Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Gaming


Total manuscripts: 75

Page 2 of 2

Previous   1  2  
Revere, Lawrence
Coll #: MS-00064
Date: 1965 -1970
Extent: 0.1 Linear Feet (7 folders (shared box))
Location: 1:1:1
The Lawrence Revere Papers primarily consist of correspondence between Lawrence Revere and the developers of blackjack betting systems dating from 1965 to 1970. The collection includes information about blackjack gambling systems, correspondence with gambling experts, and press material regarding the publication of Revere's book Playing Blackjack as a Business.
Link to Collection Guide

Ron Saccavino Papers
Coll #: MS-00780
Date: 1999-2005
Extent: 0.25 linear feet (1 box)
Location: MS 11.11.4
The Ron Saccavino Papers (1999-2005) contain a book written by Saccavino in 1999 titled Everything You Want to Know About Las Vegas Dealers, a Dealer of the Year information packet, and three copies of "The Dealers News" newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide

Ron Saccavino Papers
Coll #: MS-00780
Date: 1999-2005
Extent: 0.25 linear feet (1 box)
Location: MS 11.11.4
The Ron Saccavino Papers (1999-2005) contain a book written by Saccavino in 1999 titled Everything You Want to Know About Las Vegas Dealers, a Dealer of the Year information packet, and three copies of "The Dealers News" newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide

Sarno, Jay
Coll #: 2009-03
Date: 1965-2001 (bulk 1966-1973)
Extent: 3.7 linear feet (2 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
Location: MS 13.8.4, MS Map Case 11:I
Related Materials: 0347
This collection is comprised primarily of publicity and promotional materials documenting the Caesars Palace Hotel and Casino Resort and the Circus Circus Hotel and Casino Resort. Both resorts were the brainchild of hotel and casino developer Jay Sarno, and there is a small amount of material on Sarno in the collection such as newspaper clippings and a press release. The collection includes property ephemera, magazine and newspaper clippings, informational brochures from the two properties and press kits. There is a small amount of correspondence but none that was actually composed by Sarno. It also includes a rare prospectus and stock offerings on Sarno�s never-realized Grandissimo Hotel and Casino resort that was to have been built on Interstate 15 to the west of the Las Vegas Strip. FINDING AID AVAILABLE
Link to Collection Guide

Schwartz, Howard Collection on Gaming
Coll #: MS-00104
Date: 1853, 1966-2010
Extent: 1.0 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.4
The Howard Schwartz Collection on Gaming documents the gaming industry in the United States from 1853, 1968-2010. The collection includes manuscripts, periodicals, newspaper articles, ephemera, profit and probability profiles and a report from the National Gambling Impact Study Commission.
Link to Collection Guide

Schwartz, Howard Collection on Gaming
Coll #: MS-00104
Date: 1853, 1966-2010
Extent: 1.0 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.4
The Howard Schwartz Collection on Gaming documents the gaming industry in the United States from 1853, 1968-2010. The collection includes manuscripts, periodicals, newspaper articles, ephemera, profit and probability profiles and a report from the National Gambling Impact Study Commission.
Link to Collection Guide

Schwartz, Sonny
Coll #: MS-00433
Date: 1928-1998
Extent: 6.8 Linear Feet (15 boxes)
Location: 9:4:1 - 9:4:3
The Sonny Schwartz Collection documents the career of New Jersey journalist and radio personality Sonny Schwartz from 1928 to 1998. The collection primarily consists of tapes of Schwartz's radio program, Dateline Atlantic City, and his interviews with musicians, comedians, and other entertainers. The collection also contains an assortment of radio programming featuring performers like Frank Sinatra and Bill Cosby. Also included are Schwartz's columns from the Press of Atlantic City.
Link to Collection Guide

Scientific Games Holding Corporation
Coll #: MS-00686
Date: 1993-1996
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.2.6
The collection contains press releases, a press kit, and financial research from Scientific Games Holding Corporation, an instant lottery ticket manufacturer based in Alpharetta, Georgia. The records date from 1993 to 1996.
Link to Collection Guide

Shapiro, S. R.
Coll #: 1016
Date: ca 1800 - 1960
Extent: 1.7 linear feet (1 box, 1 oversize folder)
Location: MS 1.1.2, MS Map Case 11:N
Collection contains a wide variety of gambling memorabilia and gaming instructions and pamphlets from casinos around the world: Venice, Monte Carlo, Curacao, Paris, Miami, Las Vegas, Panama, Mexico and Aruba. There is also a copy of a French natural history book entitled Memoires de la Societe D'Histoire Naturelle de Paris dated either 1799 or 1807. Inside the book are attached ads and lottery announcements from English Newspapers dating from 1811 to 1816.

