Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Business/Industry


Total manuscripts: 87

Page 2 of 2

Previous   1  2  
Marc Weiswasser Papers
Coll #: MS-00816
Date: 1976-2001
Extent: 1 box, 1 folder (shared box) (0.6 cubic feet, 1.8 linear feet), 24 digital files
Location: MS 02.04.06
The collection is comprised of materials from approximately 1976 to 2001 documenting Marc Weiswasser's career in the Las Vegas, Nevada gaming industry. The collection includes instructional guides and handbooks for table game dealers on how to play various table games, employee handbooks and newsletters from the Flamingo Hilton and MGM Grand Las Vegas materials, as well as interviews and articles about Marc Weiswasser. The collection also includes reports from the Nevada Gaming Control Board regarding Regulation 6A, which deals with cash transactions prohibitions, reporting, and record keeping. The collection also includes materials about the Casino Managamenet Association including a promotional video, conference fliers, invitations, and educational materials related to casino operations.
Link to Collection Guide

McCaffrey, Bob Collection on the Save the Spruce Goose Campaign
Coll #: MS-00693
Date: 1980
Extent: 0.4 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 2.2.3
The Bob McCaffrey Collection on the Save the Spruce Goose Campaign documents efforts by activists to preserve the plane from destruction and its subsequent acquisition by the Aero Club of Southern California in 1980. The collection contains photographs and news clippings about the Hughes H-4 Hercules flying boat nicknamed the "Spruce Goose" from the 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide

Mim's Sutro Company Records
Coll #: MS-00222
Date: 1905
Extent: 1.28 Cubic Feet (1 box)
Location: 2:3:4
Collection contains the stock ledger from 1905 for the Mim's Sutro Company, a Nevada mining company.
Link to Collection Guide

Monte Carlo Club
Coll #: MS-00160
Date: 1944-1957
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 1:12:3
The Monte Carlo Club Records (1944-1957) are comprised of records of the Monte Carlo Club located at 15 Fremont Street in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include founding documents, corporate records, and letterhead.
Link to Collection Guide

Moore (William J.) Mining and Real Estate Papers
Coll #: MS-00224
Date: 1925-1974
Extent: 2.3 cubic feet (5 boxes)
Location: 2:3:5
The William J. Moore Jr. papers (1925-1974) consist of mining publications, maps of mine locations, production reports, agreements, sales contracts of various ores, property claims, and correspondence. Also included are housing plans, maps, agreements, and financial papers for Westchester Gardens housing tract in Las Vegas, Nevada, estimates and analysis for a 500 room Las Vegas resort hotel.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Banking History
Coll #: MS-00257
Date: 1880 -190(?)
Extent: 2 doc boxes
Location: MS 3:2:2
Collection contains information on the history of banking, primarily in Worcester, NV and a history of the Worcester bank. Included in this history are pamphlets and promotional publications on early Nevada banks, contemporary newspaper clippings and correspondence about Butch Cassidy and common banking correspondence. Of interest is a copy of a proclamation and report by the governor of the Territory of Nevada about an international mineral exhibition dated 1863.

Nevada Film Scripts Collection
Coll #: MS-00005
Extent: 24 doc boxes
Location: 1:1:3 - 1:1:6
Collection is comprised of film scripts from the Motion Picture and Television Division of the Nevada Commission on Economic Development. All film and television scripts were set in/around Las Vegas or in the Nevada desert. Notable titles include "Vegas Vacation," "Honeymoon in Vegas," and "Leaving Las Vegas." INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nevada Mining Collection
Coll #: MS-00011
Date: 1842-1966
Extent: 25.15 Linear Feet (22 boxes, 1 oversize box, 2 items, 1 flat file)
Location: 1:3:2 - 1:3:6
The Nevada Mining Collections comprises records that document mining and mines in Nevada from 1842 to 1966. The majority of the collection includes records of various mines and mining companies located in the Esmeralda, Lincoln, Clark, White Pine, and Nye counties dating from 1900 to 1928. The collection includes records: financial, administrative, and business related; photographs of miners, mining camps, and towns; correspondence; maps; and publications: newspaper clippings, pamphlets, newsletters, and booklets.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Power Company Rate Hike Records
Coll #: MS-00705
Date: 1983 October 17
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1:1:3
The Nevada Power Company Rate Hike Records contain questions and answers from the consumer hearing held in Carson City, Nevada on October 17, 1983.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Resort Association
Coll #: MS-00815
Date: 1990s-2000s
Extent: 13 boxes (14.1 cubic feet, 13.5 linear feet), 4 digital files
Location: B IS 01.10.03-01.10.05
The records are comprised of subject files and reports from approximately the 1990s to the 2000s related to data gathering and lobbying activities of the Nevada Resort Association. Materials include drafts of legislation related to gaming, tax reports, health and safety regulations, labor and employment matters, and zoning issues.
Link to Collection Guide

