Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Henderson

Total manuscripts: 7

Basic Magnesium, Inc. (BMI) Records
Coll #: MS-00126
Date: 1933-1965
Extent: 3.5 Linear Feet (8 boxes)
Location: 1:9:6 - 1:10:2
The Basic Magnesium Inc. (BMI) Records document the planning, constructing, and managing of the BMI magnesium manufacturing plants near Las Vegas (now Henderson) in Clark County and a magnesium mining operation in Gabbs, Nye County, Nevada from 1933 to 1965. It contains chronological reports, official statements, photographs, telegrams, budgets, and building diagrams. The records document employee housing and infrastructure projects, magnesium production statistics, and employee data.
Link to Collection Guide

Buck, Gilbert
Coll #: 87-58
Date: 1945 - 1985
Extent: 14 linear feet (14 record storage boxes)
Location: 3:5:3 - 3:6:4
Collection consists of the real estate records of Gilbert Buck: records on individual properties from mortgage agreements and records of rent payments to general repairs and appliance brochures. Also included are newspaper articles about the Governor’s Race, a report to the Legislative Commission about the acquisition of specific lands by the State Parks, Nevada’s available water resources, soil surveys, maps and photographs of land. (Real estate was located in Las Vegas and Henderson Nevada. INVENTORY AVAILABLE.

Dow Metals - BMI
Coll #: MS-00242
Date: 1940s-1950s
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 record storage box)
Location: MS 2:1:2
Related Materials: 0260
Collection of BMI (Basic Magnesium Inc.) photo albums of plants/factories�aerial, internal and external views, general photos of businessmen (probably company executives). Also included in this collection is a BMI corporate book which contains stockholder minutes, directors meetings notes, etc. (see also - #260 photos).

Ilene Bittle Collection on Basic High School
Coll #: MS-00331
Date: 1949-1976
Extent: 1.08 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 4:7:3
The Ilene Bittle Collection on Basic High School is comprised of memorabilia from Basic High School spanning from 1949 to 1976. The collection was created by Ilene Stokes Bittle and includes scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, event programs, high school newspapers, and other school mementos.
Link to Collection Guide

Coll #: MS4
Date: 1988
Extent: 1 doc box
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists primarily of news clippings, and reports on the explosion that took place at the Henderson-based PEPCON plant in 1988.

Robert Woodruff Papers
Coll #: MS-00455
Date: 1922-1986
Extent: 9.75 Linear Feet (16 boxes)
Location: MS 9.12.2 - 9.12.5
The Robert Woodruff Papers are comprised of materials that document Woodruff's career in Las Vegas and Henderson, Nevada from 1922 to the 1986. The collection provides insight into Las Vegas' early development as a tourist destination as well as visual documentation of Las Vegas and Henderson from the 1930s to the 1970s. The collection contains publications, photographs, personal correspondence, news clippings, and a number of rare Las Vegas tourist publications dating from the 1930s and 1940s.
Link to Collection Guide

Soroptimist International of Henderson/Green Valley Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00359
Date: 1980-2004
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 2:3:4
Soroptimist International Henderson / Green Valley Chapter Records from 1980 to 2004 include meeting minutes, programs, photographs, conference materials, promotional material for various fund raisers, awards, and a gavel.
Link to Collection Guide