in the United States.
Link to Collection Guide