Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Government - State


Total manuscripts: 52

Page 1 of 2

1  2  Next  
Berkley, Shelley papers
Coll #: MS-00599
Date: 1999-2012
Extent: 13.25 linear feet (16 boxes), 2,059 Digital Files (1.26 GB)
Location: MS Map Case 11:H, A IS 1.1.2, A IS 1.1.3, A 2.1.1 - A 2.1.7, A 2.2.1
The Shelley Berkley papers chronicle the political career of Congresswoman Berkley from the years 1999 to 2012 and are comprised of correspondence, files on the nuclear waste controversy at Yucca Mountain, Nevada, education, women's rights, health care, foreign affairs, and homeland security.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Bilbray, James
Coll #: 87-35
Date: 1982 - 1985
Extent: 4 linear feet (4 record storage boxes)
Location: 3:4:3 - 3:4:4
Collection consists of the legislative papers of former Nevada State Senator James Bilbray. Contains correspondence, joint resolutions, senate and assembly bills, legal documents, memos, news clippings and various booklets from Nevada state agencies and commissions. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Brookman, Eileen Papers
Coll #: MS-00620
Date: 1941-2002
Extent: 9.6 linear feet. (17 document boxes, 1 oversized box)
Location: MS 4:2:1 - 4:2:4, MS MC 11:O
Related Materials: 0303
The materials in this collection document the political career of Assemblywoman Eileen Brookman, a Nevada Democratic legislator. Materials span from 1941 to 2002 and include Brookman's speeches, research material, constituent correspondence, bumper stickers, election returns, and other campaign material; clippings and programs from Jewish service organization B'nai B'rith; documents reflecting Brookman's legislative committee and conference work; correspondence; clippings; pamphlets; invitations; photographs; and scrapbook materials.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Carville, Governor E.P.
Coll #: MS-00638
Date: 1941
Extent: 2.1 linear feet (1 oversize folder)
Location: MS Map Case 11:J
Collection contains newspaper clippings of events that occurred and decisions made during Carville's time as governor of Nevada in 1941.

Clarke, Rosemary
Coll #: 97-04
Date: 1970
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: 6:6:1
Collection contains news clippings about Clarke’s election to the Nevada State Assembly, a photograph of her with Jesse Jackson, her work in mental illness awareness and education and correspondence about her election.

Flangas, William Scrapbooks
Coll #: MS-00099
Date: 1974-2014
Extent: 2.6 linear feet (3 boxes)
Location: A 2:5:5 - 2:5:6
This collection comprises the scrapbooks of William Flangas that document his anti-smoking efforts in Nevada from, 1974-2014. These materials include correspondence, articles, copies of assembly bills, newsletters related to smoking and health, and newsletters related to non-smokers.
Link to Collection Guide

Gary W. Royer Gaming Collection
Coll #: MS-00658
Date: approximately 1955-1996
Extent: approximately 170 linear feet
Location: A 4.7.1- A 4.9.3, A 4.4.1 - A 4.4.7, MS Map Case 11:A, off-site storage
The Gary Royer Papers on Gaming comprise gaming laws, regulations, financial data, and historical materials collected by Gary W. Royer in his roles as Certified Public Accountant, gaming consultant, and Nevada Gaming Control Board Audit Division Agent. Material focuses on gaming in the United States, and is particularly strong in documentation on the states of Nevada and New Jersey. Legal materials include statues, codes, regulations, revenue reports, Nevada Gaming Commission minutes, and Nevada State Gaming Control Board minutes. Material on casinos, racetracks, and sports betting facilities features data on select organizations, monthly revenue reports, occupancy rates, operations manuals, annual reports, policies and procedures manuals, and profile sheets. Material on Indian gaming (tribal gaming) includes surveys, reports, operations, regulatory handbooks, and tribal-state compacts. Also included are general casino management and operational procedures manuals, conference materials, and audit guides.

Gomes, Dennis
Coll #: 2012-14
Date: 1970s-1980s
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: MS 13.7.2
Collection is comprised of photo copies of materials documenting investigations of Dennis Gomes in his role as Nevada Gaming Control Board Division Chief and Law Enforcement Officer. Includes work documenting investigations at the Stardust, Tropicana and other hotels for organized crime skim. NOTE: This collection is closed until January 1, 2018 according to the Deed of Gift. Access may only be granted before then by written permission of the donor. Please contact Special Collections staff at special.collections@unlv.edu for more information.

