Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Arts


Total manuscripts: 43

Allied Arts Council
Coll #: T109
Date: 1970 - 1996
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 2:8:4
Collection contains the organizational records including membership lists, minutes, clippings, and correspondence of the Allied Arts Council for the period from 1970s to 1990s. For additional records see Coll# 2000-16.

Atkinson, Connie
Coll #: MS-00560
Date: approximately 1900-2009
Extent: 36 Linear Feet (36 boxes)
Location: A 6:3:2 - A 6:3:4
The Connie Atkinson Collection of Sheet Music and Music Scores is comprised of original music manuscript arrangements, both handwritten and printed, from composer and arranger Connie Atkinson dating from approximately 1900-2009.
Link to Collection Guide

Beckmann, Robert Collection
Coll #: MS-00606
Date: 1977-2013
Extent: 3 Linear Feet (3 boxes and 1 oversize box)
Location: A 2:5:5
The Robert Beckmann Papers (1977-2013) contain the professional papers of artist and Las Vegas, Nevada resident Robert Beckmann. The collection includes photographs, sketches, plans, and proposals for murals and art installations that Beckmann designed or painted. The collection also includes correspondence, awards, and fliers for art exhibitions.
Link to Collection Guide

Beckmann, Robert Collection
Coll #: MS-00606
Date: 1977-2013
Extent: 3 Linear Feet (3 boxes and 1 oversize box)
Location: A 2:5:5
The Robert Beckmann Papers (1977-2013) contain the professional papers of artist and Las Vegas, Nevada resident Robert Beckmann. The collection includes photographs, sketches, plans, and proposals for murals and art installations that Beckmann designed or painted. The collection also includes correspondence, awards, and fliers for art exhibitions.
Link to Collection Guide

Center Stage, Inc.
Coll #: MS-00551
Date: 1999-2008
Extent: 1.5 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: 13:7:6
The Center Stage Inc. Records are comprised of bylaws, meeting minutes, publicity, scripts, programs, cast lists and video recordings related to the Las Vegas, Nevada theater company's operation from 1999 to 2008. Center Stage Inc. was established in 1999 by Lenore Andrea Simon and Alana Brown.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark County Museum Guild
Coll #: MS-00462
Date: 1983-1996
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 10:8:5
The Southern Nevada, Clark County Museum Guild records consist of news clippings, meeting minutes, programs and other historical materials from 1983-1996.
Link to Collection Guide

Community Concerts Collection
Coll #: MS-00543
Date: 1939-2004
Extent: 10.55 Linear Feet (10 document boxes, 4 oversized boxes)
Location: 12:11:2 - 12:11:3 and Roller Shelf 2:4:8
The Southern Nevada Community Concerts Association (SNCCA) Records consist of materials documenting the activities of the SNCCA from 1939 until 2004 (bulk, 1986-2004). The SNCCA worked to bring various singers, orchestras, and ballets to the communities of Las Vegas and Southern Nevada. The materials include minutes, financial records, correspondence, promotional papers, and scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide

Friends of Southern Nevada Libraries
Coll #: 2009-05
Extent: 20 linear feet (20 record storage cartons)
Location: A 1:4:1 – A 1:4:7 - see Director of Special Collections for access
Collection is comprised of organizational records of the Friends of Southern Nevada Libraries consisting of financial, membership records etc), publications, flag, hats, bags etc. Mostly regarding book sales circa 1979-2009.

Haig , Johnny (Eshow)
Coll #: MS-00546
Date: 1970-1990
Extent: 2.29 Linear Feet (6 boxes)
Location: A 6:3:1 - A 6:3:2
The Johnny Eshow Haig Papers (1970-1990) are comprised of contracts, agreements, and correspondence of musician Johnny Haig, who worked as a trombone player and conductor at various hotels in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1955 until 2000. Additionally, the papers house extensive original music scores written by Haig. The papers primarily cover Haig�s later career in the 1970s and 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide

Hancock, Doris
Coll #: 87-059
Date: 1915 - 1987
Extent: 1.67 linear feet (3 document boxes, 1 slim document box, 1 oversize folder)
Location: 3:6:4
Related Materials: 0003
Collection consists of the personal papers of Doris Hancock, a Las Vegas kindergarten teacher who helped organize the Las Vegas Art League. Collection contains material about Southern Nevada and surrounding areas, particularly mining towns, Colorado River, Boulder Dam, Red Rock Canyon, early Las Vegas and Death Valley. It also includes some of Hancock's school memorabilia, correspondence, sketches and two scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide

Holabird, Robin (Robin Holabird Film Collection)
Coll #: MS-00583
Date: 1938-2006
Extent: 9 Linear Feet (9 boxes)
Location: A 1:6:3 - A 1:6:7
The Robin Holabird Film Press Kit Collection is comprised of press kits for commercial Hollywood films dating from 1986 through the first decade of the 2000s that were compiled by Robin Holabird in her capacity as Deputy Director of the Nevada Film Commission. The kits contain press releases, photograph stills and other filming information.
Link to Collection Guide

Houssels, Nancy
Coll #: 97-11
Date: 1972-1997
Extent: 1 doc box
Location: 6:6:2 and Roller Shelf 2.2.3
Collection consists of newsletters, programs, posters, magazine articles, anniversary reports, and news clippings on the Nevada Dance Theatre (now Nevada Ballet Theatre). Nancy Houssels co-founded the Nevada Dance Theatre with Vassili Sulich in 1974.

Janish, Jeanne Russell
Coll #: 95-31
Date: 1917-1994
Extent: 6 doc boxes, 4 slim doc boxes, 1 record storage box, 2 OVERSIZE boxes
Location: 4:1:1 - 4:1:3 Roller Shelf 2.1.4 -2.1.7
Related Materials: 0296
Collection is comprised of the personal papers of Jeanne Russel Janish, a Nevada artist and illustrator noted for her botanical illustrations. Janish traveled widely in China as a young woman and produced numerous pencil drawings and watercolors of that country. In her later years, she focused on the American Southwest. She was a graduate of Vassar and held a Masters degree from Stanford. Material in this collection includes school report cards, detailed diaries from 1918-1964, 1968, and 1973, personal correspondence, family papers, and two original manuscripts. The collection also contains several publications pertaining to her and her husband's interests, craft materials, drawing tools, photocopies of dried flowers, watercolor paintings, and pencil sketches. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Katz Yarchever, Edythe
Coll #: MS-00376
Date: 1934-2002
Extent: 5.50 Linear Feet (5 boxes, 2 oversize boxes, and one flat file)
Location: 5:6:5 and Roller Shelf 2:1:8
The Edythe and Lloyd Katz papers (1934-2002) provide a glimpse of the social, religious, and educational contributions that they made to the community of Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and awards dating from 1934 to 2002.
Link to Collection Guide

Kelly, Margaret
Coll #: MS-00604
Date: 1935-1997
Extent: 1 document box and 21 oversize boxes
Location: A 3:8:1 - A 3:8:5
This collection is comprised of the personal scrapbooks of Margaret Kelly and programs from her shows. The scrapbooks date from 1935 to 1984 and include thousands of press clippings covering her work at the Folies Bergere and Lido de Paris, and her long career as creator and manager of the world famous Bluebell Girls. Included are materials from 1958 about the Bluebell Girls shows in Las Vegas, Nevada. The collection also includes press cuttings (dating to 1997), brochures, and numerous programs from the Lido de Paris, Folies Bergere and other international production shows for which Kelly provided dancers.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Art League
Coll #: T105
Date: 196(?)
Extent: 1 record storage box
Location: 2:8:4
Collection contains the scrapbook for the Greater Las Vegas Art Week. Scrapbook includes newspaper clippings about the participating artists, photos of events and displays, and correspondence regarding the event.

Las Vegas Art Museum Records
Coll #: 2009-04
Date: 1950-2009 (inclusive); 1997-2009 (bulk)
Extent: 4 linear feet (4 record storage boxes)
Location: 13:10:6
Collection is comprised of the records of the Las Vegas Art Museum which began its life as the Las Vegas Art League in 1950. In 1966 the Art League moved to Lorenzi Park and in 1974 officially became the LV Art Museum. It was governed by a Board of Directors, mostly local artists. It’s exhibitions prior to 1997 were primarily of local art and artists, with a permanent collection of approx. 100 pieces. In 1997 the Museum moved into the Sahara West Library/Fine Art Museum Building, expanded its governing board, broadened its exhibit scope and schedule, and significantly increased its professional staff and members. In 2005 Libby Lumpkin, distinguished art historian and critic, and founding curator of the Bellagio Gallery of Fine Art, became the Museum’s director and launched an ambitious program of exhibitions, lectures, and publications featuring prominent contemporary artists. Under her direction and with the association of her husband, McArthur Award-winning art critic Dave Hickey, the LVAM became a recognized center of contemporary art. Lacking sufficient funding, the Las Vegas Art Museum officially closed on Feb.28, 2009. The collection is comprised of exhibit catalogs and the museum’s records including catalogs, programs, and publicity.