Pacific Engineering and Production Company of Nevada (PEPCON) Records
Coll #: MS-00004
Date: 1986-1989
Extent: 0.42 linear feet, 0.30 cubic feet (1 box)
Location: MS 1:1:2
The Pacific Engineering and Production Company of Nevada Records (1986-1989) are comprised of magazine articles, newspaper clippings, official reports, a profile of Jim Gibson, and a prospectus for a park named after Gibbons.
Link to Collection Guide

Pacific Engineering and Production Company of Nevada PEPCON Disaster Collection of News Articles
Coll #: MS-00760
Date: 1988-1992
Extent: 1.15 cubic feet (3 boxes)
Location: MS 12.02.3
The Pacific Engineering and Production Company of Nevada (PEPCON) Disaster Collection of News Articles (1988-1992) consists of articles from Las Vegas and other state and regional newspapers about the PEPCON plant explosion that took place in May of 1988. Also included are United Press International press releases from October to December, 1988.
Link to Collection Guide

Parks, W.S. Dr.
Coll #: MS-00140
Date: 1923 - 1933
Extent: 1 carton; 13 linear inches
Location: MS 1:10:5
Collection contains the household and business records of Dr. W.S. Park early Las Vegas dentist and son of Las Vegas pioneer, John S. Park. Collection contains record books, cancelled checks, and receipts. Provides insight into grocery, automobile, coal, ice, household repairs, insurance and water costs in the 1920s-1930s in Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Petitions from Residents and Business Owners to City Officials of Las Vegas, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00049
Date: 1940, undated
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (2 folders)
Location: 1:1:1
The Petitions from Residents and Business Owners to City Officials of Las Vegas, Nevada consist of formal requests from residents and business owners in Las Vegas, Nevada dating from February 1, 1940 to December 4, 1940 which were filed with the City of Las Vegas clerk. Some petitions in the collection were submitted by residents of the Westside neighborhood which was historically the African-American section of Las Vegas. The Westside petitions (including one from the Westside Improvement Association) requested infrastructure improvements and zoning restrictions, while others criticized city government actions related to maintenance of public areas, complained about inaction on previous petitions, and questioned the behavior of city officials. Other petitions in the collection are from residents and business owners requesting commercial and residential zoning enforcement, clarification regarding new construction, and other miscellaneous business.
Link to Collection Guide

Richardson, D. Kenneth
Coll #: 2011-37
Date: 1952-1991
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage cartons)
Location: 7:8:3
Collection is comprised of the corportate executive correspondence, memos, meeting notes, reoports, publications, 1952-1991, of D. Kenneth Richardson, systems engineer, COO, and President of Hughes Aircraft Co.

Robert Beckmann Papers
Coll #: MS-00606
Date: 1977-2013
Extent: 2.9 Linear Feet (3 boxes, 1 flat file)
Location: B 1.5.3 - 1.5.4, MS Map Case 11:O
The Robert Beckmann Papers (1977-2013) contain the professional papers of artist and Las Vegas, Nevada resident Robert Beckmann. The collection includes photographs, sketches, plans, and proposals for murals and art installations that Beckmann designed or painted. The collection also includes correspondence, awards, and fliers for art exhibitions.
Link to Collection Guide

Ruby Amie-Pilot Papers
Coll #: MS-00102
Date: 1930s-2002
Extent: 1.3 Linear Feet (1 oversize folder)
Location: MS Map Case 11:O
The Ruby Amie - Pilot Papers document her life as an active leader in the African-American community in Las Vegas from the 1930s to 2002. The collection contains assorted newspaper clippings, photographs and a memorial program from her son's funeral service. The collection also includes a look at the cartoon series her son Ronald Terry Amie published in the Las Vegas Voice and his artistic accomplishments in the community during that time period, including public commissions for North Las Vegas.
Link to Collection Guide