Governor's Commission on Status of People
Coll #: T176
Date: 1975 - 1977
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 record storage box)
Location: 2:2:1
This collection is on the Commission on the Status of People which was formerly called Commission of the Status of Women, established in 1965 by Governor Grant Sawyer. Governor Mike O'Callaghan requested the Commission to investigate state laws that adversely affect Nevadans. The Commission was appointed from 1975 - 1977 and this collection contains the reports and a variety of documents pertaining to the Commission and several publications from other states concerning the status of women. (Collection was previously named the Felicia Campbell collection.)

Governor's Conference on Nevada Libraries
Coll #: MS-00248
Date: 1978
Extent: 4.2 linear feet (2 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
Location: MS 2:2:4, RS 1:8:1, MS Map Case 11:N
Collection is comprised of a scrapbook pertaining to the Governor's Conference on Nevada Libraries�correspondence re: funding and planning, newspaper clippings about available library services, copies of sample questionnaires for patrons and radio public service announcements. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Grant, Archie and Zora
Coll #: T25
Date: 1918-1990
Extent: 6 linear feet (4 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
Location: MS 1.10.4, RS 2.3.1, RS 2.6.7, MS Map Case 11:N
Collection is comprised of the personal papers of Archie and Zora Grant. Materials such as scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, correspondence, award certificates and membership records document Archie Grant's many contributions as a member of the Nevada State Legislature, State Board of Education, Las Vegas Housing Authority and Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce. There is a significant amount of correspondence from Grant to his mother during his time with the AEF in France during WWI. One scrapbook documents Zora Grant's work as President of the Nevada Federation of Women's Clubs in the 1940s.

Harmon Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00301
Date: 1910-1961
Extent: 3.3 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
Location: MS 4:12:1 - 4:12:2
The Harmon Family Papers mainly consist of the political and personal correspondence of Las Vegas, Nevada pioneer Harley A. Harmon from 1910-1934, and his son Harley E. Harmon from 1940-1961. Also included are family scrapbooks with wedding announcements, birthday cards, children's honors, and other ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide

Hazard, H. E. and Ruth Collection on Politics in Nevada
Coll #: MS-00134
Date: 1937-1977
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 1:11:2
The H.E. and Ruth Hazard Collection on Politics in Nevada (1937-1977) consists of papers and memorabilia related to Nevada and national Democratic politics. It includes materials about the Nevada legislature, clippings and information about the Nevada Tax Commission, political memorabilia including invitations and programs related to the presidential inaugurations of Lyndon Johnson and Jimmy Carter, documents about the purchase of Basic Magnesium Inc. by the state of Nevada, and newspaper clippings.
Link to Collection Guide

Hendel, Charles A.
Coll #: MS-00157
Date: 1960-1976
Extent: .0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 1:12:2
The Charles A. Hendel Notebook is comprised of one notebook of poetry and prose written by Charlie Hendel between 1960 and 1976. Topics include the state of Nevada, World War II, American nationalism, and biographical materials about Charles Hendel.
Link to Collection Guide

Henderson, A.S.
Coll #: T113
Date: 1898 - 1960
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box; 1 oversize folder)
Location: 2:8:5
This collection is comprised of the papers of A. S. Henderson, a native Nevadan who served on the Eighth Judicial District Court of the State of Nevada from 1946 to 1960. The collection focuses primarily on his prominent career as a district court judge in Las Vegas. Little is mentioned about his service as an educator, district attorney, or legislator. Types of documents in the collection include Henderson’s correspondence, campaign statements, certificates and proclamations, his memorial book, newspaper clippings, an 1879 edition of Eureka and Its Resources, and ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide

Hickey, Thomas
Coll #: 86-20
Date: 1969-1999
Extent: 56 linear feet (48 record storage cartons, 15 document boxes, 1 slim doc box and 1 oversize box)
Location: LASR
Collection consists of the political papers of Nevada state senator and legislator Thomas Hickey. State Assembly and State Legislature material relates to issues such as children, health, education, budget, nuclear testing, Yucca Mt., Dept of Energy, women's issues, women's prison, abortion, charitable organizations and mental health. Includes correspondence. INVENTORY AVAILABLE - THIS COLLECTION IS IN LASR, PLEASE CONTACT MANUSCRIPTS LIBRARIAN TO RETRIEVE

Jeffrey, Jack
Coll #: 99-12
Date: 1980-1981
Extent: 1 record storage box, 1 document box
Location: 7:12:2
This is a partial collection of the legislative papers of Nevada state assemblyman Jack Jeffrey, who represented Boulder City, part of Henderson and the Moapa Valley area. Collection is comprised of records from the 1980-81 session of the Nevada State Legislature. Contains appropriations report, Springer Legislative reports, fiscal notes, assembly and senate bills and resolutions, and Minutes from the Committee on Governmental Affairs.
Link to Collection Guide

