Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Real Estate/Land Development


Total manuscripts: 22

Buck, Gilbert
Coll #: MS-00281
Date: 1930-1986
Extent: 14 linear feet (14 record storage boxes)
Location: MS 03.05.3 - 03.06.1, MS MC 11:E
The Gilbert Buck Papers (1930-1986) primarily focus on Buck's work as a surveyor and real estate broker in southern and central Nevada. Included are master reports, designs, standards, flood and drainage reports, and land specifications on water, sewer, and public lands. Papers regarding real estate include reports, housing and mobile home development plans, newsletters, surveys, and Buck Realty negotiations. There are books and information on seminars Gilbert Buck hosted in Las Vegas, Nevada on investing in raw land. Also included are awards, correspondence, newsletters, a scrapbook of Buck's early life, and information on his campaign for governor of the state of Nevada in 1974. Materials also include some documentation of Buck's real estate and mining interests in South America.
Link to Collection Guide

Cohn, Louis
Coll #: Mss1
Date: 1907-1908
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of a single document -- an application for patent of the town site of South Goldfield, Nevada by Frank P. Langan. Advises proof required before County Clerk of Esmeralda County on January 7, 1908. Document signed by Earl W. Tremont (Receiver) and Louis J. Cohn (Register).

Howard Hughes Public Relations Records
Coll #: MS-00380
Date: 1930-1990
Extent: 109.4 Linear Feet (109 boxes)
Location: MS 5:9:3 - 6:7:3
The Howard Hughes Public Relations records contain the reference files, from 1930 to 1990, of Howard Hughes' public relations director Dick Hannah. The records include news releases and press kits written by Hannah as well as photographs that were approved by Hughes. The records contain correspondence pertaining to Hughes' various businesses, personal matters, and legal disputes. The majority of the records comprise print material related to Hughes, mainly newspaper clippings and magazines, but also novels, screenplays, and essays.
Link to Collection Guide

Irwin and Susan Molasky Papers
Coll #: MS-00661
Date: early 1900s - 2012
Extent: 1.9 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 1.3.1, B IS 1.5.5
The Irwin and Susan Molasky Papers (early 1900s-2012, bulk 1970-2012) primarily contain materials related to real estate development work by Irwin Molasky with his company, the Molasky Group of Companies, in Las Vegas, Nevada. In addition, the collection includes personal photographs (early 1900s-2011, bulk 1970-2011) of family members, friends, and events, as well as a Proclamation from Clark County, Nevada to establish the Molasky Family Park.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Kearns, Ardis
Coll #: 95-012
Date: 1960s-1970s
Extent: 5 linear feet (12 boxes)
Location: MS 4:3:5 - 4:3:6
Collection consists of the papers of Ardis Kearns, Las Vegas resident and longtime member of the Nevada branch of the League of Women Voters. Subjects include juvenile delinquency, criminal justice, Clark County land use, energy and the League of Women Voters. The collection is comprised of notes, publications, reports, and correspondence on women's organizations, and various social and political issues.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Airfield (Robert B. Griffith)
Coll #: Mss3
Date: 1941
Extent: 1 folder (containing 15 items )
Location: 1:1:1
Collection includes the U.S. War Department's option for purchase of land for "Project: Las Vegas Airfield, Nevada"; notice of acceptance of option, and First National Bank's escrow instruction to Robert B. Griffith. Land was purchased from Robert B. Griffith & Mrs. Rose (Ruth) Griffith; A. Corradetti & Mary E. Corradetti. This was the future Nellis Air Force Base.

Las Vegas Housing Developments and Apartment Complex Brochures
Coll #: 93-36
Date: ca. 1980s-1990s
Extent: 2.75 linear feet (2 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
Location: MS 4:6:3; MS Map Case 11:H
Collection contains brochures and prospectuses on Las Vegas housing developments and apartment complexes from the 1980s and 1990s.There is both an alphabetical and geographical index.

Las Vegas Real Estate Brochures
Coll #: 2011-03
Date: 1990-2010
Extent: 9 boxes (9.75 Linear Feet, 11.55 Cubic Feet)
Location: MS 11.7.3 - 11.7.6
The Las Vegas Real Estate Brochures (1990-2010) contain single family housing and condominium brochures, some with price annotations, collected and donated by a local real estate agent.
Link to Collection Guide

Leavitt Collection
Coll #: 95-35
Date: 1968 - 1981
Extent: 35.2 linear feet (1 box and 35 unboxed volumes)
Location: MS 5.1.1, MS IS 1.5.5, MS IS 1.5.6, MS IS 1.6.6
Collection contains the Real Estate Property Index to Clark County and aerial photographs of neighborhoods, undeveloped land, outlying areas and maps of Las Vegas.