Las Vegas Community Murals Project
Coll #: T79
Date: 1977
Extent: 1 slim document box
Location: 1:12:4
Collection consists of material relating to the Las Vegas Murals Project headed by Robert Beckmann. It contains press releases, lists of participants, photographs of the murals, newsletters, and original colored designs and sketches of many of the murals. There are also detailed lists of each mural, its dimensions, artists, dates, and funding information.

Las Vegas Contemporary Arts Center Records
Coll #: MS-00643
Date: 1985-2012
Extent: 21.6 Linear Feet (20 boxes, 2 oversize boxes, and 1 flat file)
Location: B 1:1:2, B 1:1:4 - B 1:2:6, Drawer 3 (Oversize)
The Las Vegas Contemporary Arts Center Records comprise the organizational records of the Las Vegas Contemporary Arts Center (CAC) from 1985 to 2012. Materials include administrative files, records of exhibits hosted by the CAC, newspaper clippings, awards, and promotional materials. The records include photographic prints, slides, and digital images of artwork.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Hard Core Collection of Flyers and Photographs
Coll #: MS-00605
Date: 1981-2013
Extent: 0.83 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: A 3:8:5
The "Las Vegas Hard Core" Collection of Punk Rock Fliers and Photographs (1981-2013) includes fliers and photographs documenting the Las Vegas, Nevada punk rock scene in the 1980s. It includes photocopied fliers from bands such as The Ramones, The Germs, Misfits, Meat Puppets, Wasted Youth, Black Flag, FSP, TSOL, Circle Jerks, Shattered Faith, Agent Orange, Self Abuse, Bad Attitude, and many others. The majority of items are from the 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Hard Core Collection of Flyers and Photographs
Coll #: MS-00605
Date: 1981-2013
Extent: 0.83 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: A 3:8:5
The "Las Vegas Hard Core" Collection of Punk Rock Fliers and Photographs (1981-2013) includes fliers and photographs documenting the Las Vegas, Nevada punk rock scene in the 1980s. It includes photocopied fliers from bands such as The Ramones, The Germs, Misfits, Meat Puppets, Wasted Youth, Black Flag, FSP, TSOL, Circle Jerks, Shattered Faith, Agent Orange, Self Abuse, Bad Attitude, and many others. The majority of items are from the 1980s.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Literary Club
Coll #: MS-00566
Date: 1937-1997
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: 13:7:2
The Las Vegas Literary Club records contain materials documenting various club events ranging from the years 1937 to 1997, with the bulk of the material dating from 1973 to 1994. The materials include scrapbooks that provide insight into the club's activities, events, and celebrations. There are two record books that include financial records with meeting minutes, and a book commemorating the club's history.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Literary Club
Coll #: MS-00566
Date: 1937-1997
Extent: 2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: 13:7:2
The Las Vegas Literary Club records contain materials documenting various club events ranging from the years 1937 to 1997, with the bulk of the material dating from 1973 to 1994. The materials include scrapbooks that provide insight into the club's activities, events, and celebrations. There are two record books that include financial records with meeting minutes, and a book commemorating the club's history.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Philharmonic
Coll #: 2007-20
Date: 1998-2007
Extent: 1 record storage carton
Location: 13:6:3
Collection is comprised of materials documenting the Las Vegas Philharmonic. Includes programs and other ephemera.

Mann, Mildred
Coll #: 96-10
Date: 1915-1995
Extent: 4.5 linear ft.
Location: 5:5:2 - 5:5:3
North Las Vegas resident and community activist. Heavily involved in state and national ceramic associations, and taught ceramic arts for many years in various venues, including to the visually impaired. Collection includes correspondence, clippings, certificates, manuals, photos, and newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide

Meadows Playhouse
Coll #: T163
Date: 197(?)
Extent: 2 doc boxes, and 2 record storage boxes
Location: 2:3:2 - 2:3:3
Collection houses the architectural plans for the Meadows Playhouse, a UNLV playhouse, and interdepartmental correspondence about designing a theatre major, examples of other university theatre major requirements, copies of plays with set design notes, notes on student actors, production playbills and newspaper clippings about upcoming productions.

