Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Labor


Total manuscripts: 7

Anthanasoglou, Micheal Collection on Taxi Driver Rights
Coll #: MS-00230
Date: 1979-1983
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 2:2:2
The Michael Anthanasoglou Collection on Taxi Driver Rights (1979-1983) contains the records of Las Vegas, Nevada taxicab activist Michael Anthanasoglou. The collection is made up of clippings, correspondence, flyers, and memoranda that document Anthanasoglou's struggle to organize taxi drivers into a union in Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Athanasoglou, Michael Collection on Taxi Driver Rights
Coll #: MS-00230
Date: 1979-1983
Extent: 0.21 linear feet, 0.23 cubic feet (1 box)
Location: MS 02.02.2
The Michael Athanasoglou Collection on Taxi Driver Rights (1979-1983) contains the records of Las Vegas, Nevada taxicab activist Michael Athanasoglou. Included are clippings, correspondence, fliers, and memoranda that document Athanasoglou’s struggle to organize taxi drivers into a union in Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Blood, Leonard
Coll #: MS-00161
Date: 1888-1962, bulk 1930-1950
Extent: 2.75 linear feet, 1.27 cubic feet (1 box, 1 flat folder)
Location: MS 1.12.3, MC MS 11:N
The Leonard Blood Papers consist of Leonard Blood's photographs and personal documents from his work in the United States Navy, Las Vegas Labor Commission, and on the Boulder (Hoover) Dam in Nevada, ranging from the years of 1888 to 1962. The bulk of the papers date between 1930 to 1950. The collection's contents include correspondence, telegrams, newspaper clippings, a scrapbook, family photographs and various ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide

Cashman, James
Coll #: MS-00144
Date: 1911-1969
Extent: 4 boxes, 1 flat file (1.48 Cubic Feet, 2.28 Linear Feet)
Location: MS 1:11:4, MS Map Case 11:N
Related Materials: 0013
The James Cashman Sr. Papers date from 1911 to 1969 and contain correspondence, photographs, insurance records, and bank records related to entrepreneur James "Big Jim" Cashman and his businesses. The collection documents Cashman's life and activities in Nevada; among the materials compiled after his death are a biography of Cashman and a family history of his wife, Leah Barker.
Link to Collection Guide

Fyhen, Ragnald
Coll #: Mss2
Date: 1933-1947
Extent: 1 folder (contains 26 typewritten pages)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of the report of Ragnald Fyhen, an original member of the first Central Labor Council of Clark County, who also worked on Hoover Dam as a machinist. Subjects discussed include the Strike on the Boulder Canyon Project, deaths that occurred during the dam's construction, labor negotiations for BMI workers, development of the town of Henderson, and the creation of a regular County Hospital to replace the existing Poor Farm.

Hanley, Thomas Collection of Newspaper Clippings
Coll #: MS-00567
Date: 1964-1974
Extent: 0.19 cubic feet (1 box)
Location: MS 13.5.2
The Thomas Hanley Collection is comprised of photocopied newspaper articles from the Las Vegas Sun and Las Vegas Review Journal from 1964 and 1974. The materials relate to the life and career of Thomas Hanley, a union boss accused of several murders and convicted of the murder of Al Bramlet.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas, Nevada Strip Hotel Labor Relations Collection
Coll #: MS-00659
Date: 1963-2008
Extent: 5 boxes (3.12 cubic feet, 2.75 linear feet)
Location: B 1.2.7
The Las Vegas, Nevada Strip Hotel Labor Relations Collection comprises legal documents, correspondence, and human resources manuals and pamphlets related to labor in the hospitality industry on the Las Vegas Strip in Nevada from 1963 to 2008. The majority of documents involve the Culinary Union, the Bartenders Union, the Teamsters Union, MGM Mirage affiliated hotel casinos, the Dunes Hotel, and the Sands Hotel and Casino.
Link to Collection Guide