Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Casinos/Hotels


Total manuscripts: 121

Page 2 of 3

Previous   1  2  3  Next  
Howard Hughes Public Relations Records
Coll #: MS-00380
Date: 1930-1990
Extent: 109.4 Linear Feet (109 boxes)
Location: MS 5:9:3 - 6:7:3
The Howard Hughes Public Relations records contain the reference files, from 1930 to 1990, of Howard Hughes' public relations director Dick Hannah. The records include news releases and press kits written by Hannah as well as photographs that were approved by Hughes. The records contain correspondence pertaining to Hughes' various businesses, personal matters, and legal disputes. The majority of the records comprise print material related to Hughes, mainly newspaper clippings and magazines, but also novels, screenplays, and essays.
Link to Collection Guide

International Association of Gaming Attorneys
Coll #: MS-00250
Date: 1977-1986
Extent: 2.2 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
Location: MS 3:1:1
The International Association of Gaming Attorneys (IAGA) collection is comprised of materials collected from various corporations and casinos in Nevada and New Jersey, ranging from 1977 to 1986. There are a wide array of documents including: gaming license applications from corporations in Nevada and New Jersey, copies of casino control acts from New Jersey, gaming publications, gaming conference proceedings, gaming commission reports, newsletters and correspondence of the National Association of Gaming Attorneys (NAGA).
Link to Collection Guide

Jerry Jackson Papers
Coll #: MS-00573
Date: 1953-2009
Extent: 61.7 Linear Feet (8 boxes, 7 oversize boxes, 10 flat files)
Location: B 1:6:6 - 1:6:7, BIS 1:5:5, Map Case Main Stacks 11:K, 11:L
The Jerry Jackson Papers, 1953 to 2009, contain materials related to Jackson's career in entertainment as a director, producer, choreographer, writer, lyricist, and costume designer. Jackson's work on Folies-Bergere at the Tropicana Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada is the most extensive show represented. Materials also include documentation of Jackson's other stage, film, and television productions. The papers include general production information, correspondence, costume design drawings, wardrobe notes, choreography notes, sheet music, music scores, lyrics, budgetary information, production photographs, show outlines and rundowns, set designs, scripts and publicity materials.
Link to Collection Guide

Jerry Jackson Papers
Coll #: MS-00573
Date: 1953-2009
Extent: 61.7 Linear Feet (8 boxes, 7 oversize boxes, 10 flat files)
Location: B 1:6:6 - 1:6:7, BIS 1:5:5, Map Case Main Stacks 11:K, 11:L
The Jerry Jackson Papers, 1953 to 2009, contain materials related to Jackson's career in entertainment as a director, producer, choreographer, writer, lyricist, and costume designer. Jackson's work on Folies-Bergere at the Tropicana Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada is the most extensive show represented. Materials also include documentation of Jackson's other stage, film, and television productions. The papers include general production information, correspondence, costume design drawings, wardrobe notes, choreography notes, sheet music, music scores, lyrics, budgetary information, production photographs, show outlines and rundowns, set designs, scripts and publicity materials.
Link to Collection Guide

JMA Architecture Studio Records
Coll #: MS-00783
Date: 1953-2002
Extent: 12 boxes, 81 rolls (33.85 Cubic Feet, 30.25 Linear Feet)
Location: A-04.03.5-7, LASR 7.02.6-8
The JMA Architecture Studio Records are comprised of architectural records (1953-2002) created by the American architect Jack Miller and/or his architectural firm, known as both Jack Miller & Associates, Architects, & Engineers, Inc and JMA Architects, Inc. This collection includes 30.25 linear feet of materials documenting work on over 250 projects. The collection focuses on Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada. The materials feature photographs of the firm's projects and hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide

Jones, Clifford
Coll #: 2012-19
Extent: 10.7 linear feet (12 boxes)
Location: MS 10.4.2 - MS 10.4.5
Collection is comprised of materials from the estate of former Lieutenant Governor and gaming executive Cliff Jones. Includes photographs, plaques, correspondence, trophies. A number of photographs document the family's time in the Dutch West Indies in the 1920s and there is correspondence from family members including his sister, noted Las Vegas journalist, Florence Lee Jones Cahlan.