Mercer, L. Paul
Coll #: Mss46
Date: 1957 - 1972
Extent: 6 folders (containing 161 items)
Location: 1:1:1 and ROLLER SHELF 1:6:6
Related Materials: 0062
Collection consists of material relating to Paul Mercer's interest in the arts of spinning, dyeing, and weaving. It includes letters from fellow enthusiast, Fred A. Pennington, and his wife, Lulu. Also includes manuscript of Dye Formulas and Color Representations from the notes of Paul Mercer. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

MGM Mirage Corporate Archives - Accretion
Coll #: 2009-26
Date: 2009
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 11:4:2
Additional materials from MGM Mirage for their corporate archives collection - promotional materials from the City Center development at its December 2009 opening. Consists of promotional materials, brochures, publicity packets, and catalogs from the various properties such as Aria and the Mandarin Oriental. Also contains material on the public art installation at City Center.

Miller, Linda
Coll #: 2012-09
Date: 2000s
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Collection is comprised of large scrapbook containing documentation on Linda Miller's efforts (in conjunction with the Southern Nevada Women's History Project) to errect the statue of Helen Stewart on the grounds of the old Las Vegas Mormon Fort. Scrapbook contains numerous photos, newspaper clippings, programs and information on Miller's Chautauqua work portraying Helen Stewart at many events throughout Nevada.

Miller, Mike Papers
Coll #: MS-00715
Date: 1971-2014
Extent: 2.2 Linear Feet (6 boxes, 1 oversize folder, and 3 portfolios)
Location: B 1.5.6, B 1.5.3 IS, Map Case 11:A
Related Materials: Mike Miller's sketches of UNLV mascot "Hey Reb" are available in UNLV Special Collections.
The Mike Miller Papers (1971-2014) include advertisements, books, and paintings by Las Vegas, Nevada-based artist and graphic designer Mike Miller. Materials include photographs, art prints, advertisements, newspaper clippings featuring Miller's advertisements, casino advertisements, and books designed, written, or illustrated by Miller.
Link to Collection Guide

Morelli, Antonio
Coll #: MS-00558
Date: 1910s-1970s
Extent: 2.5 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
Location: 3:11:2 - 3:11:3
The Antonio Morelli Papers include materials spanning from the 1910s to the 1970s that chronicle the professional and private life of longtime Sands Hotel and Casino orchestra conductor and musical director, Antonio Morelli and his wife Helen. The collection includes snapshots from Morelli's early life, three scrapbooks, one box of sound recording tapes, and a box of slides from Thailand. The collection also documents Morelli�s efforts to provide classical music concerts for the Las Vegas, Nevada community and his involvement with the Guardian Angel Church on the Las Vegas Strip.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Music Teachers Association
Coll #: 85-123
Date: 196(?) - 197(?)
Extent: 3 record storage boxes
Location: 3:1:4 - 3:1:5
Collection focuses on the work of the Nevada Music Teachers Association and Las Vegas piano teacher, Betty Henderson. The collection is comprised primarily of reel-to-reel tapes of auditions, recitals and concerts. Others materials include newsletters, sheet music, scrapbooks, photos, and programs. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nevada Poetry Society
Coll #: T89
Date: 196(?)
Extent: 1 record storage box
Location: 2:11:1
Collection is comprised of the records of the Nevada Poetry Society. Society president, Mildred Breedlove, features prominently in the collection. Materials include bank records, correspondence, financial documents, newsletters, poems and the book Silver Springs: Anthology of the Nevada Poetry Society. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nevada Watercolor Society
Coll #: 2005-32
Date: 1968 to 2004
Location: 11:2:4 - 11:2:5 Roller Shelf 2.4.7
Records of the Nevada Watercolor Society from its founding in 1968 to 2004. Includes newsletters, photographs, flyers, programs and other documentation.