Jones, Clifford
Coll #: 2012-19
Extent: 10.7 linear feet (12 boxes)
Location: MS 10.4.2 - MS 10.4.5
Collection is comprised of materials from the estate of former Lieutenant Governor and gaming executive Cliff Jones. Includes photographs, plaques, correspondence, trophies. A number of photographs document the family's time in the Dutch West Indies in the 1920s and there is correspondence from family members including his sister, noted Las Vegas journalist, Florence Lee Jones Cahlan.

Klein, Freda
Coll #: 97-06
Date: 1967-1993
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 6:6:1
Collection consists of a scrapbook of certificates, news clippings, photographs, and correspondence relating to Klein’s personal career in the Nevada Employment Security Department, and college/university career.

Krenzer, Sandi
Coll #: 96-19
Date: 1990-1994
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: MS 5:2:5
Collection contains a brief biography of Krenzer, a copy of a brief description of her achievements from �Distinguished Women in Southern Nevada�, a letter of endorsement from the Nevada Conference of Police and Sheriff�s for election race to Assembly District 3, campaign and fundraising materials-mailers, etc.

Lanman Collection
Coll #: 1031-9
Date: 1828 -1923
Extent: 5 folders
Location: 1:1:2
Lanman wrote a Dictionary of the United States Congress and General Government in the late 19th century. This collection contains the title page and the table of contents of the Dictionary and responses to his solicitation requesting biographical information from notable government figures such as Silas Rody Ashley, Thomas Fitch, Gordon N. Matt, , Henry Worthington, S.M. Worts, and Ernest B. Norris. Of particular interest with reagard to Nevada are the original holograph letters of James W. Nye and William M. Stewart.

List, Cathy
Coll #: MS-00471
Date: 1977-1980
Extent: 1.3 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: Roller Shelf 2:4:4
Scrapbook of Cathy List, wife of Nevada Governor Bob List, covering their years in the governor's mansion, 1977-1980.

Lowman, Zelvin Papers
Coll #: MS-00184
Date: 1966-1976
Extent: 8 boxes (7.2 linear feet)
Location: MS 2:9:5 - 2:8:2
The collection is comprised of the papers of Assemblyman Zelvin "Zel" Lowman who served in the Nevada State Legislature from 1967 to 1977. Included are court records, publications, correspondence, reports, and newspaper clippings pertaining to his time in office. Subjects include the Clark County School District, school busing, water and air quality issues, capital punishment, medical malpractice, mental health legislation, and the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA).
Link to Collection Guide

Malone, Mike
Coll #: 98-21, 2002-22
Date: 1984-1996
Extent: 8.5 linear feet (9 boxes)
Location: MS 7.11.3 - 7.11.6
Collection is comprised of the papers of Mike Malone, Nevada State Assemblyman and former Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Officer. Collection consists of newspaper clippings, campaign material, minute books, assembly and senate materials from the 1983 and 1989 legislative sessions. PARTIAL COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Malone, Theresa papers
Coll #: MS-00453
Date: 2001-2002
Extent: 0.42 linear feet (1 box)
Location: MS 9.10.6
The Theresa Malone Papers contain meeting records of the Nevada State Board of Education from 2001 to 2002, where she was chair of the government relations board. Included is material on the proposed closure of the Austin, Nevada elementary school and information on charter schools.
Link to Collection Guide

May, Paul Collection
Coll #: MS-00178
Date: 1969 - 1984
Extent: 1 record storage box and 2 document boxes
Location: MS 2:11:5
Collection is comprised of the papers of Paul May, who represented Las Vegas in the Nevada State Legislature. Collection contains correspondence, legislative documents, reports of taxation in Nevada, and invitations to casino and show openings, and community events. PARTIAL INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Mojave, Kern River, and El Dorado Natural Gas Pipeline Project
Coll #: MS-00671
Date: 1987-1988
Extent: 1.5 Linear Feet (4 boxes)
Location: B 1.3.2
The Mojave, Kern River, and El Dorado Natural Gas Pipeline Project Reports (1987-1988) include both the draft and final report published by the California State Lands Commission on the environmental impact of an interstate natural gas route. Potential routes in Southern Nevada are proposed in the project.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Commission on Tourism
Coll #: 97-01
Date: 1986-1990s
Extent: 2.0 linear feet
Location: 6:7:5 - 6:7:6
Collection consists of news clippings, magazine articles, and manuscripts regarding the Las Vegas office of the Nevada Commission on Tourism.