Katherine A. Spilde Papers on Native American Gaming
Coll #: MS-00092
Date: 1789, 1793, 1823-1832, 1851, 1859, 1883, 1886, 1903, 1908-1909, 1970-2015, (bulk 1990-2015)
Extent: 59.64 cubic feet (77 boxes, 8 oversize boxes, 3 flat files, 1 item)
Location: A 2.2.4 - A 2.4.5, BIS 1.7.3, MC MS 10:I, MC MS 11:H, MC MS 11:J, MC MS 12:G
The Katherine A. Spilde Papers on Native American Gaming include materials collected by anthropologist Katherine Spilde about Native American gaming and the greater gaming industry. The materials date from 1789 to 2015, with the bulk of materials dating from 1995 to 2010. Materials dating from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries are reproductions of key court opinions and treaties concerning Native American rights and sovereignty. The majority of the materials document Native American gaming following the passage of the 1988 Indian Gaming Regulatory Act (IGRA). The papers detail Native American gaming enterprises both on and off reservations, the socioeconomic impact of gaming, and the legislative history of Native American gaming in the United States. The papers include research and subject files created by Dr. Spilde during her employment with the National Gambling Impact Study Commission (NGISC), the National Indian Gaming Association (NIGA), and the Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development (HPAIED). The collection includes socioeconomic reports; testimonies; correspondence; memos; press releases; photographs; audiovisual materials; promotional materials from casinos and tourist attractions; brochures; fact sheets; summaries; booklets; pamphlets; advertisements; tourism materials; journal articles; legal briefs; legislative documents; court opinions; Dr. Spilde’s notes; presentations; packets, agenda, schedules, and itineraries from conferences; magazines; Native American and community newspapers; and newspaper articles. The collection includes materials about over one hundred federally recognized Native American nations. Also included are materials that document the socioeconomic impact of gaming, the international gaming industry, criminal activities related to gaming, advertising about gaming and casinos, lotteries, internet gaming, compulsive gaming, and bankruptcy as a result of gaming.
Link to Collection Guide

Key, Alice
Coll #: MS-00095
Date: 1936-1995
Extent: .5 linear feet
Location: MS 5:1:2
Alice Key Papers, (1936-1995) contain certificates and awards, correspondence, newspaper clippings, invitations, programs, and pamphlets. There is also a VHS tape from January 30, 1995 featuring Alice Key, highlighting upcoming Black History Month. Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

Kovell, Hank Papers
Coll #: MS-00105
Date: 1945-2012
Extent: 0.23 Cubic Feet, 0.21 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.1
The Hank Kovell Papers document his life as a publicity agent in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1945 to 2012. The collection includes photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, a script entitled, "The Visitor," publications, and the newsletter entitled, "The Frontiersman."
Link to Collection Guide

Kovell, Hank Papers
Coll #: MS-00105
Date: 1945-2012
Extent: 0.23 Cubic Feet, 0.21 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.1
The Hank Kovell Papers document his life as a publicity agent in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1945 to 2012. The collection includes photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, a script entitled, "The Visitor," publications, and the newsletter entitled, "The Frontiersman."
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Hilton Hotel Race and Sportsbook Records
Coll #: MS-00764
Date: 2005-2006
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
Location: MS 13.5.2
The Las Vegas Hilton Race and Sportsbook Records consist of a packet and other training materials given to new employees (2005-2006).
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Hotel Menus Collection
Date: ca. 1950s-1980s
Extent: 9 oversize flat boxes
Location: Oversize Shelves and Roller Shelf
This is an artificial collection comprised of a selection of menus from restaurants that were housed in various Las Vegas Strip hotels. It includes menus from restaurants in many prominent hotels, including Caesars Palace, Desert Inn, Dunes, Flamingo, Last Frontier, New Frontier, Holiday Inn,Landmark, MGM Grand, Riviera, Sahara, Sands, Stardust, and the Tropicana. Restaurants from other hotels off the Strip are included as well. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
View Select Materials Online

