Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Architecture/Urban Planning


Total manuscripts: 29

12 + 7: Artists and Architects of CityCenter Exhibit Panels from Bellagio Gallery of Fine Art
Coll #: MS-00844
Date: 2009
Extent: 5.38 linear feet, 0.47 cubic feet (12 items)
Location: MS IS 01.05.1

Alton Dean Jensen Architectural Drawings
Coll #: MS-00843
Date: 1943-2009
Extent: 263 rolls (55.11 Cubic Feet, 67.25 Linear Feet)
Location: LASR 07.02.1-6
The collection is comprised of architectural drawings (1943-2009) completed by American architect, Alton Dean Jensen and/or his architectural firm, Alton Dean Jensen Architect, AIA, and contains 263 sets of drawings from over 200 different projects. Primarily focusing on the Nevada area and Utah area with some projects also located in Arizona, California, Wyoming, Colorado, South Dakota, Montana, and Idaho, the materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from preliminary sketches to construction documents. The drawings also contain work from consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The drawings include: commercial, industrial, professional, civic, residential, and religious buildings of varying scales, such as convenience stores, hotels, casinos, shopping centers, warehouses, office developments, schools, military buildings, churches, and custom single-family homes located throughout the Southwest (United States). The drawings also include a number of additions, remodels, and renovations. The drawings contain work from the Miles E. Miller Architecture firm, where Alton Dean Jensen first worked in Salt Lake City, Utah in the 1950s. Jensen began his own firm in 1962, calling it Alton Dean Jensen, Architect in Salt Lake City, Utah. He later relocated to Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Bruner, Elmo
Coll #: MS-00177
Date: 1947 - 1965
Extent: 39.1 linear feet, 26.3 cubic feet (36 boxes)
Location: B IS 1:9:1-B IS 1:9:5, Mapcase drawer 03:G
Collection contains the papers of Elmo C. Bruner, reflecting on his time in Las Vegas as an architect, appraiser, and member of the Nevada State Board of Architects. He was responsible for the designs of many local buildings, including McCarran Air Terminal, a number of churches, school buildings, and residences. This collection contains building specifications, projects, and correspondence.

Cummings-Schmidt, Nancy
Coll #: MS-00822
Date: 1975-1981
Extent: 0.23 cubic feet, 0.21 linear feet (1 box)
Location: MS 03.02.6
The collection is comprised of records that document Nancy Cummings-Schmidt's career as a librarian for the Clark County Library District from 1975 to 1981. Collection includes biographical information, photographs of the Sunrise Branch Library renovation, photographs and brochures about summer reading programs at the Clark County Library in 1975-1980, and documentation about the 1980 Energy Expo.
Link to Collection Guide

First Good Shepard Lutheran Church
Coll #: Mss19
Date: 1944 -1976
Extent: 98 leaves ; 22 x 36 cm
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists primarily of photocopies of scrapbook pages (also in Special Collections) and additional material not placed in the scrapbook. Contains (photocopies of) photographs, programs, news clippings and architectural drawings. Concerns construction of First Good Shepherd Lutheran Church building at 12 Maryland Parkway and Bridger Avenue, Las Vegas, Nevada.

Irwin and Susan Molasky Papers
Coll #: MS-00661
Date: early 1900s - 2012
Extent: 1.9 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 1.3.1, B IS 1.5.5
The Irwin and Susan Molasky Papers (early 1900s-2012, bulk 1970-2012) primarily contain materials related to real estate development work by Irwin Molasky with his company, the Molasky Group of Companies, in Las Vegas, Nevada. In addition, the collection includes personal photographs (early 1900s-2011, bulk 1970-2011) of family members, friends, and events, as well as a Proclamation from Clark County, Nevada to establish the Molasky Family Park.
Link to Collection Guide
View Select Materials Online

