Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Clubs/Organizations

Total manuscripts: 129

Page 3 of 3

|<<   Previous   1  2  3  
Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00526
Date: 1994-2002
Extent: 0.2 linear (1 box)
Location: MS 12.11.4
The Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada (PLAN) records span the years 1994 to 2002 and are comprised of material documenting the organization's involvment in gay issues in Las Vegas, Nevada. PLAN was founded in 1994 as the umbrella organization for Nevada's progressive groups and institutions. This collection is comprised of material documenting the Minority Status and Child Protection Act of 1994 and the Coalition for Unity and Equal Rights Nevada, and contains a number of files from that effort, including opinion surveys, meeting agendas and campaign plans.
Link to Collection Guide

Raben, Barbara Collection on the Las Vegas Jewish Community
Coll #: MS-00655
Date: 1976-2015
Extent: 8.9 Linear Feet (2 boxes, 2 oversize boxes, and 1 flat file)
Location: Annex B 1:5:7, Annex B IS 1:5:4, MS Map Case 11:K
Related Materials: MS-00386, MS-00426, OH-02278
Collection is comprised of materials (1976-2015) collected by Barbara Raben that document her personal life and her involvement with the Las Vegas Jewish community, specifically Hadassah Southern Nevada Chapter and the Jewish Family Service Agency (JFSA) of Clark County, Nevada. Hadassah and JFSA records make up the bulk of the collection and mainly consist of photographs and programs from events held by the organizations. Four Hadassah scrapbooks document the group's activities and events during the 1970s, 1990s, and first decade of the 21st century. A JFSA report provides an overview of the organization from 2013 to 2014. A small amount of personal papers document Raben's store The Candy Factory and her graduation from the Florence Melton School of Adult Jewish Learning in 2013.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Red Rock Audubon Society
Coll #: 97-13
Date: 1983-1996
Extent: 1 slim doc ument box (.21 linear feet)
Location: 6:6:2
Collection consists primarily of issues of the Rock Wren, the newsletter of the Red Rock Audubon Society. There are a few items relating to the National Audubon Society as well.

Republican Women of Las Vegas, Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00371
Date: 1953-1992
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 2:3:5
The collection is comprised of the records of the Republican Women of Las Vegas, Nevada dating from 1953 to 1992. The collection includes scrapbooks, photographs, invitations, fliers, magazines, and awards.
Link to Collection Guide

Rhodine, George
Coll #: T95
Date: 1974 -1976
Extent: 2 record storage boxes (2 linear feet)
Location: 2:11:4
The George Rhodine collection focuses primarily on the US Bicentennial celebrations, both nationally and locally. It contains a variety of news clippings, correspondence, publications and articles. A portion of the collection includes items on juvenile delinquency, ERA, parenthood and community service.

Schuster, Henry and Anita
Coll #: MS-00580
Extent: 5 Linear Feet (3 boxes and 2 oversize boxes)
Location: 12:4:1 and 12:4:3
Collection is comprised of correspondence, speeches, essays, meeting minutes, photographs, research materials, publications, press clippings, awards, and event programs (1941-2011) that document the life of Henry Schuster, and his work with his wife Anita. Materials are mainly related to the Holocaust and to Holocaust memory and survivor organizations (especially the Holocaust Survivor's Group of Southern Nevada, which the couple founded, and L'(Euvre de Secours aux Enfants). Genealogical information is also included, as well as records of Henry Schuster's time in the U.S. Army and his studies at the Manhattan Technical Institute.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Service League [Las Vegas]
Coll #: Roller Shelf
Date: 1948-1970
Extent: 4 oversize boxes, 4 double oversize boxes (6.68 linear feet)
Location: Roller Shelf 1:4:1 - 1:4:3
Collection consists of the Las Vegas Service League scrapbooks containing newspaper articles about the members, various charitable acts performed by the league and league gatherings. (see also Junior League of Las Vegas collection 97-12 and the Junior Service League of Las Vegas on the roller shelf)

Shade Tree Shelter
Coll #: 96-006
Date: 1990 - 1994
Extent: 3 record storage boxes ( 3.75 linear feet)
Location: 5:3:1 - 5:3:2
The Shade Tree is a Las Vegas-based homeless shelter for women and women with children. The Shade Tree Collection contains staff logbooks for 1991 - 1994 and volunteer journals for 1990 - 1991 for this women's and children' safe house.

Shepp, Helen
Coll #: 85-085
Date: 1953-1962
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 2:1:3
Collection contains copies of the Navy Mothers Newsletter, a charitable organization that raised money for scholarships, visited lonely people in the hospital, and performed other community activities, and copies of applications and correspondence regarding membership to the American Association of the United Nations.