Las Vegas Numismatic Society
Coll #: MS-00278
Date: 1963-1974
Extent: 0.42 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 3:4:6
The Las Vegas Numismatic Society Collection (1963-1974) consists of material pertaining to the Las Vegas, Nevada Numismatic Society such as receipts, membership lists, deposit slips, correspondence, news clippings, photographs, newsletters, and memos. The collection details the first Las Vegas Numismatic Society Coin Show of 1963.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Show Costume Design Collection
Coll #: MS-00422
Date: 1940s-1970s
Extent: 15.1 linear feet (8 oversize boxes)
Location: RS 2:3:2 - 2:3:4
The Las Vegas Show Costume Design Collection is comprised of work from several designers who created costumes for various Las Vegas, Nevada shows featuring male and female dancers, from approximately the 1940s to the 1970s. Most of the sketches have been rendered in watercolors or pastels and are signed by the artists. The collection includes works from the following designers: Jean Devlyn, Anne Guertin, Larry Merritt, "Ladd," Josephine Spinedi, and Corrado Colabucci.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas, Nevada Strip Hotel Labor Relations Collection
Coll #: MS-00659
Date: 1963-2008
Extent: 5 boxes (3.12 cubic feet, 2.75 linear feet)
Location: B 1.2.7
The Las Vegas, Nevada Strip Hotel Labor Relations Collection comprises legal documents, correspondence, and human resources manuals and pamphlets related to labor in the hospitality industry on the Las Vegas Strip in Nevada from 1963 to 2008. The majority of documents involve the Culinary Union, the Bartenders Union, the Teamsters Union, MGM Mirage affiliated hotel casinos, the Dunes Hotel, and the Sands Hotel and Casino.
Link to Collection Guide

LeCoque, Fluff
Coll #: MS-00826
Date: 1882, 1900s-1910s, 1930s-2000s
Extent: 9.72 linear feet, 4.28 cubic feet (6 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
Location: MC 11:C, B-03.03.2, B-03.03.4, BIS-01.04.3, BIS-01.04.5,
Collection is comprised of Fluff LeCoque's personal papers (1882-2000s) which include her career as a showgirl and stage manager (1940s-2000s) in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection includes information about Fluff's career working as a dancer and then as a stage manager for Las Vegas productions most notably Jubilee! which started at the MGM Grand before moving to Bally's.
Link to Collection Guide

Maggie Mancuso Collection on Martin Scorsese's Casino
Coll #: MS-00504
Date: 1994-1996
Extent: 6.3 Linear Feet (15 boxes)
Location: MS 10.2.6, 10.1.1, 10.1.2
The Maggie Mancuso Collection on Martin Scorsese's Casino (1994-1996) consists primarily of photographs of Las Vegas, Nevada set locations for the 1995 motion picture Casino, which were collected by the location manager of the picture, Maggie Mancuso. The collection also contains an original shooting script of the film. Additionally, there are some location files for the 1996 picture, Mars Attacks!
Link to Collection Guide

Malcolm, David G.
Coll #: MS-00252
Date: 1944 - 1978
Extent: x
Location: MS 3:1:5
Collection consists of the papers of David G. Malcom. Much of the collection includes documents from his work within the audit division of the Nevada Gaming Control Board. Other materials focus on Basic Magnesium Inc. (BMI) and Henderson history. Contains an almost complete run of BMI newsletters such as the Big Job and Basic Bombardier. There are also a variety of news clippings (invention of the electric meter, price of silver, the movie industry), brochures and articles from Las Vegas and Reno in the 1950s and 1960s.

