Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Nevada

Total manuscripts: 33

Civic Historical Research Project, Lincoln County Nevada Cemetery Census Records
Coll #: MS-00263
Date: 1980s
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (1 box)
Location: MS 3:2:3
The Civic Historical Research Project, Lincoln County, Nevada Cemetery Census Records are comprised of Nevada cemetery censuses from the 1980s, from the towns of Bullionville, Panaca, and Caliente.
Link to Collection Guide

Claxton, Eunice Papers
Coll #: MS-00087
Date: 1982-2011
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 2.2.3
The collection is comprised of long time Nevada resident Eunice Claxton's papers from 1982 to 2011. Included are photographs, memorial service programs, her maternal family history, and the 41st and 50th church convocations held in the Church of God in Christ, Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Down, James H. Scrapbook Collection
Coll #: MS-00236
Date: 1933-1979
Extent: 1.3 linear feet (1 box)
Location: RS 1.5.5
The James H. Down, Sr. Scrapbook Collection (1933-1979) contains two scrapbooks about James H. Down, Sr. The scrapbooks contain newspaper clippings and political advertisements about his political and civic involvement in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Frederickson Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00448
Date: 1904-1917
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
Location: MS 9:10:5
Collection is comprised of family photographs and papers of the Frederickson The Frederickson Family Papers (1904-1917) consists of bank statements, correspondence, and mining statements of the Goodsprings, Nevada pioneers John C. Frederickson and Elizabeth Perkins Frederickson. The collection also houses documents pertaining to the Masonic Las Vegas, Nevada Lodge.
Link to Collection Guide

Gill, Benjamin
Coll #: 2010-07
Date: 1905-1922
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 boxes)
Location: A 3:4:5
Benjamin Gill was a friend and business partner of Charles Sprague (editor of Goldfield News and President of Goldfield Chamber of Commerce), who served as Secretary-Treasurer for a number of southern Nevada mining companies in Pioneer, Bullfrog, Tonopah and Goldfield, NV. Collection is comprised of his business correspondence (over 800 letters) 1916-22; Fairplay Mining District record Book 1905; and misc. mining reports, pamphlets from the Bullfrog Mining District.

Goldfield Consolidated Mines Company Records
Coll #: MS-00744
Date: 1904-1930
Extent: 5.4 Linear feet (2 boxes, 1 oversize box, 1 flat file)
Location: A 1.7.1, A IS 1.5.3, MS Map Case 11:O
The Goldfield Consolidated Mines Company Records (1904-1930) consist of correspondence, invoices, receipts with voucher checks, mining leases, insurance policies, payroll accounts, published notices and articles, and a monthly mine reports ledger.
Link to Collection Guide

Jones, Sam
Coll #: 1031-3
Date: 1938(?)
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of one handwritten letter addressed to Sam Jones of Goodsprings, dated [19]38. The author of the letter is not identified.

Kane Springs Ranch, Meadow Valley Wash, Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00553
Date: 1930-2005
Extent: 1.25 linear feet (3 boxes)
Location: B 1:6:4
The Kane Springs Ranch, Meadow Valley Wash, Nevada Records (1930-2005) contain records related to the Kane Springs Ranch outside of Moapa, Nevada. The collection primarily focuses on the property itself, but also contains a genealogy of the Huntsman family, the ranch's first owners. Records include deeds and materials from the sale of the Kane Springs Ranch to the Bureau of Land Management in 2005. The bulk of the collection documents how the Stuart family used its resources from 1952 to 2003. These materials are related to water usage on the property and a rock and sand mining operation, from which the Stuarts earned royalties.
Link to Collection Guide

Laird, Nell
Coll #: T55
Date: 1908
Extent: 3 linear inches (1 slim document box)
Location: 1:11:5
Collection consists of the receipt book of the J. R. Lane Illuminating, Lubricating and Fuel Oil (Company) located in Rhyolite, Nevada. Receipt book lists the names of customers and purchases made in Rhyolite in 1908.

Lanman Collection
Coll #: 1031-9
Date: 1828 -1923
Extent: 5 folders
Location: 1:1:2
Lanman wrote a Dictionary of the United States Congress and General Government in the late 19th century. This collection contains the title page and the table of contents of the Dictionary and responses to his solicitation requesting biographical information from notable government figures such as Silas Rody Ashley, Thomas Fitch, Gordon N. Matt, , Henry Worthington, S.M. Worts, and Ernest B. Norris. Of particular interest with reagard to Nevada are the original holograph letters of James W. Nye and William M. Stewart.

Lee, Henry Hudson
Coll #: T31
Date: 1811-195(?)
Extent: 1 box; 5 linear inches
Location: 1:10:5
Collection is comprised of manuscript copies of Henry Hudson Lee's memoirs entitled "My Memoirs" and his biography of his father entitled "A Brief Sketch of the Life and Family of Milton LaFayette Lee." Henry Hudson Lee worked as the County Recorder and Auditor of Lincoln County in the early 1900s. He was also involved in cattle ranching most of his life.

Liberty Engine Company No. 1
Coll #: T11
Date: 1846
Extent: 1 box (letter-sized)
Location: 1:10:2
Collection consists of two ledger books and some bank records for the Liberty Engine Company No. 1. Ledger books date from 1876 to 1917. Bank deposit records date from 1926-1927. Liberty Engine Company No. 1 was the volunteer fire fighting unit for Gold Hill, Nevada until it closed in 1938.

Liddle, Samuel
Coll #: Mss31
Date: 1885 -1890
Extent: 7 folders (containing 164 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of ledgers, accounts and correspondence for the General Store of Samuel Liddle, located in Leadville, Nevada, from 20 October 1885 to 11 November 1890.
Link to Collection Guide

Lisle Family
Coll #: T153
Date: 1914 - 1948
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 2:3:1
Collection contains the 1914 Primary Election register for Beatty Precinct, Nye County, Beatty School Registry of Students from 1933-1948 and correspondence re: attempting to obtain government funding for the Beatty High School.

Logan Family Collection
Coll #: 2011-38
Date: 1906
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: 7:8:4
Collection is comprised of photos, documents, correspondence, and memoirs related to the life and family of Thomas Logan, (1861-1906) sheriff of Nye County, shot and killed while apprehending a suspect on April 7, 1906 in Manhattan, NV.

Logan Family Collection
Coll #: 2011-38
Date: 1906
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: 7:8:4
Collection is comprised of photos, documents, correspondence, and memoirs related to the life and family of Thomas Logan, (1861-1906) sheriff of Nye County, shot and killed while apprehending a suspect on April 7, 1906 in Manhattan, NV.

Neely, William
Coll #: 1029-4
Date: [18]64
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of one typescript letter (photocopied) transcribed from an original dated Dec 4, [18]64 from W[illiam] Neely In Virginia City NV to his nephew. The letter discuss Nevada's impending statehood and the business and financial situation at the time. Contains some detail about mining work and advises nephew "not" to come to Nevada.

Nevada Banking History
Coll #: MS-00257
Date: 1880 -190(?)
Extent: 2 doc boxes
Location: MS 3:2:2
Collection contains information on the history of banking, primarily in Worcester, NV and a history of the Worcester bank. Included in this history are pamphlets and promotional publications on early Nevada banks, contemporary newspaper clippings and correspondence about Butch Cassidy and common banking correspondence. Of interest is a copy of a proclamation and report by the governor of the Territory of Nevada about an international mineral exhibition dated 1863.

Nevada Library Directories, Statistics, and Handbook
Coll #: MS-00706
Date: 1954-1992
Location: B 2:2:3
The Nevada Library directories and statistics date from 1954 to 1992. The Library Association Handbook is dated December 31, 1987. Records were created by the Nevada State Library and Archives and its predecessor the Nevada State Library.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Wildlife Bulletin
Coll #: MS-00729
Date: 1960-1965
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.3
The Nevada Wildlife Bulletin was published monthly in Reno, Nevada by the Nevada Fish and Game Commission from 1960 to 1965. It covered activities of fishing and hunting around the state of Nevada. This collection includes Vol. 1 No. 3 for 1960; a complete run for 1962; and scattered issues from 1961, 1964, and 1965.
Link to Collection Guide

Rinker, C.A. Earle Collection
Coll #: MS-00514
Date: 1883-1965
Extent: 10.5 linear feet (14 boxes
Location: MS 11:4:6, MS 11:5:1 - MS 11:5:2, RS 2:4:6, RS 2:5:2
This collection is comprised of materials that document the history of early twentieth century Goldfield, a mining boom town in central Nevada, as well as the life of its collector. Materials include highly descriptive correspondence and images of Goldfield during its peak years of 1906-1910, as well as mining prospectus, maps, ledgers, souvenirs and ephemera that document mining activity specifically and daily life in a mining boom town more generally.
Link to Collection Guide

Sawyer, Byrd
Coll #: 90-052
Date: 1880-1969
Extent: 9 boxes (6.5 linear feet)
Location: MS 4.10.2- MS 4.10.5
Related Materials: 0256
Collection is comprised of the papers of Byrd Wall Sawyer and contains a variety of materials related to Nevada history. Collection includes Nevada State Library materials and publications, news clippings, correspondence, speeches and memos relating to Reno, Carson City and Washoe County. There are research notes and copies of the books; "Midwifery" and "The Open Range of Nevada, 1826-1900." The collection also contains some photographs and numerous slides of foreign countries. There are also audio recordings and video of the Boulder City anniversary. book manuscript - "Here is Nevada"; bibliography 1939; Co-authors - Byrd Wall Sawyer and Effie Mona Mack INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Shelley Berkley Papers
Coll #: 2013-05
Date: 1982-2013
Extent: 25.5 linear feet (18 boxes, 4 poster boards, 4 framed items, 1 flat file)
Location: MS Map Case 11:H, A IS 1.3.3, A 2.1.1 - A 2.1.7, A 2.2.1
This collection documents the political career of Rochelle "Shelley" Berkley when she served as U.S. Representative for Nevada's 1st Congressional District. Included are correspondence and constituent mail; congressional documents and subject files, a variety of materials about Yucca Mountain, awards, and multimedia materials, including VHS and beta video tapes and an external hard drive. Topics documented include Las Vegas, health care, veteran's affairs, the hepatitis C outbreak of 2008, and Yucca Mountain and the nuclear waste controversy.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Sieffert, Mrs.
Coll #: MS-00084
Date: 1908 - 1921
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:1
Consists primarily of correspondence between U.S. Senator George S. Nixon and William B. Ogden regarding the appointment of a postmaster in Gold Mountain and Drumville (both Esmeralda County), Nevada.

Spicer, Jim & Effie
Coll #: T158
Date: 1932-1991
Extent: 1 slim document box (.21 linear feet)
Location: 2:3:1
Collection consists of materials relating to the Spicer family, Nye County, Nevada, and the Boiling Pot Ranch, Beatty, and the transcription of Jack Milligan's diary (1932-1935). Also contains a photocopy of chapter 18 from the History of Pahrump Valley with comments on the Spicers by David Lynch.

Sprague, Charles
Coll #: 2010-08
Date: 1906-1922
Extent: .84 linear feet (2 document boxes) and 9 bound volumes.
Location: 10:3:2 and bound newspaper volumes located on Oversize roller shelves
Charles Sprague, (1865 - ?) born in Ohio, newspaper editor in Ohio, Colorado Springs, Denver . Bought Goldfield News in 1906, of which he was the editor. President of Goldfield Chamber of Commerce, ran unsuccessfully for Congress as a Democrat in 1910, later went into the mining brokerage business. He had interests in and was an executive officer in a number of mining companies in southern Nevada. Collection consists of his mining business correspondence 1909-1921 (over 1200 letters) , a photograph album and loose photos of Tonopah, 5 bound volumes of Goldfield News 1917-1922; company ledgers of Midway Mining and Milling Co., Tonopah,1902-1913; Goldfield Consolidated Water Company, 1905-14; Nevada Gold Center Mines Co., 1906-6; misc. mining maps, brochures, reports, publications from Goldfield & Tonopah.

State of Nevada-Water Resources Reconnaissance Records
Coll #: MS-00699
Date: 1935-1968
Extent: 0.85 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 1:1:3
The State of Nevada Water-Resources Reconnaissance Records (1935-1968) contain studies and appraisals of ground water resources in the lakes and valleys of various Nevada counties. The documents were created by the Nevada Division of Water Resources.
Link to Collection Guide

Syphus - Bunker Papers
Coll #: T85
Date: 1891 -1994
Extent: 1 record storage box, and 1 doc box
Location: 1:12:5
Collection is comprised primarily of the correspondence of John Bunker and Mary Etta Syphus from 1891-1895. Mary Etta was one of ten children of Luke and Christina Syphus, a pioneer Mormon family who settled in Panaca, Nevada in the late 1800s. In September 1895, Mary Etta married John Bunker, but passed away just two months later in November 1895. The earliest correspondence was written when Bunker was living in El Dorado Canyon Nevada and Syphus in Panaca Nevada, and the later correspondence when Bunker was in Logan Utah and Syphus attending the BYU Academy Church Normal School in Provo UT. There is additional correspondence between Mary Etta Syphus and various friends along with some certificates and wedding announcements. The collection also includes a genealogy chart and the Syphus family history. Collection contains both originals, and typed transcriptions of the correspondence. Subjects discussed include the Muddy River, sicknesses, weather, neighbors, LDS church, school and leisure activities.

Tonopah and Tidewater Railroad
Coll #: MS6
Date: 1910 -1940
Extent: 3 boxes; 1.5 linear ft.
Location: 1:2:1
The Tonopah and Tidewater Railroad Collection contains miscellaneous correspondence, waybills, requisitions and other records relating to the company's operation. Incorporated in 1904, the Tonopah and Tidewater Railroad operated for 35 years, connecting Ludlow, California (on the Santa Fe Railroad main line) with Beatty Nevada by way of Death Valley. “Tidewater” referred to dreams of eventually completing connections with San Diego, California. Declining mining fortunes and waning borax operations in Death Valley after 1927 caused the slow decline of the railroad, which finally ceased operations in 1940.
Link to Collection Guide

Western Nevada Project
Coll #: MS-00323
Date: 1950s
Extent: 3 Linear Feet, 3 boxes
Location: 4:9:1, 4:9:2
Collection consists of approximately 2,000 aerial photographs of Southern and Western Nevada. Photographs are not indexed. Army Map Service took the aerial photographs.

Whitmore, Sidney R. Collection on Southern Nevada
Coll #: MS-00068
Date: 1846-1937
Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet 5 folders (shared box)
Location: 1:1:1
Related Materials: 0219
The Sidney R. Whitmore Collection spans 1846 to 1937. The collection contains a stockholder list of the Moapa Fruit Land Co., land descriptions, a quitclaim deed, and a history of the Whitney/ Syphus family. Also in the collection are various copies of photos of the Southern Nevada and Utah landscape.
Link to Collection Guide

Wile, Albert E. Papers
Coll #: MS-00146
Date: 1941-1973
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (1 box)
Location: 1:11:5
The Albert E. Wile Papers (1941-1973) contain the papers of Albert Wile, who served as a police captain in Las Vegas, Nevada in the 1940s. Wile oversaw the city jail; his papers include correspondence from and about inmates and inventories and records of the Las Vegas City Jail. It also includes personal correspondence of Wile and some newspaper clippings about law enforcement in Las Vegas and North Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilson, James B.
Coll #: MS-00125
Date: 1880-1918
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 box)
Location: 1:9:6
Related Materials: 0011
The Wilson Family Papers (1880-1972) document the personal and professional lives of James B. Wilson Sr., James B. Wilson Jr., and George Twison "Tweed" Wilson. The collection is primarily comprised of personal correspondence, but it also includes invoices from the Wilson family business, the Sandstone Ranch, and biographical materials that chronicle the history of the Wilson family and their ranch.
Link to Collection Guide