Nevada Library Directories, Statistics, and Handbook
Coll #: MS-00706
Date: 1954-1992
Location: B 2:2:3
The Nevada Library directories and statistics date from 1954 to 1992. The Library Association Handbook is dated December 31, 1987. Records were created by the Nevada State Library and Archives and its predecessor the Nevada State Library.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Motion PictureDivision
Coll #: MS5
Extent: 24 doc boxes
Location: 1:1:3 - 1:1:6
Collection is comprised of film scripts from the Motion Picture and Television Division of the Nevada Commission on Economic Development. All film and television scripts were set around Las Vegas or in the Nevada desert. Notable titles include "Vegas Vacation," "Honeymoon in Vegas," and "Leaving Las Vegas." INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nevada Power Company Rate Hike Records
Coll #: MS-00705
Date: 1983 October 17
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1:1:3
The Nevada Power Company Rate Hike Records contain questions and answers from the consumer hearing held in Carson City, Nevada on October 17, 1983.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Secretary of State Records
Coll #: MS-00704
Date: 1877-1974
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.4
The Nevada Secretary of State Records contain biennial reports for the years 1877-1892, 1897-1904, 1909-1910, 1919-1920,1940-1942, and 1947-1974. Material includes notary appointments and official records of the acts of the Nevada Legislature.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada State Highway Commission Reports
Coll #: MS-00703
Date: 1917-1972
Extent: 0.5 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 1.1.5
The Nevada State Highway Commission Reports (1917-1972) contain biennial reports regarding completed and planned projects of the Nevada Department of Highways.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada State Park System
Coll #: MS-00136
Date: 1863-1981
Extent: 1.2 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
Location: MS 1:11:6
The Nevada State Park System Records consist of materials produced or collected by the Nevada State Park System between 1863 and 1981. The collection includes records produced by the Park System while performing their interpretive mission as well as historic documents regarding properties owned by the organization.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada State Treasurer Annual Reports
Coll #: MS-00668
Date: 1867-1985
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1:3:1
The Nevada State Treasurer Annual Reports contains annual reports from the Office of the State Treasurer from 1867 to 1985. The collection of reports is not comprehensive; there are many gaps in the date ranges.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Superintendent of State Printing Reports
Coll #: MS-00707
Date: 1905-1970
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.2
The Nevada Superintendent of State Printing Reports contain biennial reports from 1905-1906, 1938-1940, 1951-1952, and 1961 through 1970. (Also called the Report of the State Printer for the years 1964 to 1966.) Material includes records of printing done for elected and appointed officials in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Wildlife Bulletin
Coll #: MS-00729
Date: 1960-1965
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.3
The Nevada Wildlife Bulletin was published monthly in Reno, Nevada by the Nevada Fish and Game Commission from 1960 to 1965. It covered activities of fishing and hunting around the state of Nevada. This collection includes Vol. 1 No. 3 for 1960; a complete run for 1962; and scattered issues from 1961, 1964, and 1965.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Wildlife Bulletin
Coll #: MS-00729
Date: 1960-1965
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.3
The Nevada Wildlife Bulletin was published monthly in Reno, Nevada by the Nevada Fish and Game Commission from 1960 to 1965. It covered activities of fishing and hunting around the state of Nevada. This collection includes Vol. 1 No. 3 for 1960; a complete run for 1962; and scattered issues from 1961, 1964, and 1965.
Link to Collection Guide

Parks, David R.
Coll #: 2000-14
Date: 1990-1999
Extent: 1.5 linear feet (2 boxes)
Location: MS 8.9.4, RS 2.5.3
Collection is comprised of a small selection of personal papers from Nevada's first openly-gay assemblyman, David R. Parks. Includes business records on the Camp David Bath House in Las Vegas and a campaign sign from Parks' 1996 campaign.

Pittman, Key Correspondence
Coll #: MS-00074
Date: 1933-1940
Extent: 0.1 linear feet (1 folder, 1 shared box)
Location: 1:1:1
The Key Pittman Correspondence spans 1933 to 1940 and consists of correspondence between U.S. Senator Key Pittman (via his clerk James A. White) and constituents who sent him books on a variety of subjects. The possibility of conflict in Europe is mentioned in some of the letters.
Link to Collection Guide

Poll tax [receipt] (State of Nevada)
Coll #: Mss13
Date: 1915
Extent: 1 folder (containing 1 item)
Location: 1:1:1
Consists of the poll tax receipt of Oscar Ikonen [Enonen?] from Esmeralda County, Nevada. The Poll Tax Collector is the Goldfield Consolidated Mines Co., and Clyde P. Johnson is listed as County Auditor. It is dated April 1, 1915.

Price, Bob
Coll #: MS-00246
Date: 1975 - 1980
Extent: 3 boxes
Location: MS 2:1:4
Collection is comprised of the legislative records of Nevada assemblyman Robert Price. Much of the collection concerns a legislative subcommittee appointed to investigate insurance practices in Nevada. Documents include clippings, letters, minutes, testimony, press releases and reports related to automobile insurance in Nevada. Other legislative concerns included in this collection relate to housing, flood control, fire protection, tax regulations, gaming regulations and the Nevada Gaming Commission. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Puerto Rico Administracion del Deporte Hipico Press Releases
Coll #: MS-00679
Date: 1970-1973
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1:4:1
The records consist primarily of press releases (January 1970-March 1973) from the Administracion del Deporte Hipico, the Puerto Rican government agency that oversees horse racing in that country. The press releases include general announcements and financial reports for 1969 through 1972. Also included are a few form letters mailed to the organization's supporters. The government agency was later renamed Administracion de la Industria del Deporte Hipico.
Link to Collection Guide

Robinson, Dr. Robert E. (Bob)
Coll #: MS-00416
Date: 1970-1986
Extent: 6 Linear Feet (6 boxes)
Location: MS 8:12:4, 8:12:5, 8:12:6, 9:12:6
The Robert E. Robinson Legislative Papers comprise materials relating to Robert Robinson's career in the Nevada State Legislature as an assemblyman and senator from 1970 to 1986. Papers include correspondence, assembly bill research, assembly bill proposals, assembly roll calls, and materials from special committee meetings from state assembly sessions. The collection also contains Robinson's campaign material, including financial disclosures, press releases, advertisements, and correspondence with the voters.
Link to Collection Guide

Sabbath, Dennis and Roberta Papers
Coll #: MS-00731
Date: 1970s-1991
Extent: 17 Digital Files
Location: Digital Collection
The Dennis and Roberta Sabbath papers are comprised of photographs, newspaper clippings, and ephemera created and collected by Dennis and Roberta Sabbath. Photographs and ephemera document the Sabbaths' personal and social lives and their involvement in the Jewish community in Las Vegas, Nevada. Newspaper clippings document the law career of Dennis Sabbath and his campaign for Nevada State Senate in 1986.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Schwartz, Howard Collection on Gaming
Coll #: MS-00104
Date: 1853, 1966-2010
Extent: 1.0 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.4
The Howard Schwartz Collection on Gaming documents the gaming industry in the United States from 1853, 1968-2010. The collection includes manuscripts, periodicals, newspaper articles, ephemera, profit and probability profiles and a report from the National Gambling Impact Study Commission.
Link to Collection Guide

State of Nevada Educational Directories, Bulletins, and Certification Requirements
Coll #: MS-00700
Date: 1938-1977
Extent: 1.0 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
Location: B 1:1:3
The State of Nevada Educational Directories, Bulletins, and Certification Requirements (1938-1977) contain bi-monthly bulletins, yearly directories, information to certify teachers, and retirement salaries.
Link to Collection Guide

State of Nevada Educational Directories, Bulletins, and Certification Requirements
Coll #: MS-00700
Date: 1938-1977
Extent: 1.0 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
Location: B 1:1:3
The State of Nevada Educational Directories, Bulletins, and Certification Requirements (1938-1977) contain bi-monthly bulletins, yearly directories, information to certify teachers, and retirement salaries.
Link to Collection Guide

State of Nevada-Water Resources Reconnaissance Records
Coll #: MS-00699
Date: 1935-1968
Extent: 0.85 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 1:1:3
The State of Nevada Water-Resources Reconnaissance Records (1935-1968) contain studies and appraisals of ground water resources in the lakes and valleys of various Nevada counties. The documents were created by the Nevada Division of Water Resources.
Link to Collection Guide

State of Nevada-Water Resources Reconnaissance Records
Coll #: MS-00699
Date: 1935-1968
Extent: 0.85 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 1:1:3
The State of Nevada Water-Resources Reconnaissance Records (1935-1968) contain studies and appraisals of ground water resources in the lakes and valleys of various Nevada counties. The documents were created by the Nevada Division of Water Resources.
Link to Collection Guide

Page 1 of 2

1  2  Next