Mandalay Resort Group Archives
Coll #: 2005-34
Date: 1995-2004
Location: LASR
80 record storage cartons of publicity and promotional materials (and scrapbook and surfboard) from Mandalay Resort Group to included Circus Circus and Mandalay Bay Hotel/Casino [Mandalay Resort Group was subsumed under MGM Mirage Inc this year]. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE NOTE: THIS COLLECTION IS STORED IN LIED LIBRARYS LASR SYSTEM, PLEASE CALL AHEAD TO OBTAIN BOXES.
Link to Collection Guide

Marc Weiswasser Papers
Coll #: MS-00816
Date: 1976-2001
Extent: 1 box, 1 folder (shared box) (0.6 cubic feet, 1.8 linear feet), 24 digital files
Location: MS 02.04.06
The collection is comprised of materials from approximately 1976 to 2001 documenting Marc Weiswasser's career in the Las Vegas, Nevada gaming industry. The collection includes instructional guides and handbooks for table game dealers on how to play various table games, employee handbooks and newsletters from the Flamingo Hilton and MGM Grand Las Vegas materials, as well as interviews and articles about Marc Weiswasser. The collection also includes reports from the Nevada Gaming Control Board regarding Regulation 6A, which deals with cash transactions prohibitions, reporting, and record keeping. The collection also includes materials about the Casino Managamenet Association including a promotional video, conference fliers, invitations, and educational materials related to casino operations.
Link to Collection Guide

Margaret Kelly Collection on the Bluebell Girls
Coll #: MS-00604
Date: 1935-1997
Extent: 28.9 linear feet (23 boxes)
Location: A 3.8.1 - A 3.8.5
This collection is comprised of the personal scrapbooks of Margaret Kelly and programs from her shows. The scrapbooks date from 1935 to 1984 and include thousands of press clippings covering her work at the Folies Bergere and Lido de Paris, and her long career as creator and manager of the world famous Bluebell Girls. Included are materials from 1958 about the Bluebell Girls shows in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection also includes press cuttings (dating to 1997), brochures, and numerous programs from the Lido de Paris, Folies Bergere and other international production shows for which Kelly provided dancers.
Link to Collection Guide

Marshall L. Wright Riviera Hotel Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00394
Date: 1955-1956
Extent: 1 box (0.66 cubic feet)
Location: RS 2.1.1
The Marshall L. Wright Riviera Hotel Scrapbook (1955-1956) contains newspaper articles, advertisements for upcoming performers, a menu, and photographs of the hotel under construction. Also included are correspondence and a press packet from the 1955 opening.
Link to Collection Guide

Meehan, Louise Collection of Memorabilia
Coll #: MS-00309
Date: 1953-1984
Extent: 1.08 linear feet, 1.28 cubic feet (1 box)
Location: MS 4:12.5
The Louise Meehan Collection contains memorabilia from both the University of Nevada, Las Vegas and various Las Vegas, Nevada hotel and casinos from 1953 to 1984. Materials were collected by Meehan, who was a "change girl" at the Boulder Club.
Link to Collection Guide

Meiklejohn, Patrick
Coll #: 94-41
Date: ca. 1980s-1990s
Extent: 3.25 linear feet (3 record storage boxes)
Location: MS 4:5:2 - 4:5:3
Collection consists of 100+ decks of casino playing cards and miscellaneous casino memorabilia of undetermined amount and cost.

MGM Grand
Coll #: MS-00225
Date: ca. 1982
Extent: 3 boxes
Location: MS 2:2:5
Collection is comprised of litigation documentation stemming from the November 1980 MGM Grand Hotel fire that killed 85 people. Included in the documentation are testimonies regarding construction materials and processes, testimonies regarding the electrical system and the ways in which fire and smoke spread and an index of eyewitness accounts. There is also included in this collection a transcript from a Nova special ���¯���¿���½Why America Burns���¯���¿���½ and a copy of the 1970 Building Code.