JMA Architecture Studio Records
Coll #: MS-00783
Date: 1953-2002
Extent: 12 boxes, 81 rolls (33.85 Cubic Feet, 30.25 Linear Feet)
Location: A-04.03.5-7, LASR 7.02.6-8
The JMA Architecture Studio Records are comprised of architectural records (1953-2002) created by the American architect Jack Miller and/or his architectural firm, known as both Jack Miller & Associates, Architects, & Engineers, Inc and JMA Architects, Inc. This collection includes 30.25 linear feet of materials documenting work on over 250 projects. The collection focuses on Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada. The materials feature photographs of the firm's projects and hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide

JMA Architecture Studio Records
Coll #: MS-00783
Date: 1953-2002
Extent: 12 boxes, 81 rolls (33.85 Cubic Feet, 30.25 Linear Feet)
Location: A-04.03.5-7, LASR 7.02.6-8
The JMA Architecture Studio Records are comprised of architectural records (1953-2002) created by the American architect Jack Miller and/or his architectural firm, known as both Jack Miller & Associates, Architects, & Engineers, Inc and JMA Architects, Inc. This collection includes 30.25 linear feet of materials documenting work on over 250 projects. The collection focuses on Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada. The materials feature photographs of the firm's projects and hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Housing Developments and Apartment Complex Brochures
Coll #: 93-36
Date: ca. 1980s-1990s
Extent: 2.75 linear feet (2 boxes, 1 oversize folder)
Location: MS 4:6:3; MS Map Case 11:H
Collection contains brochures and prospectuses on Las Vegas housing developments and apartment complexes from the 1980s and 1990s.There is both an alphabetical and geographical index.

Las Vegas Land and Water Co.
Coll #: Mss35
Date: 1927 -1940
Extent: 1 folder (containing 15 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection concerns water shortages in the City of Las Vegas due in part to wasteful water usage; refers to City Ordinance No. 247. Includes correspondence, resolutions, petitions, application for permit and newspaper clippings. Several items signed by Walter R. Bracken, Vice President and Agent of the Company, and A.M. Folger, Assistant Agent.

Las Vegas Real Estate Brochures
Coll #: MS-00574
Date: 1990-2010
Extent: 9 boxes (9.75 Linear Feet, 11.55 Cubic Feet)
Location: MS 11.7.3 - 11.7.6
The Las Vegas Real Estate Brochures (1990-2010) contain single family housing and condominium brochures, some with price annotations, collected and donated by a local real estate agent.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas, Nevada Personal Rapid Transit System Project Records
Coll #: MS-00676
Date: 1972-1975
Extent: 0.8 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 1.3.3
The Las Vegas, Nevada Personal Rapid Transit System Project Records (1972-1975) contain monorail proposals compiled by A.J. Kavanaugh and Associates, Inc. for the City of Las Vegas and the County Commission of Clark County. Material includes Specifications for Design and Construction, technical evaluations, feasibility studies, contractor agreements, proposals/plans, publicity, financing plans, executive summaries, and patronage studies.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas-Clark County Library District Records
Coll #: MS-00817
Date: 1971-1996
Extent: 3.02 cubic feet, 3.27 linear feet
Location: B-01.09.37, BIS 01.05.4
Collection is comprised of materials dating from approximately 1971 to 1996 about the Las Vegas Clark County Library District. Collection materials also include Charles Hunsberger's subject files from when he was library director of LVCCLD. The collection includes annual financial reports, clippings about the library district, photographs, master plan documents for Nevada libraries, and staff newsletters. In addition, the collection also includes materials documenting Hunsberger's efforts to secure a $22.2 million library bond in 1985.
Link to Collection Guide

Mark L. Fine Papers
Coll #: MS-00696
Date: 1920-2014
Extent: 7.5 linear feet (7 boxes) ; 813 digital files
Location: B 1.5.2 - 1.5.3, B IS 1.5.4
The collection dates from 1920 to 2014 and is primarily comprised of business and organizational records, press, photographs, scrapbooks, audiovisual materials, awards, and ephemera documenting Mark L. Fine’s career as a real estate developer in Southern Nevada and his work with various government and community organizations. The bulk of the material dates from 1980 to 2005.
Link to Collection Guide