Schwartz, Howard Collection on Gaming
Coll #: MS-00104
Date: 1853, 1966-2010
Extent: 1.0 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: B 1.1.4
The Howard Schwartz Collection on Gaming documents the gaming industry in the United States from 1853, 1968-2010. The collection includes manuscripts, periodicals, newspaper articles, ephemera, profit and probability profiles and a report from the National Gambling Impact Study Commission.
Link to Collection Guide

Siegel (Sam) professional papers
Coll #: MS-00166
Date: 1958 - 1968
Extent: 1 box (0.19 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet)
Location: 1:12:4
The Sam Siegel Professional Papers date from 1958 to 1968 and contain the corporate records of Siegel's Clark Dade Investment Enterprises, Inc., a Las Vegas-based small business. Materials include a corporate record book listing names of stockholders/subscribers, correspondence regarding business transactions, a book of blank stock certificates, and black-and-white photographic prints of Siegel with Jayne Mansfield. One of these prints is signed by Jayne Mansfield.
Link to Collection Guide

Southern Nevada Telephone Company Collection
Coll #: MS-00601
Date: 1957-1966
Extent: 0.2 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 13.5.2
The Southern Nevada Telephone Company Collection documents the history of the company from 1957 to 1966. The collection includes photographs and internal publications that illustrate the company's growth and role in Las Vegas' history. It also contains a photocopy of A History of the Southern Nevada Telephone Company, 1907-1961.
Link to Collection Guide

Sprague, Charles and Benjamin Gill papers on Nevada Mining
Coll #: MS-00570
Date: 1906-1925
Extent: 4 boxes (4.08 Cubic Feet, 3.46 Linear Feet)
Location: A-3.5.4-3.5.5
The Charles S. Sprague and Benjamin Gill Collection is comprised of various records from the mining companies owned and operated by businessmen Charles S. Sprague and Benjamin Gill who were active in the central Nevada boomtowns of Goldfield and Tonopah in the early decades of the twentieth century. Documents include correspondence, receipts and invoices, detailed records and copies of government legislative bills relating to the mining industry, and other business correspondence. Sprague’s collection consists of his mining business correspondence dating from 1906-1925. Gill's papers are comprised of his business correspondence 1916-1922.
Link to Collection Guide

Stardust Hotel/Casino Convention Information Cards
Coll #: MS-00463
Date: 1960-1970
Extent: 2.30 cubic feet (5 boxes)
Location: MS 4.1.5
The Stardust Hotel/Casino Convention Information Cards (1960-1970) consist of typescript index cards from the Stardust Hotel, Public Relations Department listing contact info for organizations and businesses planning to hold conventions in Las Vegas at the Stardust Hotel.
Link to Collection Guide

Stocker family papers
Coll #: MS-00154
Date: 1860 - 1982
Extent: 9 boxes and 2 oversize boxes (4.32 cubic feet, 5.63 linear feet)
Location: 1:12:1 - 1:12:2 Roller Shelf 1.7.3
Related Materials: 0006
The Stocker Family Papers (1860-1982) document the family’s personal, political, and business interests including Mayme Stocker’s 1931 Nevada gaming license and Harold Stocker’s involvement in the Nevada Republican party. The collection contains family correspondence, political documents and planning materials, and business records related to the family’s gaming and real estate interests.
Link to Collection Guide

Syphus (Levi Walter) papers
Coll #: MS-00228
Date: 1889-1930
Extent: 1 box (0.18 Cubic Feet, 0.21 Linear Feet)
Location: 2:2:4
The Levi Walter Syphus Papers date from 1889 to 1930 and document the activities of Levi Walter Syphus (1866-1949), a southern Nevada pioneer and state legislator. The collection contains a financial ledger, meeting minutes of the Board of Control of the Lincoln County Experiment Farm, and records of experiments in refining magnesite.
Link to Collection Guide

