Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Engineering

Total manuscripts: 10

Baker, C.D. Engineering Field Notebooks
Coll #: MS-00272
Date: 1909 -1965
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage boxes)
Location: MS 3:3:6 - 3:4:1
Collection is comprised of the field notebooks of Charles Duncan (CD) Baker, City Engineer and County Surveyor, responsible for planning and supervising most downtown Las Vegas street construction prior to WWII. Baker later served as Las Vegas mayor and Nevada assemblyman and senator. The field notebooks contain survey coordinates and elevation data for much of early Las Vegas. The notebooks provide important information on early property boundaries, historical elevations and lengths of existing streets at the time. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Baker, C.D. Engineering Field Notebooks
Coll #: MS-00272
Date: 1909-1966
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (4 boxes)
Location: 3:3:6 - 3:4:1
The C.D. Baker Engineering Field Notebooks are comprised of the notebooks and informational texts Charles Duncan "C.D." Baker created and used between 1909 and 1966 while he served as the County Surveyor for Clark County, Nevada and the City Engineer for Las Vegas, Nevada. The field notebooks contain survey coordinates and elevation data for much of early Las Vegas and provide important information on early property boundaries, historical elevations, and lengths of existing streets from the 1920s to the 1960s.
Link to Collection Guide

Brown, Harlan Papers
Coll #: MS-00107
Date: 1943-1956
Extent: 0.25 linear feet (1 box)
Location: 1:1:2
The Harlan Brown Papers (1943-1956) contain a mimeographed copy of the index to the Las Vegas City Charter (1943), a Chicago Tribune newspaper (1952 August 12) focusing on engineers and their achievements, and official drawings of lots and additions in the Greater Las Vegas housing development. The drawings were approved with Harlan Brown's signature of approval as a registered professional engineer in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Campbell, John F. papers
Coll #: MS-00532
Date: 1964-2004
Extent: 3 Linear Feet (4 boxes, 1 flat file)
Location: MS 11.9.5, Map Case 11:C, RS 2.5.8
The John F. Campbell Papers (1964-2004) are comprised of material from his 27 years working at the Nevada Test Site (NTS) as an engineer and mine supervisor. Included is information about the various tunnels used for nuclear testing that Campbell worked on, completion schedules, maps, and photographs. Also included are newspaper clippings, newsletters, bulletins, and pamphlets connected with or relating to the Test Site. There are awards, correspondence, and medical papers that reference illnesses of Test Site workers.
Link to Collection Guide

Clary, Ernest
Coll #: Mss21
Date: 1944
Extent: 1 folder (containing 51 items -- text, maps, illustrations)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection contains a history (typescript) of the Civil Engineering unit of Basic Magnesium Incorporated (BMI) with text, figures,maps, and blueprints. It also contains a newspaper article "Caught on the Run", a humorous article—political commentary about the work ethic of the Los Angeles City Hall employees.

Fayle Family Papers
Coll #: 98-18, 2009-18
Date: 1900-1983
Extent: 21.8 linear feet (25 boxes, 2 flat files)
Location: MS 7.10.2 - 7.11.2, RS 2.2.3, MS Map Case 11:G
Collection consists of the personal and business papers of the Fayle family of Goodsprings, Nevada, including patriarch George Fayle and wife Jean, and son Leonard Fayle, and his wife, Anna. Collection contains documents relating to their business, civic and personal activities and includes correspondence, hotel registers, account books, quit claim deeds, mine records, and photographs. Extensive documentation on the Yellow Pine Mine.
Link to Collection Guide

Ives, Joseph C. Personal Correspondence
Coll #: MS-00079
Date: 1857-1858
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (1 folder, shared box)
Location: 1:1:1
The Joseph C. Ives Personal Correspondence consists of 17 letters (photocopies) between United States Army Corps of Topographic Engineers Lt. Joseph C. Ives and his wife, Cora Semmes Ives, between September 1857 and June 1858. Ives was in command of a U.S. Army expedition whose mission was to explore the region of the Colorado River and the Grand Canyon, and to establish the limit of navigation of the Colorado River. The correspondence is largely personal in nature, however, it is a useful supplement to the official report documenting the voyage, "Report upon the Colorado River of the West; Explored in 1857-1858."
Link to Collection Guide

Malone, George
Coll #: Mss37
Date: 1928 -1933
Extent: 1 folder (containged343 items, bound)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of one bound volume of letters, documents, speeches, reports and maps pertaining to George W. Malone's position as Nevada State Engineer; National Executive Committeeman, American Legion; President, Association of Western Engineers; Secretary, Colorado River Commission; member, Nevada State Range Commission.

McWilliams, Iona (Mrs. J. T.)
Coll #: T62
Date: 1936 - 1960
Extent: 3 boxes; 15 linear inches
Location: 1:11:6
Related Materials: 025
Collection is comprised of the papers of Las Vegas pioneers J.T. McWilliams and wife Iona McWilliams. J.T. McWilliams, a surveyor and civil engineer, founded the original Las Vegas townsite ("McWilliams Town") and owned a large portion of Lee Canyon, much of which he donated to become a public park. Collection is comprised of McWilliams financial ledgers from 1905 listing property sales by block and lot in the original Las Vegas townsite, expenses and a copy of the deed to his Goodsprings property. Other items include receipts, correspondence photographs, maps (including those of the original Las Vegas townsite), ads for McWilliams maps, and surveying manuals.

Wieking, Henry C.
Coll #: 1031-2
Date: 1932
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2 Roller Shelf 1.5.2
Related Materials: 0009
Collection consists of the personal recollections (including daily journal pages) of Henry C. Wieking, foreman at the BLM's Concrete Testing Laboratory, the agency charged with screening the gravel that was used to make the concrete for Hoover Dam. Also contains newspaper clippings and a BLM memorandum. Wieking writes of the lab established at the Las Vegas Fort in the early 1930s.