Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Artifacts

Total manuscripts: 16

Annette Lyon Collection of Las Vegas, Nevada Casino Ashtrays
Coll #: MS-00314
Date: 1965-1990
Extent: 1 linear foot (2 boxes)
Location: 4:10:1
The Annette Lyon Collection of Las Vegas, Nevada Casino Ashtrays spans 1965 to 1990. The collection primarily contains various ashtrays from Las Vegas, Nevada hotels and casinos. The collection also contains pens from Las Vegas hotels and casinos.
Link to Collection Guide

Boardwalk Hotel and Casino Records
Coll #: MS-00093
Date: 1995-2005
Extent: 7.4 Linear Feet (10 boxes)
Location: MS 11:8:1 - 11:8:2, RS 2:4:7
The Boardwalk Hotel and Casino records, dating from 1995 to 2003, contain two security and exchange documents, promotional and entertainment materials, player's club information and photographs. Also included are plans for an operational tracking system of players.
Link to Collection Guide

Carson, T
Coll #: 91-13
Extent: .5 linear feet (1 pamphlet box)
Location: 4:9:1
Consists of swizzle sticks from various Las Vegas casinos.

Harvey's Limited Edition Pewter Plates
Coll #: 87-77
Date: ca. 1980s
Extent: Currently in their individual boxes, but these could be placed in a records storage box.
Location: 3:6:5
Collection contains four pewter plates of noted Las Vegas historical sites: Union Pacific Depot; City Hall, 1935; Clark County Courthouse, 1914; and Fourth Street School, 1910.

Horse Racing Stamp
Coll #: 1029-5
Date: 1974
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of commemorative stamp saluting horse racing, first day of issue fact sheet, and a copy of Stamp News (3/18/74) featuring a story on the horse racing stamp.

Kunkel, Victor
Coll #: 88-65
Date: 1864-1971
Extent: 1.7 linear feet (1 box)
Location: RS 1.8.4
Collection consists of the following artifacts: dice sets from Las Vegas hotels, Clark County deputy badges, and a large coin and currency collection drawn from all over the world.

Meehan, Louise Collection
Coll #: MS-00309
Date: 1953-1984
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 box)
Location: MS 4:12.5
The Louise Meehan Collection contains memorabilia from both the University of Nevada, Las Vegas and various Las Vegas, Nevada hotel and casinos from 1953 to 1984. Materials were collected by Meehan, who was a "change girl" at the Boulder Club.
Link to Collection Guide

Meiklejohn, Patrick
Coll #: 94-41
Date: ca. 1980s-1990s
Extent: 3.25 linear feet (3 record storage boxes)
Location: MS 4:5:2 - 4:5:3
Collection consists of 100+ decks of casino playing cards and miscellaneous casino memorabilia of undetermined amount and cost.

Montoya, Max
Coll #: Mss32
Date: 1935
Extent: 1 item ; 4 cm
Location: 1:1:1
Consists of a 1935 commemorative 3 cent stamp depicting Boulder (Hoover Dam) at its completion.

Nevada Federation of Women's Clubs Collection
Coll #: MS-00266
Date: 1916-2000
Extent: 5.25 linear feet (10 boxes)
Location: MS 12.3.1 - 12.3.2, RS 1.8.4
Collection contains financial records, correspondence, and newspaper clippings that document the Nevada Federation of Women's Club's activities from 1916 to 2000.

Nevada Political Buttons Collection
Coll #: MS-00302
Date: 1972-2000
Extent: 0.7 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: MS 9.10.3
The Nevada Political Buttons Collection contains campaign buttons from 1972 to 2000. The collection includes buttons for political candidates at the federal, state, and local levels, including Bill Clinton and Al Gore for President of the United States, Harry Reid for United States Senate from Nevada, Bob Miller for governor of Nevada, and various candidates for Nevada's state legislature and other elected positions. The collection also contains buttons from some of Nevada's local political organizations, including Las Vegas, Nevada's branch of the Culinary Union, Nevada Fair Pay Coalition, and No Nuclear in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Silver Centennial Stamp
Coll #: 1031-1
Date: 1959
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of envelopes with the Silver Centennial Stamp cancelled with the "Virginia City - Nevada Silver Centennial - 1859-1959" die hub with postmarks of 10 Nevada cities including Las Vegas. There is also a first day of issue decorative envelope.

Renglehoff, Evan
Coll #: 2006-05
Date: ca. 1930s-1940s
Extent: 6.7 linear feet (4 boxes)
Location: MS 11.4.3, MS 11.4.4
Collection is comprise of 42 assorted punch board devices with identifying documentation.

Terry, Norm Collection
Coll #: MS-00629
Date: 1950s-1970s
Extent: 1 box (0.2 linear feet)
Location: 11:6:1
Collection is comprised of matchbook covers collected by Norm Terry from the 1970s-1990s. Many from Las Vegas-based restaurants and hotels.

Watts, Frank F. Collection of Casino Memorabilia
Coll #: MS-00255
Date: 1880-1990
Extent: 0.4 linear feet (1 box)
Location: MS 1:8:1
The Frank F. Watts Collection of Casino Memorabilia (1880-1990) primarily consists of gaming tokens and chips, matchbooks, and other memorabilia from Nevada and international casinos. The collection also contains items related to early Northern Nevada history including a salt ledger from 1880 as well as a wanted poster from 1913.
Link to Collection Guide

Williams, Claudine
Coll #: MS-00094
Date: 1963-2009
Extent: 10.06 Linear Feet (21 boxes and one over-sized flat file)
Location: A 2:6:4 - A 2:6:7
The Claudine Williams papers cover the years 1965 through 2009. The collection includes awards, contracts, personal and business correspondence, news clippings, her work in the community, and extensive information on her hotel and gaming properties, including the Silver Slipper, Holiday Inn Hotel, Holiday Casino, and Harrah's.
Link to Collection Guide