MGM Mirage Corporation Records
Coll #: MS-00096
Date: 1990-2005
Extent: 33.7 linear feet (50 boxes)
Location: MS 11.3.1 - MS 11.4.3, MS 11.8.3 - MS 11.8.6, MS 11.9.2, RS 2.2.3
The collection encompasses news clippings, correspondence, marketing and events, photographs and a variety of audio-visual materials from 1990-2005. There are advertising, contracts, and corporate officer's bios as well as conference materials and an impact study done by the American Gaming Association. Diversity efforts of the corporation are also documented. Collection consists of photographs and ephemera from MGM properties including the Bellagio, Mirage, and Golden Nugget. Additional materials from MGM Mirage for their corporate archives collection - promotional materials from the City Center development at its December 2009 opening. Consists of promotional materials, brochures, publicity packets, and catalogs from the various properties such as Aria and the Mandarin Oriental. Also contains material on the public art installation at City Center.

Minsky, Harold
Coll #: MS-00290
Date: 1922 - 1978
Extent: 11.5 Linear Feet, 12.5 Cubic Feet (27 boxes)
Location: 3:8:6 - 3:9:4
Related Materials: 0075
Minsky's Burlesque Records (1922-1978) contain scripts, publicity, photographs, financial records, payroll records, sheet music, news clippings, contracts, and correspondence. Also included are the personal papers of noted burlesque producer Harold Minsky, who was known for creating the "family burlesque" style of entertainment and for introducing the topless showgirl to Las Vegas, Nevada at the Dunes Hotel in 1957.
Link to Collection Guide

Monte Carlo Club
Coll #: MS-00160
Date: 1944-1957
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 1:12:3
The Monte Carlo Club Records (1944-1957) are comprised of records of the Monte Carlo Club located at 15 Fremont Street in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include founding documents, corporate records, and letterhead.
Link to Collection Guide

Moore (William J.) Mining and Real Estate Papers
Coll #: MS-00224
Date: 1925-1974
Extent: 2.3 cubic feet (5 boxes)
Location: 2:3:5
The William J. Moore Jr. papers (1925-1974) consist of mining publications, maps of mine locations, production reports, agreements, sales contracts of various ores, property claims, and correspondence. Also included are housing plans, maps, agreements, and financial papers for Westchester Gardens housing tract in Las Vegas, Nevada, estimates and analysis for a 500 room Las Vegas resort hotel.
Link to Collection Guide

Moore, Bill
Coll #: MS-00597
Date: 1950-2009
Extent: 18 linear feet (18 boxes, 5 oversize boxes, 1 flat file, and 5 oversize objects)
Location: MS Map Case 11:G, A 1.9.4-1.9.7, A 1.10.4-1.10.7, AIS 3.4.7, BIS 1.5.5
The Bill Moore Papers are comprised of documents, designs, and promotional materials of show producer Bill Moore from 1950 to 2009. From the 1960s until the late 2000s, Bill Moore, his partner George Arnold, and his production company produced a myriad of shows, from musicals and revues to his famous "On Ice" productions like "Nudes on Ice" and "Playgirls on Ice." Materials include three dimensional set designs, photographs, financial records, promotional posters, and audio and video recordings of shows at casinos in Las Vegas, Laughlin, and Reno, Nevada, and Atlantic City, New Jersey.
Link to Collection Guide

Morelli, Antonio papers
Coll #: MS-00558
Date: 1910s-1970s
Extent: 2.5 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
Location: MS 3:11:3
The Antonio Morelli Papers include materials spanning from the 1910s to the 1970s that chronicle the professional and private life of longtime Sands Hotel and Casino orchestra conductor and musical director, Antonio Morelli and his wife Helen. The collection includes snapshots from Morelli's early life, three scrapbooks, one box of sound recording tapes, and a box of slides from Thailand. The collection also documents Morelli’s efforts to provide classical music concerts for the Las Vegas, Nevada community and his involvement with the Guardian Angel Church on the Las Vegas Strip.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Biltmore Hotel Collection
Coll #: 2003-28
Date: 1942-1986
Extent: 1.3 linear feet (1 box)
Location: RS 2.4.4
Collection consists of a scrapbook on the Nevada Biltmore Hotel, located in downtown Las Vegas. The scrapbook contains photographs of the hotel, hotel stationary, a menu and news clippings announcing who will be staying at the Biltmore and who will be appearing and performing. There are also news clippings about city leaders.

Nevada Resort Association
Coll #: MS-00815
Date: 1990s-2000s
Extent: 13 boxes (14.1 cubic feet, 13.5 linear feet), 4 digital files
Location: B IS 01.10.03-01.10.05
The records are comprised of subject files and reports from approximately the 1990s to the 2000s related to data gathering and lobbying activities of the Nevada Resort Association. Materials include drafts of legislation related to gaming, tax reports, health and safety regulations, labor and employment matters, and zoning issues.
Link to Collection Guide

New York - New York Hotel-Casino 9-11 Heroes Tribute Collection
Coll #: MS-00459
Date: 2001-2012
Extent: 823.64 linear feet (491 boxes, 4 rolls)
Location: LASR; 2.1.6; B 2.6.5
The New York - New York Hotel and Casino 9-11 Heroes Tribute Collection consists of materials from the "Heroes of 9-11" display that was at the New York - New York Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada from 2001 to 2012. The materials primarily consist of more than 5,000 t-shirts left at the memorial by visitors to Las Vegas, mostly from fire departments and law enforcement agencies from around the United States. Visitors left shirts and other items at the memorial as a sign of respect for the men and women who died during the terrorist attacks in New York City and Washington, D.C. on September 11, 2001 (9-11; 9/11). The collection also houses memorabilia and other items left at the memorial, including flags, hats, pins, buttons, flowers, and embroidered emblems and insignias. The materials also contain documentation of the memorial, including promotional and press materials, video recordings from the news media, photographs, and newspaper articles.
Link to Collection Guide

Rissman, Homer
Coll #: MS-00452
Date: 1957-2001
Extent: 110.64 Cubic Feet (240 flat files, 48 boxes)
Location: A-06.09.6-7, AIS-02.03.5, B-MC 02:C-D, MS 07.05.6, MS 07.06.1-6, MS 07.07.1-2, SC MC 06:A-O, MS MC 07:O, MS MC 08:A. MS 09:C, MS MC 10:E, MS MC 12:A-J
Collection is comprised of the drawings and architectural renderings of noted Las Vegas architect Homer Rissman. Some of Rissman's most notable projects include the Flamingo Towers, Sands Expo The collection is comprised of architectural records (1947-2001) kept by American architect Homer Rissman and/or his architectural firm, Rissman and Rissman Associates Ltd, including 825 items from over 40 major projects and over 110 minor projects. Rissman's work focused on Las Vegas, Reno, and Lake Tahoe, Nevada, Southern California, and Arizona with early career design work focused on Chicago, Illinois. The materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents, and a number of artist's renderings, used for presentations and promotional materials. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for: hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide

Ruby Amie-Pilot Papers
Coll #: MS-00102
Date: 1930s-2002
Extent: 1.3 Linear Feet (1 oversize folder)
Location: MS Map Case 11:O
The Ruby Amie - Pilot Papers document her life as an active leader in the African-American community in Las Vegas from the 1930s to 2002. The collection contains assorted newspaper clippings, photographs and a memorial program from her son's funeral service. The collection also includes a look at the cartoon series her son Ronald Terry Amie published in the Las Vegas Voice and his artistic accomplishments in the community during that time period, including public commissions for North Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Sands Hotel Collection
Coll #: 2000-12
Date: 1952 - 1979
Extent: 55.2 linear feet (82 boxes)
Location: MS 8.11.1 - 8.11.6, MS 8.10.1 - 8.10.6, MS 8.9.1 - MS 8.9.4, MS 9.12.1, RS 2.2.5 - 2.2.6, RS 2.7.6, RS 2.8.8
The Sands Collection is comprised of the publicity files of Al Freeman, Publicity Director of the Sands Hotel for many years. Materials in the collection include business documents, correspondence, press releases, news clippings and advertisements etc. but the bulk of the collection is comprised of photographs. The collection is particularly rich in photographs of celebrities and entertainers, the Rat Pack being the most prominent among these. There is also a significant amount of material on the Copa Girls. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Link to Collection Guide