Mark L. Fine Papers
Coll #: MS-00696
Date: 1920-2014
Extent: 7.5 linear feet (7 boxes) ; 813 digital files
Location: B 1.5.2 - 1.5.3, B IS 1.5.4
The collection dates from 1920 to 2014 and is primarily comprised of business and organizational records, press, photographs, scrapbooks, audiovisual materials, awards, and ephemera documenting Mark L. Fine’s career as a real estate developer in Southern Nevada and his work with various government and community organizations. The bulk of the material dates from 1980 to 2005.
Link to Collection Guide

McDaniel, James B.
Coll #: MS-00203
Date: 1960-1978
Extent: 171 rolls, 42 flat files, 11 boxes (98.21 cubic feet, 207.04 linear feet)
Location: Main Stacks 2.5.4 - 2.5.6, Map Case Main Stacks 2:A, 2:B, 2:C, 2:D, 2:E, 2:F, 2:G, 2:H, 2:I, 2:K, 2:L, 2:M, 2:O, cabinets 1 and 2 are southeast corner of main stacks.
The James B. McDaniel Records comprise the plans and drawings created by Las Vegas, Nevada architect James McDaniel who worked independently as James Brooks McDaniel Architect (1960-1978) and with a partner at Moffitt and McDaniel Architects, Limited (1970s). Records include oversized designs, drawings, and files of architectural projects. McDaniel designed many University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) buildings, residential, commercial, and landscape designs for Las Vegas clients. Also included are business files of construction estimates, specifications, invoices, change orders, and correspondence.
Link to Collection Guide

MGM Grand
Coll #: MS-00225
Date: ca. 1982
Extent: 3 boxes
Location: MS 2:2:5
Collection is comprised of litigation documentation stemming from the November 1980 MGM Grand Hotel fire that killed 85 people. Included in the documentation are testimonies regarding construction materials and processes, testimonies regarding the electrical system and the ways in which fire and smoke spread and an index of eyewitness accounts. There is also included in this collection a transcript from a Nova special ���¯���¿���½Why America Burns���¯���¿���½ and a copy of the 1970 Building Code.

Moser, John R. Real Estate Appraisal Records
Coll #: MS-00803
Date: 1957-1972
Extent: 1 box (1.0 linear feet)
Location: 01:10:3
Collection contains nineteen real estate appraisal reports created by John R. Moser from Las Vegas and rural Southern Nevada (Lincoln and Nye counties) from approximately 1962 to 1972. The reports contain information on the market values for the properties and contextual information explaining the appraisals. This collection also contains photographic negatives depicting properties, and slides of desert flora and landscapes around Nevada and Idaho such as Groom Mountain Range, White Bird Canyon, Salmon River Valley, Clover Valley, and Ruby Mountains.
Link to Collection Guide

Moser, John R. Real Estate Appraisal Records
Coll #: MS-00803
Date: 1957-1972
Extent: 1 box (1.0 linear feet)
Location: 01:10:3
Collection contains nineteen real estate appraisal reports created by John R. Moser from Las Vegas and rural Southern Nevada (Lincoln and Nye counties) from approximately 1962 to 1972. The reports contain information on the market values for the properties and contextual information explaining the appraisals. This collection also contains photographic negatives depicting properties, and slides of desert flora and landscapes around Nevada and Idaho such as Groom Mountain Range, White Bird Canyon, Salmon River Valley, Clover Valley, and Ruby Mountains.
Link to Collection Guide