Taylor Construction Company Collection
Coll #: MS-00664
Date: 1954-1973
Location: B 2:2:2
Related Materials: The Stuart Mason Photographs PH-00370 document Taylor Construction projects. View this related collection here: http://d.library.unlv.edu/cdm/search/searchterm/Stuart%20Mason%20Collection/mode/exact
The Taylor Construction Company Collection (1954-1973) consists primarily of publicly distributed information and provides a glimpse of some of the hotels, housing, public buildings, and remodeling projects handled by the company. It contains two booklets on the construction projects of the company from 1954 to 1972. It also includes Las Vegas International Hotel's projected revenues from 1969 to 1973, a newspaper article on Taylor Construction Company projects in Florida, and an invitation to the groundbreaking ceremony for the MGM Grand Hotel. The company was owned and operated successively by Morry Mason, his son Stuart Mason, and Stuart's sons Jim and Bill Mason.
Link to Collection Guide

Tobias Mattstedt Menu Collection
Coll #: MS-00823
Date: 1990s-2000s
Extent: 5.70 Cubic Feet (10 boxes)
Location: A-05.04.1-3
Collection is comprised of Las Vegas, Nevada, United States, and international menus from the 1990s through the 2000s collected by Tobias Mattstedt during his career in the service industry. The collection includes information about menus from restaurants located inside Las Vegas casinos, most prominently, the MGM Grand, as well as other restaurants in the United States and abroad.
Link to Collection Guide

Tonopah Mining Company Records
Coll #: MS-00752
Date: 1904-1945
Extent: 11.4 linear feet (13 boxes)
Location: A-3.5.3-3.5.4, SC Map Case 11:O
The Tonopah Mining Company Records (1904-1945) contain assay certificates and assay reports, daily mine reports, time check cards, employee payroll cards, insurance policies, canceled bank checks, leases, and invoices reflecting the company's activities in Nevada. Also included are claims and correspondence against the Tonopah and Goldfield Railroad, as well as freight bills and paid receipts.
Link to Collection Guide

UNLV Libraries Collection on Casino Game Management
Coll #: MS-00847
Date: 1982-1999
Extent: 2 boxes (0.87 cubic feet, 0.79 linear feet)
Location: 02.11.2
The UNLV Libraries Collection on Casino Game Management is comprised of management training guides and manuals used in casino management and operations dating from 1982 to 1999 from different hotel casinos primarily from Las Vegas, Nevada. Guides and manuals cover topics such as casino floor supervision and dealer/staff training for table games. The collection includes published guides as well as internal casino procedural manuals and employee handbooks from hotels such as Circus Circus, Mandalay Bay, the Monte Carlo, the Rio, and Harrah's (Laughlin, NV).
Link to Collection Guide

UNLV Libraries Collection on Casino Game Protection
Coll #: MS-00846
Date: 1975-2004
Extent: 5 boxes (2.4 Cubic Feet, 2.13 Linear Feet)
Location: 2.7.3
The UNLV Libraries Collection on Casino Game Protection includes resources on casino security dating from 1975 to 2004 compiled by the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Special Collections and Archives. Materials include published reports related to casino security, gaming legislation, and gaming controls. It also contains information from surveillance information network reports, including the Griffin Book by Griffin Investigations, and other sources that document persons who committed offenses in casinos. The reports were designed to assist casino operators in spotting cheaters, advantage players, and scam artists.
Link to Collection Guide

Urban Chamber of Commerce of Las Vegas, Nevada Records
Coll #: MS-00791
Date: 1982-2009
Extent: 4 linear feet (6 boxes), 37 floppy disks
Location: B 2.6.6, B 2.6.7
The Urban Chamber of Commerce of Las Vegas, Nevada Records date from 1982-2009. The collection contains the organizational records of the Urban Chamber of Commerce of Las Vegas, Nevada (UCC) one of the many Chambers of Commerce in the Las Vegas, Nevada area. The mission of the Urban Chamber of Commerce is to create and foster an environment that promotes development of members and black owned businesses. The collection is comprised of publications, financial records, various event information, and photographs of events and members.
Link to Collection Guide

Vervilos, Aikaterine
Coll #: MS-00554
Date: 1962-2001
Extent: 2.75 linear feet (7 boxes)
Location: 12:11:3 - 12:11:4
Collection is comprised of gaming materials collected by Aikaterine Vervilos, an Arizona attorney, for a UNR master's thesis, "Public policy and the new casino gaming markets." Collection contains books on gambling law and horseracing; reports, legal documents, and studies related to gaming, particularly horseracing and Indian gaming in the United States.