Shaw, Arnold Papers
Coll #: MS-00031
Date: 1927-2006
Extent: 28.7 Linear Feet (71 boxes)
Location: 9:2:1 - 9:3:6
The collection is comprised of the Arnold Shaw papers from 1927 to 2006 and contains correspondence, newspaper articles, journal entries, promotional materials, photographs, and scrapbooks. Also included are articles, short stories, plays and biographies written by Shaw. There are proofreaders notes, research material and scratch copies for each of his 14 books. Also included are papers from the various vocal groups and companies under contract to Shaw's company, Mansion Music. Sheet music, some of which was written or produced by Shaw, assorted printed materials and one box of sound reels complete the collection.
Link to Collection Guide

St. Denis, Ruth
Coll #: 85-112
Date: 1905 - 1984
Extent: 1 record storage box, 1 document box, 3 oversize boxes (6.76 linear feet)
Location: 2:1:5, RS 2:1:7 & RS 2:5:7
The Ruth St. Denis Collection pertains to the St. Denis School of Dance in Los Angeles, CA. The collection contains scrapbooks filled with magazine cutouts from early 20th century- performers and celebrities. It also includes a variety of books on costume and dance. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Sulich, Vassili
Coll #: 2003-11
Date: 1950s-1990s
Location: 11:6:1 - 11:6:3, RS 2:7:2 - 2:7:3
Collection consists of the personal papers and photographs of Croatian-born choreographer, Vassili Sulich, founder of the Nevada Dance Theatre, the first professional ballet company in Nevada. Includes materials from his time as a professional ballet dancer in Europe, and as dancer at the Follies Bergere at the Tropicana Hotel in Las Vegas. Collection is comprised of photographs, news clippings, correspondence, programs, posters, scrapbooks, and various ephemera.

Vanda, Charles
Coll #: 88-142
Date: 1955 -1987
Extent: 3 boxes
Location: 3:12:5 Roller Shelf 2.1.1
The Charles Vanda Collection contains a variety The Charles Vanda Collection contains a variety of achievement awards, plaques, and certificates that were presented to Charles Vanda throughout his career. It also contains some news clippings and articles pertaining to Charles Vanda, the arts and UNLV. broadcasting pioneer and, after his retirement from CBS, a leader in the Las Vegas arts community. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Variety, Children's Chariety of Southern Nevada
Coll #: MS-00590
Date: 1950-1996
Extent: 2.2 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
Location: A 1:10:3 and roller shelves
The Las Vegas Variety Club Records (1950-1996) consist of clippings and photographs of the Las Vegas Variety Club, which focused on providing services to special needs children. The collection also contains several scrapbooks documenting the organization's major activities in the 1950s and 1960s.
Link to Collection Guide

Willard, Bill
Coll #: MS 2001-17
Date: 1887-1999 (inclusive)
Extent: 52 document boxes (28.48 linear feet)
Location: 9:4:4 - 9:5:6
Related Materials: 0333
This collection is comprised of the personal papers of noted Las Vegas entertainment writer, producer, and critic Bill Willard. It is a comprehensive collection that contains material on his father’s theater and political involvements as well as Willard's early childhood and high school years. His time in the Army is chronicled by editorials and correspondence he wrote. From his arrival in Las Vegas in 1949, this collection traces his continued involvement in all facets of writing, entertainment, and art, culminating in his final contribution of directing the Arnold Shaw Popular Music Research Center. The collection includes pictures of his artwork, writings he did for various newspapers and magazines, scripts, skits, jokes, awards, over 700 interviews done for the “Rap with the Artist” series, plus personal memorabilia. COLLECTION FORMS PART OF ARNOLD SHAW ARCHIVES.
Link to Collection Guide

Woods, Vivian
Coll #: 95-016
Date: 1960 - 199(?)
Extent: 1 doc box and 1 slim doc box (1.5 linear ft.)
Location: 4:2:4
Collection contains the Las Vegas Art League scrapbooks, photo albums, correspondence to members about waning funds, a history of the Las Vegas Artist’s Co-Op, and the Las Vegas Artist’s Co-Op member rosters.

Young Audiences
Coll #: T177
Date: 1960 - 1983
Extent: 4 doc boxes and 6 record storage boxes
Location: 2:2:1 - 2:2:4
Collection contains the organizational records of the Young Audiences group. Materials include minutes, financial records, bylaws, photographs, projects, membership information, reports, publications, news clippings, and public relations material. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Young Electric Sign Company (YESCO)
Coll #: 98-12
Date: 1920-1995
Extent: 33 document boxes
Location: 7:9:2 - 7:10:2 Roller Shelf 2.2.4
Collection documents the history of the Young Electric Sign Company (YESCO) and is comprised of numerous visual materials such as photographs, negatives, slides, transparencies and videotapes. Also contains correspondence, price books, drawings, calculations, newspaper and trade magazine articles on YESCO, and oral history interviews and audio recordings of YESCO designers and executives. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE