Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Pioneers


Total manuscripts: 60

Page 2 of 2

Previous   1  2  
Syphus - Bunker Papers
Coll #: T85
Date: 1891 -1994
Extent: 1 record storage box, and 1 doc box
Location: 1:12:5
Collection is comprised primarily of the correspondence of John Bunker and Mary Etta Syphus from 1891-1895. Mary Etta was one of ten children of Luke and Christina Syphus, a pioneer Mormon family who settled in Panaca, Nevada in the late 1800s. In September 1895, Mary Etta married John Bunker, but passed away just two months later in November 1895. The earliest correspondence was written when Bunker was living in El Dorado Canyon Nevada and Syphus in Panaca Nevada, and the later correspondence when Bunker was in Logan Utah and Syphus attending the BYU Academy Church Normal School in Provo UT. There is additional correspondence between Mary Etta Syphus and various friends along with some certificates and wedding announcements. The collection also includes a genealogy chart and the Syphus family history. Collection contains both originals, and typed transcriptions of the correspondence. Subjects discussed include the Muddy River, sicknesses, weather, neighbors, LDS church, school and leisure activities.

Tales of Las Vegas (Students of Modern History)
Coll #: Mss6
Date: 1924 - 1925
Extent: 54 p., bound : ill. ; 31 cm
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of two [unpublished] manuscript copies of "Tales of Las Vegas." This early history of Las Vegas was created by Las Vegas high school students in the Modern History course in 1924 and was later revised by the students in the United States History course in 1925. Illustrated throughout with photographs of early Las Vegas. All photographs are captioned.

Ullom - Brockman Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00211
Date: 1889 -1943
Extent: 0.46 cubic feet, 0.42 linear feet (1 box)
Location: 2:3:1
Ullom - Brockman Family Papers (1889-1943) contain correspondence, newspaper clippings, cards, announcements, invitations, and a photographic copy of a family album. There are also employment records for George Brockman from the Las Vegas and Tonopah Railroad Company and a copy of "The Desert Breeze" newspaper.
Link to Collection Guide

Von Tobel Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00589
Date: 1905-1997
Extent: 13.6 Linear Feet (10 boxes, 1 roll, 1 flat file)
Location: B 1.4.5 - 1.4.6, B IS 1.5.4, MS Map Case 11:J
The Von Tobel Family Papers (1905-1997) consist of photographs, correspondence, ephemera, and financial reports pertaining to the pioneer Von Tobel family and their businesses, which they operated in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection also contains news clippings covering the life of Ed Von Tobel, and records of the operation of Von Tobel hardware store 301.
Link to Collection Guide

Wengert Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00192
Date: 1907-1967
Extent: 0.92 Cubic Feet (2 boxes, 1 flat file)
Location: MS 2.8.6, MS Map Case 11:N
The Wengert Family Papers (1907-1967) consists of clippings, correspondence, ephemera, and scrapbooks detailing the lives of Las Vegas, Nevada pioneers Cyril S. Wengert and Lottie Ward Wengert. Much of the material documents Lottie Ward�s life in Iowa before her 1921 marriage to Wengert and ultimate move to Las Vegas. The collection also houses three scrapbooks of family photographs from the 1920s.
Link to Collection Guide

Wheeler, Maria Burston
Coll #: Mss42
Date: 1840 -1933
Extent: 2 folders (containing 127 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of a typescript account of her experiences from her childhood in England, crossing the Atlantic to the United States, and her trek to the West. Significant because of its vivid description of her time at the Mormon Fort in ca. 1854 including the crops planted, relations with the local Paiute Indians, construction of the buildings etc. Her husband was one of the original Mormon settlers called to develop the settlement at Las Vegas.

White Cross Drug Store
Coll #: MS-00628
Date: 1950-1964
Extent: 1.56 cubic feet (1 box)
Location: RS 1:4:8
The White Cross Drug Store Scrapbook (1950-1964) contains photographs, employee training materials, newspaper clippings, advertisements, displays, and some historical narrative and press release material on the history and mission of the White Cross Drug Store. It also includes advertising ephemera and brochures on cosmetic products and perfumes of the early 1950s.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilson, James B.
Coll #: MS-00125
Date: 1880-1918
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 box)
Location: 1:9:6
Related Materials: 0011
The Wilson Family Papers (1880-1972) document the personal and professional lives of James B. Wilson Sr., James B. Wilson Jr., and George Twison "Tweed" Wilson. The collection is primarily comprised of personal correspondence, but it also includes invoices from the Wilson family business, the Sandstone Ranch, and biographical materials that chronicle the history of the Wilson family and their ranch.
Link to Collection Guide

Yount Papers
Coll #: Mss8
Date: 1848 -1976
Extent: 1 folder (containing 6 pages)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of a letter written by Leonard Fayle to John L. Yount, 1976 October 2, and a manuscript [written by Elizabeth Perkins Frederickson?] describing the beginnings of the Manse Ranch in Pahrump, Nevada. Manuscript also gives biographical information about Joseph Yount, Harsha White, Jack Frederickson, and others.

Yount, John L.
Coll #: Mss9
Date: 1873 -1976
Extent: 1 folder (containing 6 pages)
Location: 1:1:1
Recollections of John L. Yount, describing the Yount family at Ash Meadows, Pahrump, and Manse Ranch. Contains biographical sketches of Joseph Yount, Harsha White, and others. Includes photocopy of a letter written by Leonard Fayle to John L. Yount, 1976 October 2.

Page 2 of 2

Previous   1  2