Smith, Benjamin Franklin
Coll #: MS-00080
Date: ca. 1960s
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of (photocopied typescript) the autobiography of professional gambler Benjamin Franklin Smith, ("Lady Luck and I") who gained fame after creating a system to beat the blackjack tables, and newsclippings about Smith from Las Vegas newspapers.

Stardust Hotel and Casino
Coll #: 2006-17
Date: 1958-2006 (bulk 1988-2006)
Extent: 312 boxes (219 linear ft)
Location: LASR, MS 11.10.1 - 11.10.6
Collection is comprised of public relations and marketing materials from the Stardust Hotel and Casino. It includes documents, photographs, video, artifacts, ephemera, internal and external publications. There is material from the following departments or events: food and beverage, slot club, sports, special events, tournaments, and drawings. In addition, there is extensive documentation on the hotel's entertainment efforts such as Lido de Paris, Enter the Night, Wayne Newton and others. Historical files on the Stardust Hotel and general information on Boyd Gaming are also included in the collection. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Stocker, Harold & Mayme
Coll #: T63
Date: 1860 - 1982
Extent: 11 boxes; 6 linear ft.
Location: 1:12:1 - 1:12:2 Roller Shelf 1.7.3
Related Materials: 0006
The collection of Oscar and Mayme Stocker and their sons Lester, Clarence, and Harold. The Stockers settled in Las Vegas in 1911 where Mayme was the first person to receive a gaming license in 1931 when she opened the Northern Club. Collection consists of news clippings, correspondence, and bank statements. The business and legal series consists mainly of Harold's papers from 1930-1977, and includes deeds, leases, business agreements, and Chief Hotel Court statements and room accounts. There is also material dealing with family history and their interests and activities, and political documents which cover Harold Stocker's Republican Party activities from 1939-1976, including party publications, newspaper clippings, correspondence, and bank statements.
Link to Collection Guide

Tobin, Phil
Coll #: Mss10
Date: 1974
Extent: 1 folder (containing 2 pages)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of correspondence between Phil M. Tobin and Susan J. Anderl [Jarvis] [former Special Collections Librarian], 1974 Apr. 30 and May 10, documenting loss of Tobin manuscripts relating to passage of the AB 98 which legalized gambling in Nevada in 1931.

Tony Wuehle Collection
Coll #: MS-00522
Date: 1950-2007
Extent: 4 Linear Feet (4 boxes)
Location: MS 11.12.3 - 11.12.4
The Tony Wuehle Collection documents the activities of freelance writer, college president, and poker expert Edwin "Tony" Wuehle of Michigan and Las Vegas, Nevada, between the years of 1950 to 2007. The collection consists of copies of Wuehle's regular columns, newsletters, and special articles as they were published in various journals and newspapers, especially those related to poker, the International Home and Private Poker Player's Association (IH3PA), education administration, and religious concerns.
Link to Collection Guide

Trump Taj Mahal Press Clippings
Coll #: 2001-10
Extent: 5 document boxes
Location: 9:1:6
Collection contains the press clippings from numerous papers regarding the Trump Taj Mahal Hotel/Casino in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

University of Nevada, Las Vegas Collection of Transcripts and Journal Articles about Gambling
Coll #: MS-00730
Date: 1987-1992
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1:2:4
Collection contains transcripts from various American television news programs and journal articles about gambling from 1987 to 1992. The topics are broad and include various forms of gambling, problem gambling, and gaming venues.
Link to Collection Guide

UNLV University Libraries Collection of Gaming Ephemera
Coll #: MS-00110
Date: 1898-1993
Extent: 0.4 linear feet (1 box)
Location: MS 2:6:5
The UNLV University Libraries Collection of Gaming Ephemera (1898-1993) is a diverse collection that includes promotional material from casinos in Europe, Mexico, the Bahamas, and the United States. The collection also contains information on gaming legislation in Europe and the United States, writings on gambling systems, gaming tickets, and various pamphlets on how to play different games such as roulette and bacharach. The collection holds several decks of souvenir playing cards, dice, and buttons.
Link to Collection Guide

UNLV University Libraries Collection on International Lotteries
Coll #: MS-00619
Date: 1714-1980
Extent: 1.3 linear feet (1 box)
Location: RS 1:6:5
The UNLV University Libraries Collection on International Lotteries is comprised of lottery tickets, advertisements, prize breakdowns and drawing schedules from around the world, dating from 1714 to 1979. A bulk of the materials come from the United States and Europe and are from the 1800s to the 1900s.
Link to Collection Guide

UNLV University Libraries Collection on Nevada Gaming Fiftieth
Coll #: MS-00214
Date: 1981
Extent: 0.3 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 2:3:1
The Nevada Gaming Fiftieth Anniversary collection consists of materials dating from 1981 related to the fiftieth anniversary of the legalization of gaming in the state of Nevada. Included in the collection are programs, invitations, and memorabilia commemorating the fiftieth anniversary that were collected by the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Special Collections.
Link to Collection Guide

Vervilos, Aikaterine
Coll #: MS-00554
Date: 1962-2001
Extent: 2.75 linear feet (7 boxes)
Location: 12:11:3 - 12:11:4
Collection is comprised of gaming materials collected by Aikaterine Vervilos, an Arizona attorney, for a UNR master's thesis, "Public policy and the new casino gaming markets." Collection contains books on gambling law and horseracing; reports, legal documents, and studies related to gaming, particularly horseracing and Indian gaming in the United States.

Walter Gibson Typescripts of Books on Gambling
Coll #: MS-00370
Date: 1940s
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.4.5
The Walter Gibson Typescripts of Books on Gambling consist of manuscripts written by Walter Gibson for Sidney Radner in the 1940s. The collection includes three typescript copies of manuscripts titled, So you Want to be a Crapshooter? Or All Craps are Crooked; Poker and How to Play It; and How Gamblers Win at Cards. There are handwritten notes on the typescripts.
Link to Collection Guide

Walter Gibson Typescripts of Books on Gambling
Coll #: MS-00370
Date: 1940s
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.4.5
The Walter Gibson Typescripts of Books on Gambling consist of manuscripts written by Walter Gibson for Sidney Radner in the 1940s. The collection includes three typescript copies of manuscripts titled, So you Want to be a Crapshooter? Or All Craps are Crooked; Poker and How to Play It; and How Gamblers Win at Cards. There are handwritten notes on the typescripts.
Link to Collection Guide

Watts, Frank F. Collection of Casino Memorabilia
Coll #: MS-00255
Date: 1880-1990
Extent: 0.4 linear feet (1 box)
Location: MS 1:8:1
The Frank F. Watts Collection of Casino Memorabilia (1880-1990) primarily consists of gaming tokens and chips, matchbooks, and other memorabilia from Nevada and international casinos. The collection also contains items related to early Northern Nevada history including a salt ledger from 1880 as well as a wanted poster from 1913.
Link to Collection Guide

Willard, Bill
Coll #: MS 2001-17
Date: 1887-1999 (inclusive)
Extent: 52 document boxes (28.48 linear feet)
Location: MS 9:4:4 - 9:5:6
Related Materials: 0333
This collection is comprised of the personal papers of noted Las Vegas entertainment writer, producer, and critic Bill Willard. It is a comprehensive collection that contains material on his father's theater and political involvements as well as Willard's early childhood and high school years. His time in the Army is chronicled by editorials and correspondence he wrote. From his arrival in Las Vegas in 1949, this collection traces his continued involvement in all facets of writing, entertainment, and art, culminating in his final contribution of directing the Arnold Shaw Popular Music Research Center. The collection includes pictures of his artwork, writings he did for various newspapers and magazines, scripts, skits, jokes, awards, over 700 interviews done for the "Rap with the Artist" series, plus personal memorabilia. COLLECTION FORMS PART OF ARNOLD SHAW ARCHIVES.
Link to Collection Guide

William Thompson Collection on International Gaming
Coll #: MS-00284
Date: 1965-1996
Extent: 10.4 linear feet (22 boxes)
Location: A 4.6.4 - A 4.6.7
The William Thompson Collection on International Gaming contains documents and ephemera concerning gaming in European and Latin American countries from 1965 to 1996. The collection was compiled by William Thompson, professor emeritus of public administration at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The collection includes ephemera from European casinos, several of William Thompson's publications on international gaming, research notes, international magazines and articles about gaming, and reports published on legalizing gambling in Alberta, Canada and Detroit, Michigan.
Link to Collection Guide

Page 2 of 2

Previous   1  2