Lois Sagel Papers on Nevada Wilderness Preservation
Coll #: MS-00571
Date: 1989-1995
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: MS 13.7.4
The Lois Sagel Papers on Nevada Wilderness Preservation (1989-1995) consist of the papers of Lois Sagel, an environmentalist and advocate for the preservation of Nevada's wilderness. The collection primarily documents the campaigns surrounding the efforts to expand Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area (1994) as well as to designate the Spring Mountains National Recreation Area (1993). Additionally, it contains information on minor land exchanges and the Question 5/S.B. 189 bond issue to fund state parks (considered in 1989 and 1990). Most of the collection is comprised of newspaper clippings, correspondence, memoranda, photographs, and photo slides.
Link to Collection Guide

Mark L. Fine Papers
Coll #: MS-00696
Date: 1920-2014
Extent: 7.5 linear feet (7 boxes) ; 813 digital files
Location: B 1.5.2 - 1.5.3, B IS 1.5.4
The collection dates from 1920 to 2014 and is primarily comprised of business and organizational records, press, photographs, scrapbooks, audiovisual materials, awards, and ephemera documenting Mark L. Fine’s career as a real estate developer in Southern Nevada and his work with various government and community organizations. The bulk of the material dates from 1980 to 2005.
Link to Collection Guide

McLaughlin, Thomas Papers
Coll #: MS-00247
Date: 1937-1985
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 2:1:2
The Thomas McLaughlin Papers (1937-1985) are comprised of newspaper clippings and other papers about real estate, the Clark County Democratic Party, and local fraternal organizations, especially the Knights of Columbus and the Friendly Sons of Saint Patrick in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials also include some clippings on McLaughlin's appointment as trustee of the Las Vegas Park Racetrack in 1955.
Link to Collection Guide

McWilliams, Iona (Mrs. J. T.)
Coll #: T62
Date: 1936 - 1960
Extent: 3 boxes; 15 linear inches
Location: 1:11:6
Related Materials: 025
Collection is comprised of the papers of Las Vegas pioneers J.T. McWilliams and wife Iona McWilliams. J.T. McWilliams, a surveyor and civil engineer, founded the original Las Vegas townsite ("McWilliams Town") and owned a large portion of Lee Canyon, much of which he donated to become a public park. Collection is comprised of McWilliams financial ledgers from 1905 listing property sales by block and lot in the original Las Vegas townsite, expenses and a copy of the deed to his Goodsprings property. Other items include receipts, correspondence photographs, maps (including those of the original Las Vegas townsite), ads for McWilliams maps, and surveying manuals.

Moser, John R. Real Estate Appraisal Records
Coll #: MS-00803
Date: 1957-1972
Extent: 1 box (1.0 linear feet)
Location: 01:10:3
Collection contains nineteen real estate appraisal reports created by John R. Moser from Las Vegas and rural Southern Nevada (Lincoln and Nye counties) from approximately 1962 to 1972. The reports contain information on the market values for the properties and contextual information explaining the appraisals. This collection also contains photographic negatives depicting properties, and slides of desert flora and landscapes around Nevada and Idaho such as Groom Mountain Range, White Bird Canyon, Salmon River Valley, Clover Valley, and Ruby Mountains.
Link to Collection Guide

Pichot, Mary Kozlowski
Coll #: MS-00375
Date: 1969-1991
Extent: 1.3 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
Location: MS 5:7:3
The Mary Kozlowski Pichot Papers document the environmental activism of Mary Kozlowski Pichot from 1969 to 1991. The collection focuses on the environmental groups and planning committees that Pichot belonged to, including Aquavision, the Citizens' Advisory Committee, and Las Vegas 2000 and Beyond. The materials address water conservation plans, pollution alleviation efforts, and strategies to clean the Las Vegas Wash and Las Vegas Bay in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

San Pedro, Los Angeles and Salt Lake City Railroad
Coll #: MS-00007
Date: 1905 - 1923
Extent: 21.5 Linear Feet (43 boxes)
Location: 1:2:1 - 1:3:1, Roller Shelf 1:6:8 & 1:7:1
Collection is comprised of the records of the San Pedro, Los Angeles & Salt Lake Railroad whose construction led to the founding of the city of Las Vegas. The papers cover a wide range of the company's operations. There is correspondence relating to lots in the Las Vegas town site, numerous accounting reports, freight lists, invoices and other administrative materials from 1905-1923. There are also records of Arden Station (located 10 miles south of the Las Vegas Station) and miscellaneous materials relating to the Union Pacific Railroad.
Link to Collection Guide

Taylor Construction Company Collection
Coll #: MS-00664
Date: 1954-1973
Location: B 2:2:2
Related Materials: The Stuart Mason Photographs PH-00370 document Taylor Construction projects. View this related collection here: http://d.library.unlv.edu/cdm/search/searchterm/Stuart%20Mason%20Collection/mode/exact
The Taylor Construction Company Collection (1954-1973) consists primarily of publicly distributed information and provides a glimpse of some of the hotels, housing, public buildings, and remodeling projects handled by the company. It contains two booklets on the construction projects of the company from 1954 to 1972. It also includes Las Vegas International Hotel's projected revenues from 1969 to 1973, a newspaper article on Taylor Construction Company projects in Florida, and an invitation to the groundbreaking ceremony for the MGM Grand Hotel. The company was owned and operated successively by Morry Mason, his son Stuart Mason, and Stuart's sons Jim and Bill Mason.
Link to Collection Guide

Taylor, Richard B.
Coll #: MS-00341
Date: 1920-1995
Extent: 6.1 Linear Feet (10 boxes)
Location: MS 3:2:3- 3:2:5; RS 2.6.7
The Richard Taylor Papers document Richard Taylor's career and interests as a longtime Las Vegas businessman and local historian from 1920 to 1995, including his work as an executive at the Hacienda Hotel and Casino. The papers also include maps, development plans, and local publications for the Nevada communities of Laughlin and Mount Charleston as well as publicity and promotional materials for these projects. As an amateur historian, Taylor also collected information on Las Vegas, Laughlin, and Mount Charleston.
Link to Collection Guide

The Farnsworth Collection on Housing in Clark County, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00497
Date: 1950s-1980s
Extent: 1.67 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: MS 10.2.5
The Farnsworth Collection on Housing in Clark County, Nevada is comprised of Clark County housing development brochures gathered by Las Vegas real estate appraiser Robert Lee Farnsworth Sr. dating from the 1950s-1980s. The collection includes housing developments located in Boulder City, Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Pahrump, Lake Mead, Henderson, Summerlin, and Downtown Las Vegas. Brochures include price lists, appraisals, and descriptions of various housing developments and communities in Southern Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Underground House of Las Vegas Collection
Coll #: MS-00594
Date: 1964-2004
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 10.6.3
The Underground House of Las Vegas Collection (1964-2004) is comprised of news articles, photographs, books, and media items detailing the construction and history of Girard "Jerry" B. Henderson's "Underground House," a Las Vegas, Nevada home constructed in 1978 and designed to withstand the aftermath of nuclear war.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilner Family Collection
Coll #: MS-00810
Date: 1983-2008
Extent: 1 box (1.0 Linear Feet, 1.1 Cubic Feet), 2 Digital Files (2.61 GB)
Location: B-02.09.4
The Wilner Family Collection is comprised of audiovisual material on real estate in Las Vegas, Nevada collected by Las Vegas real estate agent, Linda C. Wilner. The collection includes informational videos for real estate agents and promotional showcase materials on various real estate developments around Las Vegas including Summerlin, Lake Las Vegas, Turnberry Place, Park Towers, Sun City Anthem, Sun City MacDonald Ranch, and Christopher Homes. This collection also contains a digital surrogate of a scrapbook commemorating Linda Wilner's uncle, Leo Wilner, and his retirement as executive director of Temple Beth Sholom in 1984.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilner Family Collection
Coll #: MS-00810
Date: 1983-2008
Extent: 1 box (1.0 Linear Feet, 1.1 Cubic Feet), 2 Digital Files (2.61 GB)
Location: B-02.09.4
The Wilner Family Collection is comprised of audiovisual material on real estate in Las Vegas, Nevada collected by Las Vegas real estate agent, Linda C. Wilner. The collection includes informational videos for real estate agents and promotional showcase materials on various real estate developments around Las Vegas including Summerlin, Lake Las Vegas, Turnberry Place, Park Towers, Sun City Anthem, Sun City MacDonald Ranch, and Christopher Homes. This collection also contains a digital surrogate of a scrapbook commemorating Linda Wilner's uncle, Leo Wilner, and his retirement as executive director of Temple Beth Sholom in 1984.
Link to Collection Guide