Von Tobel Family Papers
Coll #: MS-00589
Date: 1905-1997
Extent: 13.6 Linear Feet (10 boxes, 1 roll, 1 flat file)
Location: B 1.4.5 - 1.4.6, B IS 1.5.4, MS Map Case 11:J
The Von Tobel Family Papers (1905-1997) consist of photographs, correspondence, ephemera, and financial reports pertaining to the pioneer Von Tobel family and their businesses, which they operated in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection also contains news clippings covering the life of Ed Von Tobel, and records of the operation of Von Tobel hardware store 301.
Link to Collection Guide

White Cross Drug Store
Coll #: MS-00628
Date: 1950-1964
Extent: 1.56 cubic feet (1 box)
Location: RS 1:4:8
The White Cross Drug Store Scrapbook (1950-1964) contains photographs, employee training materials, newspaper clippings, advertisements, displays, and some historical narrative and press release material on the history and mission of the White Cross Drug Store. It also includes advertising ephemera and brochures on cosmetic products and perfumes of the early 1950s.
Link to Collection Guide

Wingfield, George Records on the Tonopah Divide Mining Company and Other Holdings
Coll #: MS-00787
Date: 1916-1945
Extent: 9.35 Linear Feet (12 boxes)
Location: A 3.4.1, A 3.5.6-3.5.7
The George Wingfield Records on the Tonopah Divide Mining Company and Other Holdings (1916-1945) document some Wingfield's business interests and holdings, including the Goldfield News and Weekly Tribune, the Tonopah Banking Company, the Tonopah Divide Mining Company, and other mining operations. Materials include invoices, receipts, voucher records, correspondence, assay certificates, meeting minutes, legal papers, and ledgers of stocks and accounts.
Link to Collection Guide

Wynn Las Vegas Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00690
Date: 1940-2008
Extent: 1.6 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: RS 1:7:6
The collection consists of one scrapbook (2008) of postcards and photographs tracing the history of the Las Vegas property upon which the Wynn Las Vegas resort was built and four magazines featuring articles about Las Vegas (1940, 1947, 1955, and 1959). The scrapbook begins with several pages of historic postcards of the hotel originally built on the property, the Desert Inn, and continues with the establishment of the Wynn and the vision of its associated resort, the Encore. While the images primarily focus on the Desert Inn and the Wynn, there are also several pages of images of various other Las Vegas Strip properties accompanied by a brief timeline. The scrapbook contains approximately 76 images, dating from 1950 to 2008.
Link to Collection Guide

Wynn Las Vegas Scrapbook
Coll #: MS-00690
Date: 1940-2008
Extent: 1.6 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: RS 1:7:6
The collection consists of one scrapbook (2008) of postcards and photographs tracing the history of the Las Vegas property upon which the Wynn Las Vegas resort was built and four magazines featuring articles about Las Vegas (1940, 1947, 1955, and 1959). The scrapbook begins with several pages of historic postcards of the hotel originally built on the property, the Desert Inn, and continues with the establishment of the Wynn and the vision of its associated resort, the Encore. While the images primarily focus on the Desert Inn and the Wynn, there are also several pages of images of various other Las Vegas Strip properties accompanied by a brief timeline. The scrapbook contains approximately 76 images, dating from 1950 to 2008.
Link to Collection Guide

Young Electric Sign Company (YESCO)
Coll #: MS-00403
Date: 1920-1995
Extent: 18.8 linear feet, 36 boxes
Location: 7:9:2 - 7:10:2, Roller Shelf 2.2.4
Collection documents the history of the Young Electric Sign Company (YESCO) and is comprised of numerous visual materials such as photographs, negatives, slides, transparencies and videotapes. Also contains correspondence, price books, drawings, calculations, newspaper and trade magazine articles on YESCO, and oral history interviews and audio recordings of YESCO designers and executives. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Page 2 of 2

Previous   1  2