Sierra Club Records � Toiyabe Chapter, Southern Nevada Group
Coll #: 87-96
Date: bulk, 1980-1997 (inclusive, 1970-2003)
Extent: 13.7 linear feet (4 document boxes and 12 record storage cartons)
Location: 3:7:3-3:8:2
The Sierra Club Collection at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is composed of files from Sierra Club officers and activists in the Southern Nevada (formerly Las Vegas) Group of the Toiyabe Chapter. A major portion of the archive comes from the work of Jeff van Ee, who has been active in the Sierra Club in Nevada since the early 1970s. The collection documents the involvement of the Southern Nevada Group in a variety of environmental issues. Comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agenda, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, resolutions, and general information, the collection showcases the variety of environmental issues in which the chapter has expressed interest. Due to the group�s location in the heart of the Mojave Desert, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased acceptance of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide

Soroptimist International of Henderson/Green Valley Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00359
Date: 1980-2004
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 2:3:4
Soroptimist International Henderson / Green Valley Chapter Records from 1980 to 2004 include meeting minutes, programs, photographs, conference materials, promotional material for various fund raisers, awards, and a gavel.
Link to Collection Guide

Southern Nevada Antique Bottle Club
Coll #: T160
Date: 1967 - 1975
Extent: 1document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 2:3:2
Collection is comprised of the organizational records of the Southern Nevada Antique Bottle Club and includes membership information and newsletters.

Southern Nevada Community Concerts Association Records
Coll #: MS-00543
Date: 1939-2004
Extent: 11.9 linear feet (14 boxes)
Location: MS 12.11.1 - 12.11.3, RS 2.4.8
The Southern Nevada Community Concerts Association (SNCCA) Records consist of materials documenting the activities of the SNCCA from 1939 until 2004 (bulk, 1986-2004). The SNCCA worked to bring various singers, orchestras, and ballets to the communities of Las Vegas and Southern Nevada. The materials include minutes, financial records, correspondence, promotional papers, and scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide

Southern Nevada Historical Society
Coll #: MS-00205
Date: 1948-1983
Extent: 2.10 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
Location: 2:4:4
The Southern Nevada Historical Society Records document the management and development of the Southern Nevada Historical Society (SNHS) as well as various historical projects in Las Vegas and Southern Nevada that the society sponsored from 1948 to 1983. The records include SNHS correspondence (1951-1978), meeting minutes(1958-1983), and accounting information (1959-1980). It also contains copies of the SNHS Backtrails Newsletter, promotional material for events, membership lists, and research materials for various projects related to the history of southern Nevada and Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Southern Nevada Women's Political Caucus
Coll #: 94-46
Date: 1983 - 1984
Extent: 2 document boxes (.84 linear feet)
Location: 4:5:4
The Southern Nevada Women's Political Caucus was a chapter of the National Women's Political Caucus. It was active in child care issues and in aiding women who desired to be elected to public office. The collection contains two small boxes pertaining to their activities from 1983 - 1984. There are also a number of documents pertaining to the national organization dating back to the 1970s.
Link to Collection Guide

Southwest Oral History Association Records
Coll #: MS-00559
Date: 1981-2014
Extent: 6 linear feet (14 boxes)
Location: MS 13.8.1 - 13.8.3
The records chronicle the Southwest Oral History Association (SOHA) from its founding in 1981 until the present. Included are agendas, executive board and general meeting minutes, projects, financial records, correspondence, photographs, and yearly conference information.
Link to Collection Guide

Stand Out for Equality Records
Coll #: 2012-01
Date: approximately 2008-2011
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 box)
Location: MS 10.6.6
Collection is comprised of organizational records of Stand Out for Equality a Las Vegas-based LGBT activist organization formed to advocate for gay marriage rights and other LGBT-friendly legislation in Nevada. Inventory Available.

Sternberg, Gary Papers
Coll #: MS-00717
Date: 1983-2015
Extent: 12 Digital Files transferred electronically; no physical carrier
Location: To access the entire collection click the link below entitled, "View Select Materials Online."
The Gary Sternberg Papers are comprised of correspondence, publications, and videos documenting Sternberg's involvement with the Las Vegas Jewish community from 1983 to 2015. Organizations represented in the collection include Congregation Ner Tamid and the Holocaust Survivors Group of Southern Nevada. Also included are digital photographs of Sternberg in 2015 wearing his Caesars Palace dealer's uniform.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Stuckey, Evelyn
Coll #: 86-056
Date: 1949 - 1969
Extent: 8 linear ft
Location: 3:2:6 Roller Shelf 1.8.2
Related Materials: 0284
The Evelyn Stuckey Collection focuses on the Las Vegas Rhythmettes, a unique dance/pep club for girls that was active at Las Vegas High School in the 1950s and 1960s. It includes news clippings, magazine articles, photographs, correspondence and a number of other documents pertaining to Rhythmettes founder Evelyn Stuckey and the Rhythmettes organization.
Link to Collection Guide

Temple Beth Sholom Records
Coll #: MS-00711
Date: 1945-2015
Extent: 12.5 linear feet (8 boxes, 4 oversize boxes) ; 198 digital files
Location: B 1.6.3, B 1.6.4, B 1.6.5, B 1.5.3
The records of Temple Beth Sholom date from 1945 to 2015 and include scrapbooks, photographs, bulletins, meeting minutes, by-laws, correspondence, and publications. The collection contains documentation of the Board of Directors, the Sisterhood, the Men's Club, the history of the congregation, events held by the temple, and construction of the temple building in Summerlin in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

U - Wah - Un Study Club Collection
Coll #: MS-00198
Date: 1919 - 1987
Extent: 2 doc boxes
Location: MS 2:8:5
The U - Wah - Un Study Club was a women's literary club formed in Las Vegas in 1919. The collection covers activities of the club from its founding to 1987 and includes year books, a scrapbook, financial records, minutes and biographies. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE
Link to Collection Guide

Union of Black Episcopalians Las Vegas Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00739
Date: 1993-2015
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 2:3:4
The Union of Black Episcopalians Las Vegas Chapter Records, dating from 1993 to 2014, contain the organization's charter, bylaws, constitution, awards, Kwanzaa activities, the teachings of Absalom Jones, photographs, and sponsored activities.
Link to Collection Guide

Union of Black Episcopalians Las Vegas Chapter Records
Coll #: MS-00739
Date: 1993-2015
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 2:3:4
The Union of Black Episcopalians Las Vegas Chapter Records, dating from 1993 to 2014, contain the organization's charter, bylaws, constitution, awards, Kwanzaa activities, the teachings of Absalom Jones, photographs, and sponsored activities.
Link to Collection Guide

Valder, Ann
Coll #: 90-060
Date: 1950-1983
Extent: 1.7 linear feet (5 boxes)
Location: MS 4:10:6
Collection is comprised of the papers of Ann Valder, a journalist who wrote for the Las Vegas Sun. Collection contains a variety of articles written by Ann Valder, personal correspondence, biographical information, American Cancer Society correspondence, news releases and a number of articles from different authors.
Link to Collection Guide

Van Ee, Jeff
Coll #: MS-00470
Date: 1974-2012
Extent: 12.5 Linear Feet (15 boxes, 1 flat file, and 2 oversize map storage)
Location: MS 3:11:4 - MS 3:12:3; MS Map Case 11:F, 11:G
The Jeff van Ee Papers consist of the papers of environmentalist John Jeffrey van Ee from 1974 to 2012 that document a portion of van Ee's environmental activity, notably his participation on environmental committees in the Las Vegas, Nevada area for water conservation and wildlife protection. The papers are comprised of correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, and meeting agendas and minutes.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilkinson, Marc
Coll #: MS-00159
Date: 1953-1980
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 1:12:3
The Marc Wilkinson Papers contain materials related to the business and personal life of Marc Wilkinson, his wife Theresa, and their printing business, Marc Wilkinson Printer located in Las Vegas, Nevada, from 1953 to 1980. The collection includes business correspondence, business advertisements, and materials relating to membership in Las Vegas social organizations.
Link to Collection Guide

Woods, Vivian
Coll #: 95-016
Date: approximately 1960-1999
Extent: 3.1 linear feet (2 boxes)
Location: MS 4.6.4, RS 2.8.2
Collection contains the Las Vegas Art League scrapbooks, photo albums, correspondence to members about waning funds, a history of the Las Vegas Artist's Co-Op, and the Las Vegas Artist's Co-Op member rosters.

Young Audiences
Coll #: T177
Date: 1960 - 1983
Extent: 4 doc boxes and 6 record storage boxes
Location: 2:2:1 - 2:2:4
Collection contains the organizational records of the Young Audiences group. Materials include minutes, financial records, bylaws, photographs, projects, membership information, reports, publications, news clippings, and public relations material. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Zucker-Bozarth, Blanche
Coll #: MS-00372
Date: 1963-2005
Extent: 15.5 Linear Feet (30 boxes and 1 oversize folder)
Location: MS 5:5:6 - 5:6:4, MS Map Case 11:G
The Blanche Zucker-Bozarth Papers document education advocate Blanche Zucker-Bozarth's volunteer work and activism in libraries, children's advocacy, and women's clubs in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1963 to 2005. The collection includes records, newspaper clippings, and photographs from her political activism and fundraising initiatives in Southern Nevada. The collection also includes buttons, video tapes, and journal articles on child abuse prevention, as well as records from Zucker-Bozarth's term as president of the Mesquite Club in the 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide

Page 3 of 3

|<<   Previous   1  2  3