Sarno, Jay
Coll #: MS-00548
Date: 1965-2001 (bulk 1966-1973)
Extent: 1.8 linear feet (1 document box, 1 oversized box, 1 flat file)
Location: MS 13.8.4, MS Map Case 11:I
Related Materials: 0347
This collection is comprised primarily of publicity and promotional materials documenting the Caesars Palace Hotel and Casino Resort and the Circus Circus Hotel and Casino Resort. Both resorts were the brainchild of hotel and casino developer Jay Sarno, and there is a small amount of material on Sarno in the collection such as newspaper clippings and a press release. The collection includes property ephemera, magazine and newspaper clippings, informational brochures from the two properties and press kits. There is a small amount of correspondence but none that was actually composed by Sarno. It also includes a rare prospectus and stock offerings on Sarno's never-realized Grandissimo Hotel and Casino resort that was to have been built on Interstate 15 to the west of the Las Vegas Strip. FINDING AID AVAILABLE
Link to Collection Guide

Schwartz, Howard Collection on Gaming
Coll #: MS-00104
Date: 1853, 1966-2010
Extent: 1.0 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.4
The Howard Schwartz Collection on Gaming documents the gaming industry in the United States from 1853, 1968-2010. The collection includes manuscripts, periodicals, newspaper articles, ephemera, profit and probability profiles and a report from the National Gambling Impact Study Commission.
Link to Collection Guide

Schwartz, Sonny
Coll #: MS-00433
Date: 1928-1998
Extent: 6.8 Linear Feet (15 boxes)
Location: 9:4:1 - 9:4:3
The Sonny Schwartz Collection documents the career of New Jersey journalist and radio personality Sonny Schwartz from 1928 to 1998. The collection primarily consists of tapes of Schwartz's radio program, Dateline Atlantic City, and his interviews with musicians, comedians, and other entertainers. The collection also contains an assortment of radio programming featuring performers like Frank Sinatra and Bill Cosby. Also included are Schwartz's columns from the Press of Atlantic City.
Link to Collection Guide

Scott, Frank Papers
Coll #: MS-00738
Date: 1940-1984
Extent: 1.55 linear feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 2:2:5
The Frank Scott Papers date from 1940 to 1984 and contain promotional materials, photographs, and menus from the Union Plaza Hotel; University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) basketball memorabilia; and KRLR TV documentation, correspondence, and news clippings. The collection also contains a scrapbook and photographs of the re-opening of the Mizpah Hotel in Tonopah, Nevada
Link to Collection Guide

Shaw, James C. Collection on Hotel Dining
Coll #: MS-00264
Date: 1980-1990
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 3:2:3
The James C. Shaw Collection on Hotel Dining consists of materials related to dining at hotels in Las Vegas, Nevada and in other North American cities during the 1980s. The collection features room service menus, hotel restaurant menus, and information regarding banquet services.
Link to Collection Guide

Silver Slipper Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00630
Date: 1974-1976
Extent: 2.06 linear feet, 1.33 cubic feet (1 box)
Location: RS 01.06.6
Silver Slipper Scrapbook (1974-1976) consists of one scrapbook containing advertisements announcing upcoming performers and performance reviews at the Silver Slipper Casino.
Link to Collection Guide

