Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Culinary


Total manuscripts: 11

Bohn-Bettoni Menu Collection
Coll #: MS-00793
Date: approximately 1880s-1930s
Extent: 9.3 linear feet (12 boxes)
Location: 13:1:1 - 13:1:5
This collection is comprised of 19th and early 20th century menus from across the United States and Europe. It was purchased from Mrs. Marion Bohn Knutson, the daughter of Henry J. Bohn, owner, publisher and editor of The Hotel World magazine in Chicago from 1879 until his death in 1930. Henry Bohn had purchased Henri Bettoni's Recueil de Menus to add to his own personal collection. Henri Bettoni was a London restaurateur of the late 19th century, manager of a number of London restaurants including the Tracadero, Kuhn's, Kissel's Tivoli, the Globe, and the Savoy Hotel. He had also managed Haxell's Hotel in Brighton. The Bohn-Bettoni Collection comprised approximately 1500 menus dating from 1874 to 1933. Bohn's own collection derived principally from the American Midwest while the Bettoni collection was predominantly British and French with examples from German and other European cities. The Bettoni Collection was pasted in a large leather-bound volume. The bulk of Bohn's collection were likewise pasted into scrapbooks, but a large number of menus remained loose.
View Select Materials Online

Frank's Cafe
Coll #: Mss24
Date: n.d.
Extent: 1 folder (containing 1 item)
Location: 1:1:1
Consists of a discount ticket for Frank's Cafe, $2.50 for $2.25, 122 South First St., Las Vegas, Nev. sold to Jose A. Ramos, signed F. Rivero.

Harris, Basil Scrapbook
Coll #: 95-23
Date: ca. 1940s-1960s
Extent: 1.34 linear feet (1 oversize flat box)
Location: Roller Shelf 2:1:3
Collection consists of a scrapbook on the Las Vegas Strip from the 1940s-1960s consisting of cocktail napkins, show programs, menus, swizzle sticks, postcards from a number of different hotel/casinos including the Flamingo, the Sands, the El Rancho, and the Last Frontier.

Hart, Nat Professional Papers
Coll #: MS-00419
Date: 1945-2000
Extent: 88.8 Linear Feet (19 boxes, 5 oversize boxes, 6 oversize framed items, 10 flat files)
Location: MS 8.7.1, MS 8.8.1 - 8.8.6, MS 8.9.4 - 8.9.6; Roller Shelf 2:2:7 - 2:3:1, MS Map Case 11:D, 11:E, Annex B Southwest Corner (floor)
The Nat Hart Professional Papers contain the business records, personal papers, and photographs of Las Vegas, Nevada chef and restaurateur Nat Hart, who served as the Corporate Vice President of Food and Beverage for Caesars World in the 1970s and 1980s. Papers date from 1945 to 2000 and include restaurant training and service manuals, business proposals, architectural drawings, recipe cards and cookbooks, menu specifications, photographs, scrapbooks, awards, news releases, and correspondence.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Heffner, Van V.
Coll #: 93-34
Date: 1980s-1990s
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage boxes)
Location: 4:7:6
Collection contains the convention programs for Nevada Lodgings (for the Nevada Hotel and Motel Association) annual meetings and the Chef of the Year convention, and the Food Executive Newsletter, Nevada Hospitality, Nevada Lodging, International Food Service Executive Association Magazine and other culinary and lodging/management publications.

International Food Service Executives Association Records
Coll #: MS-00305
Date: 1916-2010
Extent: 144 linear feet (150 boxes)
Location: LASR, RS 2.1.1, RS 2.5.7, A 1.6.3, Map Case 11:N
Dedicated to the hospitality industry, the International Food Service Executive Association (IFSEA) records are comprised of meeting programs, minutes, menus, conference reports and proceedings, financial reports, newsletters, award certificates, scrapbooks, and stewards and caterers records from 1916 to 2010.
Link to Collection Guide

Lanegrasse, Vern
Coll #: MS-00295
Date: 1962-1988
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 2.1.4
The Vern Lanegrasse Collection of Culinary Ephemera (1962-1988) consists of menus, programs, and magazines from various restaurants and culinary events in Las Vegas, Nevada and Los Angeles, California. Items were collected by food aficionado Vern Lannegrasse.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Hotel Menus Collection
Date: ca. 1950s-1980s
Extent: 9 oversize flat boxes
Location: Oversize Shelves and Roller Shelf
This is an artificial collection comprised of a selection of menus from restaurants that were housed in various Las Vegas Strip hotels. It includes menus from restaurants in many prominent hotels, including Caesars Palace, Desert Inn, Dunes, Flamingo, Last Frontier, New Frontier, Holiday Inn,Landmark, MGM Grand, Riviera, Sahara, Sands, Stardust, and the Tropicana. Restaurants from other hotels off the Strip are included as well. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
View Select Materials Online

Olmstead, Vern
Coll #: MS8
Extent: 69 doc boxes, 6 record storage boxes
Location: LASR
Collection consists of Olmstead's materials on meat cutting, marketing, and production. There are a number of books in the collection. INVENTORY AVAILABLE NOTE: THIS COLLECTION IS STORED IN LIED LIBRARYíS LASR SYSTEM, PLEASE CALL AHEAD TO OBTAIN BOXES.

Shaw, James C. Collection on Hotel Dining
Coll #: MS-00264
Date: 1980-1990
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 3:2:3
The James C. Shaw Collection on Hotel Dining consists of materials related to dining at hotels in Las Vegas, Nevada and in other North American cities during the 1980s. The collection features room service menus, hotel restaurant menus, and information regarding banquet services.
Link to Collection Guide

Stevens, Muriel papers
Coll #: MS-00269
Date: 1969-2002
Extent: 32.4 Linear Feet (3 boxes, 1 shared box; videotapes shelved)
Location: Papers: 3.3.4, A-02.07.4; Videotapes: B 4.1.2-4.1.7, B 4.2.2-4.2.4, 4.3.2
The Muriel Stevens Papers (1969-2002) mainly consist of materials documenting Stevens' career as a television cooking show host and newspaper columnist in Las Vegas, Nevada. Newspaper articles, correspondence, ephemera, certificates, and photographs provide information about her career, and to a lesser extent, her personal life. The collection also includes publications and records documenting the Nevada State Dairy Commission and the Las Vegas hospitality industry. The Video Recordings series consists mainly of episodes of the Muriel Stevens Show.
Link to Collection Guide