North Las Vegas Library District Collection on Nevada
Coll #: MS-00651
Date: 1940-2007
Extent: 6.6 linear feet (8 boxes)
Location: B 1.3.6 - 1.3.7, B 1.4.1 - 1.4.2
The North Las Vegas Library Collection on Nevada (1940-2007) is comprised of subject files created and collected by the North Las Vegas Library to provide patrons with reference and research materials on the subject of Nevada. The materials include subject files on Nevada, North Las Vegas, arts and humanities throughout Nevada, and Las Vegas construction photographs.
Link to Collection Guide

Petitions from Residents and Business Owners to City Officials of Las Vegas, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00049
Date: 1940, undated
Extent: 0.2 linear feet (2 folders)
Location: 1:1:1
The Petitions from Residents and Business Owners to City Officials of Las Vegas, Nevada consist of formal requests from residents and business owners in Las Vegas, Nevada dating from February 1, 1940 to December 4, 1940 which were filed with the City of Las Vegas clerk. Some petitions in the collection were submitted by residents of the Westside neighborhood which was historically the African-American section of Las Vegas. The Westside petitions (including one from the Westside Improvement Association) requested infrastructure improvements and zoning restrictions, while others criticized city government actions related to maintenance of public areas, complained about inaction on previous petitions, and questioned the behavior of city officials. Other petitions in the collection are from residents and business owners requesting commercial and residential zoning enforcement, clarification regarding new construction, and other miscellaneous business.
Link to Collection Guide

Pichot, Mary Kozlowski
Coll #: MS-00375
Date: 1969-1991
Extent: 1.3 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
Location: MS 5:7:3
The Mary Kozlowski Pichot Papers document the environmental activism of Mary Kozlowski Pichot from 1969 to 1991. The collection focuses on the environmental groups and planning committees that Pichot belonged to, including Aquavision, the Citizens' Advisory Committee, and Las Vegas 2000 and Beyond. The materials address water conservation plans, pollution alleviation efforts, and strategies to clean the Las Vegas Wash and Las Vegas Bay in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Rissman, Homer
Coll #: MS-00452
Date: 1957-2001
Extent: 110.64 Cubic Feet (240 flat files, 48 boxes)
Location: A-06.09.6-7, AIS-02.03.5, B-MC 02:C-D, MS 07.05.6, MS 07.06.1-6, MS 07.07.1-2, SC MC 06:A-O, MS MC 07:O, MS MC 08:A. MS 09:C, MS MC 10:E, MS MC 12:A-J
Collection is comprised of the drawings and architectural renderings of noted Las Vegas architect Homer Rissman. Some of Rissman's most notable projects include the Flamingo Towers, Sands Expo The collection is comprised of architectural records (1947-2001) kept by American architect Homer Rissman and/or his architectural firm, Rissman and Rissman Associates Ltd, including 825 items from over 40 major projects and over 110 minor projects. Rissman's work focused on Las Vegas, Reno, and Lake Tahoe, Nevada, Southern California, and Arizona with early career design work focused on Chicago, Illinois. The materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents, and a number of artist's renderings, used for presentations and promotional materials. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for: hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide

Stern, Martin
Coll #: MS-00382
Date: 1950-1990
Extent: 349.65 cubic feet, 591.77 linear feet (605 rolls, 204 flat files, 35 boxes)
Location: SC MC 02:N, MC 07:C-N, MC 08:K-O, MC 09:E-G, MC 09:J-O, MC 10:E, A-06.08.1-06.09.5, AIS-01.06.5, AIS-02.01.01-02.03.08, Annex B MC 02:B,
The collection is comprised of drawings (1950-1990) completed by American architect Martin Stern and/or his architectural firm, Martin Stern Jr., AIA Architect and Associates, and contains 592 linear feet of materials including 710 drawings from over 300 different projects involving over 100 buildings. Stern’s work focused on the resort centers of Las Vegas, Nevada; Reno, Nevada; Lake Tahoe, Stateline, Nevada; and Atlantic City, New Jersey. The materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents, and a number of artist’s renderings, used for presentations and promotional materials. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for: hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide

Underground House of Las Vegas Collection
Coll #: MS-00594
Date: 1964-2004
Extent: 1.25 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: MS 10.6.3
The Underground House of Las Vegas Collection (1964-2004) is comprised of news articles, photographs, books, and media items detailing the construction and history of Girard "Jerry" B. Henderson's "Underground House," a Las Vegas, Nevada home constructed in 1978 and designed to withstand the aftermath of nuclear war.
Link to Collection Guide

Whiteley, Harry Hayden Architectural Records
Coll #: MS-00134
Date: 1931-1970
Extent: 10 flat files, 1 box (30.21 Linear Feet)
Location: MC 12:M-12:N, A-06.09.5
The Harry Hayden Whiteley Architectural Records are comprised of architectural records (1931-1970) created and/or maintained by the American architect Harry Hayden Whiteley and/or his architectural firm, known as Harry Hayden Whiteley and Associates. This collection includes 30.21 linear feet of materials including 45 items from over 30 projects. The collection focuses on his work in the Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada areas. The materials feature both architectural drawings and project files. Architectural drawings include pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches and mounted artist's renderings used for presentations and promotional materials. Project files include project correspondence, photographs, and structural calculations. The drawings also contain work from the architect Paul Revere Williams. The collection includes architectural drawings for hotels, shopping plazas, residential developments, and office buildings.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilner Family Collection
Coll #: MS-00810
Date: 1983-2008
Extent: 1 box (1.0 Linear Feet, 1.1 Cubic Feet), 2 Digital Files (2.61 GB)
Location: B-02.09.4
The Wilner Family Collection is comprised of audiovisual material on real estate in Las Vegas, Nevada collected by Las Vegas real estate agent, Linda C. Wilner. The collection includes informational videos for real estate agents and promotional showcase materials on various real estate developments around Las Vegas including Summerlin, Lake Las Vegas, Turnberry Place, Park Towers, Sun City Anthem, Sun City MacDonald Ranch, and Christopher Homes. This collection also contains a digital surrogate of a scrapbook commemorating Linda Wilner's uncle, Leo Wilner, and his retirement as executive director of Temple Beth Sholom in 1984.
Link to Collection Guide

Wilson, Gary Guy
Coll #: MS-00439
Date: 1965-1996
Extent: 153.67 Linear Feet, 145.39 Cubic Feet (613 rolls)
Location: A IS 2.3.7-2.4.8
The collection is comprised of drawings (1965-1996) completed by American architect Gary Guy Wilson and/or his architectural firm, Gary Guy Wilson, AIA, Architect Studios and contains 613 sets of drawings from over 250 different projects. Primarily focused on the Las Vegas, Nevada area, the materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from preliminary sketches to construction documents, and a number of printed computer aided drawings. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The drawings include: commercial and professional buildings of varying scales, such as convenience stores, hotels, casinos, shopping centers, and office developments; schools; military buildings at both Nellis and Indian Springs Air Force Bases; multi-family residential developments; and custom single-family homes located throughout the Southwest (United States).
Link to Collection Guide

Wilson, Gary Guy
Coll #: MS-00439
Date: 1965-1996
Extent: 153.67 Linear Feet, 145.39 Cubic Feet (613 rolls)
Location: A IS 2.3.7-2.4.8
The collection is comprised of drawings (1965-1996) completed by American architect Gary Guy Wilson and/or his architectural firm, Gary Guy Wilson, AIA, Architect Studios and contains 613 sets of drawings from over 250 different projects. Primarily focused on the Las Vegas, Nevada area, the materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from preliminary sketches to construction documents, and a number of printed computer aided drawings. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The drawings include: commercial and professional buildings of varying scales, such as convenience stores, hotels, casinos, shopping centers, and office developments; schools; military buildings at both Nellis and Indian Springs Air Force Bases; multi-family residential developments; and custom single-family homes located throughout the Southwest (United States).
Link to Collection Guide