Sloan, Art
Coll #: MS-00831
Date: 1933-1994
Extent: 13.56 cubic feet, 6.82 linear feet (4 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
Location: MC 05:D, 02.06.6,
The collection comprises items (1933-1994) from Las Vegas, Nevada casinos and hotels such as the Flamingo, El Rancho, and Hotel Last Frontier. Materials include ash trays, silverware, postcards, dice, playing cards, and casino memorabilia. Materials also include Nevada license plates from 1933 and 1936.
Link to Collection Guide

Sloan, Art
Coll #: MS-00831
Date: 1933-1994
Extent: 13.56 cubic feet, 6.82 linear feet (4 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
Location: MC 05:D, 02.06.6,
The collection comprises items (1933-1994) from Las Vegas, Nevada casinos and hotels such as the Flamingo, El Rancho, and Hotel Last Frontier. Materials include ash trays, silverware, postcards, dice, playing cards, and casino memorabilia. Materials also include Nevada license plates from 1933 and 1936.
Link to Collection Guide

Stardust Hotel and Casino
Coll #: 2006-17
Date: 1958-2006 (bulk 1988-2006)
Extent: 312 boxes (219 linear ft)
Location: LASR, MS 11.10.1 - 11.10.6
Collection is comprised of public relations and marketing materials from the Stardust Hotel and Casino. It includes documents, photographs, video, artifacts, ephemera, internal and external publications. There is material from the following departments or events: food and beverage, slot club, sports, special events, tournaments, and drawings. In addition, there is extensive documentation on the hotel's entertainment efforts such as Lido de Paris, Enter the Night, Wayne Newton and others. Historical files on the Stardust Hotel and general information on Boyd Gaming are also included in the collection. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Stardust Hotel/Casino Convention Information Cards
Coll #: MS-00463
Date: 1960-1970
Extent: 2.30 cubic feet (5 boxes)
Location: MS 4.1.5
The Stardust Hotel/Casino Convention Information Cards (1960-1970) consist of typescript index cards from the Stardust Hotel, Public Relations Department listing contact info for organizations and businesses planning to hold conventions in Las Vegas at the Stardust Hotel.
Link to Collection Guide

Station Casinos Publicity Collection
Coll #: MS-00663
Date: 1996-2013
Extent: 0.6 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1:3:1
The Station Casinos Publicity Collection (1996-2013) contains magazine articles and newsclippings about various Station Casinos properties in Las Vegas, Nevada. A transition report published by Station Casinos in 1998 is also included.
Link to Collection Guide

Stern, Martin
Coll #: MS-00382
Date: 1950-1990
Extent: 349.65 cubic feet, 591.77 linear feet (605 rolls, 204 flat files, 35 boxes)
Location: SC MC 02:N, MC 07:C-N, MC 08:K-O, MC 09:E-G, MC 09:J-O, MC 10:E, A-06.08.1-06.09.5, AIS-01.06.5, AIS-02.01.01-02.03.08, Annex B MC 02:B,
The collection is comprised of drawings (1950-1990) completed by American architect Martin Stern and/or his architectural firm, Martin Stern Jr., AIA Architect and Associates, and contains 592 linear feet of materials including 710 drawings from over 300 different projects involving over 100 buildings. Stern’s work focused on the resort centers of Las Vegas, Nevada; Reno, Nevada; Lake Tahoe, Stateline, Nevada; and Atlantic City, New Jersey. The materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents, and a number of artist’s renderings, used for presentations and promotional materials. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for: hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide

Stevens, Maury papers
Coll #: MS-00268
Date: 1953-1981
Extent: 1.6 linear feet (3 boxes)
Location: MS 3:3:4; A 2.7.4
The Maury Stevens Papers are mainly comprised of advertising and publicity materials related to the Las Vegas, Nevada hospitality and entertainment industry from 1953 to 1981. The collection includes both published and unpublished materials collected and created by Maury Stevens as a result of his work in advertising in Las Vegas. Formats include magazines, newspaper clippings, show programs, photographs, and brochures.
Link to Collection Guide

Page 2 of 3

Previous   1  2  3  Next