Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Stern, Martin
Coll #: MS-00382
Date: 1950-1990
Extent: 349.65 cubic feet, 591.77 linear feet (605 rolls, 204 flat files, 35 boxes)
Location: SC MC 02:N, MC 07:C-N, MC 08:K-O, MC 09:E-G, MC 09:J-O, MC 10:E, A-06.08.1-06.09.5, AIS-01.06.5, AIS-02.01.01-02.03.08, Annex B MC 02:B,
The collection is comprised of drawings (1950-1990) completed by American architect Martin Stern and/or his architectural firm, Martin Stern Jr., AIA Architect and Associates, and contains 592 linear feet of materials including 710 drawings from over 300 different projects involving over 100 buildings. Stern’s work focused on the resort centers of Las Vegas, Nevada; Reno, Nevada; Lake Tahoe, Stateline, Nevada; and Atlantic City, New Jersey. The materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents, and a number of artist’s renderings, used for presentations and promotional materials. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for: hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide