Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Hoover Dam


Total manuscripts: 13

Blood, Leonard
Coll #: MS-00161
Date: 1888-1962, bulk 1930-1950
Extent: 2.75 linear feet, 1.27 cubic feet (1 box, 1 flat folder)
Location: MS 1.12.3, MC MS 11:N
The Leonard Blood Papers consist of Leonard Blood's photographs and personal documents from his work in the United States Navy, Las Vegas Labor Commission, and on the Boulder (Hoover) Dam in Nevada, ranging from the years of 1888 to 1962. The bulk of the papers date between 1930 to 1950. The collection's contents include correspondence, telegrams, newspaper clippings, a scrapbook, family photographs and various ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide

Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection
Coll #: 2001-07
Date: 1922-2000
Extent: 21 linear feet (21 boxes)
Location: MS 12.10.5 - MS 12.8.3
The Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is composed of files and books from the Colorado River Commission of Nevada. The major portion of the collection is documents in the form of books, briefs, memoranda, motions, exhibits, etc., from the Arizona v. California litigation running from 1931 to the 1990s. The Commission used the materials as a reference library to support their role in the ongoing litigation. In support of their mission to manage and protect Nevada's rights to the power and water from the Colorado River, the collection includes significant information regarding the Boulder Canyon Project and subsequent Adjustment Act, the Colorado River Compact, Glen Canyon Dam, Parker Dam, Davis Dam, and Colorado River Salinity in the form of correspondence, official reports, and legislative records. A large portion of the correspondence and documents is in regards to the Western Area Power Administration . The last major part of the collection is comprised operating files from the Commission, particularly the files of Gerald L. Edwards, who was the CRCs Chief Engineer. All of these files not only supported litigation and the operation of the CRC, but also served as an information clearinghouse for information regarding the management of the Colorado River.
Link to Collection Guide

Fraley Family Collection of Las Vegas, Nevada Films and Photographs
Coll #: MS-00660
Date: 1956-1995
Extent: 1.3 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1:4:4
The Fraley Family Collection of Las Vegas, Nevada Films and Photographs (1956-1995) include 8mm photographic films of the Helldorado Parade and Hoover (Boulder) Dam in 1956, color photographic prints of the construction of the Fremont Street Experience in 1995, and one color photographic print of the Tower Casino at the State Line in 1976. The 8mm film footage was taken during a family vacation and also includes exterior shots of casinos on the Las Vegas Strip.
Link to Collection Guide

Frehner, Merle
Coll #: Mss26
Date: 1981
Extent: 1 folder (containing 3 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of hand-drawn map of St. Thomas, Nevada (ca. 1914-1932) which was abandoned in 1933 due to the construction of Hoover Dam and is now covered by Lake Mead, as remembered by Merle Frehner (a former resident of St.Thomas). Also contains instructions to Geography 135 UNLV student Anthony Hinkel who re-drafted the map. Hinkel map in Map Collection 14-1 of Special Collections. Hinkel, Anthony Hoover Dam (Ariz. and Nev.) Extinct cities -- Nevada -- St. Thomas St. Thomas (Nev.) -- History St. Thomas (Nev.) -- Maps

Fyhen, Ragnald
Coll #: Mss2
Date: 1933-1947
Extent: 1 folder (contains 26 typewritten pages)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of the report of Ragnald Fyhen, an original member of the first Central Labor Council of Clark County, who also worked on Hoover Dam as a machinist. Subjects discussed include the Strike on the Boulder Canyon Project, deaths that occurred during the dam's construction, labor negotiations for BMI workers, development of the town of Henderson, and the creation of a regular County Hospital to replace the existing Poor Farm.

Jensen, Frank C. "Doc"
Coll #: MS15
Date: 1926 - 1952
Extent: 1 box
Location: Transferred to BCMHA
Collection consists of the digital facsimile of the personal diary of Frank C. "Doc" Jensen, Hoover Dam medic, covering the years of the Damís construction. The original of this volume and the others reside in the Boulder City Museum and Historical Association. Click on Jensen's name above to access digitized version of the diary.
View Select Materials Online

Keeler, Dorothy Papers
Coll #: MS-00195
Date: 1811-1977
Extent: 1.9 linear feet (2 boxes)
Location: 2:7:2, RS 1:6:5
The Dorothy Keeler Papers (1811-1977) document early Las Vegas history, the life and career of former US Mint director Eva Adams, and contain images of the Western United States and Southern Nevada in the 1930s. The collection contains clippings on the history of Las Vegas and early Las Vegas weddings as well as photographs documenting the Keelers' travels throughout the Western United States and the construction and dedication of Hoover Dam.
Link to Collection Guide

L. F. Manis Collection
Coll #: MS-00288
Date: 1936-1957
Extent: 3 boxes; photo albums
Location: 3:6:5 Roller Shelf 1.8.7
Related Materials: 0100
The L. F. Manis collection, 1936-1957, contains material and publications relating to Boulder (Hoover) Dam and the Boulder Canyon Project. Included are brochures, pamphlets, postcards, a scrapbook and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide

Malone, George
Coll #: Mss37
Date: 1928 -1933
Extent: 1 folder (containged343 items, bound)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of one bound volume of letters, documents, speeches, reports and maps pertaining to George W. Malone's position as Nevada State Engineer; National Executive Committeeman, American Legion; President, Association of Western Engineers; Secretary, Colorado River Commission; member, Nevada State Range Commission.

Montoya, Max
Coll #: Mss32
Date: 1935
Extent: 1 item ; 4 cm
Location: 1:1:1
Consists of a 1935 commemorative 3 cent stamp depicting Boulder (Hoover Dam) at its completion.

Page, John Chatfield
Coll #: MS23
Date: 1930 - 1947
Extent: 1 box; 1 large folder
Location: Transferred to BCMHA
Collection consists of the diaries of John Chatfield Page, who served as Construction Engineer on Boulder (Hoover) Dam from 1931-35. There is also a small amount of ephemera and biographical material on Page which provide information on his career with the Bureau of Reclamation. The original diaries have transferred to the Boulder City Museum and Historical Association, but the library holds complete digital facsimiles. Click on Page's name above to access digitized version of the diary.
View Select Materials Online

Shaver, A. J.
Coll #: MS-00155
Date: 1925 - 1964
Extent: 1.47 cubic feet, 1.29 linear feet (2 boxes)
Location: 1:12:2
A. J. Shaver Papers (1925-1964) include hearings, reports, Senate bills, bulletins, and surveys regarding the Boulder Canyon Project/ Colorado River Development. There are also papers about Marienne Shaver's involvement in the Las Vegas High School Parent Teacher's Association (PTA) and the Girl Scouts of America (GSA), including minutes, correspondence, notes, and brochures.
Link to Collection Guide

Wieking, Henry C.
Date: 1932-1935
Extent: 0.01 linear feet (1 folder in shared box)
Location: 1:1:2 Roller Shelf 1.5.2
Related Materials: 0009
The Henry Wieking Papers (1932-1935) contain personal recollections, daily journal pages, newspaper clippings, and a Bureau of Land Management (BLM) memorandum.
Link to Collection Guide